Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭ruwithme

I'm living in the wellies myself this long time, between wet land and Feet that don't seem to be able to take with any work boots I've tried .

Thought i was doing something right 2years ago and spent over €100 on a pair of sketchers safety work boot.couple of months later and i couldn't wear them anymore with pain in the foot.

Have this pain with working boots in recent years. Never though with the wellies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭50HX

Jesus this weather is depressing

Had to open a few bales this evening

This is something i'd do most years, move em to a rocky area for a few days and letvtbe heavy rain pass, saves alot of grass and torment of looking at em poaching

Walked land tonite and it's boating.....

+240hr forcecast is anything but good if to be belived

Going for a pint.......oh wait:(

• Registered Users Posts: 29,253 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We went to a hotel for the night last night for young lads confirmation. Was great to get away. 2 milkings off but a total rip off. 239 euro for 5 of us bed and breakfast 1 bed room. Kids went to the pool. That had to be booked , allowed in pool for 45 minutes . Nice meal last night. Met a man we know and he left a few free drinks for us .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

ruwithme wrote: »
    I'm living in the wellies myself this long time, between wet land and Feet that don't seem to be able to take with any work boots I've tried .

Thought i was doing something right 2years ago and spent over €100 on a pair of sketchers safety work boot.couple of months later and i couldn't wear them anymore with pain in the foot.

Have this pain with working boots in recent years. Never though with the wellies.

Do you need insoles for the boots?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,470 ✭✭✭Field east

Lidl had a nice safety shoe with a steel toecap from powerfix there a while ago. I'd have a broad foot and these are comfortable.

Boots are much healthier and less tiring on your feet/ body than Wellington’s/rubber boots. I find boots from ALDI/ Lidl last much longer than from agr coop outlets. Maybe some of these shops do brands that might last as long as ALDI/Lidl ones but that’s not my experience.
    PLEASE NOTE - establish what the number years guarantee is. Then wear them at every opportunity and see how they are towards end of guarantee. I went back to my coop outlet twice and got them replaced. The sole was coming off in both cases. The effort needs a bit of ‘neck’ and of course the receipt. We Irish are ‘not very good’ at returning goods below a certain value. It’s not the done thing in an Irish cultural context

• Registered Users Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

What sort of work boots ye all using when yer doing stuff and not in wellies? I need to invest. Don't want anything too chunky or heavy

having a look around last few weeks myself and tempted to try the new "snickers" one. my work boots are not comfy any more so end up in runners (if driving for hours) or wellies.

have a pair of "no risk" boots and got good wear out of them

• Registered Users Posts: 18,523 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Poor Swiftie gone into hibernation ☹️

https://ibb.co/sH7BkLv

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭The Rabbi

_Brian wrote: »
    Poor Swiftie gone into hibernation ☹️

https://ibb.co/sH7BkLv

That's good to see,one less on the road.They are worse than farmers for holding up traffic.:p

The Rabbi wrote: »
    That's good to see,one less on the road.They are worse than farmers for holding up traffic.:p

Yea, ya can’t rush the auld wobble box. If the road isn’t too bumpy she’s fine for 80kph even on R roads.

We recently came from Doogort on Achill to east cavan in 4hrs, google says 3:30 so it didn’t add that much to the journey considering any towed trailer/caravan is limited to 80kph

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,635 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod note; Ragwort posts moved to a new thread
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=114341889#post114341889

On the boots one I have insoles specially made, find they prevent back pain. I think Elvery's do a cheaper version that work well.

https://www.footsolutions.ie/?gclid=Cj0KCQjw-O35BRDVARIsAJU5mQVXQ_SK0Xk2ho8OjWFbEaZDF0sMb6_GY2phxSN0N7tb7atvnuXg4FUaAvRzEALw_wcB
    Foot solutions worth a look too. Not cheap. but I bought a pr of Indian made dealer boots on ebay for less than £20 and I can wear them all day with the foot solutions insoles in them if it's dry.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

4 workers at a glanbia plant have tested positive for covid. Anyone know which plant it is. The article is behind a paywall on the journals website

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

whelan2 wrote:
    4 workers at a glanbia plant have tested positive for covid. Anyone know which plant it is. The article is behind a paywall on the journals website

Glanbia Ballintore

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭zetecescort

New series of This farming life on BBC2 at 8 tonight

Local Gaelic and soccer clubs closed for 48 hours. 2 nights off for me

• Registered Users Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭naughto

Will all underage football trainin be pulled now with only 15 people being allowed

naughto wrote: »
    Will all underage football trainin be pulled now with only 15 people being allowed

There's only less than 15 turn up for training including coaches on most of our teams. Some people think training isnt for them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭Odelay

FYI The folks in the weather forum are getting excited. Usually they are on the ball. Looks like serious rain and wind tomorrow to Thursday.

Time to shut any available doors and remove possible flying debris. Also, put the mower away..

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058105531&page=3

Latest stance the government are taking on Covid controls seems to be a very disjointed app roach.

Can have 50 inside at mass but nobody at an outdoor sport event, and no more than 6 at indoor training, but 30-35 kids in a classroom next week Is fine.

There seems no consistency in the rules or approach. When the public see no credibility in the system they stop believing and so stop partaking in the effort.

Leo is playing a blinder, himself and Simon have stepped back, Michael and that dunce Stephen are in control and it’s like a pair of drunks on a ride on a Honda 50.

I dont understand what the meeting was about yesterday and today and this is the crap they come up with

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭Suckler

Latest stance the government are taking on Covid controls seems to be a very disjointed app roach.

Can have 50 inside at mass but nobody at an outdoor sport event, and no more than 6 at indoor training, but 30-35 kids in a classroom next week Is fine.

There seems no consistency in the rules or approach. When the public see no credibility in the system they stop believing and so stop partaking in the effort.

Leo is playing a blinder, himself and Simon have stepped back, Michael and that dunce Stephen are in control and it’s like a pair of drunks on a ride on a Honda 50.

Look at the age range now contracting C19 and you'll have your answer. Mass goers aren't the demographic causing/affected by the new surge in numbers. Personal responsibility is out the window so we're all being treated like kids. Usual, the minority of clowns that can't do simple things like wear a mask and lose their marbles as soon as they get in the door of a pub are affecting the majority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Odelay wrote: »
    FYI The folks in the weather forum are getting excited. Usually they are on the ball. Looks like serious rain and wind tomorrow to Thursday.

Time to shut any available doors and remove possible flying debris. Also, put the mower away..

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058105531&page=3

I remembered again why I stay away from there. Who, in their right mind, would be looking forward to a near hurricane?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭zetecescort

presumably its still the same advisors though? did the members of NPHET change when there was a change of Taoiseach?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,234 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I remembered again why I stay away from there. Who, in their right mind, would be looking forward to a near hurricane?:confused:

Really?

Exhibit - A.

https://youtu.be/JNiKseeX_Ic

• Registered Users Posts: 11,234 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Stock up on colouring books for the kids..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Really?

Exhibit - A.

https://youtu.be/JNiKseeX_Ic

I got a hypo watching that in the cinema, had binocular vision so saw it twice in the one showing:pac:

And I rest my case, nobody of sound mind:P

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Has anyone received their school bus tickets, i haven't yet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭dzer2

Ours came but just can't see the schools opening

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

dzer2 wrote: »
    Ours came but just can't see the schools opening

Hard to know what is going to happen. Hope my tickets come anyway, don't fancy 2 20mile round trips every day

Got mine last week. Still to get the refund from last year. I just paid until Christmas this time as we dont know what's going to happen in the meantime