Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jerk behaviour on public transport

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

People who block the entrance to the bus/train and/or refuse to move along the carriage so that no one can get on or off.

Stand back and be patient. You’re not going to miss your stop or not be able to board just because you’re not right up against the door.

Also people putting their bag on the seat next to them when the bus/train is full or filling up. I make a point of standing over them until they tidy up. Men doing the splits in their seats get the same treatment.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Yeah particularly when they’re just playing music/videos off their phone on full volume I’ve begun making a point of just politely asking them to either put earphones in or turn it off.

I’ve found they either stop immediately or get defensive and start arguing (Wha?! Dyew own da bus do ya??!) in which case you just continue calmly explaining your request - the longer this goes on you’ll find more and more people sitting around will begin piping up on your side, once the initial step has been taken.

Recent experience with 2 teens playing music loudly from a phone on a packed rush hour train.They were asked politely to trun it down.They resorted to looking at porn at the loudest possible volume.

Real classy....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,624 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Irish people using the word "jerk".
    I guess it's the polite version of c**t.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭mathie

Who had "Page 2" for AH Xenophobic Bingo?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,995 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

This. Nothing irritates me more. Every evening I have to put up with a video calling Eastern European shouting down the phone. Other times it's Irish shouting and roaring about their entire day with all the f'in and blinding.

If my phone rings I either reject call and text or answer quietly and say I'll ring them back as on bus

I often wonder why talking on the phone on public transport is so annoying. I sit in work with people making calls andy Mrs might make a call at home and it doesn't annoy me. But public transport calls are different for some reason. I just use my earphones so I dont hear other people on public transport.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

People who sit beside you on an almost empty bus, train, etc!

There's an aul, fairly hefty & smelly (wannabe) Pint Man that gets on my bus (Dublin Bus) nearly every evening without fail on his way home from the boozer. He insists on sitting on the seat by the door regardless of who is sitting there or how busy the bus is. He told me to move one day when there were a heap of seats free and I looked up at him and looked back down at my book. I blanked him completely. He spent the rest of the bus route (approx 30min) staring me out of it and everytime I sit there he does the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

the jerk store called, they've run out of You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Tuff Gong

I guess it's the polite version of c**t.
    No, that would be w**ker!

Anyhoo, I'm so happy I don't have to use public transport, and never give up your seat for an elderly person...
    The last time I did that, I lost my job as a bus driver.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Might get away with it if you put your jacket over your lap

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Elysium1 wrote: »
    I’m watching someone who sat near me, other side stick their leg out in the isle of the train, not just foot, much leg too.

People are literally climbing over to pass through on the train and no one has said anything. At the previous stop, someone actually tripped over, I guess they had shorter legs .

Small gripes and first world problems I know.... What is wrong with people? It’s a public space, not your place! I’ve seen other things but...one per day! Ha

See crap like this on your commute?

Well that's the problem then.

Call people out on their bull****. Simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,074 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

People who put their bags on the seat next to them. Infuriating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I was on a bus to hell once, sorry, to Blanchardstown, the 39 bus.

There was this French man om the bus, and a few Dublin girls heard him speaking french, so they started talking to him in basic French. But they obviously weren't even conversationally fluent, for they started making up words lol. The guy got annoyed with them, not aggressively or anything, but they started making fun of him then. This went on the whole way from the quays to Blanch. Eventually they got off the bus, but the guy followed them and smacked them!

Bizarrest thing I ever seen. Was really embarrassed to be Irish that day.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

namloc1980 wrote: »
    People who put their bags on the seat next to them. Infuriating.

I always find it amusing to watch people do this on my evening train home. Deluded to think that their bags are going to be staying there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

People who on the upstairs of a bus sit on the outside seat. Yes, i know somethings there can be a valid reason. But most of the time they're trying to keep the second seat for themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Rufeo wrote: »
    I was on a bus to hell once, sorry, to Blanchardstown, the 39 bus.

There was this French man om the bus, and a few Dublin girls heard him speaking french, so they started talking to him in basic French. But they obviously weren't even conversationally fluent, for they started making up words lol. The guy got annoyed with them, not aggressively or anything, but they started making fun of him then. This went on the whole way from the quays to Blanch. Eventually they got off the bus, but the guy followed them and smacked them!

Bizarrest thing I ever seen. Was really embarrassed to be Irish that day.

Wait...the man attacked a bunch of young girls and You're defending his actions?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

top deck of the Bus entirely empty, i am sitting at the front front on the right upstairs. Dude gets on a sits beside me. i had to take a double take to believe it actually happened. to this day i have no idea why he did it and i stayed put the whole journey. was the 39 too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MrAbyss

This goes on everywhere in the western world with public transport. Nothing you can do about it.

Plopsu wrote: »
    I always find it amusing to watch people do this on my evening train home. Deluded to think that their bags are going to be staying there.

My bag always stays there unless someone asks me to move it so they can sit down. For all the big talk, nobody has ever touched it, I’ve never even seen it happen. People just politely ask to move the bag and I politely do so and they sit dow. No drama.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I was on a Bus Eireann bus yesterday from Dublin. Somewhere on the M1 I thought I could smell tobacco smoke and I noticed the driver checking his mirror a lot. When we turned off the motorway a girl approached the driver to say there was someone smoking in the toilet. The driver stopped the bus and spoke to yer man who sounded drunk. A little further along the road the driver pulled in at a car park and put yer man off the bus via the back door. The other passengers applauded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

lozenges wrote: »
    Rude idiots trying to cram their way in to the tram/train/bus without letting people off first is my all time favourite.

I also detest when people refuse to move down the Luas carriages and insist on standing near the doors resulting in others being unable to board the tram even though there's space. If this occurred on the Tube there'd be blood.

On the tube, people are not shy about telling people to move down the aisles for sure! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

My bag always stays there unless someone asks me to move it so they can sit down. For all the big talk, nobody has ever touched it, I’ve never even seen it happen. People just politely ask to move the bag and I politely do so and they sit dow. No drama.

What big talk? The bags get moved precisely because people ask for them to be moved because the train is standing room only.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,288 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    People blocking the entrance to the carriage when you're getting off is the obvious one.
    Enjoy dispensing liberal amounts of elbowing, shouldering and toe stamping as you squeeze through them, best accompanied by cheerful shouts of "so sorry there, excuse me" with a big smile so they know that you're doing it on purpose but can't say anything without coming off bad.

it's the bemused and startled "oh you're getting off here" look that gets to me...

why are waiting to be asked? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Very true, I'll sometimes put my bag beside me (as I won't have much space for my feet otherwise) but if anyone rocks up looking to sit down I'll move it on to my lap with no fuss.

Generally its all pretty cordial, when i'm in the reverse situation I just ask people to move their bag and they do.

I think a lot of people fantasise about sitting on someones bag and all that, but really, unless someone is a complete arsehole it's usually grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I often wonder why talking on the phone on public transport is so annoying. I sit in work with people making calls andy Mrs might make a call at home and it doesn't annoy me. But public transport calls are different for some reason. I just use my earphones so I dont hear other people on public transport.

Unless the person is being loud, I have no idea why somebody talking quietly on their phone on public transport is supposed to be annoying, no matter how many times somebody insists that it is. People are usually talking way more loudly to travelling companions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

A couple on the Luas across from today me were smoking heroin! No sign of security anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Flaccus

15 weeks ago a regular who gets Cork bus to Ballyhea and known for anti social behaviour by screaming at everyone calling them Limerick “pavis” was called on it by driver. He wouldn't remove himself until he was forced off by gardai at Malllow but not before calling the driver every expletive under the sun relating to his what he assumed was a Polish heritage. Hasn't been seen since but he would always put on a weekly performance last few years.

12 weeks ago, at Parnell place bus station in Cork, scummer taken forcefully off bus in cuffs by 2 gardai. He had jumped over the counter in subway across the road, robbed what he could and his genius plan for escape was to head to Limerick.

7 weeks ago on Limerick to Cork bus, a nob got on at mallow, put his bag on window seat, sat in aisle seat and stretched both legs across to other seats.

2 weeks ago another cnut got on at Charleville, bus was nearly empty (8.55pm from Cork), took his shoes off, lied down and put his feet on ceiling.

Last week 4 got on with a bluetooth speaker about ttr size of an 80’s boombox. This was a Friday evening, packed bus. They lifted everyone out of it with gangsta rap and I will never understand why they were not thrown off after all the complaints and abuse one of them gave the driver.

This week a pikey family going to Galway were refused by the driver. And I know why. About 3 months ago one of them took a crap on the backseat near Ballyhea and the bus had to be abandoned and a new one sent out. Excuse from family was no toilet and driver would not stop.

Plopsu wrote: »
    What big talk? The bags get moved precisely because people ask for them to be moved because the train is standing room only.

Oh yeah. That's fair enough. Bag on the seat usually gives you a better chance of having the second seat to yourself on a mostly full train/bus. No doubt about that . If it's packed then obviously it doesn't matter.

Flaccus wrote: »
    15 weeks ago a regular who gets Cork bus to Ballyhea and known for anti social behaviour by screaming at everyone calling them Limerick “pavis” was called on it by driver. He wouldn't remove himself until he was forced off by gardai at Malllow but not before calling the driver every expletive under the sun relating to his what he assumed was a Polish heritage. Hasn't been seen since but he would always put on a weekly performance last few years.

12 weeks ago, at Parnell place bus station in Cork, scummer taken forcefully off bus in cuffs by 2 gardai. He had jumped over the counter in subway across the road, robbed what he could and his genius plan for escape was to head to Limerick.

7 weeks ago on Limerick to Cork bus, a nob got on at mallow, put his bag on window seat, sat in aisle seat and stretched both legs across to other seats.

2 weeks ago another cnut got on at Charleville, bus was nearly empty (8.55pm from Cork), took his shoes off, lied down and put his feet on ceiling.

Last week 4 got on with a bluetooth speaker about ttr size of an 80’s boombox. This was a Friday evening, packed bus. They lifted everyone out of it with gangsta rap and I will never understand why they were not thrown off after all the complaints and abuse one of them gave the driver.

This week a pikey family going to Galway were refused by the driver. And I know why. About 3 months ago one of them took a crap on the backseat near Ballyhea and the bus had to be abandoned and a new one sent out. Excuse from family was no toilet and driver would not stop.

how?

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Very true, I'll sometimes put my bag beside me (as I won't have much space for my feet otherwise) but if anyone rocks up looking to sit down I'll move it on to my lap with no fuss.

Generally its all pretty cordial, when i'm in the reverse situation I just ask people to move their bag and they do.

I think a lot of people fantasise about sitting on someones bag and all that, but really, unless someone is a complete arsehole it's usually grand.

Completely agree. That's my experience too. In fairness, it would actually be properly out of order to sit on someone's stuff and people don't do it. If someone wants to sit down they just say so. Easy.