Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Storm Lorenzo Chat Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,900 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I believe myself since the tv forecast started showing kmph instead of mph that everyone has lost the run of themselves.
    Elderly in particular who would have been used to 50 mph winds are now scared when they see 80 on screen. Now you could say there is not much you can do about that but it seems to me the media are now practically treating km as miles too in the way they report this.
    I don't think people really need to worry about storm until it hits around 100 mph in terms of structural damage etc. So stay in, Have food and heat organised in case of power cut but your house will be ok.
    The media though seem to treat 130 kph as the end of the world and it really is worrying people where they really shouldn't.
    Flooding is a major worry for certain areas and this should be reported accurately but again, the news channels seem to muddle it all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭physioman

Brilliant its Captain Birds Eye .

Poor man got stage fright. Green party blaming climate change. Christ. Storms happen every so often. Greens will bring in a storm tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

This is why the weather people are celebrities now and appear on the late late show, and get in free to Lillie Bordelos. They need to keep themselves in the limelight. They’ll be spouting on about global warming for the next 10 years before they retire and get replaced by the new batch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

The coastguard guy was awful bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭buried

Eoghan "no major incidents" Murphy lol

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭CH3OH

At least it is deflecting the heat from the minister for the housing crisis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

'Stay high'?

Okey dokey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,766 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We had terrible rain last week, my drains were overflowing for an hour.

There was no coloured rainfall warning then. Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

I think Mr.Murphy should be trying to solve the homeless crisis,he is talking ****e right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

It's getting serious .... Where's me purple iodine tablet !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Can’t take him seriously without his sleeves rolled up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Captain Snow

physioman wrote: »
    Poor man got stage fright. Green party blaming climate change. Christ. Storms happen every so often. Greens will bring in a storm tax

I felt sorry for him. Volunteer s do great work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I blame Brexit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

The minister of Housing and Storms can not afford to buy socks. Either that or he had to take them off cis they got wet from having to wade through a flood in the way to RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Hooter23

Ah jaysus 50-60 mph winds a few branches down and the odd tree and rte are preparing for the Apocalypse...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Bigboldworld

Watching Prime Time, if there ever was a more fitting example of Fake News, completely overhyped this but still going along with the charade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,335 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

easypazz wrote: »
    The coastguard guy was awful bad.

Embarrassed to be there,perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

For Eoghan Murphy this is a welcome distraction from the 10,000 homeless in Dublin. He can reel off this script without having to answer any difficult questions.

RTE are truly shameless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

this is an episode of brass eye isnt it ???

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

It's getting serious .... Where's me purple iodine tablet !!!

Purple?..........Jaysus mine is green........should I be worried?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭auspicious

It's Eoghan Murphy TD on Prime Time! I've actually just lost my hearing. Please let me know if he says anything worthwhile! Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Minister Eoghan Murphy trying to appear all business like, efficient and on his brief.

Pity he's not so hot on the rest of his brief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Untold damage done to future storm warnings

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Prime Time was cringeworthy. They wont make that mistake again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Coast guard lad did grand.
    Probably his first time on Telly.
    If I was him I’d have rage vomited live on tv listening to your one blowing sh1te about climate and poor us in Co Clare.
    Typical Green Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,687 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Hooter23 wrote: »
    Ah jaysus 50-60 mph winds a few branches down and the odd tree and rte are preparing for the Apocalypse...:rolleyes:

They are hoping tree falls on rte hq and they can claim on the insurance to pay off their deficit.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

If you didn't buy in to the drama of the build up on this forum?

If you ignored all the crap on social media?

If you laughed at the so called mainstream media over hyping it?

If you actually followed the ME forecasts (as in read them)?

Your day both work and social was not affected anywhere in the country.

ME did feck all wrong. The media and some weather enthusiasts added fuel to a fire that sheep like people embraced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

For Eoghan Murphy this is a welcome distraction from the 10,000 homeless in Dublin. He can reel off this script without having to answer any difficult questions.

RTE are truly shameless.

Of which 2000 are non eu nationals who rocked up illegally looking for a gaff.

Meh,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭nmacu

I hope that the media realise that this fear mongering is probably causing more harm than this fairly average storm. I'm in Galway and am getting texts from elderly relatives in Dublin that they're praying for us ... FFS ... it's obvious that the RTE newsroom are raging that this didn't go red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Ashleigh1986

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Purple?..........Jaysus mine is green........should I be worried?

Ah you must be a dub ... Dads army gave us the **** ones down whest