Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it moral to do up your house?

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

Suckers!

I'm having my house professionally wrecked in order to survive the Communist purge.

Also learning torture techniques so I'll have employment afterwards.

Doesn't anyone else plan for old age anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Maybe I'm misusing the term, but Google isn't of much help. My understanding has always been that it refers to over-compensation, ie to people who pursue an exaggerated or ostentatious display of wealth, assuming that it will look impressive. In fact, it looks a bit tragic, and it always looks tacky.

As a teenager I worked in a restaurant where some rich Americans would come and order a 300 bottle of whiskey. Then they'd ask for a Pepsi as a mixer. That's of the same mentality. Trying to look "rich" but everyone knows you're wasting resources and are probably a bit of an eejit.

Maybe I'm using the term incorrectly, but that's how it's always been used in my experience, and that's how I understand it.

It's not a term I like, because it can sound derisive towards people who have worked hard to improve their situation. Anyone who makes a success of their lives deserves huge respect, but there are better ways of being successful than boasting about how rich you are, or how rich you want to be.

Some people like expensive things AND have better taste than you.

But who cares? It's a ridiculous, reductive argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

What exactly is immoral about spending your money that you worked hard to earn on what you want?

I hate this mentality that says that because some are struggling we all must.

Begrudgery and bitterness will not help your situation if you are struggling.

It's interesting that we've reached the stage in end stage capitalism that some relatively mild critiques of a property porn programme are put down to 'begrudgery and bitterness' and the false assertion is made that the critic stated that it is immoral to do up your house. It's as though the current dynamic is that are no other acceptable values to the glorification of displays of wealth (incidentally, some of the wealth statistically is going to be ill-gotten. As the old saying goes, in every fortune begins a crime.)

During the previous property bubble, anyone who predicted it was going to end in tears was told to shut up and/or kill themselves.

The current bubble - and it is a bubble - will also end in tears, and unfortunately I'm not going to shut up or kill myself, and I hope that the former RTE employee falsely quoted in the OP doesn't either. So, hey, clutch your pearls.

How about if, rather than an ostentatious display of wealth, it was to create more space for their kids ie. add a playroom etc.?
    I don't think it's helpful to micromanage people's homes for them.

This is a bit like parenting. Even if you wanted to, it will never be possible (or desirable) to tell people what they cannot do.

Im just suggesting that we don't celebrate ostentatious behaviour. I'm suggesting that, as a society, we might take the view that wasting money is a horrible trait. This is the one thing that socialists have in common with capitalists, wasting resources is the worst inefficiency of them all.

We can't really intervene to stop it. But any system that encourages it is destined to fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

This is a bit like parenting. Even if you wanted to, it will never be possible (or desirable) to tell people what they cannot do.

Im just suggesting that we don't celebrate ostentatious behaviour. I'm suggesting that, as a society, we might take the view that wasting money is a horrible trait. This is the one thing that socialists have in common with capitalists, wasting resources is the worst inefficiency of them all.

We can't really intervene to stop it. But any system that encourages it is destined to fail.

Seriously?

anewme wrote: »

In a bizarre twist for an originally working class west Dub, I've chosen to now surround myself with original paintings by emerging artists and antique furniture.
    I don't think it should matter whether your favourite art is emerging, or you're hanging Rembrandts in an ante-chamber. That's not the point at all.

The oppsosite of being tacky is being true to your own values and your own tastes. Being yourself, on the other hand, is a rare opportunity -- At last, you can get rid of everyone else without feeling guilty! So fill your life with your own tastes and your own unique personality, and don't try to look smarter or richer or more interesting than anyone else. Be you, it's the most interesting thing you'll ever be!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Well it really does matter if its emerging art. It'affordable.

Everyones definition of tacky is different.

For example, someone I know got one of those 'glitter walls" done, it wouldn't be my choice, but she loves it and it's her taste and that's all that matters.

Some tastes are just more blingy than others,

• Registered Users Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Hobosan wrote: »
    Suckers!

I'm having my house professionally wrecked in order to survive the Communist purge.

Also learning torture techniques so I'll have employment afterwards.

Doesn't anyone else plan for old age anymore?

I have this thing called a pension that I pay into each month. Many others do as well. We know right well there will be no hold baths on the state pension.

I'd say the couple on the program do as well.

You can spend money on your home, your holidays, whatever you want and still plan for retirement.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Orderofchaos

Guess his own morals prevented him from speaking up about this very important issue years ago???
    Paychecks stopped coming in now???

tdf7187 wrote: »

The current bubble - and it is a bubble - will also end in tears, and unfortunately I'm not going to shut up or kill myself, and I hope that the former RTE employee falsely quoted in the OP doesn't either. So, hey, clutch your pearls.

There is absolutely no comparison between the boom and now, there is no bubble now it’s just a controlled improvement in the economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,896 ✭✭✭✭Stark

"I don't want to control how people spend their money. But I kind of do".
    tdf7187 wrote:
    It's interesting that we've reached the stage in end stage capitalism

Fear not though, we are at end stage capitalism now. The revolution is upon us. Their wealth shall be our wealth.

anewme wrote: »
    Well it really does matter if its emerging art. It'affordable.

Everyones definition of tacky is different.

For example, someone I know got one of those 'glitter walls" done, it wouldn't be my choice, but she loves it and it's her taste and that's all that matters.

Some tastes are just more blingy than others,
    Maybe we're all using different definitions of "bling".

Whether you want to decorate your home with golden glitter or muted canvasses of beige, it shouldn't matter to anyone.

If I referred to bling, I was only talking about yer man on "Room To Improve" who didn't know what he wanted, but kept saying he wanted to "look rich"

All I'm saying is there no such thing as looking rich. You can be unique, or different, or creative, or traditional, or adventurous - and all of those things are super - but "looking rich" probably means looking a bit tacky. If you are setting out to look rich, you'll look like a bit of an eejit, in all likelihood.

Whether you want to decorate your home with golden glitter or muted canvasses of beige, it shouldn't matter to anyone.

If I referred to bling, I was only talking about yer man on "Room To Improve" who didn't know what he wanted, but kept saying he wanted to "look rich"

All I'm saying is there no such thing as looking rich. You can be unique, or different, or creative, or traditional, or adventurous - and all of those things are super - but "looking rich" probably means looking a bit tacky. If you are setting out to look rich, you'll look like a bit of an eejit, in all likelihood.

I like to be rich. I remember asking my Mrs parents for a few bob during the recession for a few pints. I was, actually working at this stage.

Bad times. But it happened.

These days I've a gold Breitling and a rolex that I paid for upfront.

Turn your life around. Spend money on what YOU WANT

Take up fishing. Go mountain walking. Do Carpentry in the shed and learn Irish. Be the best Tyrant Named Matthew you can be. Start going back to mass and get involved in prayer groups

You'll be a better person. And you'll thank me for it. But I won't want any thanks.

I'll have brought you back from the brink. That's the only thanks I'll want.

I know my ****

• Registered Users Posts: 10,537 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I know my ****

It smells like bull****.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I loved Room to Improve when it first started as he always worked within realistic budgets and you had clients who were ordinary people in ordinary jobs who had €150-200,000 to do up their homes.

This series has seen Google execs and the CEO of a company who think nothing of spending 4 to €500,000 on having gold taps, 15k baths and play rooms.
    I think it's lost how relatable it was (though I loved the Joe and Mary episode), and wish he'd get back to realistic budgets.

Of course it's not immoral to do up your home but I think it's a mistake to present such ostentatious wealth as something to be emulated, is a waste of resources and rubbing people's noses in it a bit.

Grand Designs have managed to balance showing very expensive properties with people on budgets as low as €30k building e.g. earth ship homes from tires and all eco-friendly renewable materials. Would be nice to see RTI provide some balance like this and recognise the current movements away from ostentation and bling and towards zero waste, sourcing vintage, second hand and eco friendly with thoughtful and responsible purchases and materials used.
    I'm going to use two words that I've never said on this website and I promise I will never say again. Slum mentality.

The reality is that the people who can probably afford gold taps are those who are least interested in them. When it comes to money, over-compensation is a huge and a very real phenomenon.

There's a family I know who live in an old Georgian house. They're flat broke, but they have a lovely place. During a wedding a few years back, one of the guests was wandering around the front yard a bit stumped. "you have such a lovely home" she said to the owner, "but you've planted all these trees around it -- nobody can see it from the road". She meant well, she must have thought she was giving helpful feedback; but she just didn't get it.

I bet she was equally stumped about the lack of ostentatious gold taps.

I think it's the difference between new and old money. That guy Nigel who wanted the gold taps and kept talking about wanting to "look rich" is clearly the former.

Anyone I've ever met who comes from generational wealth is far less likely to want to display it in such a tacky way.

I know a few old money types-mostly from the UK who moved here and to look at them you wouldn't think they own a bean, while they have a few million sitting in their bank accounts. Not a gold tap between them needless to say.

They didn't get and keep their wealth by buying 15k bathtubs.

I remember an episode where a family from Dublin wanted to have a huge TV in their sitting room, which Dermot in disgust said would make the place look like a bookies :D -a good example of working class folk who came into a bit of money and wanted to show it in a way they thought signified status to their peers.

Then I thought of watching an interview with Stephen Fry a few years ago who was brought up in a country house in Norfolk and who's parents wouldn't even have any kind of tv in the house considering it low culture and a distraction.

I'm doing a few improvements to my own house at the moment but no gold taps. Even if I had the kind of money to spend on that I think it looks crass and tasteless and neither my partner nor friends would be impressed by conspicuous displays of wealth like that, so I'll keep my money for structural work that actually adds value to my house and the rest in my savings account.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

You know humanity does have real problems.The auld mind might need broadening.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

What exactly is immoral about spending your money that you worked hard to earn on what you want?

I hate this mentality that says that because some are struggling we all must.

Begrudgery and bitterness will not help your situation if you are struggling.

There's not much solidarity in that though, brother. Or sister

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Gold coloured taps apparently make a bloke an ostentatious twat

Imelda Marcos-style walk in wardrobe, however, is now a standard & reasonable expectation

• Subscribers Posts: 41,037 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Yamanoto wrote: »

Imelda Marcos-style walk in wardrobe, however, is now a standard & reasonable expectation

Lol.

Greentopia wrote: »

I remember an episode where a family from Dublin wanted to have a huge TV in their sitting room, which Dermot in disgust said would make the place look like a bookies :D -a good example of working class folk who came into a bit of money and wanted to show it in a way they thought signified status to their peers.

I don’t agree with that at all, wanting to have a big tv is nothing to do with trying to show off it’s wanting a proper big tv to enjoy watching sport, movies etc. if you think wealthy peoole don’t have big TVs you are mistaken.

Im currently working with an archetoct on desins for my new build and both my living room and tv room are being designed around the tv so to speak ensuring a large flat wall is available to hang a very big tv in both rooms. It’s is absolutely nothing to do with showing off it’s because I want very big TVs for my enjoyment. The rooms are also big so even a 50 inch tv would look fairly small so 70inch or bigger TVs won’t look out of place at all.

In general though I call bull on this comment you often see about wealthy people not showing it, most do it’s only the odd one that likes to pretend they aren’t wealthy and I see it as all a bit stupid really. Also when I say showing it I don’t mean showing off I mean you can see they own expensive and quality things, their house is obviously extremely well done at high cost etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

There's not much solidarity in that though, brother. Or sister

Right on. Lets pass the new law so no one can spend a cent on themselves before the likes of Margaret Cash and friends have all been provided with 5 star accommodation and the type of lifestyle only the fecklessly indigent can aspire to at other peoples expense. Barstewars!

Up the New Socialist Republic! ... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Bullocks wrote: »
    Notice box. He's like a lad that's stuck renting or got turned down for a mortgage!
    Of all the things to run RTÉ down over he picked that and Fair City on 4 nights a frigging week????

When is Fair City finishing up?

Don't say never.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

gozunda wrote: »
    Right on. Lets pass the new law so no one can spend a cent on themselves before the likes of Margaret Cash and friends have all been provided with 5 star accommodation and the type of lifestyle only the fecklessly indigent can aspire to at other peoples expense. Barstewars!

Up the New Socialist Republic! ... :pac:

Margaret Cash and her like will be put to the wall long before that scenario ever becomes accepted.

The budget this year better have no increase on SW or their bonus for sitting for on their holes all year - you aspired to be in the gutter so sw payments should reflect that.

I think it's the difference between new and old money. That guy Nigel who wanted the gold taps and kept talking about wanting to "look rich" is clearly the former.

Anyone I've ever met who comes from generational wealth is far less likely to want to display it in such a tacky way.

I know a few old money types-mostly from the UK who moved here and to look at them you wouldn't think they own a bean, while they have a few million sitting in their bank accounts. Not a gold tap between them needless to say.

Then I thought of watching an interview with Stephen Fry a few years ago who was brought up in a country house in Norfolk and who's parents wouldn't even have any kind of tv in the house considering it low culture and a distraction.

I'm doing a few improvements to my own house at the moment but no gold taps. Even if I had the kind of money to spend on that I think it looks crass and tasteless and neither my partner nor friends would be impressed by conspicuous displays of wealth like that, so I'll keep my money for structural work that actually adds value to my house and the rest in my savings account.
    I see what you mean, but the expression "old money" also bothers me.

People have romantic notions about "old money", when really, if you think about it, it refers to people who are suddenly flat-broke, and living beyond their means, because their ancestors spent a fortune doing ridiculous things, like building follies (if anyone doesn't know what a Folly is, click this link). Our country has more than its fair share of follies, whilst also having a long experience of exploiting workers -- in fact, a long history of exploiting poorer households in general.

In short, "old money" refers to people who originally outspent the Celtic Tiger brigade, but (inevitably) ran out of money. There is no philosophical difference between the pre-Edwardian Anglo-Irish, and some "new money" chancer who built ghost estates in Ballygar or Borrisokane.

Still, I mostly agree with you. There is of course a "new money" phenomenon that we see in times of economic boom. My only point is that they're as bad as the old shower. A lot of "old money" families started out as "new money" parvenus themselves. I know of one very respected Tipperary family who made their money building Victorian sewers in London, splashing the cash, and are now considered (broke) gentry.

So we're making a mistake by blaming the newly-rich. This didn't begin with them. If WW1 hadn't happened, the so-called 'old money' would still be doing crazy, stupid sh1t with money and employing the rest of us as footstools.

All of us, whatever our economic situation, can understand that wasting resources is an awful idea, and that there can be great satisfaction in combining a bit of frugality with pursuing a happy life that has meaning. It costs nothing to plant a garden that might give you decades of enjoyment, instead of employing some 'landscape architect'. Plant some trees that might give you a sense of sanctuary in your home, instead of deploying it as a show-piece for strangers who might admire it from the N52 road.

Simple things. This isn't anything to do with being old money or new money, just something that is common sense to most people.

• Registered Users Posts: 791 ✭✭✭ArrBee

I see what you mean, but the expression "old money" also bothers me.

People have romantic notions about "old money", when really, if you think about it, it refers to people who are suddenly flat-broke, and living beyond their means, because their ancestors spent a fortune doing ridiculous things, like building follies (if anyone doesn't know what a Folly is, click this link). Our country has more than its fair share of follies, whilst also having a long experience of exploiting workers -- in fact, a long history of exploiting poorer households in general.

In short, "old money" refers to people who originally outspent the Celtic Tiger brigade, but (inevitably) ran out of money. There is no philosophical difference between the pre-Edwardian Anglo-Irish, and some "new money" chancer who built ghost estates in Ballygar or Borrisokane.

Still, I mostly agree with you. There is of course a "new money" phenomenon that we see in times of economic boom. My only point is that they're as bad as the old shower. A lot of "old money" families started out as "new money" parvenus themselves. I know of one very respected Tipperary family who made their money building Victorian sewers in London, splashing the cash, and are now considered (broke) gentry.

So we're making a mistake by blaming the newly-rich. This didn't begin with them. If WW1 hadn't happened, the so-called 'old money' would still be doing crazy, stupid sh1t with money and employing the rest of us as footstools.

All of us, whatever our economic situation, can understand that wasting resources is an awful idea, and that there can be great satisfaction in combining a bit of frugality with pursuing a happy life that has meaning. It costs nothing to plant a garden that might give you decades of enjoyment, instead of employing some 'landscape architect'. Plant some trees that might give you a sense of sanctuary in your home, instead of deploying it as a show-piece for strangers who might admire it from the N52 road.

Simple things. This isn't anything to do with being old money or new money, just something that is common sense to most people.

It seems you really struggle with the meaning of some expressions.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Yamanoto wrote: »

Both are ostentatious twattery IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

I loved Room to Improve when it first started as he always worked within realistic budgets and you had clients who were ordinary people in ordinary jobs who had €150-200,000 to do up their homes.

This series has seen Google execs and the CEO of a company who think nothing of spending 4 to €500,000 on having gold taps, 15k baths and play rooms.
    I think it's lost how relatable it was (though I loved the Joe and Mary episode), and wish he'd get back to realistic budgets.

Of course it's not immoral to do up your home but I think it's a mistake to present such ostentatious wealth as something to be emulated, is a waste of resources and rubbing people's noses in it a bit.

Grand Designs have managed to balance showing very expensive properties with people on budgets as low as €30k building e.g. earth ship homes from tires and all eco-friendly renewable materials. Would be nice to see RTI provide some balance like this and recognise the current movements away from ostentation and bling and towards zero waste, sourcing vintage, second hand and eco friendly with thoughtful and responsible purchases and materials used.

150 -200 k to do up a house normal?Thats a mortgage

ArrBee wrote: »
    It seems you really struggle with the meaning of some expressions.

I struggle with most things ArrBee. I can't put on my socks without being perplexed at least twice, but being an idiot is not a crime.