Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lads On Hen Nights

• 05-08-2019 3:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭

is this a new thing now?? ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

For merry men, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Meh if I was getting married, and my closest friends were male, I'd probably want them there for my hen night.

I was engaged once upon a time (didn't end up marrying him) and my best friend at the time was a close childhood friend who happened to be a guy, he was going to me my bridesmaid (well, "dude of honour"!) If I'd had a hen night, of course I'd have wanted him to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

We had a girl on a stag night, we were all mates so why not? Why does it need to be women/men only?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

We had a girl on a stag night, we were all mates so why not? Why does it need to be women/men only?

A stripper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭jay1988

OSI wrote: »
    We’re really scraping the bottom of the outrage barrel huh?

Where's the outrage?

OSI wrote: »
    We’re really scraping the bottom of the outrage barrel huh?

You certainly are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

jay1988 wrote: »
    Where's the outrage?

'ffs' usually is used to imply a displeasure within levels 4-6 on the international outrage scale.

It's science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Either gay or sexually inoffensive. Which means you probably should consider being gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Either gay or sexually inoffensive

rather than "sexually inoffensive" i would say "non-sexual". A man who there is no danger of any of the girls on the hen getting off with such is his complete lack of pheromones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Apparently a 'sten' is the latest thing, where you have a joint hens and stag.
    Probably more suited to those who are opting for less debauchery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It called bukkake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

is this a new thing now?? ffs

Never heard of gay guys have we? XD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Friends of Dorothy.

/Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

whiskeyman wrote: »

Any sten I've seen was purely down to the fact the bloke was marrying a loon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Braver lads than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Or possibly more debauchery ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Never heard of gay guys have we? XD

Do you see many Lesbians on stag nights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I've heard of a "hag" too which I find quite funny. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Not even a new thing, is it?

I can think of some friends who'd probably end up having co-ed hen dos because they have close male friends, I know plenty more who'd have an all female one either from preference or just because their closest friends are all women.

I really don't think the "how can we enjoy our 3am extra marital handjobs behind the bins while eating a curry chip if there's a GIRL/BOY there" hen and stag dos are in any danger of dying out like, relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,726 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Oh no! People doing things differently! When will people stop doing things the way they want? I blame, emmm, young people? Yeah, millennials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'm not ready for that level of wokeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Some people just want to have a pre wedding night out with their friends/cousins and aren't bothered with the hen or stag thing. It's not a political statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I got my first ever shift on a hen night after some mad fooker dared another mad fooker to shift the next guy that walked in the door, which just happened to be me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

I was on a hens years ago and we met these lads on a stag in one the bars.

Two of the lads were really good break dancers and they challenged two of the girls to a dance off but the girls didn't know any break dancing so they did the wheelbarrow and one of them lay on the ground while the other spun her around. I think the girls won :)

I don't really like hens in general that much tbh and have heard of men going on them before loads of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Any sten I've seen was purely down to the fact the bloke was marrying a loon

Only man I know that had a sten did indeed marry a loon

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭SaltSweatSugar

I’m a woman and I got invited to one of my best friends ‘anti-stag’ a couple of years ago when him and his fiancée split, but I didn’t go as I couldn’t get time off work. I would’ve happily gone as I’m friendly with most of his friends and get on very well with them.
    That being said, I don’t think I’d invite him to my hen. He’s my best male friend and I love him to bits but I don’t think he’d enjoy it. I don’t think I’d invite any of my male friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

I’m a woman and I got invited to one of my best friends ‘anti-stag’ a couple of years ago when him and his fiancée split, but I didn’t go as I couldn’t get time off work. I would’ve happily gone as I’m friendly with most of his friends and get on very well with them.
    That being said, I don’t think I’d invite him to my hen. He’s my best male friend and I love him to bits but I don’t think he’d enjoy it. I don’t think I’d invite any of my male friends.

Speaking of anti-stag, are divorce parties a thing in Ireland?

I know they are in the US and with there being an increase in baby showers here, I wouldn't be surprised if divorce parties get more popular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Haven't ever gone on a hen but have ended up hanging around with hen parties when I'm trying to sniff out a ride.

Most women want to go on hen parties so they can get their end away with a bit of strange away from their boyfriend/husband. I've often ended up getting stuck in to married women off on a hen.

So can see why they wouldn't want any men around who might judge them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's only gay lads who go on hens is it not?

Or the sneaky fúckers who allude to being gay so as one of the girls can "convert" them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Haven't ever gone on a hen but have ended up hanging around with hen parties when I'm trying to sniff out a ride.

Most women want to go on hen parties so they can get their end away with a bit of strange away from their boyfriend/husband. I've often ended up getting stuck in to married women off on a hen.

Do you ever have an actual conversation with any of these conquests of yours? Do you listen to what they say.

For someone so successful with attracting women, I'm always baffled by your view on what they think and want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

And then Nurse wakes you up for your medication

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 129 ✭✭Ecce No Homo

I'd love to go to one of these wearing very tight green underwear with a big fat piece of pvc conduit tubing swinging from my groin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭laoisgem

I'd love to go to one of these wearing very tight green underwear with a big fat piece of pvc conduit tubing swinging from my groin

I don't know whether I want to know the reason for this or not but feck it! Why would that be? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 129 ✭✭Ecce No Homo

laoisgem wrote: »
    I don't know whether I want to know the reason for this or not but feck it! Why would that be? :D

I'm a freak with an exceptionally long and fat, thick flaccid penis. I like to spit on it and swing it around and around and around for the webcam (QuickCam). It's actually unwieldy and I rarely have sex, and several of my previous partners complained about pain (and in one instance lasting damage), so these days I am more about putting on a show, and playing the fool a bit. It's an unusual piece of meat as it's actually marginally smaller when erect as it fattens out and looses a fit of length. Hope that answers your question as to why I want to go to a Hen Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭laoisgem

I'm a freak with an exceptionally long and fat, thick flaccid penis. I like to spit on it and swing it around and around and around for the webcam (QuickCam). It's actually unwieldy and I rarely have sex, and several of my previous partners complained about pain (and in one instance lasting damage), so these days I am more about putting on a show, and playing the fool a bit. It's an unusual piece of meat as it's actually marginally smaller when erect as it fattens out and looses a fit of length. Hope that answers your question as to why I want to go to a Hen Party.

Pics or STFU :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

You must be great at parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,413 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Are people really that sheltered and conservative?
    It really isn't that big a deal .

I, along with another male friend, went on a hen night - bride to be was a close friend.
    I've been on two stags at which there were women - again, close friends.
    All around 15 or so years ago.

It really isn't a big deal.

Are people really that sheltered and conservative?
    It really isn't that big a deal .

I, along with another male friend, went on a hen night - bride to be was a close friend.
    I've been on two stags at which there were women - again, close friends.
    All around 15 or so years ago.

It really isn't a big deal.

But but but. It's doing things differently. And different is always wrong and frightening.

Personally, I would choose a lads night out for a stag. But it's absolutely no skin off my nose if a woman goes on a stag or man on a hen. Isn't it a bit of fun rather than a formal obligation which can't tolerate any deviation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

The real tragedy is the combination hen/stag. Jesus tap dancing Christ. Get out of each others arses for a night will ye, you have an eternity to sit beside each other in a bar arguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

The real tragedy is the combination hen/stag. Jesus tap dancing Christ. Get out of each others arses for a night will ye, you have an eternity to sit beside each other in a bar arguing.

People who have 'stens' usually have their own respective stags and hens I find. Just another excuse for a party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I haven't been to a hen where a male friend wasn't invited. I think there will be just me, one or two mates, my Mum and aunties if I restrict the invite list to just to women! My partner doesn't want a stag at all, he hates them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Very inclusive nowadays

branie2 wrote: »
    Very inclusive nowadays

As opposed to what? The old days, when everyone did everything alone?

What it means is that the meaning of a hen night is changing. It used to be a women only party. Now it can include whoever the organiser wants. Freedom to choose how to spend recreation time. I'm all for that.

• Site Banned Posts: 13 Reality King

If I saw a man on a hen party I would assume he was the gay friend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

If I saw a man on a hen party I would assume he was the gay friend.

You sound like someone that watches box sets of Sex and the City?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Men are becoming more effeminate. Going to a hen wearing skinny jeans and no show socks. I know very few men that think highly of these types.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Men are becoming more effeminate. Going to a hen wearing skinny jeans and no show socks. I know very few men that think highly of these types.

Seriously though, each to their own, but what is with fat ass dudes with weird ass proportions wearing super tight skinny jeans. YOUR CALVES ARE HORRIBLE DUDE! I DO NOT WANT TO BE STARING AT YOUR CALVES WHEN I DRINK MY FRAPPE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Seriously though, each to their own, but what is with fat ass dudes with weird ass proportions wearing super tight skinny jeans. YOUR CALVES ARE HORRIBLE DUDE! I DO NOT WANT TO BE STARING AT YOUR CALVES WHEN I DRINK MY FRAPPE.

You also sound like someone who watches boxsets of Sex in the City with your frappe...

As said by every old generation throughout history about everything younger generation. But somehow the old boys seem to think they're saying something novel. Yawn.

• Site Banned Posts: 13 Reality King

The worst is when I go back home to my small town and I see some thick headed culchie looking lad in skinny ripped jeans. Horrendous.