Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

F1 2019 - Round 14 Italy

• 05-09-2019 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭

Yay, more racing, but probably going to be a Ferrari weekend. Max is changing over to the Spec 4 engine so will take a grid penalty - be plenty of overtakes from him (unless he bins it at the first corner :rolleyes:).

All sessions live on Sky Sports F1:

Friday 6th Sep
    Practice 1 10:00 - 11:30
    Practice 2 14:00 - 15:30

Saturday 7th Sep
    Practice 3 11:00 - 12:00
    Qualy 14:00 - 15:00

Sunday 8th Sep
    Race: 14:10 - 16:10

Tyre compounds are C2, C3, and C4, with three drivers taking max amount of softest C4s. Le Clerc and Hamilton are taking two sets of hards and three sets of mediums. Their teammates taking one hard set and four medium sets.

But does it matter what tyres they have? Maybe for qualifying, as there's rain forecast for the race.

91a07ebfec48d834f07b54c5ecc9736e.png

Also this weekend is Formula 2, and after the loss of Anthoine Hubert, I'd imagine it'll be a solemn lead up to lights out when they race without their fellow driver.

F2 Race 1 15.45 on Saturday
    F2 Race 2 09:50 on Sunday

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Joeface

Also throw in the Engine upgrades for both Ferrari and mercedes which both showed problems last week could add an Interesting twist .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Very wet and lots of thunder and lightening near Monza tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,915 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

EDsu_UZX4AYY8jD?format=jpg&name=medium

Not much of a wing on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭Mech1

Quali time not in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,309 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Mech1 wrote: »
    Quali time not in the OP

Awe feck the quali sure who would want to watch that :rolleyes:

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Mech1 wrote: »
    Quali time not in the OP

Thanks, my copy/paste skills failed. Now edited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,254 ✭✭✭✭flazio

How will you tell if Red Bull DRS is open or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Joeface

FP1 is wet and Raikkonen is off in the barriers, and its a red flagged.

and just after the Green Flag ... Perez has crashed his Racing Point, that's another red flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,139 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Norris, Verstappen, Gasly all start at the back this week.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,588 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

flazio wrote: »
    How will you tell if Red Bull DRS is open or not?

Im assuming the "Aston Martin" flap will open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Inviere

Gintonious wrote: »
    EDsu_UZX4AYY8jD?format=jpg&name=medium

Not much of a wing on this.

Any less downforce on that and they risk creating positive lift :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

Interesting that Kubica has been faster than Russell in both practice sessions consdiering RK is running an old spec engine

This is shocking,
    Watch through the story (the snapchat thing) on the Mercedes instagram, a mechanic was giving out free passes to the garage and nobody wanted them. Or perhaps didn’t believe he was genuine.
    https://instagram.com/mercedesamgf1?igshid=1nan7lo9t9fdk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

flazio wrote: »
    This is shocking,
    Watch through the story (the snapchat thing) on the Mercedes instagram, a mechanic was giving out free passes to the garage and nobody wanted them. Or perhaps didn’t believe he was genuine.
    https://instagram.com/mercedesamgf1?igshid=1nan7lo9t9fdk

That's hilarious - that poor kid will never forgive his dad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Huge crash here in F3. Hope no marshals got hurt. Car went high into catch fencing. It took off when it hit the kerb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,394 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

recyclebin wrote: »
    Huge crash here in F3. Hope no marshals got hurt. Car went high into catch fencing. It took off when it hit the kerb.

Good that the driver looked ok. Scary how high the car went on just hitting the kerb, did look very close to Marshal post :(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Yeah just seen the replay there, it launched vertically off a sausage kerb and the car landed on top of the fencing/tyre barrier. Driver was Alex Peroni, out of the car and walking unaided

Edit: should add that halo proving it's worth again, given how the car landed it could have been a lot more serious without it.

Video

https://youtu.be/pLoANuuj7CE

Start of Practice three the pitlane is closed while they repair fence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,685 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

That's crazy how a car could get launched so high from a sausage kerb.

Jaysus, that's scary

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I would hope the fact they showed the replay suggests nobody was seriously hurt.

Feckin’ hell though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,363 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

That crash in F3 was frightening. And halo seems to have done its job. I know he hit a sign that rightly says don’t drink and drive, but after a crash like that I think a half one is in order.

Thankfully the offending sausage kerb has been removed so no more repeats. Of course some F1 drivers were running wide immediately in FP3 (looking at you Grosjean, twice!) but the lap times were deleted. That will be one they need to police vigilantly all weekend.

Sky reporting that the FIA will be enforcing a minimum speed on out laps to stop any ridiculous behaviour as drivers back up while looking for space in qualy. The F3 qualy was so bad it was red flagged

Just watching Qualifying and the on board of monza. It's some track.

The Renault team have started well.

Red flag for a racing point. That's not a good place to park a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Just watching Qualifying and the on board of monza. It's some track.
    One of my favourite tracks on Forza Motorsport and Gran Turismo Sport.

Goddamn it anyway, another weekend another mechanical failure for Racing Point

Daddy Sainz ? You could've just said Sainz Sr martin.

Kimi in the barriers now, session stopped

Kimi again

This is crazy, running out of time while they're all afraid to go first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,295 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Brilliant.

But what a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,759 ✭✭✭Inviere

The next time someone tries to suggest that people in F1 know better than the rest of us I think there's an obvious example to give.

****ing idiots.

Hilarious, the final run in Q3 was a shambles. professional drivers, and to a man they should all be embarrassed

And now it's under investigation, if the hammer drops and a few grid penalties are handed out so be it. They will all be deserved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The next time someone tries to suggest that people in F1 know better than the rest of us I think there's an obvious example to give.

****ing idiots.
    I’m not really sure how it would come up but since you brought it up...
    I’d suggest people working in f1 know more about f1 than the rest of who aren’t working on f1. Obviously.

But that was silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

That was a shambles 😂
    But I don't care Charles on pole :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Fifth and sixth for Renault. They should score plenty of points tomorrow.

I’m not really sure how it would come up but since you brought it up...
    I’d suggest people working in f1 know more about f1 than the rest of who aren’t working on f1. Obviously.

But that was silly.

So surprised it's you replying to be argumentative. Retarded stuff happens all the time in F1 when it's obvious to a ****load of people that it's a stupid call. Ferrari being a good example. And as usual well done for changing words and forming something different to argue against.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Only sainz and both Ferraris looked like they wanted to get on with it

skipper_G wrote: »
    And now it's under investigation, if the hammer drops and a few grid penalties are handed out so be it. They will all be deserved

**** it, just reverse the grid. Except Verstappen. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

I'd nearly give Hulkenberg and Sainz penalties for driving too slowly. You can't just block the track like that going that slow.

What's just as bad then is Vettel gets by them and then slows right down again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

skipper_G wrote: »

Absolutely

I wonder if there should be a rule introduced that if you're coming out at the end, you have to be out the garage and running by 2'30 before the end or something?

Maybe a case for bringing back the one lap shoot out for this round only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Jeff2

What happened Verstappen?

Absolutely

I wonder if there should be a rule introduced that if you're coming out at the end, you have to be out the garage and running by 2'30 before the end or something?

Nah the rules are fine. If they can find someone who blocked where it made a material difference then punish them. They pretty much all looked happy to coast at the start so it's their own fault.