If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

All-Ireland SFC Final 2019.- Dublin V Kerry - Read Mod Note in Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Bland?

Salty tears lessen the blandness after we win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭Prestonites

Spot on. I'm only new on here but there's some bitter and unhinged posters spouting the same old negative nonsense hour after hour, day after day, week after week. I dont know how decent posters bother with it really.

It's sad as its ruins any constructive debate regarding the thread topic which is the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭D9Male

Yeah, it has gotten completely ridiculous now. Fair enough that people have issues with the Dubs, but they seem to air it dozens of times per day repeatedly.

This has the potential to be an excellent final. The Dubs' team are going for something historic, and obviously the Dublin team play an exciting intoxicating brand of football.

But they do have weaknesses, and Kerry have a forward line to expose it. I do wonder whether Cian O'Sullivan might be brought into the team, perhaps at the expense of MacAuley. Probably not, but if there is one change, that may be it.

Moran v Fenton will be an absolute belting battle in midfield. I think Fenton is the best player in the country, an all-time great already but Moran is no push over.

Dublin forwards should be able to rinse the Kerry back line. But it is conceivable that the Kerry attack could do the same to Dublin.

I predict the Dubs to win by 2-18 to 2-13. But it won't be comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

D9Male wrote: »
    Yeah, it has gotten completely ridiculous now. Fair enough that people have issues with the Dubs, but they seem to air it dozens of times per day repeatedly.

This has the potential to be an excellent final. The Dubs' team are going for something historic, and obviously the Dublin team play an exciting intoxicating brand of football.

But they do have weaknesses, and Kerry have a forward line to expose it. I do wonder whether Cian O'Sullivan might be brought into the team, perhaps at the expense of MacAuley. Probably not, but if there is one change, that may be it.

Moran v Fenton will be an absolute belting battle in midfield. I think Fenton is the best player in the country, an all-time great already but Moran is no push over.

Dublin forwards should be able to rinse the Kerry back line. But it is conceivable that the Kerry attack could do the same to Dublin.

Yes should be a good game. I've alreadygiven my prediction Dublin 2-19 v Kerry 3-14. I can see the Kerry full forward line doing some damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,578 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

D9Male wrote: »

I agree I can't wait for it that Moran v Fenton match up is a great one to highlight. Moran the old stager class player. Fenton the younger of the two class player. 6 years between them,
    It is like like an echo of the old Jack O'Shea and Mullins battles
    Although it was revered then Mullins was the oldest of the two by three years.

If I was Kerry I would start Tommy Walsh he can be thier Donaghy/Bomber liston the focal point.
    The other lads can run off him.
    Try and get an early goal against Dublin to quietn the crowd (I think Kerry will need three in the game to win it)
    As for the weak Kerry backs I think that Kerry will not be able to go all out attack in a shoot out with Dublin.
    But there has to be periods in the game where the majority of the Kerry team funnel back and soak up pressure make the pitch narrow.
    They cannot be attack gung ho all the time.

I noticed in the Donegal v Kerry game - despite the 'shoot out' feel of the game there were periods of great defending from Kerry.
    Tenacious is what Ger Canning would call it I believe.
    They just have to do the dirty work - work like dogs all the fancy skilful stuff comes easy to Kerry - if they can get the rest while getting goals too I can see a Kerry win.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I can't see Kerry getting a big score against Dublin especially in a final. There highest scoring game was against a Meath team who have fallen apart in the later stages of nearly all there games this season.

1-17 Cork scored against Dublin this season which was highest they concided all year because Cork had nothing to lose and went for it and had a go look what happened to them in the end!

Kerry have been very open at the back in most of there games sure Cork themselves put 3-10 past them in a Munster final so what could Dublin do to that defence?

In the one game where Dublin looked in a spot of bother this season they ended up winning very comfortably in the end.

Kerry are looking at a hand full of players at the most to win them games. What happens if one or two of these lads are marked out the game or have an off day.

The Dublin team has players all over the pitch that rarely fail to turn up especially in the big games. The bench speaks for itself!

At the end of the day its Dublin Kerry in an all Ireland final with 5 in a row on the line anything could happen but surely if Dublin turn up they should have more then enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭Prestonites

Dublin 2-19 Kerry 1-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭brocbrocach

Stoner wrote: »
    Good luck on the final day men.

Is the end nigh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Seadin

Dublin 3-15 Kerry 2-13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭moghrasa

I'm way over simplifying it here, but there seems to be two ways that teams take on the Dub's.

Because we all know that this Dublin team is 1) Fitter than you and 2) Better drilled than you, most teams focus on one aspect. You see Cork and Mayo(last week) attacking option 1, which is to concoct a tactic to stifle the dubs, but in the process they get tired, get ripped apart, and eventually die in the second half. Then there is the likes of Tyrone - who are aware that while the dubs are probably better players than them - are so fit that they'll be able to compete physically for the full 70 minutes, taking their beating in increments by quarter rather than a glut of points over a 10 minute period like the rest of the teams.

The team that came closest to striking this balance was Rochfords Mayo, who were better players than the Dub's most recent Final opposition Tyrone, but also had immense strength and conditioning. Thus they could come closest to matching the Dubs, and eventually losing by a point on both occasions. The point is, you don't have to be as skilful as the dubs or as fit as the dubs, but you need to get both as close to Dublin's level as possible to stand a chance. You need a decent tactic and you need to be confident that it'll last you the game, you're finished otherwise.

Mayo hadn't a hope last Saturday due to a depleted squad, and the circumstances of their Super 8 group not allowing for them to rest players the same way Dublin and Tyrone could. While they lost by 10 in the end, I don't think this is a reflection of the gap between them and Dublin. Likewise, I don't think my beloved Donegal had a hope if we had gotten through to last Saturday, but with 3 weeks to heal up and prepare for battle, Kerry find themselves in a much better position than Dublin's SF opponents.

I expect this to be tit for tat, Kerry possibly winning at half time and with the teams tied a number of times throughout the second half, but Dublin eventually pulling away from 60 minutes onwards to win by 3 or 4. I think the handicap on Kerry is a very good bet.

Dublin 1-19 Kerry 0-18 or thereabouts for me, but wouldn't be the least bit surprised if Kerry snatch a win. I'll never forget 2014, ye feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Boards.ie is no longer the place to talk in a positive way about Dublin football.

It's become a place where every thread is derailed. The same users expressing outrage and influencing mods to allow a football thread to be taken over by concerns about structure. They want the bigger audience to talk about their concerns and don't want to talk about it in the thread created for it.

Everyone in the same pool lane when it suits, but they have their own lane.

Depending on your county there are still good threads here, but it's not a place for people to speak positively about Dublin football. Many of the haters pretending that their hatred in new, that it has replaced support.

Any attempt to express enjoyment or anticipation is met with a bitter response. TBH it's not worth it.

It's no better than facebook a medium now, somewhere I haven't posted on about GAA in 6 years.

Most of the dublin regulars are not posting here, it's not bland it's just not happening here.

Whatapp and telegraph are hopping.

Good luck on the final day men.

Because when Frank and Magic are on about it, ye come back with crap like what about the hurlers and "get your own house in order". Just feeding the situation. I've spouted the money thing the odd time. Mainly just venting. But there are some people who are just made to be keyboard warriors. And will argue on and on and on. If you partake in this, it will just continue. Obvious answer is just to ignore. But this is a foum, so not easy to do.
    Everybody knows the money was given. But it's not for you to apologise for it or feel like you have to defend it. At the end of the day, I think it has advanced football from the defensive "puke football" that could conceivably have completely taken over. In particular, Northern teams had to throw the shackles off.

I don't know who I'd rather see win in 2 weeks. I'd just leave it with Gary Nevile's quote - like having a choice of 2 blokes to nick your wife".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

There will be zero tolerance for nonsense in this thread

It’s for sensible and grown up discussion which many posters seemed to have forgotten how to do

Cards and bans will be handed out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

I agree I can't wait for it that Moran v Fenton match up is a great one to highlight. Moran the old stager class player. Fenton the younger of the two class player. 6 years between them,
    It is like like an echo of the old Jack O'Shea and Mullins battles
    Although it was revered then Mullins was the oldest of the two by three years.

If I was Kerry I would start Tommy Walsh he can be thier Donaghy/Bomber liston the focal point.
    The other lads can run off him.
    Try and get an early goal against Dublin to quietn the crowd (I think Kerry will need three in the game to win it)
    As for the weak Kerry backs I think that Kerry will not be able to go all out attack in a shoot out with Dublin.
    But there has to be periods in the game where the majority of the Kerry team funnel back and soak up pressure make the pitch narrow.
    They cannot be attack gung ho all the time.

I noticed in the Donegal v Kerry game - despite the 'shoot out' feel of the game there were periods of great defending from Kerry.
    Tenacious is what Ger Canning would call it I believe.
    They just have to do the dirty work - work like dogs all the fancy skilful stuff comes easy to Kerry - if they can get the rest while getting goals too I can see a Kerry win.

Fenton and Moran won’t be marking each other, they never are. It will be a match in terms of who will be more influential on the game though. Moran has had a real rejuvenation this year his fielding and kick passing has been magnificent in particular.

I agree with you that Kerry are better at defending that they are being given credit for. The reason they often look so open is that they push up and play a high press at times. This can leave a gap in front of the full back line that is always going to favour a good forward.

The result is by no means a foregone conclusion but you’d have to fancy Dublin overall as they have better and more experienced players.

Fenton and Moran won’t be marking each other, they never are. It will be a match in terms of who will be more influential on the game though. Moran has had a real rejuvenation this year his fielding and kick passing has been magnificent in particular.

I agree with you that Kerry are better at defending that they are being given credit for. The reason they often look so open is that they push up and play a high press at times. This can leave a gap in front of the full back line that is always going to favour a good forward.

The result is by no means a foregone conclusion but you’d have to fancy Dublin overall as they have better and more experienced players.

I am starting to get worried in the 2011 final Kerry were the miles better team.
    Most Dublin fans were just there enjoying getting to an AI final (the first for many of the younger fans)

But Kerry were caught cold towards the end coasting - Darren O'Sullivan was giving fist pumps after scores - he assumed it was over.

Now 8 years later (11 of the 2011 Dublin lads still on the panel) the roles are reversed Dublin are expected to win handy enough.

If Dublin try any of that killing the game craic slowing it down like they did in some of the AI finals when it was close v Mayo - my very real worry is that the Kerry forwards (unlike Mayo) are good enough to pounce on any slip up and bang goal game over - or momentum switch in the last 10 minutes.

I have a question for any of the Kerry supporters, curiosity really.
    How many of the Kerry lads from the 2011 AI left on the current panel?

Moran was injured I think but apart from that Killian Young played and maybe Enright was on the panel I can’t remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,838 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Killian Young definitely the only one left who played on the day

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Tommy Walsh could have played if he stayed, definitely of that generation. Not sure he would have made a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

The Magic account was set up to derail and undermine any Dublin achievement. Only started posting about Mayo when challenged about their knowledge of football.

No infractions, posts in forums mods tell him not to, you report it and that's it.

Then he has his swipes in the Mayo forum trying to get things moving there too.

From our history on boards I don't think you would ever shout for Dublin, your dismissal of players like McCarthy as average to good players etc you know what you are at. You are unable to separate the troll Dublin accounts the genuine ones. You tar everyone with the same brush.

How come I can go on to the Mayo forum and talk about the Mayo team and how I admire them. The good and the bad. I'll come on and say I hope they beat Kerry etc. Doesn't mean I hate Kerry I expect they want Mayo to beat Dublin too. I show some respect to lads like Keegan etc, but it is one way traffic with you. I've posted on the mayo forum for years. I might not be welcome going forward.

You don't like us Flash and I'm not here to win you over.

What's your history on the Dublin forum? Ever come to talk about anything positive? Or is it mainly to thank magic and Frank's posts? A nice firewall. I honestly think that there are a lot of good posters who actually think it's ok to hate the dublin team, expected. You like football but not Dublin, I'm not even sure you know it.

The Ulster counties have to put up with a bit of it too.

I'm upfront about my bias. There nothing wrong with it.

Lots of the Mayo and kerry lads are to. There are plenty on the other side with the Magics.

Where do you sit Flash?

Posters like Strabanimal pick up bans but I don't mind him at least you know where you stand with them.

You actually think that I set up an account, purely to undermine dublins football achievements? Sorry but you really should get over yourself. The world doesnt revolve around your county football team.
    I have a, frankly fairly reasonable and commonly held opinion that dublin have been financially doped on the gaa field. Im entitled to make that point and discuss what effects it has had on various aspects of the gaa. Again, that isnt unusual or unfair.
    You mightnt like to hear it but surely it is only a reasonable response? What else did you expect like?

Have you ever wondered how you would react if the shoe was on the other foot? How would you react to people point blank denying any effects?

Re the final. I hope kerry win,

keane2097 wrote: »
    Killian Young definitely the only one left who played on the day

That is some turnover of players so.
    Considering Dublin have 11 hanging on from that panel it really shows the difference in make up between the two counties.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Right this is partially mod, partially personal.
    Firstly, the Dublin "financial/general advantage" stuff goes in the dedicated thread. Any discussion about it here will result in a minimum 1 day ban. I say minimum because that depends on your recent record. Repeat offenders will get longer and we'll have no problem banning people until after the final.

Secondly, Dublin fans: a lot of ye are just as bad as the posters you're complaining about. Ye complained about the financial crap clogging up other threads, so it was moved. Then we were accused of stifling discussion. So it seems like we can't win.

As well as that, some of you seem to think that no one can possibly say anything bad about Dublin. But you really need to grow thicker skin. Meath got the hate in the 90s that we were dirty. Tyrone got it in the 00s for "puke football". Kilkenny got it in hurling when they were dominating. It's the nature of GAA. It's the nature of sport! Everyone hates the winners. And you need to deal with it! And quite frankly, it's bizarre how personally some take it. You're unbackable favourites to win 5 in a row. You're odds on to win 6 in a row. And you're more likely to win 8 in a row than Kerry are to win on Sunday fortnight. If I was a Dublin fan, I wouldn't give two sh!ts what other people said.

So can I please request that people discuss the game. Please report any posts that break the rules (while also noting that not all criticism of Dublin is not trolling) or we will bring the bans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,838 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Considering Dublin have 11 hanging on from that panel it really shows the difference in make up between the two counties.

I have a notion the Dubs were much younger overall that time though. It was the end of a good team for us and only the start for ye. It would be interesting actually to compare Dublin from 2013 and Kerry from 2014, we've probably changed a good bit since then as then as well.

Remember Mannion and Jack Mc only getting started that time.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭ToBeFrank123

Ah now it doesn't really. Most of the Kerry lads on that team were at the end of their careers. Almost all of them have retired since, from old age! Virtually all of them who played that day already had AIs so its not as if they tried and failed to win AIs

That is the reason for the "turnover".

Kerry were a team on the way down, Dublin on the way up. And they met along the way. It really was a case of handing over the baton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Seadin

I think the final could will turn out like 2013 semi final. A shot out with Dublin finishing on top. Kerry will be up for this. If Dublin are too then they will be only one winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Killian Young played the full game in the final.
    Shane Enright and James O'Donoghue were both squad members that year -both played no part in the final, but did play in other games.
    Moran was out with his long-term injury - he played no championship in 2011 or 2012.

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Killian Young played the full game in the final.
    Shane Enright and James O'Donoghue were both squad members that year -both played no part in the final, but did play in other games.
    Moran was out with his long-term injury - he played no championship in 2011 or 2012.

Didn’t realise JOD was on the panel in 2011 he must have been what, 19?

I think 2018 was a nadir for the team that followed on and won an All Ireland in 2014. We probably have 8-9 starters now that weren’t even on the panel for that semi final replay v Mayo in 2017.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭Gael85

I think 2018 was a nadir for the team that followed on and won an All Ireland in 2014. We probably have 8-9 starters now that weren’t even on the panel for that semi final replay v Mayo in 2017.

JOD was playing with Kerry 09/2010. He definitely played against Dublin in league 2010 as remember him missing yard 21 free in front of goal.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,702 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

How sad is that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭C__MC

Would agree with this
    Peter Keane has shown no mercy to former players who possibly would still be useful on many inter county teams
    He is building a new era in the kingdom around those minor teams