Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Club Championships 2019-20

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    Think players should stand off colin fennelly and leave him run a bit to highlight even more his overcarrying, its ridiculous at this stage that refs havent pulled him on it, just flail your arms and run until your hearts content and no ref will blow you seems to be the way to go.

Sure Paudie Maher has made a career of doing much the same

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Sure Paudie Maher has made a career of doing much the same

Do you watch hurling? Did you not see Sean Cleere in the semi final against wexford blow twice against him, so no he does not get treated the same as fennelly does,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

He dropped the head in the all-ireland final but then again 13 other kilkenny lads did the same.
    Its a Sunday night, 6 months after the AI

Delighted it's Shamrocks - Borrisoleigh in the final. Obviously as a Kilkenny man I want Shamrocks to win but Brendan Maher is one of the good guys and I really like Paddy Stapleton as well so happy for Borrisoleigh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Grats

Its a Sunday night, 6 months after the AI lad - take a break yea.

Delighted it's Shamrocks - Borrisoleigh in the final. Obviously as a Kilkenny man I want Shamrocks to win but Brendan Maher is one of the good guys and I really like Paddy Stapleton as well so happy for Borrisoleigh.

I second that.

It was so pleasing to witness so many on the pitch after the match today in Newry show their appreciation and admiration for the Shamrocks players, and indeed Henry. They must have spent up to an hour getting photos, autographs etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corner back 2

Do you watch hurling? Did you not see Sean Cleere in the semi final against wexford blow twice against him, so no he does not get treated the same as fennelly does, Sean Cleere is a special guy though i suppose.

Are you trying to imply something about Sean Cleere? No need for that comment at all.

Every need to mention one of the worst refereeing displays in history.

No need for the implication in your comment when you call him a special guy.

Speical ref was the insinuation as in being biased which i cant say openly as i will get a warning now. but anyway enough kilkenny lads i have wound up tonight so best of luck to borris but hard to see them beating a brilliant ballyhale team, they need a hurricane of a day to bring it into a dog fight to have much hope i feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Grats wrote: »
    Current All Star Colin Fennelly got MOTM. Terrific performance showing guts and courage despite been constantly fouled. Never gave up or dropped the head. Well deserved award.
    i don't think he gets constantly fouled,i actually think he constantly fouls. Also when he's bottled up in the square he's like a back row in rugby trying to force his way over the tryline, doesn't even attempt to play the ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Great show by Slaughtneil. Far more to them than just being dogged as some made out.

Saw them against Cuala a few years back and they were pretty dirty and have mostly left that aside. Don't think ref was a factor really. Let everything that wasn't dangerous go and dealt with other stuff in dead ball time. Should get more big games.

Speical ref was the insinuation as in being biased which i cant say openly as i will get a warning now. but anyway enough kilkenny lads i have wound up tonight so best of luck to borris but hard to see them beating a brilliant ballyhale team, they need a hurricane of a day to bring it into a dog fight to have much hope i feel.

Doesn't matter where I'm from, not a bit wound up just not letting anyone away with a comment like that. Fairly obvious what you were implying but justify away to you hearts content, the comment is there for all to read and make up their own mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

i don't think he gets constantly fouled,i actually think he constantly fouls. Also when he's bottled up in the square he's like a back row in rugby trying to force his way over the tryline, doesn't even attempt to play the ball.

He is constantly being fouled while winning possession, look at his battles with Liam Ryan this year. Ryan had zero interest in the ball yet Fennelly got little protection from ref. Fennelly does, like most forwards in todays game, gets away with steps while being tackled and as for barging, yeah he has been lucky not to get penalized on occasion but again if it looks like he is being fouled you can see why gets the benefit of the doubt. When Liam Rushe does the same and worse everyone sings his praises. Fennelly should have had four (excellent) goals today, (which is not bad going for someone who cannot hurl according to one of the Tipp geniuses on here) and as far as i recall only for one of those instances could an accusation of over carrying be levelled.

Once again the black and amber tinted glasses are out for the whole country to see. He fouls the ball simple as, stop trying to deflect onto other players, 2 wrongs dont make a right. As for his hurling- agricultural is the nice term to use i suppose.

We'll have to agree to differ so.

MOTM today and current All Star ain't bad.

We'll have to agree to differ so.

MOTM today and current All Star ain't bad.
    the players around him help big time in that shamrocks team, taught he was lucky enough to get an all star, 3 or 4 deserved it ahead of him, McDonald, rory o'connor, Mullen and john donnelly all spring to mind.

He is constantly being fouled while winning possession, look at his battles with Liam Ryan this year. Ryan had zero interest in the ball yet Fennelly got little protection from ref. Fennelly does, like most forwards in todays game, gets away with steps while being tackled and as for barging, yeah he has been lucky not to get penalized on occasion but again if it looks like he is being fouled you can see why gets the benefit of the doubt. When Liam Rushe does the same and worse everyone sings his praises. Fennelly should have had four (excellent) goals today, (which is not bad going for someone who cannot hurl according to one of the Tipp geniuses on here) and as far as i recall only for one of those instances could an accusation of over carrying be levelled.
    for the record i don't think he's the only one doing it. Himself, conor whelan, maurice shanahan, liam rushe, paidi maher and paddy deegan all spring to mind. Sense you're bringing up some of the great battles himself and Ryan have had perfect example in last years leinster final, the penalty claim ye had in the 2nd half, it wasn't a penalty it was a free out, before the ball had been delivered Fennelly was grabbing ryans hurl. Fennelly to me is actually a limited hurler who relies on his fantastic strength, power and athleticism.

Another scourge on hurling is the amount of illegal handpassing, although a brilliant finish definitely 1 in the build up to the st thomas goal today

Fennelly is Tony Doran reincarnate! I like watching players like him, except when Dublin are at the receiving end!

Its like Callaghan in football, and hurling for that matter. If a lad is big and brave and wins his own ball then it is up to opponents to stop him. They take plenty of punishment in fairness and don't lie down.

And he gave a great interview afterwards. Not a man with a big head I would say.

the players around him help big time in that shamrocks team, taught he was lucky enough to get an all star, 3 or 4 deserved it ahead of him, McDonald, rory o'connor, Mullen and john donnelly all spring to mind.

Rather Fennelly helps the players around him by taking the hits and making room for his colleagues. He had a super year in 2019 both for club and county which was correctly recognised by an impartial panel of hurling people. He didn't chose an All Star for himself.

Hurling folk from the North of Ireland in Newry today surrounded Shamrocks players after the final whistle shaking the players hands and seeking autographs and photos. And clearly delighted to do so. Pity the cameras didn't pick it up.

Rather Fennelly helps the players around him by taking the hits and making room for his colleagues. He had a super year in 2019 both for club and county which was correctly recognised by an impartial panel of hurling people. He didn't chose an All Star for himself.

Hurling folk from the North of Ireland in Newry today surrounded Shamrocks players after the final whistle shaking the players hands and seeking autographs and photos. And clearly delighted to do so. Pity the cameras didn't pick it up.
    to sum him up hes a handful who gets alot of assistance for referees

You better take it up with the refs so and the All Star selectors. I'm sure they'd take notice of your wisdom.

• Registered Users Posts: 935 ✭✭✭conor05

That’s you summing him up. Your opinion of Colin Fennelly, which you’re entitled.

You talk like you are speaking for the whole of Ireland.

You better take it up with the refs so and the All Star selectors. I'm sure they'd take notice of your wisdom.
    some of you kilkenny lot are an awful precious bunch, nothing new there i suppose...

That's a pretty biased view! Any player who can score goals like he can is worth their weight in gold. Don't know if you ever saw Doran but he was similar and had advantage then of being able to hand pass the ball to the net. Fennelly is perhaps a bit of a throwback but cant see that he is being aided by refs. He was being triple marked today and still scored 2 - 1 and gave final pass for at least another 2/3 as far as I can recall. Any county team would have him. Well worth his All Star.

conor05 wrote: »
    That’s you summing him up. Your opinion of Colin Fennelly, which you’re entitled.

You talk like you are speaking for the whole of Ireland.

Not many outside kilkenny would disagree that he constantly fouls the ball. The absolute delusion from some kilkenny lads on here is hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,052 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Fennelly is Tony Doran reincarnate! I like watching players like him, except when Dublin are at the receiving end!

Its like Callaghan in football, and hurling for that matter. If a lad is big and brave and wins his own ball then it is up to opponents to stop him. They take plenty of punishment in fairness and don't lie down.

And he gave a great interview afterwards. Not a man with a big head I would say.

I was just going to say the exact same thing. I imagine he would have been a star in the battlefields of the 1980s!

He doesn't gravitate far away from the edge of the square too often, which is quite unique in the modern sense, and generally uses his brute strength to out-fox his marker. But I also feel he gets away with over-charging and other technical fouls more than most. Which isn't a sleight towards Kilkenny, just an observation before some Cats come in bearing their claws. Fairly limited in terms of technicality essentially but effective at what he does.

Anyone else feel that Reid got away with a late slap across the chest of a Slaughtneil lad near the end of the game? Yellow carded for it alright, but I could only imagine the fury if the perpetrator was the victim in the exact same circumstances, given the nature of some of the frees he gets awarded.

I was just going to say the exact same thing. I imagine he would have been a star in the battlefields of the 1980s!

He doesn't gravitate far away from the edge of the square too often, which is quite unique in the modern sense, and generally uses his brute strength to out-fox his marker. But I also feel he gets away with over-charging and other technical fouls more than most. Which isn't a sleight towards Kilkenny, just an observation before some Cats come in bearing their claws. Fairly limited in terms of technicality essentially but effective at what he does.

Anyone else feel that Reid got away with a late slap across the chest of a Slaughtneil lad near the end of the game? Yellow carded for it alright, but I could only imagine the fury if the perpetrator was the victim in the exact same circumstances, given the nature of some of the frees he gets awarded.

Your gonna have the kilkenny bandwagon on your back for that accurate post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

some of you kilkenny lot are an awful precious bunch, nothing new there i suppose...

I think not liking your points being challenged/discussed is more precious

Tis great! The Cats are once again successful and all the unhappy heads appear! Brilliant.

really? didn't know kk won silverware in 2019