Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pupils using the racism card

• 19-12-2019 6:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭

My daughter started her secondary school teaching career lad September at a large school. Every day she has new stories about the levels of disruption in the school caused by students and the restrictions placed on teachers when dealing with these disruptions.

The most pressing issue she and her colleagues have are dealing with immigrant children and children of immigrants. She tells me endless stories about children of African and Brazilian decent (mostly African). The abuse dished out to teachers by these two groups of students is absolutely incredible. When they are challenged they consistently pull the racist card on the teacher, threatening to have them sacked and sued. When the parents of these children are informed, they too use the racism card.

My daughter would say that on average 60 to 90 minutes of her day, every day is taken up dealing with these students which is 60 to 90 mins that she should be teaching every student. Of course she and her colleagues have issues with a wide variety of students but the African children are by far and away the worst.

She and her colleagues have been threatened with violence on a few occasions and one of her male colleagues was assaulted by an African 6th year student earlier in the school year and left out of work for 2 weeks. This is just one school and these are the every day problems. The Pc brigade out there can call me a racist all you like, I am only relaying one new teachers every day experiences.

Are there any of you boardsies teaching or have experience of similiar circumstances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,684 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Gerry G wrote: »
    Are there any of you boardsies teaching or have experience of similiar circumstances?

I don’t, no, but I’d say the gang over in the “Current Affairs” forum might.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭73bc61lyohr0mu

I can hear the boards.ie echo chamber powering up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Are these pupils dilated or not? I can never tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

June, July and August

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I can hear the boards.ie echo chamber powering up...

It’s hard to know to which echo chamber you are referring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Is it racist if you hate them all equally

My sister in law taught at a school in Dublin City Centre, it was full of foreign children, hardly any Irish at all.
    She said it was a pleasure to work there, the kids were all studious & well behaved.
    She would have loved to get a permanent job there...
    & she has worked in many different schools around Dublin.
    So, many different stories I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Your daughter sounds racist.

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Is it racist if you hate them all equally

No ....but it means you prob have picked the wrong career

Yeah, or imaginary..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,996 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

I have heard stories of similar in the Blanchardstown area. Quite frankly life is too short. The principal and Board of Management are at fault for allowing this continue.

As for the Nigerians, they add nothing to this country. And half of Lagos is moving in.

Well any Nigerian I know has worked their way through school, University and are contributing plenty more than I am.

I'd swap the scummy Irish out for more people like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

My daughter started her secondary school teaching career lad September at a large school. Every day she has new stories about the levels of disruption in the school caused by students and the restrictions placed on teachers when dealing with these disruptions.

The most pressing issue she and her colleagues have are dealing with immigrant children and children of immigrants. She tells me endless stories about children of African and Brazilian decent (mostly African). The abuse dished out to teachers by these two groups of students is absolutely incredible. When they are challenged they consistently pull the racist card on the teacher, threatening to have them sacked and sued. When the parents of these children are informed, they too use the racism card.

My daughter would say that on average 60 to 90 minutes of her day, every day is taken up dealing with these students which is 60 to 90 mins that she should be teaching every student. Of course she and her colleagues have issues with a wide variety of students but the African children are by far and away the worst.

She and her colleagues have been threatened with violence on a few occasions and one of her male colleagues was assaulted by an African 6th year student earlier in the school year and left out of work for 2 weeks. This is just one school and these are the every day problems. The Pc brigade out there can call me a racist all you like, I am only relaying one new teachers every day experiences.

Yeah I'm going to say this didn't happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

bubblypop wrote: »
    My sister in law taught at a school in Dublin City Centre, it was full of foreign children, hardly any Irish at all.
    She said it was a pleasure to work there, the kids were all studious & well behaved.
    She would have loved to get a permanent job there...
    & she has worked in many different schools around Dublin.
    So, many different stories I guess.

Was that the sister that was teaching in the Travellers school before the school above?
    You know the one. The pupils were all studious and well behaved. The parents gave the teachers great support and really wanted their children to go on and do Phds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,436 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I
    As for the Nigerians, they add nothing to this country. And half of Lagos is moving in.

The African and Indian descent kids I've met work a damn site harder than many of the indigenous ones. And are polite too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Doesn't surprise me at all op, have huge issues with them to and from school on buses....

Not every day but it's happening more then ever....

All sorts of abuse and the hilarious bit is they're the ones that comment on skin colour and put downs towards white people.

Edgware wrote: »
    Was that the sister that was teaching in the Travellers school before the school above?
    You know the one. The pupils were all studious and well behaved. The parents gave the teachers great support and really wanted their children to go on and do Phds.

? Sorry what?
    Don't know what your talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

eviltwin wrote: »
    I'll say that even if it is true, a single school does not make it widespread any more than wild local kids causing trouble of teachers means all teens are out of control. It is really a school management issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

bubblypop wrote: »
    ? Sorry what?
    Don't know what your talking about?
    Of course you do

is_that_so wrote: »
    I'll say that even if it is true, a single school does not make it widespread any more than wild local kids causing trouble of teachers means all teens are out of control. It is really a school management issue.

Yes, it's clearly a discipline issue in this school.
    Surely the teachers can sort this out

Edgware wrote: »
    Of course you do

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭TuringBot47

...one of her male colleagues was assaulted by an African 6th year student earlier in the school year and left out of work for 2 weeks.

I completely believe that, had a similar experience.
    And they were probably laughing at him for the rest of the year.

The only way to stop this is not to put your trust the Irish justice system... instead sue the parent directly in a civil action. No other way except through their own pocket and then they understand the consequences when it actually affects them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,577 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I completely believe that, had a similar experience.
    And they were probably laughing at him for the rest of the year.

The only way to stop this is not to trust the justice system... instead sue the parent directly in a civil action. No other way except through their own pocket and then they understand the consequences when he actually affects them.

Correct, if I’m assaulted in my job, I’m calling the Gardai.

If my boss says NO and that’s it’s to be dealt with ‘in house’ I’d point blankly refuse and call them anyway.

If the boss tried to ‘discipline’ me for doing that I’m using EVERY avenue within my scope, Union, teaching colleagues , contacting the office for the minister for education...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

eviltwin wrote: »

My daughter is 22, teaches music and religion in a large school in Meath, bordering Dublin. As a religion teacher, she also teaches SPHE and helps out with special needs students too. Of the wide array of kids she deals with, the problems with the Nigerian kids is far far worse than anyone else. She has many eastern European and Indian kids which cause little or no trouble. She has plenty of issues with Irish kids and their parents but still nothing comes close to the Africans. There is a family of 3 brothers who think they control the school and terrorize the locals when they're not in school. She teaches traveller kids who she says are fine and willing to learn but not the Africans.

Strumms wrote: »
    Correct, if I’m assaulted in my job, I’m calling the Gardai.

Did call the guards.
    90 witnessses, cc-tv, he was detained for the guards... outside the feckin Four Courts of all places.... not a ****in warning.

I should've sued the parents.
    The civil court system seems more severe (look at all the insurance payouts) than the criminal system.

All those parasite lawyers / ambulance chasers would be set up for life if they had a no win / no fee for civil actions against criminals who escaped punishment.

Hundreds of years of European rule in Africa should have taught us that some races are beyond attempts at civilisation, we don't need African problems in western Europe, but i feel we will learn that lesson too late

What?! The Chinese must be a bit lacking upstairs or something everybody knows Africa’s greatest resource is it’s people.

Yeah, or imaginary..

Your imaginary daughter sounds racist! I am imaginary sad for her.

Bobblehats wrote: »
    What?! The Chinese must be a bit lacking upstairs or something everybody knows Africa’s greatest resource is it’s people.

Cheap labour is not the same as "its people".
    No problem making them work in a factory... for those that want to work... not the same as importing 2000 people from a random segment of the population. (What Leo Vadakar has proudly announced this week to earn his moral points for an EU position when he gets voted out soon )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

There is a family of 3 brothers who think they control the school and terrorize the locals when they're not in school.

So its 3 lads from one family who are the cause of her troubles?
    Mike9832 wrote: »
    D15 is basically the Congo Basin now, it's a wreck

Would have said that's an improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,552 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Bobblehats wrote: »

the Chinese, another great bunch of lads to work.

So its 3 lads from one family who are the cause of her troubles?

Would have said that's an improvement.

That's not what I said. They are part of a much bigger problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Imo I've never had any issues with my peers that were African causing more trouble than anyone else, but I can imagine the type from the likes of balbriggan/tallaght. Often videos all over Facebook of gangs of young black guys almost stabbing eachother, and fighting. Maybe they rebelled, and were sick of been picked on in primary school or something!

the Chinese, another great bunch of lads to work.

Somethin tells me we won’t be tapping into so many of those

Eh, **** who’s tapped. We’re tapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod

Posts have been deleted. Topic is about racism, not to partake in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

What do you mean assaulted and out of work for 2 weeks?

I am imaginary sad for her.

*ahem*.. imaginarily..

It was cuter my way. :rolleyes:

iebamm2580 wrote: »

What part do you not understand?

It was cuter my way. :rolleyes:

Awww..yeah, it was..sorry..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

If you want to see the racism card been played to it's best, spend a day in maynooth University.

That happened to 2 teachers at my school. One had a screw driver held to his head and was hurt. The other got beaten up.

This other teacher had to stop a gang of guys beating up a girl ...and he got hurt. He had to pull them off her.

Its much more common than people think these days.

Oh they were all white kids btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

What part do you not understand?

2 weeks out of work would suggest a severe assault, dont know how teacher would not go to the gardai about that.

He did go to the Guards, still being investigated

Students who did it to teachers in my school were arrested. That day.

The one who used the screwdriver had to be mentally assessed by a psychiatrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,577 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Did call the guards.
    90 witnessses, cc-tv, he was detained for the guards... outside the feckin Four Courts of all places.... not a ****in warning.

I should've sued the parents.
    The civil court system seems more severe (look at all the insurance payouts) than the criminal system.

All those parasite lawyers / ambulance chasers would be set up for life if they had a no win / no fee for civil actions against criminals who escaped punishment.

Sorry dude, that’s ridiculous. Hard evidence yet, not a slap on the wrist even. What message is that sending fellow pupils who would if they were that way inclined have ZERO deterrent to do the same... there is no incentive to keep teaching, could get assaulted by a pupil but he’s back in your class in days smiling at you, no support from management, parents, justice system... ughhh this fûckin country.

In fairness another girl i went to school with shot the uncle of a friend at the same school. She served no time cuz she was 15 ...she just had to sign in daily in the local garda station .

She was also white. She was particularly difficult with teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

My brother is a Teacher in an ET school in Dublin. He once described an instance similar (although not as severe) as the OP. He mentioned one time he was accused by a student of Arab heritage of being racist over his marking of some of her work. During the parent teacher the Father pulled a similar accusation. My brother told me they take these accusations quite seriously but when the father was pressed to submit a complaint detailing his grievance he dropped it. Very frustrating and worrying for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,171 ✭✭✭enricoh

Your mistake Gerry was to say black kids, if you had said Traveller kids no one would bat an eyelid!
    The twitterati permanently outraged will not have anything negative allowed said about immigration in Ireland.

It probably does happen that some teachers are racist....and they don't want to hear they are racist or don't get it.

And yeah you get jerks in every race.

If you say you have never heard one of your teachers say something racist in your entire time in the Irish school system ..i would say you were lying though.

Most teachers are awesome. Some aren't.