Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asylum Seekers Getting Apartments in Ballinamore - mod warning in OP (18/10)

• Registered Users Posts: 39,747 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

mvl wrote: »
    And I do think the citizenship rules can be stricter for asylum applicants too, so that citizenship (grant/revoke) can be used to keep the rules of play for a safer Ireland.

They are, you only can have citizenship removed if you have more than one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭mvl

Boggles wrote: »
    They are, you only can have citizenship removed if you have more than one.
    I am not talking about changing rules for a specific race, I am talking about same rule for everyone. If only 5 have ever been removed sounds to me current system is too relaxed.
    Including link to the law http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1956/act/26/section/19/enacted/en/html#sec19 ((i was referring to point b earlier).
    - For info, a summary on how the citizenship revoking is handled in Europe can be found in this article I am quoting below:

"The Netherlands and France are the only two EU countries that explicitly list terrorist activities as a reason to cancel a person's citizenship....
    According to the European Parliament statistics, in 15 EU countries, disloyalty can be given as a reason to strip citizenship. This can mean committing serious crimes against the state (the Netherlands, Belgium, Bulgaria and Denmark), acting against the constitutional order and national institutions (Denmark, Estonia, France, Latvia and Lithuania), "showing disloyalty by act or speech" (Cyprus, Malta and Ireland), or generally acting against national interests (France, Greece, Romania, Slovenia and the UK)."

I am not talking about changing rules for a specific race, I am talking about same rule for everyone.

I didn't mention a specific race. It's nothing to do with race. :confused:

You can't have the same rule for everyone as not everyone are dual citizens.

I didn't mention a specific race. It's nothing to do with race. :confused:
    You can't have the same rule for everyone as not everyone are dual citizens.
    I didn't mean to imply you did.
    Look ... related to terrorism and the likes - I would have no issue with increasing the number of stateless persons to protect my citizens.

For sure when someone is naturalized, records are kept about initial citizenship - if the country of origin doesn't allow dual citizenship, guess agreements can be put in place so that the old citizenship is granted instantly if Irish state decides to revoke theirs. You just don't give them citizenship if such agreements don't exist.

- Politicians these days are so deceiving; they continue do so little in order to protect their own citizens.

Yevon wrote: »
    Has it been mentioned that there was already asylum seekers accommodated in Ballinamore years ago? In the old hotel on the main street. Didn't cause any problems, they integrated well and a few lads played football with Sean O'Heslin's in Ballinamore.

do you know how many, and for how long they were hosted there ? and are any of them included in current population ?
    I think majority here are having an issue with the number - seems too large for current population.

do you know how many, and for how long they were hosted there ? and are any of them included in current population ?
    I think majority here are having an issue with the number - seems too large for current population.

News reports say there were over 25 the last time. I’d hazard a guess there were between 25 - 30 refugees otherwise they’d have said “over 30 refugees”

I didn't mean to imply you did.
    Look ... related to terrorism and the likes - I would have no issue with increasing the number of stateless persons to protect my citizens.

So members of the IRA or whatever flavor they call themselves at the moment, you would revoke their citizenship?

And then what? Put them in a dingy and escort them out to international waters?

Anyway it's illegal to make someone stateless.

I know what you are saying and agree with you to a point.

This fúcktard for instance can píss off, if he ever tries to get back into the state, he should be sent packing.

https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2018/1030/1007624-ali-charaf-damache/

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

So members of the IRA or whatever flavor they call themselves at the moment, you would revoke their citizenship?

And then what? Put them in a dingy and escort them out to international waters?

Anyway it's illegal to make someone stateless.

I know what you are saying and agree with you to a point.

This fúcktard for instance can píss off, if he ever tries to get back into the state, he should be sent packing.

https://www.rte.ie/news/us/2018/1030/1007624-ali-charaf-damache/

No way should he be allowed back here but the sad part is they will allow it...

Why is it though? What difference does it make if there are 30or 50 or 100 New people in the town?

bubblypop wrote: »
    Why is it though? What difference does it make if there are 30or 50 or 100 New people in the town?

from where I am concerned, after reading that in uk they limit asylum seekers in each local authority, to not exceed one per 200 local people - that would translate for this size locality less than 5 at a time, hearing about 130 in a village with 900 ppl is not in order.

- imo even less than 10 would be easy to manage in a place like that, and nobody would be feeling threatened, plus would not be extra load on school/GPs/garda and what else.

just that someone would need to do more work to find the 13 local authorities instead of this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

You know what you're right, the numbers don't matter. They should just stick 5,000 there, and that way it's the the locals that are forced to integrate, makes complete sense.

- imo even less than 10 would be easy to manage in a place like that, and nobody would be feeling threatened, plus would not be extra load on school/GPs/garda and what else.

Why would someone feel threatened?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

alastair wrote: »
    Because all it offers is DP for a couple of years, with little prospect of success in remaining?

Most aren't deported

• Registered Users Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Threatened? It's called people unknown. Brought in from fook knows where. Just accept. To a percentage of local populace which is ridiculous. So yea. Not to mention services or integration. Meanwhile the state of **** as a whole here. Did Ireland sign up to be the charity of the entire world. No so fook off.

Lol.
    You think the people should be afraid of strangers
    Jaysis, how do they ever get through the week!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

Lol.
    You think the people should be afraid of strangers
    Jaysis, how do they ever get through the week!!

Lets stop teaching children about "stranger danger" then will we?
    Its not being afraid its having some common sense,which is severely lacking in a lot of posters here.

• Registered Users Posts: 41,021 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Because far right propaganda is deliberately stoking fears and deliberately giving the impression all refugees are rapists.

https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2019/oct/07/far-right-swooping-on-towns-to-exploit-tensions-report-says

They have a playbook they copied from the UK

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Well, as a woman&mother if I were to live in that village, I would be feeling threatened if large number of single young men end up hosted there, the ones that end up doing nothing all day in the towncentre.
    - I would contemplate moving out of there, tbh.

And not only that I would not want the centre hosting hundreds within miles from my daughters school, but the actual single mothers and girls in the DP are also feeling threatened. There are Irish surveys that document the exact thing. It's not the women and children or families that are an issue, the concern is towards hosting (hundreds of) young single men.
    - hilarious how the left activism on this thread does not want to hear what normal ppl have to say about it: how would the politicians listen then ?

The current system implementation needs to change before becoming anything else but failure imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Well, as a woman, if I were to live in that village, I would be feeling threatened if large number of single young men end up hosted there, the ones that end up doing nothing all day in the towncentre.

And not only that I would not want the centre hosting hundreds within miles from my daughters school, but the actual single mothers and girls in the DP are also feeling threatened. There are Irish surveys that document the exact thing. It's not the women and children or families that are an issue, the concern is towards hosting (hundreds of) young single men.
    - hilarious how the left activism on this thread does not want to hear what normal ppl have to say about it: how would the politicians listen then ?

The current system implementation needs to change before becoming anything else but failure imo.

You make good points and unless I was in the exact situation. I.e living there and being a woman I don't think it would be fair to disregard them. It is easy for people to be pro this development when it doesn't affect them. The feelings and worries of the residents should be taken into account as opposed to someone hundreds of miles away.

One thing that stuck out though was your repeated use of the word 'single' when describing men that you are concerned about. Are you implying that if only married people were housed your concerns would be allayed? It comes across that only single people are predators. I am genuinely interested to know if that is the concern of the residents.

Some of the other posts reminded me of Sacha Baron Cohen telling the residents of a small US village that he wants to build a mosque.

https://youtu.be/KHJlZyFxp88

• Registered Users Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭baldbear

Well, as a woman, if I were to live in that village, I would be feeling threatened if large number of single young men end up hosted there, the ones that end up doing nothing all day in the towncentre.

Would you feel safe if they were white?

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭jucko

i live about 200 yards from one centre, work about 1km from the other. Where i work, a rural area, there is nothing socially to do, we love our farming ,countryside, pubs have closed because of lack of business.

thats grand.
    no playground for kids, no shops for adults, no mosque or religious centre, doctor 5 miles away, no broadband, school crammed.

people are used to the asylum seekers(lots of men, mostly from South Africa ,Trinidad?, Georgia, Albania), there are always a few assholes but thats life.
    The asylum seekershowever, dont want to be here !!!
    they want to be where public transport and facilities are!!
    where they can socialise , be part of a community!

the hotels they stay in were not doing good, one was closed.
    so , longer term i think these folk will end up in the cities, and its just a temporary thing for ballinamore.
    thats business!!

baldbear wrote: »
    Would you feel safe if they were white?

this is the problem, we have loads of eastern europeans here.. its like a silent immigration, people dont notice them.
    when youre black,brown though, its different.
    the lack of screening is a concern for people.
    spoke to a coloured lady yesterday, and the morning before , she was in Lagos, and 'they were trying to kill me'....
    I left it at that.

Well, also as a woman, thankfully I can get through my day without being afraid of strangers.
    Also, there are families being placed in these apartments, so not single men. Not that single men are more terrifying than non single men!! Well, not to normal people anyway.
    Hilarious how right wing people on this thread are trying to convince everyone that the families moving to Ballinamore are some mix of sexual offender/ criminals.

Well, also as a woman, thankfully I can get through my day without being afraid of strangers.
    Also, there are families being placed in these apartments, so not single men. Not that single men are more terrifying than non single men!! Well, not to normal people anyway.
    Hilarious how right wing people on this thread are trying to convince everyone that the families moving to Ballinamore are some mix of sexual offender/ criminals.

a lot of people DO want to escape their past. People need to be screened more.
    It is concerning how a person could have committed a major crime in another juristicion, travelled here, claimed asylum, and transported to Ballinamore or similar, within 24 hours.

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    Lets stop teaching children about "stranger danger" then will we?
    Its not being afraid its having some common sense,which is severely lacking in a lot of posters here.

Lol.
    There is a difference between being a child and an adult. Most adults have their own sense & are not afraid of strangers

jucko wrote: »
    a lot of people DO want to escape their past. People need to be screened more.
    It is concerning how a person could have committed a major crime in another juristicion, travelled here, claimed asylum, and transported to Ballinamore or similar, within 24 hours.

A problem with the system.
    It should take a few months at most. People need to take this up with their td to try & fix this.
    I do agree there's no way it should take years

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

your fears are a result of far right propaganda

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

We don’t know who they are letting in and that is what causes fear. There appears to be no vetting whatsoever.

In Germany in 2017 there were 446 murders or attempted murder by asylum seekers.

58% of rapists in Sweden are non-nationals. In cases of stranger rape 80% of the rapists were foreigners.

We need to know who we are bringing into our villages. Often they are young men from countries (Zimbabwe, Syria, Nigeria, Pakistan) where sexual violence, domestic violence, FGM and sexual inequality are rife.

Actually I don't agree with this, as I am representing here my own opinion. And it's part of who I am that I can't accept wherever the crowds go without questioning.

- FYI, I'm hearing enough first hand from my family who emigrated in Germany about what happens there, where this process is organized and their officials are well prepared. We're far from being there.

Then, to answer the white or non-white question: on the other thread debating this, I've stated that I am a person who doesn't mind Romas at all (being given here the support they need to be given, wherever in Europe they might be).

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Yes, people have no minds of their own, they are completely influenced by the "far right"