Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Guy in work was viewing child images etc, kept secret to family and friends and job.

He was only found out when he was caught but family still didn't know as he kept it secret till his court appearance where he was found guilty.

He was ran....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Jaysus a lot of child porn *****, why do they think its somehow safer in work?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

jackboy wrote: »
    Recent hire showed little interest in doing any work. Spent his days creeping on woman. Always asking about various female colleagues, are they single or married.

He would make bizarre unsuccessful attempts to chat them up. He approached one girl for the first time and asked her had she seen anything good on Netflix recently. Uncomfortable and all as she was she just said ‘no, what about you’. He replies ‘I don’t watch Netflix’.

Brilliant :D, I must use that as an ice breaker sometime.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Jaysus a lot of child porn *****, why do they think its somehow safer in work?

I don't know but he was trusted by friends around kids and had kids himself...

So sad for all involved.

Brilliant :D, I must use that as an ice breaker sometime.

He thought it was "Netflix and níl."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Motivator

vriesmays wrote: »
    Nothing at all funny about this one.

Did most of my training in a firm in the south east. Small office. 2 bosses, 1 middle aged lad that was there for years, 2 part timers in reception and 3/4 trainees then as well. The guy that was there for years was fair sound. Always helping out the trainees with work or any other problems etc. Often went out to lunch as a group (without the bosses) and he'd pay for it (he was from an old well to do family in the locality). Anyway, I moved on after a few years but anytime I was down there I'd pop in and say hello and there'd be the odd text etc usually to do with a gaa match if our counties were playing each other.

Then a couple of years later I'm looking at the news and this guy is being sentenced to a fairly long jail term for abusing young lads for years. It would have been happening all the time we were working together. There were dozens of victims and the oldest any of them would have been would be the mid teens. I never had such a feeling of disbelief and the thought of how you could think one thing of a person while at the same time they are capable of sinking to such lows still bothers me. He's still in jail as far as I know.

South East + well-to-do family + abusing young lads for years + still in jail = K.

This was a tragedy to hit the city, no other word for it. K is the tip of the iceberg and I can’t believe that his accomplices that have been outed. A terrible sad affair that sickened me to the core when I heard the try extent of it a coupe of years ago. There were rumors about K when I was a young fella but at the time I expected them to be just that, runours. K is a disgusting and evil person and there are no other words for hiii. The guards in Waterford in the late 80s have a lot to answer for too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,201 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Used to work in a call centre, and we also had a phantom sh*tter. At least once a week he'd leave a turd on the floor of the cubicle. Went on for months.

There were also rumours that a fella had been reprimanded for stepping outside the fire exit for a little "along time" with himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

sligojoek wrote: »
    In the late 80s I worked in an Irish pub in a big English midlands town. There was a huge Irish contingent so there was the obligatory "Irish Centre". I was very friendly with the steward. Very decent chap. Never afraid to decorate the mahogany. He had the total running of the bar and was only answerable to a committee of people who knew very little about accounting.

The place was always heaving with 18st to 80th birthdays, anniversaries, funeral and wedding afters, bands over from Ireland etc. etc.

He'd been there about 5 years when his mother had a stroke and he had to go home to Ireland for three months. In those three months the takings went up by about 30% with no extra footfall. When he came back the takings dropped again.

After investigations it turned out he'd been bringing in his own beer, spirits and cigarettes and cigars. There was a till for busy nights that only he used. Remember in those days a till was just a calculator with a cash drawer and there was no CCTV. The place was making a healthy profit on 70% of the takings so nobody questioned anything

He promptly got the boot and headed off to another town "Up North" in a 5 year old V12 Jag to start all over again.

Somewhat similar story about my ex pub landlord in England.
    Big pub with a massive Irish clientele ,was very good with his customers and would hand his good loyal drinkers a wad of unsolicited cash if they had a death back in Ireland at a time when Aer Lingus charged the price of a second hand car to fly over and back.
    Was a brewery run pub where himself and his partner were on around 300 pound a week between them.

They arrived back in Ireland and went on to become one of the biggest and most famous players in the hospitality industry in Ireland to this day.

His manager took over the running of the pub and was warned by brewery managers that he was being watched as his old boss was causing quite a stir in Ireland with his acquisitions, he left within a year and bought two London properties mortgage free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I can also report the presence of a phantom sh1tter in a government department about 20 years ago. All the men in the building-about 60 of us-were summoned to a meeting where the AP went mental shouting at everyone as if we were all responsible, and demanding that any information about their identity be passed on to him. Apparently the entire walls, sinks, mirrors and all the fixtures were decorated like an all-brown Jackson Pollock. The poor cleaning lady who made the initial discovery was violently ill and had to take a couple of days off and an outside specialist firm had to be brought in to take care of it. AFAIK it was about the 3rd and last time it had happened.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Mod - redacted a couple of identifying names.

Keep in anonymous.

sabat wrote: »
    I can also report the presence of a phantom sh1tter in a government department about 20 years ago. All the men in the building-about 60 of us-were summoned to a meeting where the AP went mental shouting at everyone as if we were all responsible, and demanding that any information about their identity be passed on to him. Apparently the entire walls, sinks, mirrors and all the fixtures were decorated like an all-brown Jackson Pollock. The poor cleaning lady who made the initial discovery was violently ill and had to take a couple of days off and an outside specialist firm had to be brought in to take care of it. AFAIK it was about the 3rd and last time it had happened.

Ha similar thing happened in a pharmaceutical factory my friend worked in, lad was ****ting blood and not even bothering to flush, manager called them all in to declare it a health hazard which due to the nature of their industry,probably was.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Snitches get stitches.

We we're a small company at the time and if the people contracting us had of found out there'd have been big trouble !!!

Your man has since died he was only in his 30's met an awful end god love him

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

It's surprising me that I don't have anything close to some of these.
    Biggest I think is the company I'm in now.
    Girl worked with us, nice as well and always smiling.
    One weekend she went to Berlin for a party and the Monday she came back she was a different person.
    She would stop wearing underwear and sit in front of the whole team with the legs open.
    Then she'd take 2 hour breaks daily and management just seemed incompetent to get rid of her or just find out what caused her to change.
    She was then caught sniffing cocaine in the toilet which again didn't get her fired.
    Eventually she just deteriorated into such a state that she could no longer function, basic tasks became impossible.
    Eventually she just never came back to work and none of us knew what happened . We still don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Nowhere near as big a deal as some of the stories here, but a fella I know always carries two phones with him. Not uncommon, I just presumed one was his work phone.

I was right - it was a work phone, but for the company he left over 10 years ago. He was supposed to hand it back on his last day but told them he forgot it at home and that he’d drop it in next time he was passing by. He’s been using it away for the last decade and must have cost them thousands.

This doesn't make any sense; the company would have just cut the contract after a few months (and who would want a 10 year-old phone anyway, you wouldn't be able to do much with it).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Going to try post as many as I can remember by going from job to job :pac:

Large retail company fellow manager caught on CCTV having an affair with a staff member, security guy kept it quiet.

Same company Security guard stole money from floats for gambling habit.

Large betting company call centre, sex in the toilets, drugs, affairs the lot :pac:

Insurance office, manager loved the sniff.

utility provider, phantom ****ter in the ladies toilets.

Not much since I moved into my current area other than lads skimming off the top and drug stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

El Tarangu wrote: »
    This doesn't make any sense; the company would have just cut the contract after a few months (and who would want a 10 year-old phone anyway, you wouldn't be able to do much with it).

You could just put the Sim card into a new phone

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

**** loudly he/she must want to be caught, I don't even let a whimper when I cum at home.

as Billy Connolly says "just quietly greatful" !

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Sorry I should have clarified, it's the phones monthly bill that has been paid for over the past 10 years, I presume he's changed the handset himself in that time.

Regarding why they haven't just cut the phone contract, he was working for a company who have ongoing work in one of Irelands biggest companies. His phone and monthly bill was probably one of hundreds that were being paid for. So he seems to be just taking advantage of their carelessness as they clearly don't check up on these things.

Haha office affairs are so consistent on this thread they need to be recategorised from "scandal" to "normal". :) Again, why the hell are people still getting married? The power of tradition is strong.

Sorry I should have clarified, it's the phones monthly bill that has been paid for over the past 10 years, I presume he's changed the handset himself in that time.

;) I'm a cynical one; would a sim card from 10 years ago even work in a phone today? I know its possible to cut a big sim card down to micro size with just a scissors, but I've been with my mobile supplier a lot less than 10 years, and they sent me a new sim card (and presumably stopping the old one) at least once.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

;) I'm a cynical one; would a sim card from 10 years ago even work in a phone today? I know its possible to cut a big sim card down to micro size with just a scissors, but I've been with my mobile supplier a lot less than 10 years, and they sent me a new sim card (and presumably stopping the old one) at least once.

I kept using a company phone for about 2 years after I left before one day the kind robot lady said on the other end said "sorry, we cannot connect your call right now" and I had to go and actually get my own sim card and pay for my own phone bill! Shocking I know... infact that prob the biggest scandal listed so far!!

@Mods... close the thread, I've just posted the most unbeatable work scandal ever in the history of internet forums!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A colleague at work has a friend (male) who spent a few years working on those cruise ships going around the Caribbean full of old retired couples.

Basically there was this old American lady touching 80 on the ship for 3 months on her own.

She offered him $1k cash to sleep with her. He did it 5 times and walked away with $5k over the course of the 3 months. He took it but the thing was she would wet herself in the troughs of passion.

I told my friend for $5k so would I TBH.

Shhuurrree... :p

A colleague at work has a friend (male) who spent a few years working on those cruise ships going around the Caribbean full of old retired couples.

Basically there was this old American lady touching 80 on the ship for 3 months on her own.

She offered him $1k cash to sleep with her. He did it 5 times and walked away with $5k over the course of the 3 months. He took it but the thing was she would wet herself in the troughs of passion.

I told my friend for $5k so would I TBH.

Ha, I still dont think thats worth the gamble on her not dying during the act, imagine trying to explain that one to Jessica Fletcher.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

bear1 wrote: »
    One weekend she went to Berlin for a party and the Monday she came back she was a different person.
    She would stop wearing underwear and sit in front of the whole team with the legs open.
    Then she'd take 2 hour breaks daily and management just seemed incompetent to get rid of her or just find out what caused her to change.
    She was then caught sniffing cocaine in the toilet which again didn't get her fired.
    Eventually she just deteriorated into such a state that she could no longer function, basic tasks became impossible.
    Eventually she just never came back to work and none of us knew what happened . We still don't.

Jaysus I wish she'd come work in my office!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Jaysus I wish she'd cum work in my office!

Female exposure=acceptable
    Male exposure=unacceptable

Biggest sleaze in last office I worked in was a dirty aul fat one, every "gag" was like something from a Carry On movie, I still shudder, a man would have been crucified for the same behaviour.

I kept using a company phone for about 2 years after I left

I suppose your man was into Google and Facebook for tens of millions each before anyone copped that they were paying out on dodgy invoices; perhaps my trust in corporate governance is somewhat misplaced...

You really wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

bear1 wrote: »

Sounds like something pretty serious happened to her over there.