Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"FAI blew €69,000 on John Delaney's 50th birthday party"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,146 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

There is huge corruption in the GAA. Ask the Galway and Mayo county boards.

I don't know if you can outright say corruption, but I do know you can definitely say mismanagement and the creation of little fiefdoms.

And it is definitely more than those two county boards.
    Remember how players in other counties went on strike because of the dictatorship way the county board was being run.

And it is just not GAA or FAI either.
    Or are people forgetting about the OCI or the Irish guys in charge of world cycling.

Actually most large sports organisations, and this is worldwide, are as corrupt as be damned.
    Blind eyes are often turned to misdemeanours, or even much worse, once it benefits doing well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

CatFromHue wrote: »
    The IRFU and GAA are all Island organisations and they seem to work just fine.

There's plenty of other sporting bodies which also work just fine.

For some reason the FAI has always been a terrible organisation.

Both exceptionally well ran organisations. I was more so alluding at the fact that there is no accountability in most of our scandals. This arises from bad governance.

Just look at the children's hospital and ongoing trolley crisis as one example. The list is long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Both exceptionally well ran organisations. I was more so alluding at the fact that there is no accountability in most of our scandals. This arises from bad governance.

Just look at the children's hospital and ongoing trolley crisis as one example. The list is long.

What's the "scandal" about the "ongoing trolley crisis"?

The fact that there aren't enough beds to put sick people or nurses to care for them isn't a scandal, it's a simple supply/demand inequality.

To solve it, we simply need to recruit more nurses and support staff and provide more hospital beds - both of which are achievable, if we are willing to pay more tax.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

jmayo wrote: »
    I don't know if you can outright say corruption, but I do know you can definitely say mismanagement and the creation of little fiefdoms.

Ah no I'd call it corruption alright. Fraud/Theft as well. Time will tell if the Gardai uncover the truth.

And I am not anti-GAA, I played both hurling and football to a fairly senior level.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/treasurer-slams-serious-abuse-of-galway-gaa-credit-card-892737.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

There should be a new state sub department that only looks after vetting grant applications for clubs. The FAI should be used to organise leagues/fixtures and the board should be unpaid volunteers with the exception of some administrative staff. Any advertising monies go to the clubs and every club gets a cut of any sponsorship of events.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

I seen first hand cheques signed to Healy Rae Plant hire from Kerry County Council.

250K + a pop. I'm not afraid to say the electorate down there are idiots.

Hold on now.
    So have I.

But you do know they do actually do the work and at pretty good rates.

It's just the extremely blurred lines between employer and contractor that would be worrisome.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

But you do know they do actually do the work and at pretty good rates.

Without seeing the detail I'd say we all know the answer to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Ah no I'd call it corruption alright. Fraud/Theft as well. Time will tell if the Gardai uncover the truth.

And I am not anti-GAA, I played both hurling and football to a fairly senior level.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/treasurer-slams-serious-abuse-of-galway-gaa-credit-card-892737.html

Where is the evidence of fraud and theft with Mayo Co Board? Maybe you know something we dont or do you just usually make wild accusations:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

okidoki987 wrote: »
    If the fans started to walk away and the FAI were left with half empty stadiums with no income stream, someone might do something about it.
    If we don't qualify for the Euro's, it's going to be a bleak summer over here.

They have already walked away. For most games in the Aviva it`s half full of kids on free tickets given away by the FAI because they could not sell them.

whodafunk wrote: »
    Have we not forgotten about the Olympic scandal?!!!...

Delaney was anointed by Hickey as his successor.

Two cheeks of the same arse.

lawred2 wrote: »
    Why is an organization spending money on birthdays in the first place?

Never mind the birthday party, what was the 60 grand to Delaney`s ex girlfriend for ?

Denis O'Brien once said John Delaney could run anything. He said he could run UEFA. I wonder is he eating his words now. I doubt it, they are the same rotten untouchable ilk.

Why the fook is Donal Conway not out on his arse. As far as I am concerned, completely complicit.

171170 wrote: »
    What's the "scandal" about the "ongoing trolley crisis"?

The fact that there aren't enough beds to put sick people or nurses to care for them isn't a scandal, it's a simple supply/demand inequality.

To solve it, we simply need to recruit more nurses and support staff and provide more hospital beds - both of which are achievable, if we are willing to pay more tax.

There has been a billion plus cost overrun on the childrens hospital. There is some of your money.

A E246 million euro to be ghost dual carraigeway has been signed off between Castlebar and Westport to get FG a few seats. There is more of your money.

More tax is not the answer. The current waste is criminal. You cannot throw good money after bad, Its madness. The definition of stupidity is doing the same thing over and over again. And we do it well

• Registered Users Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Denis O'Brien once said John Delaney could run anything. He said he could run UEFA. I wonder is he eating his words now. I doubt it, they are the same rotten untouchable ilk.

Why the fook is Donal Conway not out on his arse. As far as I am concerned, completely complicit.

John could run anything into the ground and the money into his pocket

• Registered Users Posts: 7,252 ✭✭✭facehugger99

charlie14 wrote: »
    Never mind the birthday party, what was the 60 grand to Delaney`s ex girlfriend for ?

Looking at the head on Delaney, I'm sure she earned it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭screamer

Being honest, any organization that gets money from the gravy train that is the Irish taxpayer seems to overrun on spending. The gravy train will never end it seems. RTE, HSE even the ministers themselves with their pay and pensions and expenses Oversight is nowhere, overspend is everywhere, they’re gaming the system, and it is those in charge of our money that I blame firmly and squarely. Yes Pascal and Shane it’s you in this case. No justification for the government to be shocked or outraged, because if they are it means they’re asleep at the wheel too.
    Disband the FAI pointless waste of tax payers money on a mediocre at best football team.

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Soulsun

John Delaney is to lead the paddy’s day parade in NY next March

• Registered Users Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭trashcan

Let’s not forget the allegedly independent recruitment process which led to him getting the job in the first place. Seemingly this concluded that he was the best man for the job (anyone paying attention knew it was a done deal beforehand) Signed off by Government too. To many of us none of this comes as any sort of surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,238 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Should that be sex girlfriend?

There has been a billion plus cost overrun on the childrens hospital. There is some of your money.

A E246 million euro to be ghost dual carraigeway has been signed off between Castlebar and Westport to get FG a few seats. There is more of your money.

More tax is not the answer. The current waste is criminal. You cannot throw good money after bad, Its madness. The definition of stupidity is doing the same thing over and over again. And we do it well

I have no great problem with the cost of the NCH once it is fit for purpose when completed. It will cost what it will cost - you can't just walk into B&Q and order one off the shelf.

That said, I was very annoyed at the huge amounts of money that Bertie and his henchmen wasted trying to squeeze it into the Mater Hospital site.

I couldn't really give a toss about the monorail between Castlebar and Westport or whatever nonsense you're on about.

I note that you have refused to accept my simple analysis of the supply-demand issue in hospital accommodation/staffing - and how to solve it; so conclude that you just want to whine about things and regard the John Delaney thread as a convenient outlet.

I have no great problem with the cost of the NCH once it is fit for purpose when completed. It will cost what it will cost - you can't just walk into B&Q and order one off the shelf.

That said, I was very annoyed at the huge amounts of money that Bertie and his henchmen wasted trying to squeeze it into the Mater Hospital site.

I couldn't really give a toss about the monorail between Castlebar and Westport or whatever nonsense you're on about.

I note that you have refused to accept my simple analysis of the supply-demand issue in hospital accommodation/staffing - and how to solve it; so conclude that you just want to whine about things and regard the John Delaney thread as a convenient outlet.

The Animal Farm of posting.
    Four legs (FG) good, Two legs (any others) bad.

The positive (hopefully). You will never be Minister for Finance.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

screamer wrote: »
    Disband the FAI pointless waste of tax payers money on a mediocre at best football team.

The national team is one part of football in Ireland and despite its visibility, its attractiveness to event junkies and its ability as an occasional money-spinner, it is far from the most important part.

The idea of having a national association governing and overseeing a sport, and receiving a relatively small amount of taxpayers' money to do so, is fundamentally fair enough. Allowing a constant stream of gangsters to hijack, use and abuse that association decade after decade is fundamentally not.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,518 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I was speaking to someone today who is involved with the authorities at a high Enough level and they apparently requested Delaney report to the Gardaí at a certain station for questioning when he returns to Ireland. Failing a voluntary appearance he will be brought in for questioning.

Maybe this is a political stunt because if they had something on him the language wouldn’t be so polite.

The Animal Farm of posting.
    Four legs (FG) good, Two legs (any others) bad.

The positive (hopefully). You will never be Minister for Finance.

Presumably you're the four legged beast in this dialogue? Because that's an asinine conclusion to pull out of whatever orifice you took it from.

For me it's even more depressing: every party on offer: appalling; independents: worse still.

I complete my ballot paper from the bottom preference upwards. Always have, always will.

And as for being Minister for Finance, you'll find that, generally speaking, the person appointed as Minister for Finance is among the more capable and competent of our politicians. There was one notable exception, when Haughey appointed Gene Fitzgerald in the early 1980's - but he was probably put in to help CJH fiddle the books.

Presumably you're the four legged beast in this dialogue? Because that's an asinine conclusion to pull out of whatever orifice you took it from.

For me it's even more depressing: every party on offer: appalling; independents: worse still.

I complete my ballot paper from the bottom preference upwards. Always have, always will.

And as for being Minister for Finance, you'll find that, generally speaking, the person appointed as Minister for Finance is among the more capable and competent of our politicians. There was one notable exception, when Haughey appointed Gene Fitzgerald in the early 1980's - but he was probably put in to help CJH fiddle the books.

It is to be hoped that anyone appointed as Minister for Finance is not only capable and competent but numerically literate.

As someone that could not give a toss about a 246M.spend on a road for no purpose other than to buy the Ringer a few votes, or a NCH that is at three times the original estimate and rising, then thankfully for the State finances under those criterion it`s a post you will never be offered.

From your dismissal of all parties and independent politicians,plus your method of completing your ballot paper it would appear you have no affiliation to any party or individual but you do spend an inordinate amount of time on here, similar to our resident Green party supporter, defending FG.

It is to be hoped that anyone appointed as Minister for Finance is not only capable and competent but numerically literate.

As someone that could not give a toss about a 246M.spend on a road for no purpose other than to buy the Ringer a few votes, or a NCH that is at three times the original estimate and rising, then thankfully for the State finances under those criterion it`s a post you will never be offered.

From your dismissal of all parties and independent politicians,plus your method of completing your ballot paper it would appear you have no affiliation to any party or individual but you do spend an inordinate amount of time on here, similar to our resident Green party supporter, defending FG.

Your definition of "defending" appears to differ significantly from mine.

I suspect that, for you, "defending" means disagreeing with your opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭trashcan

The only small consolation in all of this for me is that it all came out before Euro 2020, and Delaney doesn't now get to swan around like Lord of the Manor in front of his UEFA buddies.

Not bad going from JD. Some gaff. The man has orchestrated the running of the FAI now for his own personal gain. Many gombeen men and women only to happy to support him after being thrown a few crumbs from the top table. Plenty of fans too, delighted with a few cans.

https://waterfordnow.ie/sport/fai-crisis-inside-john-delaneys-new-e868k-house-which-boasts-five-bedrooms-a-tennis-court-stables-and-its-own-waterfall/

There are bluffers all over the country living this lifestyle on YOUR backs. The Irish mindset supports that I believe. You see it with Lowry, Healy Raes et al being elected time and time again. Attend a few funerals, fix a few roads using connected companies. Christ, as a nation, we are very immature when it comes to ethics and governance. For me that is the most frustrating thing about being Irish and it really is upsetting in ways. Seeing all the potential of the country wasted to local politics.

I think most would rather the quick personal gain than look at the bigger picture.

That is wrong and the country as a whole needs to snap out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

FAI sought Government ‘bailout’ of €18 million, says Ross (Irish Times)
    Minister says liquidation of football body being examined but he wants to ‘avoid that at all costs’

The Football Association of Ireland (FAI) sought a “bailout” of €18 million on Monday night, Minister for Sport Shane Ross has revealed. He also confirmed the implications of examinership or liquidation of the organisation were being examined but said he wanted to “avoid that at all costs”.

Speaking at the Oireachtas Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport on Wednesday morning, Mr Ross said the FAI “came seeking a bailout. We made it clear we cannot and will not provide them with taxpayers’ money”.

Later, he said the association looked for “various scenarios” of financial support, including a guarantee for its bank debts, but that an explicit request for €18 million was made. “They sought, they named that figure, it was shocking,” Mr Ross said.

He told the committee his goal was to avoid examinership or liquidation of the FAI “at all costs” but confirmed Grant Thornton, the financial advisers to the association, had done some work on the consequences of such a move that will be shared with the department.

Examinership may be an option if they can't agree a refinancing deal with their bank(s). Even then, they would require an investor/backer like UEFA and/or someone else to pay their creditors a certain percentage of debt owed.

The Niall Quinn sponsored proposal of splitting the FAI in two was correctly dismissed by Sport Ireland at the meeting. Every time Quinn tries to creep into and commercialise some part of Irish football he gets rebuffed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Want 18m but won't attend committee meeting? Give them nothing, let it fold and set up a non-profit body to over see setting fixtures for the league.