Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Satan running this country? (I'm not religious, but..)

15678911»

alastair wrote: »
    If you’re actually concerned about your privacy, it’s a bit strange you use your own name and provide enough information to allow anyone to mosey over to your LinkedIn page and Facebook account. Including those notional nazi skinheads, who can google like everyone else.

Seeing more and more reports in my day job of people's social media posts being used as leverage against them. They either pay over x amount or their posts, phone number and other identifying information about them is shared with their employers, clients, state bodies etc. And no they didn't use their real names on their accounts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Paul Lee

The only people I ban on Twitter are when trolls subscribe porn accounts.

On boards unfortunately conversations spin out of control when a few trolls get involved. Here are some of the ways you can get on to my ignore list:

1. Insist that I disclose personal information.
    2. Use the word "Bollox" as an argument.
    3. Take the topic way off course into a personal spat.
    4. Troll-Debate-Troll etc.
    5. Assymetrically decide that you've won a debate and declare victory.

The trolls who had me banned off the thread previously have behaved way worse than I did. And I have the balls to use my own name while they question my credibility. Sad.

I love debating someone I disagree with. I like taking the piss, but vicious doesn't do it for me. It's kinda evil, ironically just like the premise of my original post.

I have three people on my ignore list from last night's session with more to be added I'm sure. You know who you are. I don't want to publish your names at this stage as I want to give you a chance to f*ck off first. I'm quite reasonable that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

TLDR

"I love debating" but I ban people who debate with me.

pjohnson wrote: »
    TLDR

Debate, yes. Vicious trolling no. Added. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 40,183 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Paul Lee wrote: »

On boards unfortunately conversations spin out of control when a few trolls get involved. Here are some of the ways you can get on to my ignore list:

The trolls who had me banned off the thread previously have behaved way worse than I did. And I have the balls to use my own name while they question my credibility. Sad.

I love debating someone I disagree with. I like taking the piss, but vicious doesn't do it for me. It's kinda evil, ironically just like the premise of my original post.

I have three people on my ignore list from last night's session with more to be added I'm sure. You know who you are. I don't want to publish your names at this stage as I want to give you a chance to f*ck off first. I'm quite reasonable that way.

Bollix to this nonsense.

5 :)

Debate, yes. Vicious trolling no. Added. :)

You're own little soap box.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,036 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yes that is funny. I like the way it's written, even if I disagree with the completely anticapitalist stance.

If you actually think that's anticapitalist, you really need to read it again a few times. Although you still might not get it.

Over half the money that goes into public procurement is stolen or wasted, probably up to 60 or 70%.

Ah, I see we've entered the "pulling figures out of your arse" phase of discussion.

The State has contracted out most of the water services you might have noticed.

Yes, from one state-owned body to another. So what.

That's strange, because when you posted a link to your twitter account in another thread it had porn on it.

The trolls who had me banned off the thread previously have behaved way worse than I did.

You were banned from that thread after you called other posters paedophiles.

I like taking the piss

Seems to be all you do.

I have three people on my ignore list from last night's session with more to be added I'm sure.

LOL
    Whinging about "free speech" and "shutting down discussion" then waving your ignore list around like an e-penis. Nobody fúcking cares who is on your ignore list. But feel free to publicly announce your admission of failure.

DubInMeath wrote: »
    You're own little soap box.

Precisely. Just like that little "anti-woman discussion" group he tried to set up...

Life ain't always empty.

Ah, I see we've entered the "pulling figures out of your arse" phase of discussion.

That's strange, because when you posted a link to your twitter account in another thread it had porn on it.

LOL
    Whinging about "free speech" and "shutting down discussion" then waving your ignore list around like an e-penis. Nobody fúcking cares who is on your ignore list. But feel free to publicly announce your admission of failure ..

Ah the freedom of speech, as long as you don't point out my obvious bullsh1t and the fact that I don't have an argument or an idea what I am talking about, seen so often here with the same few tools.

I remember their "ban the internet" thread where it was closed down as a shill, it got the appropriate replies before being closed down.

pjohnson wrote: »
    TLDR

More like I can't debate as I'm full of sh1t, and don't have an actual argument to debate from, so ignore anyone who has pointed this obvious fact out.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,053 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

6. People who either make up random **** or just completely ignore counter arguments, eh, Paul?!

(Can someone quote this? I'm pretty sure I'm one of the three people he's, eh, "ignoring"....)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

I don't want to publish your names at this stage as I want to give you a chance to f*ck off first. I'm quite reasonable that way.

Bit of a hole in your logic there again. You don't know if people have fecked off, if you have them on your ignore list. Unless of course you have a second account on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,183 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

DubInMeath wrote: »
    Bit of a hole in your logic there again. You don't know if people have fecked off, if you have them on your ignore list. Unless of course you have a second account on here.

If you have somebody on your ignore list you can still see that they have posted but what they have posted is hidden.

You can't say that they posted x,y,z unless you have a second account, or someone who isn't on your list quotes it.

Haven't put anyone on mine to be honest, I prefer to see their failures in full.

You were banned from that thread after you called other posters paedophiles.

That's slanderous and a lie. You should be banned for that. All the best now.

DublinMeath
    PrincessConstipatia
    HotBlackDesperateLiar

Can't hear you. What did you say? Nope. Bad line. Beep beep beep.

People can still see the posts where you did ya tool.

This is great. I thought I wouldn't be able to see who posted when I put people on the ignore list, but I can. All the info I need from you the rest being absolute complete and utter garbage.

You chaps are pretty evil aren't you? You're not here for debate. You're here to shut down debate.

You're at the core of what I originally posted about. Thanks for giving me everything I needed and more. Fair play to ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,053 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Well.... that's us told...

End of thread now - there's no one else left for him to debate with!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,036 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Well if you think I should be banned for posting that, then report it lad.

You're not here for debate. You're here to shut down debate.

Says Mr Ignore List.

You couldn't make this stuff up, comedy gold but also pretty sad at the same time.

G'luck with your echo chamber Paul!

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,753 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Hi guys, new to the thread, big fan of Satan. How do I go about getting added to this list?

Delighted you asked... I wanted an excuse to repost this.

The trolls who had me banned off the thread previously have behaved way worse than I did.

I love debating someone I disagree with. I like taking the piss, but vicious doesn't do it for me. It's kinda evil, just like the premise of my original post.

I kind of have a sneaking respect for evil and smart because that's interesting but the people on my ignore list are an unfortunate mix of evil and stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,753 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Thanks Paul.

(1.)Can you give me your PPSN please, (2.)ya bollox? (3.)Always hated the name Paul, reminds me of Bono.

Eh, (4.)troll-debate-troll. (5.)Victory is mine.

I hope this completes my application. Please do get back to me if any further clarification is needed.

Hail Satan ��

Thanks Paul.

(1.)Can you give me your PPSN please, (2.)ya bollox? (3.)Always hated the name Paul, reminds me of Bono.

Eh, (4.)troll-debate-troll. (5.)Victory is mine.

I hope this completes my application. Please do get back to me if any further clarification is needed.

Hail Satan ��

That's actually funny. I like funny. I'll give you honorary ignore status for now. :D

We all kind of get the idea of what a psychopath is- Someone who doesn't care about others, and who will use others for their own purposes.

I'm going to hypothesise that the people on my ignore list could be classed as such either as a permanent personality trait or as a "learned" personality trait which is facilitated by the anonymity of the internet.

The cost of acting like a maniac is more costly to me (real name) than it is for an anonymous person. That's just a fact.

The reasons for making this conclusion are as follows:

Pretending to engage in conversation in order to solicit rapport, then suddenly revert into hostility.
    Ignoring basic moral questions raised such as child molestation.
    Lying about what is said.
    Adding words and meaning to others statements in order to provoke response.
    Deviating from important conversations by focussing on minutiae.
    Fake concern with morality.
    Hijacking people's sense of fairness morality and guilt to gain control of the conversation for self gratification.

There is an incredible level of narcissism on display in discussions I've had here recently.

Of course if one was a psychopath, this (Boards) is a perfect place to come and indulge oneself.

(There may be responses to this post that I won't rise to. There are about 10 people on my ignore list so far. You can disagree, take the piss, challenge but don't just troll.) :cool:

We all kind of get the idea of what a psychopath is- Someone who doesn't care about others, and who will use others for their own purposes.

The cost of acting like a maniac is more costly to me (real name) than it is for an anonymous person. That's just a fact.

Lying.
    Fake concern with morality.
    Hijacking people's sense of fairness morality and guilt to gain control of the conversation for self gratification.

Of course if one was a psychopath, this (Boards) is a perfect place to come and indulge oneself.

Fixed your post for ya.

Et voila. I give you exhibit A.

DublinMeath.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,533 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Et voila. I give you exhibit A.

DublinMeath.
    You are trolling the thread you started

To save you from yourself I'm closing it, but will not be so lenient next time