Pupils using the racism card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

So its 3 lads from one family who are the cause of her troubles?

Would have said that's an improvement.

That's not what I said. They are part of a much bigger problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Imo I've never had any issues with my peers that were African causing more trouble than anyone else, but I can imagine the type from the likes of balbriggan/tallaght. Often videos all over Facebook of gangs of young black guys almost stabbing eachother, and fighting. Maybe they rebelled, and were sick of been picked on in primary school or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

the Chinese, another great bunch of lads to work.

Somethin tells me we won’t be tapping into so many of those

Eh, **** who’s tapped. We’re tapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

2/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,833 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod

Posts have been deleted. Topic is about racism, not to partake in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

What do you mean assaulted and out of work for 2 weeks?

I am imaginary sad for her.

*ahem*.. imaginarily..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

*ahem*.. imaginarily..
    It was cuter my way. :rolleyes:

iebamm2580 wrote: »

What part do you not understand?

It was cuter my way. :rolleyes:

Awww..yeah, it was..sorry..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭ZX7R

If you want to see the racism card been played to it's best, spend a day in maynooth University.

That happened to 2 teachers at my school. One had a screw driver held to his head and was hurt. The other got beaten up.

This other teacher had to stop a gang of guys beating up a girl ...and he got hurt. He had to pull them off her.

Its much more common than people think these days.

Oh they were all white kids btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Gerry G wrote: »
    What part do you not understand?

2 weeks out of work would suggest a severe assault, dont know how teacher would not go to the gardai about that.

He did go to the Guards, still being investigated

Students who did it to teachers in my school were arrested. That day.

The one who used the screwdriver had to be mentally assessed by a psychiatrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Did call the guards.
    90 witnessses, cc-tv, he was detained for the guards... outside the feckin Four Courts of all places.... not a ****in warning.

I should've sued the parents.
    The civil court system seems more severe (look at all the insurance payouts) than the criminal system.

All those parasite lawyers / ambulance chasers would be set up for life if they had a no win / no fee for civil actions against criminals who escaped punishment.

Sorry dude, that’s ridiculous. Hard evidence yet, not a slap on the wrist even. What message is that sending fellow pupils who would if they were that way inclined have ZERO deterrent to do the same... there is no incentive to keep teaching, could get assaulted by a pupil but he’s back in your class in days smiling at you, no support from management, parents, justice system... ughhh this fûckin country.

In fairness another girl i went to school with shot the uncle of a friend at the same school. She served no time cuz she was 15 ...she just had to sign in daily in the local garda station .

She was also white. She was particularly difficult with teachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

My brother is a Teacher in an ET school in Dublin. He once described an instance similar (although not as severe) as the OP. He mentioned one time he was accused by a student of Arab heritage of being racist over his marking of some of her work. During the parent teacher the Father pulled a similar accusation. My brother told me they take these accusations quite seriously but when the father was pressed to submit a complaint detailing his grievance he dropped it. Very frustrating and worrying for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭enricoh

Your mistake Gerry was to say black kids, if you had said Traveller kids no one would bat an eyelid!
    The twitterati permanently outraged will not have anything negative allowed said about immigration in Ireland.

It probably does happen that some teachers are racist....and they don't want to hear they are racist or don't get it.

And yeah you get jerks in every race.

If you say you have never heard one of your teachers say something racist in your entire time in the Irish school system ..i would say you were lying though.

Most teachers are awesome. Some aren't.

enricoh wrote: »
    Your mistake Gerry was to say black kids, if you had said Traveller kids no one would bat an eyelid!
    The twitterati permanently outraged will not have anything negative allowed said about immigration in Ireland.

His mistake was to make it about their race ...and not their behavior.

Why drag their race into it? Its not relevant.

To say their race is relevant ...proves his racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

It's a simple lack of intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

elfy4eva wrote: »
    My brother told me they take these accusations quite seriously but when the father was pressed to submit a complaint detailing his grievance he dropped it. Very frustrating and worrying for him.

That’s the best tactic. Inform them that they need to make a formal complaint so a proper and thorough investigation takes place.

If and when they refuse tell them their complaint is then without foundation.

Inform them going forward if they are going to make similar accusations without substantiation or any evidence of them that their kid WILL be expelled.

You cannot have teachers being victim to such innuendo and damaging of their reputation. Careers and wellbeing is on the line.

In fairness another girl i went to school with shot the uncle of a friend at the same school. She served no time cuz she was 15 ...she just had to sign in daily in the local garda station .

She was also white. She was particularly difficult with teachers.

This 100% never happened. You have a good imagination though, I'll.gove you that much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

Don't be daft. OP gave anedotal information from his daughter. Didn't say all Africans are at it. Didn't say the ones who are partaking in anti-social behaviour and intimidations are doing it because they are black - OP says his daughter has noticed a pattern and others agree and have observed similar patterns.
    Get off your high horse you numpty.

My daughter is 22, teaches music and religion in a large school in Meath, bordering Dublin. As a religion teacher, she also teaches SPHE and helps out with special needs students too. Of the wide array of kids she deals with, the problems with the Nigerian kids is far far worse than anyone else. She has many eastern European and Indian kids which cause little or no trouble. She has plenty of issues with Irish kids and their parents but still nothing comes close to the Africans. There is a family of 3 brothers who think they control the school and terrorize the locals when they're not in school. She teaches traveller kids who she says are fine and willing to learn but not the Africans.

Well done, if she does exist you just made it very easy to identify her for anyone who wants to make a complaint about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

I believe the OP as my sibling works in a large secondary school and has said the same thing. A substantial percentage of the black kids use the race card when called out for their behaviour.
    A lot of the time it's over minor things like when a teacher asks them to stop talking in class or being questionned/given out to for not having their homework done.
    Some of them genuinely think the teacher is picking on them purely because of their skin colour. This would be normal enough in teenagers, blaming the world for problems they've created themselves, but it's the percentage of the population that do this and the attitude when it happens that are the differing characteristics.

Maybe some of the teachers are racist or unconsciously racist, but when a sizeable number of the teaching staff are being accused of being racist for trying to maintain control and an orderly classroom, I'm leaning more towards it being a cultural issue.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Strumms wrote: »
    That’s the best tactic. Inform them that they need to make a formal complaint so a proper and thorough investigation takes place.

If and when they refuse tell them their complaint is then without foundation.

Inform them going forward if they are going to make similar accusations without substantiation or any evidence of them that their kid WILL be expelled.

You cannot have teachers being victim to such innuendo and damaging of their reputation. Careers and wellbeing is on the line.

Almost impossible to expel a student these days .

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Well done, if she does exist you just made it very easy to identify her for anyone who wants to make a complaint about her.

You reckon? Your detective skills are amazing.

And what exactly would they complain about?