Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is a thread about the 2020 Six Nations, formerly the Five Nations

• Registered Users Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Dupont is pure awesome today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Should they not have been called back for the french knock on at the end there?

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

Italy kicking crazy deep from the restarts.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Thought that was a bit of a leading forearm by the French prop earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,605 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

France are just going through the motions now, don't seem too interested in getting the TBP

Never mind, there it is

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Ntamack needs to work on the oul goal kicking lark

• Registered Users Posts: 13,021 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Second try for Italy. been very good at getting gain line success.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Ntamack needs to work on the oul goal kicking lark

Pretty sure his last one looked good, never saw a replay tho

• Registered Users Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

10 lads flop over on the ball, and they get the put in?

Dean Budd has been very good.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Pretty sure his last one looked good, never saw a replay tho
    The two assistant refs, the ref and Ntamack himself didn't think so

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

France putting in a very French performance today. Brilliant and brutal in equal measure

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Italian player dropping the elbow on Serin after he touched down?

French team is good, but I wouldn't be betting on them to win in Cardiff.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Sexy try to finish

What a brain dead thing to do

You have nothing, France getting another you still have nothing.

Rushed the conversion to get it done before 80 to go for another try, and then kick it straight out on the full.

Mind-blowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

What a brain dead thing to do

You have nothing, France getting another you still have nothing.

Nah. Finish on a high and don't risk further injury.

Were you watching?
    They specifically took a quick conversion to get another chance of a try.
    A 7 pointer would have given them a losing bonus and a try bonus.

Ending on a high means f-all in the context.
    Cana even shrugged his shoulders at the end like he didnt know or was apologising to his teammates.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

There is a report from Gerry Thornley in the IT which says the body running the 6 Nations have agreed to centralize media rights for the men's tournament which includes the Autumn Internationals, U20's & Women's 6 Nations under one media rights package. It suggests that there could be a Pay TV/FTA element involved in new deals written up if the matches are to be screened on the tele in future. I don't like the sound of that idea myself.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/pay-per-view-on-the-table-for-new-six-nations-media-rights-deal-1.4165278

That's sounds like a flipping nightmare for us to deal with over on these shores. What do you think about this move? Do you think that will sell over here?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,921 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

There is a report from Gerry Thornley in the IT which says the body running the 6 Nations have agreed to centralize media rights for the men's tournament which includes the Autumn Internationals, U20's & Women's 6 Nations under one media rights package. It suggests that there could be a Pay TV/FTA element involved in new deals written up if the matches are to be screened on the tele in future. I don't like the sound of that idea myself.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/international/pay-per-view-on-the-table-for-new-six-nations-media-rights-deal-1.4165278

That's sounds like a flipping nightmare for us to deal with over on these shores. What do you think about this move? Do you think that will sell over here?

It was all over OTB on Saturday. If the Six Nations leaves FTA then international rugby (and by extension the sport as a whole) will turn into the way cricket did after Channel 4 lost the rights to England internationals.

It would be a nightmare and as already said, it would go the way of cricket.

Though, if they agreed to not cut away post anthems I might consider it ...

not really!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭swiwi_

razorblunt wrote: »
    It would be a nightmare and as already said, it would go the way of cricket.

Though, if they agreed to not cut away post anthems I might consider it ...

not really!!

I heard the major sticking point is the IRFUs insistence that the Presidential meet ‘n’ greet remain free to air.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,709 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Johnny Gray is out for the rest of the tournament. He picked up a hand injury in the game against England.

https://www.the42.ie/jonny-gray-5001375-Feb2020/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,743 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

• Registered Users Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Tuilagi's groin is essentially the modern day Achilles heel.

They'd be mad to risk it given the extent of his previous issues there.

Horne MOTM in Glasgow. It wouldn’t by any means be a controversial choice to play him in Rome next week, from the start.

On paper maybe the best weekend of the tournament coming up.

Wales v France has a lot to offer in terms of telling us where both teams are. France grand slam hopes on the line and Wales championships hope similarly in question.

Scotland travel to Italy with two losses - both teams need a win quite badly.

And then Ireland travel to Twickenham. Same as Wales v France - a grand slam and championship on the line.

All important and likely competitive fixtures.

On paper maybe the best weekend of the tournament coming up.

Wales v France has a lot to offer in terms of telling us where both teams are. France grand slam hopes on the line and Wales championships hope similarly in question.

Scotland travel to Italy with two losses - both teams need a win quite badly.

And then Ireland travel to Twickenham. Same as Wales v France - a grand slam and championship on the line.

All important and likely competitive fixtures.
    You're forgetting there's also a triple crown on the line. :)