Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Byrne RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,268 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

It never ceases to amaze me on RIP threads how people cannot seem to judge a whole life, the good and the bad and the things a person might be proud of or embarrassed about.

His show peaked at close to a million listeners day in, day out, week in, week out.

His contribution was immense even if you didn't agree with some of it, or didn't like the man.
    He was of his time too. An interviewer of similar skill wouldn't command those audiences today as the broadcasting landscape is much more diverse.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,213 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Mirafiori wrote: »
    I think he had to ask the poor woman a question too, for whatever prize was involved. Imagine one the successors dealing with that little situation!

She wanted to do the question, he was going to hang up otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

tipptom wrote: »
    It was seriously unprofessional and his west brit class bias was shown to great affect when he would welcome Paisley on his show with open arms and parley with him as if he was Peter Ustinov,not some bigoted Catholic hate merchant involved in arms importations and incitement to murder for loyalist gangs with probably more blood on his hands than Adams.

Thought he was the same class and status as the Guinnesses with his snobiness and criticism of Irish accecnts and grammer when they were mere lackeys for them.
    Eh, what's with the eye searing highlighted yellow? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 67,213 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He was of his time too. An interviewer of similar skill wouldn't command those audiences today as the broadcasting landscape is much more diverse.

I was trying to give my young fella a flavour of what it was like, but I think he doesn't get it.

Hard to imagine I suppose. We were kind of more cosmopolitan up here in 4 station land, getting ITV, BBC 1+ 2 and RTE for many years before it all opened up, to it's detriment as it turns out.
    My children watch ZERO TV. Everything is online. We are in the last of days methinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Has the cliche feminist reminded men yet that escorts don't find them attractive and are only doing it for the money :pac:
    Are you in the right thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

An absolute legend. Almost everyone alive today in Ireland grew up with him on the screen in one form or another.

Have my criticisms of RTÉ and the RSA, but you would have to have looked very very hard to find something not to like about the man.

RIP Gay.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Is Mike Murphy (from winning streak) still knocking around?

He is, and he's famous for playing an infamous trick on Gaybo outside Trinity College.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Sad, sad news. Like many, Gay Byrne was always around when I was growing up in the 80s and 90s. My mother loved him. My dad didn't like him but grudgingly acknowledged he was good at what he did and had a massive impact on the country. In my view, he was a great broadcaster and seemed like a very nice and genuine man. He was RTE for me.

It's a bit mad. I'm in my early 40s now. And when you're younger, you think that the world has always been as it was when you were young and that when real change inevitably arrives, it's the first time the world has changed and "things are no longer as good as they used to be". I'm seeing parts of my life drifting away lately that had always been there and that I thought always would be there. I'm realising that everything and everyone's time is just as fleeting as those who'll follow and those who tread the path before them. Illogical, natural and unsettling all in equal measure.

On a personal level, the loss of the once omnipresent Gay Byrne is another sad reminder of how time keeps moving.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 10,257 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

https://m.phys.org/news/2019-11-voyager-interstellar-space-scientists-plasma.html

Gaybo passes away and Voyager 2 reaches interstellar space. Coincidence? I think not.

RIP. Toy Show has gone to sh1te since '99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Has the cliche feminist reminded men yet that escorts don't find them attractive and are only doing it for the money :pac:

Escorts?? The Rose of Tralee is the only tenuous link I can make to Gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Letwin_Larry

i agree we wont be seeing his kind again. terrestrial TV has changed forever.
    personally i feel privileged to have watched/listened to him throughout a large chunk of my life.

Mary McAleese on the news. Loves the sound of her voice. Just let go Mary, we've had enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Does anyone remember him at the rose of tralee one time when he was interviewing the Welsh or New Zealand rose. He asked her what she did for a living and there was a funny exchange where she said "I'm a severe" and he said "a what?" and she repeated it once or twice...anyway eventually he realised she was saying " I'm a surveyer". It was very funny.
    Also...his ' Christmas cake' skit was funny...silly , but funny .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

I bet Father Brian D'Arcy will do the funeral. If you're an Irish celebrity and he doesn't do your funeral, are you really dead?

Naggdefy wrote: »
    Mary McAleese on the news. Loves the sound of her voice. Just let go Mary, we've had enough.

Mary REALLY has it in for the Catholic Church hasn't she.
    never misses an opportunity to have a swipe.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,387 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

RIP of course.

But There’s going to be a huge amount of backslapping mawkish fawning and self praise from various RTÉ “celebs” over this.

So many of them are useless. Tubridy darcy, finucane being 3 that come to mind. Useless.

The Catholic church was grand for Mary until her own so was gay.

She wasn't a champion of LGBT rights before that. I find her a hypocrite.

Anyway this is Gay's thread. May he rest in peace and condolences to his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Invisibleman

She’s desperately trying to erase the unionists are like nazis quote she gave years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I bet Father Brian D'Arcy will do the funeral. If you're an Irish celebrity and he doesn't do your funeral, are you really dead?
    He does excellent chalice work a genius with a thurible

he gives good mass.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Can’t say I’ll miss him. He hated the youth and when he came out against youths and cars I was a young lad. So I can’t say I’d miss him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

Naggdefy wrote: »

I wouldn't be in the least surprised if she had phoned RTE up and offered to come into the studio to pay her respects. An Irish celeb isn't really dead until both Mickey Dee and Mary Motormouth have had an opportunity to express their sympathy on the tellie.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I’ll tell ye one thing.
    If gaybo was around the late late these days he wouldn’t be entertaining the idea of interviewing that fcukin idiot blindboy boatclub wearing a tracksuit,woolly hat and fcukin plastic bag on his head on live tv.
    Gaybo wouldn’t suffer that nonsense.

When BB called Boards.ie a sewer he wasn't half wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Byrne was a broadcaster and showman par excellence particularly in the early part of his career but, as an individual, he came across as quite shallow and narrow minded. He seemed to have little knowledge of or interest in many of the things a talk show host ought to be interested in such as politics, current affairs, sport, art and literature in particular. Ulick O ' Connor - a frequent guest on the Late Late and himself recently deceased - used to make the same point about him. I felt he should have retired earlier (when he finished the Late Late) rather than continue to make programmes where he seemed jaded and just going through the motions. His financial position may have necessitated that he continue to do so. He took a pretty heavy hit in that regard after the Russell Murphy episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭trashcan

degsie wrote: »
    Is there a video of Collette 'rolling it' out in the wild?

Not my favourite personality, RIP nevertheless.

What did poor Colette ever do on you :P

Was never a fan of Gaybo. Don't want to speak ill, etc, etc, but I do think he was wildly over rated. I'll say no more than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,086 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Don't remember her being that way when she was President, though.

As for Gaybo, can't say I was his biggest fan, though i was still a kid in the 90s and the Toy Show was always one of the must-see programmea of the year.

It's impossible to deny the impact he had on Irish media. My generation and my parents' generation grew up qith him there to some extent. He was extremely good at what he did. Pat Kenny and Tubbs don't even come close. I was hit with a tinge of sadness as his death is the loss of another piece of a different time in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,327 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

171170 wrote: »
    I wouldn't be in the least surprised if she had phoned RTE up and offered to come into the studio to pay her respects. An Irish celeb isn't really dead until both Mickey Dee and Mary Motormouth have had an opportunity to express their sympathy on the tellie.

When ever I hear Michael Dee speak I always feel I'm back in an arrogant English teachers class!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭KaneToad

One of the greatest examples of giving a fella enough rope ever witnessed on live TV

This buffoon (Flynn) spoke on RTE today about Byrne and offered his condolences. A strange contribution.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭rn

Rip Gaybo. He was excellent in entertainment, almost right to the end.