Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carpentry tools for a teenager

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

where do you live? there might be a local guild he could join; again with the woodturning, there are chapters covering the country, but may not meet an easy distance from you, depending on where you live.
    in our chapter, we have monthly meetings, and there's usually a demonstrator showing off their particular skill or demonstrating a particular piece on a lathe, sounds like it might be worth checking out.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 ..board..

I'm in the waterford/kilkenny area,
    Something like that could be good for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

would anyone running a business take a minor on like that though, especially on a job which requires power tools?

He wouldnt be using powertools even a 1 year apprentice would be limited to what tools they could use. Everything isnt made using powertools. The key is to learn the process to efficiently and cost effectively make the piece of furniture or wooden structure. There is more to carpentry than power tools.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

..board.. wrote: »
    I'm in the waterford/kilkenny area,
    Something like that could be good for him.
    seems the southeast chapter meets near kilkenny - the website is quite out of date, but as of 2015, they were meeting in bennetsbridge.

If he doesn't have his own plane, chisels and saws, lathes and routers should really be waaaay down the list of things to be spending money on by way of equipping a youngster possessed of enthusiasm and talent for woodworking in general. No doubt about it, there's a lot of knowledge here amongst the posters who have replied, but our own enthusiasm for a particular interest within woodworking can lend undue influence to the advice we might offer.

Trying to leave aside my own desire to tell you he needs a Bedrock 604 and a Roubo bench (hand tool woodworking overkill), here's a suggested shopping list and links for some good quality tools (some top-tier marking/layout stuff, others great usable tools that will last him) coming in at €227 plus about €13 for delivery. That leaves €60 in budget, so see a few optional extra from other sources at the end.

Fine-Tools in Germany have those items in stock and as a supplier they more often than not have the best price, especially when looking at the comparative 'cart' price. Items ordered from them will usually leave within one working day and their service has proven to be excellent over the years. I've no vested interest in any retailer who sells tools online or otherwise (although I can't say anything good either about Axminster direct sales, based on recent poor service experience), just giving a personal recommendation buying the exact tools I'm recommending from the supplier I'm happy to recommend also. I'm sure others have enjoyed similar experience with them over the years and may wish to chime in.

#1 - Low angle block plane - Juuma - produced for Fine-Tools, 'lower cost' but an excellent quality tool at €75 - Will last a lifetime:

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=300050&order=1

#2 - A set of good quality chisels, fine for general use and will serve him for many years - Narex, in 6mm/12mm/18mm/26mm sizes - €29 in total for the 4 sizes I recommend:

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331103&order=1
    https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331106&order=1
    https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331109&order=1
    https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331112&order=1

More sizes available, but those will get him started and birthdays can add sizes for him down the line.

#3 - King 1000/6000 Grit Japanese sharpening combination stone in plastic case, good value, much better than cheap oilstones - €33

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=309366&order=1

There is a larger version, costing about €44 - It's up to you if you went for that or not, but the one above will get him going. The larger one is better value longer term, so grab it if you're not holding firm overall on the spend.

#4 - Veritas Metric Micro-Adjust marking gauge, super accurate, easy to bring to school and will definitely benefit him - don't underestimate its worth! - €34

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=307981&order=1

#5 - Shinwa Stainless combination square - Tough tool, accurate, very useful for all the projects he's likely to want to do. Again, ideal to take to school also and it's another lifetime tool - €19

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=309601&order=1

#6 - William Greaves 10" gent saw, good for furniture making and finer project work, the kind of things he'll be doing in school. He can also resharpen it (his teacher will show him if he shows interest in learning how), will last decades, but cheap enough it won't cause any upset if it gets damaged or 'abused' along the way. €16

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=303029&order=1

#7 - Ryoba type Japanese saw, suitable for general purpose project work, cutting boards and getting pieces ready for doing the finer joinery etc. For the money, the best type of handsaw you could get him without specific types of work in mind. I'd usually prefer traditional western type hand/panel saws, but there's nothing comes close to the quality/price balance as this one at €32

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=313780&order=1

Options:

#8 Thor 712 Chisel/Assembly mallet - A fantastic tool to have. Worth every cent. €23 including postage from a good seller in the UK - I've bought a couple from this listing and recommend it as a great addition to the chisels I recommended above:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Thor-712R-Soft-Hard-Faced-Hammer-Wood-Handle-38mm-650g-THO712R/332667430833?epid=2254507869&hash=item4d748627b1:g:TrcAAOSwZvFbDWpB

#9 A honing guide for chisels/plane blades - Very useful to add to the items recommended earlier, even if there's one at home already. A new one should be bought and exclusively used with the japanese stones, to give them a longer life. Fine-Tools don't seem to have this 'clone' of a very popular type (copied and sold in their millions), so I'm pointing you to the Carpentry Store in Naas as they stock one. €14 plus postage.

https://www.thecarpentrystore.com/p/rider-honing-guide/340147

That should give your son a cracking good starter set of tools, at around the €300 total. As I've said, this set will help him enjoy all sorts of projects and areas of interest in woodworking, will absolutely help with the school project work in terms of the quality/accuracy he will be able to produce (at least as far as the tools have influence!) and if he ended up enjoying woodworking as a hobby or as a trade he'll still be using some of them by the time he'll be thinking about tools for his own kids, (hopefully!!) far down the line. :)

You're a good Mammy. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I would agree totally with the post above, those tools will help him too move from rustic to fine furniture if he wishes, and with the €60 leftover you could add a 1000mm steel ruler, a few cabinet scrapers and a book by Paul Sellers or James Krenov.

JayZeus thanks so much for putting your time into that list of tools, it's much appreciated.

They would open up a lot of opportunities to enable him to develop and refine different skills.
    I think he would be blown away that all this stuff is his own.

He sells sugan stools in a craft shop in Cork at the moment, he might expand his catalogue of goods after getting these.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

I would agree totally with the post above, those tools will help him too move from rustic to fine furniture if he wishes, and with the €60 leftover you could add a 1000mm steel ruler, a few cabinet scrapers and a book by Paul Sellers or James Krenov.

Add a good toolbag/toolbox to the tools listed and the lad will be well set up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

Hard to argue with jayzeus with that list:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

iamtony wrote: »
    Hard to argue with jayzeus with that list:D

I'd say that list has been sent to Santa by many users of this forum.... And not for their kids either :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

The best present you could give him is to take him over to one of the woodworking shows in the UK - that would really open his eyes.:D
    He needs the basics for a woodworker - a panel saw, a tenon saw , a jack plane a set of chisels and an oilstone. He has got to learn to use and sharpen tools otherwise the hobby can get frustrating using blunt tools. Try and buy one quality tool rather than ten bad ones - a good philosophy for going through life. For a stocking filler try ' The Technique of Furniture making ' by Ernest Joyce - an old but great review of making anything in wood.

They have a wood turning lathe in Lidl this Thursday for €80 and a router for €35

• Registered Users Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭jack of all

I think good quality hand tools are the way to go- a nice quality selection that will last your lifetime, the only exception I would make would be for a good cordless drill/ driver. When I started out dabbling in woodwork I too thought a tool had to have a power lead! After some initial messing with power tool purchases I focused on hand tools- that's where you learn and perfect the basic skills- power tools can be purchased after as confidence and ability grows. €300 wouldn't buy much of a lathe setup when you consider you need a set of chisels and the means to sharpen them.

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭chillyspoon

JayZeus wrote: »

Holy moly that's one of the worst budget power tools I've seen to date - and I'm a supporter of careful cherry picking from the Lidl/Aldi/Einhell/Scheppach/Grizzly budget ranges so I've plenty of Parkside stuff in my workshop - but I'd steer well, well clear of that yoke.

Same goes for the "portable table saw" they've got coming up too; that's a finger remover right there.

On the other hand, the 20 euro trestles would be grand "stocking fillers", although you'll need a duvet cover rather than a stocking to put them in! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭bamayang

seems the southeast chapter meets near kilkenny - the website is quite out of date, but as of 2015, they were meeting in bennetsbridge.

I used to go to this. Very sound lads meet once a month in bennetsvridge. Pm me if you want a contact number.

Really would steer clear of router for now. He might be able manage it grand, but it’s a seriously powerful little piece of kit and if for any reason he’s not able for it, you could have a serious accident.
    Great answers supplied so far and I would echo the Hugh quality hand tool route. If he has a strong interest in it, now is a great time to start focusing on better quality and improving himself all the time. Hand tools will do that. Fair play to both of ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

I think good quality hand tools are the way to go- a nice quality selection that will last your lifetime, the only exception I would make would be for a good cordless drill/ driver. When I started out dabbling in woodwork I too thought a tool had to have a power lead! After some initial messing with power tool purchases I focused on hand tools- that's where you learn and perfect the basic skills- power tools can be purchased after as confidence and ability grows. €300 wouldn't buy much of a lathe setup when you consider you need a set of chisels and the means to sharpen them.

Agree. You can make a lot of things just by screwing them together and a cordless drill driver is streets ahead of a cheap cordless drill. They are not cheap but should last a lifetime.
    If any tool empowers a woodworker however it is a planer thicknesser. It allows you to use hardwoods and you are not stuck with standard softwood dimensions.Whether I would let a 14 year old use one is problematic - training and supervision would be required as a minimum.

recipio wrote: »
    Agree. You can make a lot of things just by screwing them together and a cordless drill driver is streets ahead of a cheap cordless drill. They are not cheap but should last a lifetime.
    If any tool empowers a woodworker however it is a planer thicknesser. It allows you to use hardwoods and you are not stuck with standard softwood dimensions.Whether I would let a 14 year old use one is problematic - training and supervision would be required as a minimum.

Lads, the OP's husband has drills and the usual DIY power tools already.

Let him enjoy the bit of craft before he thinks he has to have production type tools at his disposal. And let him pay for them himself when he's old enough to have single tools costing hundreds of euro, when a fit 14 year old would be well able to do all the same things without the pricey power tools.

With all respect, talking about buying drill drivers or thicknesser planers for a 14 year old before he has a hand plane, saw, some layout tools and so on is probably not particularly helpful. It's no better than talk of lathes and routers.

Basics first. We all know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd say that list has been sent to Santa by many users of this forum.... And not for their kids either :)
    You're not wrong. Mrs Sleepy was sent a few of the links for the chisels and sharpening stones! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭bamayang

https://youtu.be/leBBTK7DF28

A good one to send to the other half’s also!

So I have done my shopping

From fine tools:

Chisel 12mm WOOD LINE PROFI NAREX
    Chisel 18mm WOOD LINE PROFI NAREX
    Chisel 6mm WOOD LINE PROFI NAREX
    Wooden Mallet Ash Handle Beech Head 105x65mm
    Mortise Chisel 14 mm with wooden Handle MHG
    Coping Saw Frame Cutting Depth 120 mm for Coping Saw Blades with Length 170 mm PEGAS
    Coping Saw Blade Skip Length 170 mm - 7 Teeth per cm = 18 TPI Pack of 6 Pieces PEGAS
    Small Japanese Combination Stone 1000/6000 Size 185 x 63 x 25 mm KING

This off amazon, I'm not sure if its a bit gimmicky, but they will serve a function, and the bag looks handy!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002SHNQZ4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Saw:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0043YN9BQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

That Japanese saw looked like something out of a horror movie, so I went with a more conventional looking hand saw.
    thanks for all the suggestions!

I still say get him the router, it's Christmas:pac: I'm sure he will be happy anyway.

That’s a good selection. You struck a good balance there so well done.

The saw was a great choice - good find!

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭chillyspoon

That Japanese saw looked like something out of a horror movie, so I went with a more conventional looking hand saw.

Good choices all, he'll have a great Christmas!

I love your comment about the Japanese saw. My Dad first got one when I was about 14 and I thought it looked like some sort of medieval weapon (which is basically true)!

Thing is, they're utterly brilliant, they're easy to use and have distinct advantages in some areas of fine woodworking. Perhaps for his next birthday, when you've recovered from the shock of how they look! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,194 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Op, wishing you a very happy xmas with your wonderfully ambitious son.:)

Embrace it!

For the Corbyintes here:

Summary

Range is the groundbreaking and exhilarating exploration into how to be successful in the 21st century, from David Epstein, the acclaimed author of The Sports Gene.

What if everything you have been taught about how to succeed in life was wrong?

From the ‘10,000 hours rule’ to the power of tiger parenting, we have been taught that success in any field requires early specialization and many hours of deliberate practice. And, worse, that if you dabble or delay, you'll never catch up with those who got a head start.

This is completely wrong.

In this landmark audiobook, David Epstein shows that the way to excel is by sampling widely, gaining a breadth of experiences, taking detours, experimenting relentlessly, juggling many interests - in other words, by developing range.

Studying the world’s most successful athletes, artists, musicians, inventors and scientists, Epstein discovered that in most fields - especially those that are complex and unpredictable - generalists, not specialists, are primed to excel. They are also more creative, more agile and able to make connections their more specialized peers can’t see. Range proves that by spreading your knowledge across multiple domains is the key to success rather than deepening their knowledge in a single area.

Provocative, rigorous and engrossing, Range explains how to maintain the benefits of breadth, diverse experience and interdisciplinary thinking in a world that increasingly demands hyperspecialization.

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

Op, wishing you a very happy xmas with your wonderfully ambitious son.:)

Embrace it!

For the Corbyintes here:

Summary

Range is the groundbreaking and exhilarating exploration into how to be successful in the 21st century, from David Epstein, the acclaimed author of The Sports Gene.

What if everything you have been taught about how to succeed in life was wrong?

From the ‘10,000 hours rule’ to the power of tiger parenting, we have been taught that success in any field requires early specialization and many hours of deliberate practice. And, worse, that if you dabble or delay, you'll never catch up with those who got a head start.

This is completely wrong.

In this landmark audiobook, David Epstein shows that the way to excel is by sampling widely, gaining a breadth of experiences, taking detours, experimenting relentlessly, juggling many interests - in other words, by developing range.

Studying the world’s most successful athletes, artists, musicians, inventors and scientists, Epstein discovered that in most fields - especially those that are complex and unpredictable - generalists, not specialists, are primed to excel. They are also more creative, more agile and able to make connections their more specialized peers can’t see. Range proves that by spreading your knowledge across multiple domains is the key to success rather than deepening their knowledge in a single area.

Provocative, rigorous and engrossing, Range explains how to maintain the benefits of breadth, diverse experience and interdisciplinary thinking in a world that increasingly demands hyperspecialization.
    I've way to many hobbies and interests that's I'd consider myself, not an expert, bit fairly proficient at, does that make me a genius? My bank balance doesn't reflect this but maybe I'm just a victim of circumstances. I knew I was special:pac:

So I have done my shopping

From fine tools:

Chisel 12mm WOOD LINE PROFI NAREX
    Chisel 18mm WOOD LINE PROFI NAREX
    Chisel 6mm WOOD LINE PROFI NAREX
    Wooden Mallet Ash Handle Beech Head 105x65mm
    Mortise Chisel 14 mm with wooden Handle MHG
    Coping Saw Frame Cutting Depth 120 mm for Coping Saw Blades with Length 170 mm PEGAS
    Coping Saw Blade Skip Length 170 mm - 7 Teeth per cm = 18 TPI Pack of 6 Pieces PEGAS
    Small Japanese Combination Stone 1000/6000 Size 185 x 63 x 25 mm KING

This off amazon, I'm not sure if its a bit gimmicky, but they will serve a function, and the bag looks handy!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002SHNQZ4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Saw:
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0043YN9BQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

thanks for all the suggestions!

Hope the new tools were well received today!

Happy Christmas to you and all here on the Woodcraft board.

Hope the new tools were well received today!

Happy Christmas to you and all here on the Woodcraft board.

Thank you for all the recommendations, he was delighted with them. He is itching to start making something now.
    My husband couldn't get over the quantity of them.
    Happy Christmas All

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

what a great story in this day and age that a young person wants to do something useful with their lives, fair play to him , i wish him every success in his chosen trade, not many if any interested in trades now. loads of online sites for tools etc , will take him a while to get everything sure at that game you'd always be buying tools.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭stratowide

If he doesn't have his own plane, chisels and saws, lathes and routers should really be waaaay down the list of things to be spending money on by way of equipping a youngster possessed of enthusiasm and talent for woodworking in general. No doubt about it, there's a lot of knowledge here amongst the posters who have replied, but our own enthusiasm for a particular interest within woodworking can lend undue influence to the advice we might offer.

Trying to leave aside my own desire to tell you he needs a Bedrock 604 and a Roubo bench (hand tool woodworking overkill), here's a suggested shopping list and links for some good quality tools (some top-tier marking/layout stuff, others great usable tools that will last him) coming in at €227 plus about €13 for delivery. That leaves €60 in budget, so see a few optional extra from other sources at the end.

Fine-Tools in Germany have those items in stock and as a supplier they more often than not have the best price, especially when looking at the comparative 'cart' price. Items ordered from them will usually leave within one working day and their service has proven to be excellent over the years. I've no vested interest in any retailer who sells tools online or otherwise (although I can't say anything good either about Axminster direct sales, based on recent poor service experience), just giving a personal recommendation buying the exact tools I'm recommending from the supplier I'm happy to recommend also. I'm sure others have enjoyed similar experience with them over the years and may wish to chime in.

#1 - Low angle block plane - Juuma - produced for Fine-Tools, 'lower cost' but an excellent quality tool at €75 - Will last a lifetime:

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=300050&order=1

#2 - A set of good quality chisels, fine for general use and will serve him for many years - Narex, in 6mm/12mm/18mm/26mm sizes - €29 in total for the 4 sizes I recommend:

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331103&order=1
    https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331106&order=1
    https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331109&order=1
    https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=331112&order=1

More sizes available, but those will get him started and birthdays can add sizes for him down the line.

#3 - King 1000/6000 Grit Japanese sharpening combination stone in plastic case, good value, much better than cheap oilstones - €33

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=309366&order=1

There is a larger version, costing about €44 - It's up to you if you went for that or not, but the one above will get him going. The larger one is better value longer term, so grab it if you're not holding firm overall on the spend.

#4 - Veritas Metric Micro-Adjust marking gauge, super accurate, easy to bring to school and will definitely benefit him - don't underestimate its worth! - €34

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=307981&order=1

#5 - Shinwa Stainless combination square - Tough tool, accurate, very useful for all the projects he's likely to want to do. Again, ideal to take to school also and it's another lifetime tool - €19

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=309601&order=1

#6 - William Greaves 10" gent saw, good for furniture making and finer project work, the kind of things he'll be doing in school. He can also resharpen it (his teacher will show him if he shows interest in learning how), will last decades, but cheap enough it won't cause any upset if it gets damaged or 'abused' along the way. €16

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=303029&order=1

#7 - Ryoba type Japanese saw, suitable for general purpose project work, cutting boards and getting pieces ready for doing the finer joinery etc. For the money, the best type of handsaw you could get him without specific types of work in mind. I'd usually prefer traditional western type hand/panel saws, but there's nothing comes close to the quality/price balance as this one at €32

https://www.fine-tools.com/cgi-bin/shop/fronten/shop_main.cgi?func=direkt&artnr=313780&order=1

Options:

#8 Thor 712 Chisel/Assembly mallet - A fantastic tool to have. Worth every cent. €23 including postage from a good seller in the UK - I've bought a couple from this listing and recommend it as a great addition to the chisels I recommended above:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Thor-712R-Soft-Hard-Faced-Hammer-Wood-Handle-38mm-650g-THO712R/332667430833?epid=2254507869&hash=item4d748627b1:g:TrcAAOSwZvFbDWpB

#9 A honing guide for chisels/plane blades - Very useful to add to the items recommended earlier, even if there's one at home already. A new one should be bought and exclusively used with the japanese stones, to give them a longer life. Fine-Tools don't seem to have this 'clone' of a very popular type (copied and sold in their millions), so I'm pointing you to the Carpentry Store in Naas as they stock one. €14 plus postage.

That should give your son a cracking good starter set of tools, at around the €300 total. As I've said, this set will help him enjoy all sorts of projects and areas of interest in woodworking, will absolutely help with the school project work in terms of the quality/accuracy he will be able to produce (at least as far as the tools have influence!) and if he ended up enjoying woodworking as a hobby or as a trade he'll still be using some of them by the time he'll be thinking about tools for his own kids, (hopefully!!) far down the line. :)

You're a good Mammy. Fair play to you.
    Just some feedback in case anyone is interested in this.

Like the OP I am a beginner/returnee woodworker.
    Ordered the japanese and gents saws,veritas measuring tool and a whole set of those narex chisels off the fine- tools*crowd in Germany.

Took about a week to arrive delivered by an post.

Altogether I'd say they were top quality for handy money.Would definitely use them again.

Oh and I got the honing guide from the carpentry store.ie*
    Again no issues and next day day delivery.

*I've no connection to either.Just a fast and efficient service.