Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Jumpers are Coming 2019/2020

• Registered Users Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭droidman123

BumperD wrote: »
    I really miss at the Races. It was so focused on Irish racing . I’ll probably bite the bullet and sign up for 1 year on Racing TV and see what it’s like .

I was online a watching old interviews on atr the rich Richie one with Matt couple seasons back nearly 2 hours that was good hopefully Racing TV have similar output

I only watch the racing on racing tv and atr these days....the whole itv circus is just vomit inducing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭Motivator

Racing has lost its appeal for me. I watched ATR every day of the week and went racing somewhere in Ireland at least once a week.

HRI have killed Irish racing. Interest in the big days will always be there but as much as I’m looking forward to the new NH season, it’s the English one im looking forward to rather than the Irish one. At least with the English one we’ll get proper coverage all year round.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    If he comes back with none of his niggles he could be anything. Why won't they go chasing with him?

They are. Gordon going to DR with him for a novice chase in a few weeks

Motivator wrote: »
    Racing has lost its appeal for me. I watched ATR every day of the week and went racing somewhere in Ireland at least once a week.

HRI have killed Irish racing. Interest in the big days will always be there but as much as I’m looking forward to the new NH season, it’s the English one im looking forward to rather than the Irish one. At least with the English one we’ll get proper coverage all year round.

I am an RTV subscriber. No where near as good as ATR but nothing we can do about that. Racing TV extra is decent tbf but that's only good if you are at home, pubs won't have it. The main channels flagrant disregard for Irish meetings is awful. Say what you like about Chapman but he was a massive champion of Irish racing. Really hope they get Irish racing back on sky

• Registered Users Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭Motivator

I am an RTV subscriber. No where near as good as ATR but nothing we can do about that. Racing TV extra is decent tbf but that's only good if you are at home, pubs won't have it. The main channels flagrant disregard for Irish meetings is awful. Say what you like about Chapman but he was a massive champion of Irish racing. Really hope they get Irish racing back on sky

Chapman can be quite annoying sometimes but there’s no denying his love for racing and his enthusiasm for Irish racing is great to see. I had my dinner with him in Fairyhouse when Apples Jade won the Hattons Grace in 2017, he was in out of the rain in the restaurant so I parked in beside him to chow down. He’s not over as much any more but he said he tried to get over racing here 6 or 7 days a year.

Racing TV is shocking - Don McClean is very knowledgeable but has the personality of a ham sandwich. Ruby Walsh is an insufferable asshole and he adds nothing only a bad attitude and criticism every chance he gets. He’s the Roy Keane of the racing world. Kate Harrington hasn’t a clue. For someone who has known nothing but horses all her life she can’t string two sentences together about a horse on TV she’s shocking. It’s a terrible lineup of presenters bar the old ATR brigade of Gary and Kevin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Fran Berry is a great addition to Racing TV for me and he's one of the most knowledgeable in the business

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭flos1964

Jesus christ even the gob****es on that pile of crap dancing on ice ran Chapman after a week...

Motivator wrote: »
    Chapman can be quite annoying sometimes but there’s no denying his love for racing and his enthusiasm for Irish racing is great to see. I had my dinner with him in Fairyhouse when Apples Jade won the Hattons Grace in 2017, he was in out of the rain in the restaurant so I parked in beside him to chow down. He’s not over as much any more but he said he tried to get over racing here 6 or 7 days a year.

Racing TV is shocking - Don McClean is very knowledgeable but has the personality of a ham sandwich. Ruby Walsh is an insufferable asshole and he adds nothing only a bad attitude and criticism every chance he gets. He’s the Roy Keane of the racing world. Kate Harrington hasn’t a clue. For someone who has known nothing but horses all her life she can’t string two sentences together about a horse on TV she’s shocking. It’s a terrible lineup of presenters bar the old ATR brigade of Gary and Kevin.

2nd that on Kate and I dare say if she wasn't so aesthetically pleasing she would not be there as she is a DREADFUL presenter. Sally Ann Grassick would be far better.
    Gary and Kevin are top notch.
    I await the day someone gives Mick Winters a job on TV. ....confuse the f*ck out of the Brits!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Fran Berry is a great addition to Racing TV for me and he's one of the most knowledgeable in the business

Hope he's better on tv than he was on the back of a horse so!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Cannot wait to see Thomas Darby and Itchy Feet this season, last years supreme I reckon was well above average. No idea if they are staying over hurdles but they both have big frames built for chasing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Tizzard aiming Lostintranslation at the Betfair Chase, also Reserve Tank to go chasing, he looked smart winning two Grade 1 novice hurdles at Aintree & Punchestown.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭Nuts102

Any idea of the target for chacun pour soi

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Any idea of the target for chacun pour soi

Give cry baby a ring there and ask him.

So, how many weeks is it till BDM does his annual purge of them all at Haydock ?!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

BumperD wrote: »
    Cannot wait to see Thomas Darby and Itchy Feet this season, last years supreme I reckon was well above average. No idea if they are staying over hurdles but they both have big frames built for chasing

Update here on both and season ahead

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=PJ7obOk1PQU

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭del roy

www.paulnichollsracing.com/summer-in-ditcheat/

www.theracinghub.com/horses-to-follow/

chelt-mental.co.uk/articles/...ry=2019%2F2020

Novice Chasers
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...dollars/397695

More novice chasers...
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...-fences/397691

Novice Hurdlers
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...abulous/397692

Other new recruits
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...uil-win/397694

Tizzard Gold Cup Horses
    www.racingpost.com/news/late...old-cup/398736

Tizzard - news on last years novice hurdlers
    www.racingpost.com/news/late...ve-tank/398737

Guys here is a strange one to be number 1 of 10 to follow last year, didn't do anything last year maybe this year.

#1 Uppertown Prince

Sex: Bay Gelding

Breeding: Strategic Prince (GB) -Tarrawarra (IRE) (Kayf Tara (GB)

Trainer: Donald McCain

Owner: T G Leslie

This lightly raced six-year-old started off life like so many others by running in an Irish point-to-point, where he finished midfield. Such is the strength of these races it subsequently transpired how good this run was as winner On The Blin Side went on to win his next three races, two of which were Grade 2 events.

Uppertown Prince himself scored impressively on his second start in a five-year-old maiden at Belharbour where he jumped well throughout and scored by a comfortable ten length victory. A move across the pond to Bank house lay ahead for the son of Strategic Prince and he quickly repaid connections by winning twice.

His final start of the season came in the Grade 1 Sefton Novice Hurdle where he belied his 40/1 starting price to finish a mere ten lengths behind Santini. Whatever he did last season was always going to be a bonus, as his future has always been over fences and he looks like a very exciting addition to the novice chasing ranks. In a recent stable tour, McCain said:

“I’m very fond of this horse, and he’s arguably my best prospect. I bought him because of the way he jumped throughout when winning his point-to-point and I’m really looking forward to sending him chasing this winter. He ran a really nice race when fourth to Santini in the Grade 1 Sefton Novices’ Hurdle at Aintree, and also finished runner-up in a Haydock Grade 2 on heavy ground before winning as he liked at Ayr. He’s one to be excited about.”

Here's another 40 to follow list

sbbcolumns.co.uk/dan-bridens-...ollow-2019-20/

Tom George

www.gloucestershirelive.co.uk/sport/racing/tom-george-stable-tour-several-3329339

https://www.narrowingthefield.co.uk/...-to-the-north/

https://sleeracing.wordpress.com/2019/09/17/2019-2020-nh-horses-to-follow/

https://rwsteeplechasing.co.uk/horsestofollow/

Potential to be a massive year for novice chasers this year
    Samcro, Envoi, Laurina etc...could be a truly special year lads

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭lemush

del roy wrote: »
    www.paulnichollsracing.com/summer-in-ditcheat/

www.theracinghub.com/horses-to-follow/

Novice Chasers
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...dollars/397695

More novice chasers...
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...-fences/397691

Novice Hurdlers
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...abulous/397692

Other new recruits
    www.racingpost.com/news/nich...uil-win/397694

Tizzard Gold Cup Horses
    www.racingpost.com/news/late...old-cup/398736

Tizzard - news on last years novice hurdlers
    www.racingpost.com/news/late...ve-tank/398737

Guys here is a strange one to be number 1 of 10 to follow last year, didn't do anything last year maybe this year.

#1 Uppertown Prince

Sex: Bay Gelding

Breeding: Strategic Prince (GB) -Tarrawarra (IRE) (Kayf Tara (GB)

Trainer: Donald McCain

Owner: T G Leslie

This lightly raced six-year-old started off life like so many others by running in an Irish point-to-point, where he finished midfield. Such is the strength of these races it subsequently transpired how good this run was as winner On The Blin Side went on to win his next three races, two of which were Grade 2 events.

Uppertown Prince himself scored impressively on his second start in a five-year-old maiden at Belharbour where he jumped well throughout and scored by a comfortable ten length victory. A move across the pond to Bank house lay ahead for the son of Strategic Prince and he quickly repaid connections by winning twice.

His final start of the season came in the Grade 1 Sefton Novice Hurdle where he belied his 40/1 starting price to finish a mere ten lengths behind Santini. Whatever he did last season was always going to be a bonus, as his future has always been over fences and he looks like a very exciting addition to the novice chasing ranks. In a recent stable tour, McCain said:

“I’m very fond of this horse, and he’s arguably my best prospect. I bought him because of the way he jumped throughout when winning his point-to-point and I’m really looking forward to sending him chasing this winter. He ran a really nice race when fourth to Santini in the Grade 1 Sefton Novices’ Hurdle at Aintree, and also finished runner-up in a Haydock Grade 2 on heavy ground before winning as he liked at Ayr. He’s one to be excited about.”

Here's another 40 to follow list

sbbcolumns.co.uk/dan-bridens-...ollow-2019-20/

Tom George

www.gloucestershirelive.co.uk/sport/racing/tom-george-stable-tour-several-3329339

https://www.narrowingthefield.co.uk/...-to-the-north/

https://sleeracing.wordpress.com/2019/09/17/2019-2020-nh-horses-to-follow/

https://rwsteeplechasing.co.uk/horsestofollow/
    Following any inmate of McCain’s yard should come with a health warning. Rancid trainer imo, when Leslie is gone he’s done, he has wasted so much of his money it’s unreal.

Right. ....fiver on Altior KG/GC double it is

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Right. ....fiver on Altior KG/GC double it is

Will that bet stand?

lads some mixed views from others,

Interesting that Nicky uses the words ‘flat to the boards’ in his races over two miles.

Nicky and Nico know far more than I ever will, but I’ve been watching a horse that hits a flat spot that takes time to be stoked, and is classy enough to finish his races like a Ferrari.

The only horse that I’d be afraid of for Altior over two miles is the fragile Chacun Pour Soi. Over three miles the list is pretty long. Given there is a very good chance of him going down in Champion Chase folklore I’m genuinely surprised by this decision despite the vibes that have been there for twelve months.

I also have two issues with the plan. The first is that I’m not entirely sure making him settle behind a three mile pace will play to his strengths, and second two milers stepped up tend to lose their speed when dropped back.

Ultimately they’ll be called geniuses if he wins a King George and a Gold Cup, but it’s more likely we’ll be calling them out for denying him his piece of history.

I can't see how it can be said he was bred to be a 3 miler? Dam's sire was 9 furlong specialist and nothing more than mile and a half on the sire's side and no reputed NH lines, and I discount SW as he was not stood as a NH stallion.
    Think it is a real shame that he can't be accepted and admired for being a great horse for winning so many races in such a fabulous manner.

People don't do this with flat horses. 'Frankel, yeah he's great but run him over a mile and a half or even better, 2 miles, then he'd be a really great horse.'

This theory has been aired many times before on this forum, but - no matter how attritional it may seem - the fact remains that Kempton is a sharp, flat 3m circuit and; as so many have found out in the past, is a totally different test to 3 times up the Cheltenham hill; a test which would take Altior beyond the level of his capability,imo.

ps: It's doubtful that any 3m chaser around would have the class to get Altior off the bridle in a KG, anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Not with Powers or Boyles anyway.

You can have singles at 5/2 King George and 12/1 generally for the Gold Cup.

More than anything I don't like it when a gambling company gets behind the hype if I am honest. It is a big step up from 2 miles to 3 miles. Altior is probably the best 2 mile chaser we have seen, but that does not him a certainty for 3 miles.

Cyrname is available at 6/1, I think he a lot more likely to get the 3 miles, you also have Clan Des Obeaux, Lost in Translation, Footpad etc etc.

Finally I don't trust Nicky Henderson, he is a dipso. He could easily pull Altior on the Christmas Day sighting the ground or any other crap. There are other 2 mile targets he can get paid in and the horse owes no one anything. I have seen him pull horses last minute before, it can be expensive getting cute with Ante Post bets at this stage of the season. 3 to 1 is hardly all that much value anyway. I would rather have me few quid on Argentina to beat England in a few weeks and sit back and watch, you can get 4 to 1 on that and a decent run for your money.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Will that bet stand?

is this not what the bookies call "bet related"

ie if he wins the king george he will be shorter for the G.C.
    I think you can only do this bet when the said Bookmakers offer their own quoted odds.

That was my point to RR - unless there's a special then bet is void.

Yes I agree Slattsy, the person behind the counter would have to have looked at the bet closely and also be clued up about the related bets issues.

Most staff wouldnt have a clue it was related.

Nicky Henderson is open to the idea of going for gold if the mighty Altior's stamina stands up to the closest of scrutiny in the Ladbrokes King George VI Chase at Kempton over Christmas.

Henderson confirmed his record-breaking superstar would be on the King George trail this season when speaking to more than 300 invited owners and guests at his historic Seven Barrows yard on Sunday and the trainer raised the possibility of a crack at the Magners Cheltenham Gold Cup provided Altior delivers in the winter championship.

The general 3-1 favourite for Kempton's greatest event – one Henderson captured with Long Run (2010 and 2012) and Might Bite (2017) – Altior set a new jumps record of 19 races unbeaten when powering home in the Celebration Chase at Sandown in April and is set to begin his campaign in Ascot's 1965 Chase on November 23.

"We are definitely going over further and the King George is the objective, and the option getting there looks like Ascot as it's the obvious race at the right time," said Henderson. "The Peterborough Chase is tempting, but it's a bit later and you're not going to learn quite as much going two and a half miles around Huntingdon as you are at Ascot.

"I want to teach him to relax a bit. I'd love to go for the Tingle Creek, which again is a bit late, but I'm sure it's wrong if we want to teach him to settle in the King George to start at two miles. I don't think we're minded to do that, so therefore Ascot looks the obvious starting point."

Heading to Ascot would likely mean a clash with Cyrname, officially rated 1lb superior than the dual Champion Chase winner on last season's evidence. It would also be a return to the venue where Altior jumped markedly left when landing the Clarence House Chase in January.

"I think if there's a horse in front of him he won't do it," added Henderson, delighted with the condition of Patricia Pugh's pride and joy.

"He didn't go left-handed at Sandown and I don't know why he did at Ascot that day, he was probably bored. One assumes there'll be a horse in front of him [the front-running Cyrname] but you never know and we won't be making the running, unless there are only two of us and they want to walk.

"Everything is going great with Altior. We did recauterise his palate this summer, but it was purely precautionary as we hadn't had it done for two years and it's just worth doing again to make sure it doesn't happen in the season. You'd be missing only ten days or so, but that could come at completely the wrong moment."

Asked about the mouthwatering prospect of the four-time Cheltenham Festival hero appearing in the Gold Cup for which he is as big as 16-1 with bet365, Henderson replied: "You'd have to think about it if he won the King George and got three miles. I've always thought you've got to stay in the King George and stamina is important.

"Mick Fitzgerald said you never get a breather in it because it's Kempton and they go flat out all the way. When you're going around Cheltenham you can have a little breather here and a little pull there, but in the King George you don't get one.

"There's no hiding place, so he's got to stay. We might find out at Ascot he doesn't stay, but Nico [de Boinville] is adamant he wants another half a mile. He's not saying let's try it to see, he's saying he ought to go up in trip. Nico said last season he was racing like a two-and-a-half-mile horse anyway."

Henderson, champion trainer in 2016-17 and 2017-18, relinquished the crown last term to old rival Paul Nicholls, who is gunning for another title.

Bookmakers are split on the matter with Betfair making Nicholls 8-11, while Paddy Power offer 4-7 about Henderson.

"Good luck to Paul, but I might not lie down and I think the string is very strong," continued Henderson, entering his 42nd year as a licence holder. "I still think Altior is the best horse in training even if the handicapper doesn't. He's a champion chaser, we've got a champion hurdler, possible champion hurdlers, possible champion novice chasers and possible champion novice hurdlers. The ammo is there and so is the ambition.

"I'm still enjoying all of this. I'm very happy with how they are and the first part of their preparation has gone well. We're having a lot of fun and I've got a great bunch of owners who are friends, so I enjoy doing it with them."

Top five chasers in Britain and Ireland last season on official ratings

177 Kemboy
    176 Cyrname
    175 Altior
    175 Al Boum Photo
    172 Tiger Roll

16-1: The price Altior is with bet365 to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup

Nicky Henderson Betfair specials

To win the 2020 Grand National - 12-1
    To train four or more winners at 2020 Cheltenham Festival 9-4
    To train 150 or more winners in 2019-20 - 7-4
    To train winner of 2020 Gold Cup - 5-1
    To train winner of 2020 Champion Hurdle - 6-4

also

ALTIOR IS NOT KING GEORGE MATERIAL

News on Saturday broke that Nicky Henderson’s stable star Altior would tackle the 2019 King George VI Chase at Kempton on Boxing Day. In his Unibet blog, Henderson said, “(Owners) Patricia and Chris Pugh came down to the yard this week and saw Altior on the gallops and after plenty of input from everyone, we have decided that we are going to go down the King George route, therefore the obvious race to start in is the Christy 1965 Chase at Ascot on November 23.”

For the race and Kempton, this is huge news and similar thoughts can be echoed for Ascot’s Christy 1965 Chase, where a clash with Cyrname, officially rated higher than Altior, may transpire. Racing fans will also be licking their lips in anticipation of November 23rd and December 26th, with many itching to see the nine-year-old up in distance proper, tackling one of National Hunt’s most prestigious prizes, the King George.

While I too have been looking forward to seeing Altior compete over two-and-a-half miles, the King George trip of three is a significantly different test, especially when you consider we have yet to see the gelding even tackle an intermediate distance.

At the moment, we are totally in the dark with regards the son of High Chaparral staying, and under these circumstances one has to admire the game and brave call by connections in taking their pride and joy out of his usual comfort zone. It’s hugely sporting and as his current ante-post odds of 3/1 suggest, this won’t be Altior’s usual penalty kick at long odds-on.

So what about three miles for the two-time Champion Chaser? Will he stay? Is there any evidence to suggest he will? While you have to stay grounded given we are essentially guessing, I would say little points to Altior being as good over three miles than he is over two, based on common sense from the evidence we know.

First of all, and fundamentally, Altior is a quick horse. He competes over the shortest distance available to older National Hunt horses and is essentially the best and fastest horse in that division over the last two seasons. Not only he is quick on the track, but at home, too. Nicky Henderson has often said so publicly; his quote about Brain Power being the only horse at Seven Barrows that can go with Altior sticks out.

How Altior races and jumps would also concern me in not giving himself the best chance of seeing out three miles. He is an exuberant traveller and jumper when in top form, and while these qualities suit two-mile chasing, over staying trips those characteristics will tap into energy reserves. In jumping 13 fences in a Champion Chase, in the King George Altior will need to jump five more, and I can see all this adding up.

Altior also developed a habit of jumping to his left in races last season, especially in the Clarence House Chase at Ascot. With Kempton being a right-handed track, this is a concern and just another variable that could ebb away at his stamina.

When assessing horses stepping up in trip in day-to-day form study, pedigree analysis is often a good tool in helping make an informed decision. By High Chaparral, on this side of his pedigree Altior is given hope with the now deceased stallion producing quality jumps stayers like Caracci Apache, Hadrian's Approach, Tower Bridge et al.

However, Altior’s dam, Monte Solaro was a lowly-rated handicap hurdler who won off 96 over 2m 1f at Tramore and finished a close-up fifth over two-and-a-mile miles off 99. She was by Key Of Luck, who was a high class performer at 8-10f on dirt. Her dam, Monte Solaro, was a 7-8f handicapper.

It would be hard to see Altior staying a strong-run King George on pedigree, although some positivity can be seen in the unbeaten jumper’s second dam being a half-sister to Moorish, a classy intermediate trip hurdler for Nigel Twiston-Davies who had some form over 3m back in the late 90s.

Class, it must said, will take a horse a hell of a long way and there can be little doubt in Altior being good enough to win a King George. Whether he can be as good over 3m remains to be seen, but also, whether he is as good as the years progress is another question.

On last season’s evidence, I would say Altior was comfortably below the levels of his 2017/18 campaign. He still managed to go unbeaten in five runs but his performance levels dropped. Maybe that’s because he needs to go up in trip? Maybe he is just dossing as he gets older? Maybe wear and tear is catching up with the unbeaten-in-19 jumper?

I can’t be quite sure, but with the likes of Bristol De Mai, Clan Des Obeaux, Cyrname, Kemboy, Waiting Patiently all still young, established chasers and a classy-looking bunch of novices coming through Altior’s level of last season sees him beatable and that’s even before you factor in him being as good over 3m and as good for yet another season at the top flight.

On the plus side, the likelihood of decent ground will help his chance, but while I can’t see Altior winning a quality King George, his connections deserve a lot of praise for stepping up to the challenge, should he run, because let's face it, there still must be a chance he doesn't go if he doesn't happen to stay 2m5f in the Ascot 1965 Chase.

Declan Rix Blog Archive attheraces

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Hope he wins 3 Champion Chases if i’m honest as i don’t fancy him over 3m2 at Cheltenham.

Great to see all this news coming out for the new season which means the near end of the dull flat.

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Will he aim Saintini and Might Byte at the King George too? I doubt he wants them to clash.
    Speaking of King George, Id love to see Douvan have a crack at it too. What an exciting lineup it could be:

Altior, Santini, Clan des Obeaux, Cyrname, Douvan, Defi du Seuil, Waiting Patiently, Bristol de Mai :D