Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mass shooting in el paso

• Registered Users Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

This is not difficult to figure out.
    Ban all military guns designed to kill people. Buy back those already out there, and destroy them. Refine licence requirements for holding hunting rifles, job done.

Dissolve the NRA.

Loads of angry rednecks, but no more people shot dead buying a school uniform for their child.

End of.

Simple.

Do you think the bad guys will hand their guns back?

Do you think the good guys will?

It’s impossible to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Ban all military guns designed to kill people. Buy back those already out there, and destroy them. Refine licence requirements for holding hunting rifles, job done.

Dissolve the NRA.

Loads of angry rednecks, but no more people shot dead buying a school uniform for their child.

End of.

While I agree with you just 1 thing in the bold all guns are designed to mane and kill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Gatling wrote: »
    Did it prevent more massacres

Yes .

Australia. Australia had mandatory buyback programs in 1996 and 2003. Both programs were temporary and involved compensation paid to owners of firearms made illegal by gun law changes and surrendered to the government.

2014 hostage crisis and shooting. two dead.
    2015 parramatta shooting two dead.

imagine if they had guns they werent even proper citizens.

Simple.

It’s impossible to do.

Ah the old it would not help so we should not do it argument. If we did that for everything no law would get enacted. How about we do something and try make things better

• Registered Users Posts: 16,646 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Australia. Australia had mandatory buyback programs in 1996 and 2003. Both programs were temporary and involved compensation paid to owners of firearms made illegal by gun law changes and surrendered to the government.

By the actual definition of Spree/Mass shootings commonly used in the US...
    Those don't actually even count.
    But 2 incidents, one of which was an actual ISIS flagged attack and the buyback and control regime in Australia have failed?

Your logic is deeply flawed.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Compare that to the tens of thousands killed in America during that 5 year period,

How many mass shooting in that time frame in America

Since 2000 this only covers headline mass shootings

Timeline: Mass shootings since 2000 in the United States
    Dec. 26, 2000 —Wakefield, Massachusetts
    Michael McDermott, 42, shot and killed seven co-workers at Edgewater Technology using several weapons, including an AK-47.

March 12, 2005 —Brookefield, Wisconsin
    Terry Ratzmann, 44, shot and killed seven members of the Living Church of God at a Sheraton hotel with a 9mm handgun before committing suicide.

March 21, 2005 —Red Lake, Minnesota
    Jeffrey Weise, 16, shot and killed 10 people before turning the gun on himself, including his grandfather and a police officer, using several weapons, including a 12 gauge shotgun.

Jan. 30, 2006 —Goleta, California
    Former postal worker Jennifer San Marco, 44, shot and killed seven people, including several former coworkers, and herself.

Oct. 2, 2006 —Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
    Charles Carl Roberts IV shot and killed five female students inside an Amish schoolhouse using several weapons before committing suicide.

Feb. 12, 2007 —Salt Lake City, Utah
    Sulejman Talovic, 18, killed five people at Trolley Square Mall with two weapons before he was shot and killed by police.

April 16, 2007 —Blacksburg, Virginia
    College student Seung-Hui Cho shot and killed 32 people on the campus of Virginia Tech with two weapons before taking his own life.

Oct. 7, 2007 —Crandon, Wisconsin
    Sheriff's deputy Tyler Peterson, 20, shot and killed six people at a post-Homecoming party in an apartment before committing suicide. He used a semiautomatic rifle.

Dec. 5, 2007 —Omaha, Nebraska
    Robert A. Hawkins killed eight people and himself using a semiautomatic rifle after entering the Westroads Mall.

Feb. 2, 2008 —Kirkwood, Missouri
    Charles Lee Thornton, 52, entered a public city council meeting and shot and killed five people with two handguns before he was shot and killed by police.

Feb. 14, 2008 —Dekalb, Ilinois
    Steven Kazmierczak, 27, shot and killed five people on the campus of Northern Illinois University with several semiautomatic weapons before killing himself.

June 25, 2008 —Henderson, Kentucky
    Wesley Neal Higdon, 25, killed five people at Atlantis Plastics Factory with a semiautomatic weapon before taking his own life.

April 3, 2009 —Binghamton, New York
    Jiverly Antares Wong, a 41-year-old naturalized American citizen from Vietnam, shot and killed 14 people at the American Civic Association with two weapons before killing himself.

August 3, 2010 — Manchester, Connecticut
    Omar Thorton, 34, entered a warehouse owned by his former employer, Hartford Distributors, and shot and killed eight people with two semiautomatic weapons before committing suicide.

Sept. 6, 2011 —Carson City, Nevada
    Eduardo Sencion, 32, opened fire with a semiautomatic rifle in an IHOP restaurant, killing four people and himself.

July 20, 2012 —Aurora, Colorado
    James Holmes, 25, shot and killed 12 people in a movie theater during the premiere of "The Dark Knight Rises" using several weapons, including a semiautomatic rifle.

Aug. 5, 2012 —Oak Creek, Wisconsin
    Wade Michael Page, 40, killed four people with a semiautomatic weapon inside a Sikh temple before turning the gun on himself.

Dec. 14, 2012 —Newtown, Connecticut
    Adam Lanza, 20, shot and killed his mother and 26 people inside Sandy Hook Elementary School before turning the gun on himself.

March 13, 2013 —Herkimer, New York
    Kurt Meyers, 64, killed four people at a car wash and barbershop with a shotgun before he was shot and killed by police.

Sept. 16, 2013 —Washington, D.C.
    Aaron Alexis, 34, shot and killed 12 people inside the Washington Navy Yard with a 12-gauge shotgun before he was shot and killed by police.

June 7, 2013 —Santa Monica, California
    John Zawahri, 23, opened fire in a home and later on the campus of Santa Monica College, killing five people with a semiautomatic rifle. He was killed during a shootout with police.

July 26, 2013 —Hialeah, Florida
    Pedro Alberto Vargas, 42, shot and killed six people with a semiautomatic weapon in his apartment complex before setting fire to his own apartment. He was shot and killed by a SWAT team.

September 14, 2014— Bell, Florida
    Don C. Spirit, 51, shot and killed his granddaughter and six grandchildren before turning the gun on himself.

May 17, 2015— Waco, Texas
    Rival motorcycle gangs kill nine at a restaurant in Waco, Texas. There were over 170 arrests made after the incident.

June 17, 2015 — Charleston, S.C.
    Dylann Roof, 21, walks into a historic black church in Charleston, South Carolina and kills nine people.

Oct. 1, 2015—Roseburg, OR.
    Christopher Harper-Mercer enters Umpqua Community College in southwest Oregon opens fire and kills nine, wounding seven others before police shot him to death.

November 27, 2015— Colorado Springs, Colorado
    Robert Lewis Dear storms in a Planned Parenthood health clinic in Colorado Springs, Colorado and kills three people and wounding nine.

December 2, 2015— San Bernardino, California
    A man and a woman walk into a holiday party both armed with assault weapons and kill 14 people and wounding 17 others.

June 12, 2016 — Orlando, Florida
    Omar Mir SeddiqueMateen, 29, killed 49 people and injured 53 at Pulse – a popular gay nightclub in Orlando, Florida. President Barack Obama described the horrific event as an "act of terror and hate."

October 1, 2017 — Las Vegas, Nevada
    Stephen Paddock, 64, opened fire from the 32nd floor of a Las Vegas hotel during a country music concert located at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino, killing more than 50 people and injuring about 200 others.

November 5, 2017 — Sutherland Springs, Texas
    Devin Patrick Kelley, 26 entered First Baptist Church during in Sutherland Springs, Texas during service, killing at least 26 people and wounding at least 20.

February 14, 2018 — Parkland, Florida
    Nikolas Cruz, a 19-year-old former student at Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida walked into the school, and killed 17 students, according to federal officials before taken into police custody.

Once the Dems take the Senate and the Presidency in 2020, it will be done. Cut the military budget by 2/3rds and redirect funds to healthcare and third level education. Re-enter the Iran agreement and the Paris accord and re-engage European allies and NATO.

End Trump tarrifs, increase sanctions on Russia for election interference and North Korea for missile testing.

Close coalmines and invest in sustainable energy.

That is so funny so how far back do we send hunting rifles? Based on the fact that the mechanism for most bolt action rifles is based on the K-98?
    Trump has announced a massive civil engineering program to be determined locally unseen since the 1950's. He has announced pulling out of Afghanistan so the chinese will be in there before you know it. Best of luck there lads.
    Most University is a load of fluff and luring students into debt they dont understand.

Sustainable energy is a joke that doesnt work and is a bigger polluter than coal ever was.

banie01 wrote: »
    But 2 incidents, one of which was an actual ISIS flagged attack and the buyback and control regime in Australia have failed?

I am sure there are more..... I am heading for making the dinner. Enjoy

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Simple.

It’s impossible to do.

You simply don't know that until it's tried!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Sustainable energy is a joke that doesnt work and is a bigger polluter than coal ever was.

Well that's my sector, government renewable energy research. Your post is simply wrong. I'd explain why but I get the impression you've made your mind up and don't want to be confused with the facts.

banie01 wrote: »

Ahh yes the wonderful diversity. They took gun off the legal gun owner so they could let the savage hoardes in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Reasonable.
    Dissolve the NRA.

Unconstitutional
    Once the Dems take the Senate and the Presidency in 2020, it will be done. Cut the military budget by 2/3rds and redirect funds to healthcare and third level education.

I don’t think you are really that familiar with the Democratic Party.
    Re-enter the Iran agreement and the Paris accord and re-engage European allies and NATO.

Iran, yes. NATO doesn’t have much use these days.
    End Trump tarrifs, increase sanctions on Russia for election interference and North Korea for missile testing.

End tariffs and increase sanctions. The Russia story is a child’s story.
    Close coalmines and invest in sustainable energy.

In reverse order.
    Close Fox News by massively increasing tax on advertisers on non-news channels. End the electoral college by vote.

The former doesn’t make any sense.

The electoral college can only be ended by a constitutional convention or amendment which has the same problem as the electoral college, it’s biased towards states not populations.

That is so funny so how far back do we send hunting rifles? Based on the fact that the mechanism for most bolt action rifles is based on the K-98?

You don't need a semi automatic box Mag fed rifle to hunt .

Or a .50 anti material rifle

While I agree with you just 1 thing in the bold all guns are designed to mane and kill

If I really wanted to kill you I could poison you, stab you, club you, run you down, beat you. The implements are there just not the intent.

Ahh yes the wonderful diversity. They took gun off the legal gun owner so they could let the savage hoardes in

You need to cool off drinking the KoolAid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Meanwhile 251 incidents in the US just this year.

If I really wanted to kill you I could poison you, stab you, club you, run you down, beat you. The implements are there just not the intent.

I agree with you however you have a club you might kill me but given the nature of the attack I would have time to have a great defense. Give you a high powerful gun and the percentage chance of you been able to kill loads before people could react is very high.

Gatling wrote: »

Or a .50 anti material rifle

Might do, I am going searching for gators in Florida next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

The availability of some weapons makes it easier.

That said an attempt to take all guns would lead to a revolution. Stopping the same of semi automatic or automatic rifles etc is a good idea.

In theory I think the US should be disarmed. In practice not so sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ah the old it would not help so we should not do it argument. If we did that for everything no law would get enacted. How about we do something and try make things better

It’ll never happen. I doubt it would make things better either.

I agree with you however you have a club you might kill me but given the nature of the attack I would have time to have a great defense. Give you a high powerful gun and the percentage chance of you been able to kill loads before people could react is very high.

God made all men but samuel Colt made them all equal

Might do, I am going searching for gators in Florida next year.

Try a grenade ,not much going to by left by fify ,
    Seen what it does to a human body hit from one mile

batgoat wrote: »
    Meanwhile 251 incidents in the US just this year.

Way bigger population. Try comparing it with Pakistan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Way bigger population. Try comparing it with Pakistan.

Australia is at 25 million. Even when adjusted based on population size. They have had minimal amounts of attacks in contrast to the US.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

notobtuse wrote: »
    The left, and especially the Hollywood crowd, blame Trump rhetoric for every bit of violence reported by the media, then spends millions on a movie about hunting down people with political differences. We’re told over and over again by the left that this country is more divided than ever and we need to come together. And this is their answer? It’s sick and just goes to show how hateful, demented and evil the left has truly become.

Leftists never really had a platform before. CNN / NBC had liberals all right but they were rational folk for the main but now the hosts on these networks are all card carrying members of the looney left and get to say whatever the hell they like each and every night, creating the most ridiculous of narratives. Then their minions retweet the bejaysus out of it.

Hollywood has been going this way for some time though. Leftist nonsense is often shoehorned into films as an accepted fact. BlackkKlansman, for example, took the biscuit entirely and effectively put Trump on par with the KKK and also implied the death in Charlottesville was his fault. I agree with Larry Elder, Candace Owens etc who call the left out for exaggerating racism in America for gain. Political and monetary.

The truth is the left are milking the El Paso shooting. The majority of them couldn't care less about innocent deaths. DeWayne Craddock shot and killed 12 people in Virginia Beach just a little of two months back and where were these people? Guy called Gary Martin went into a factory he had just been sacked from in Illinois six months ago and killed 5 people, wounded another 6. Chap wasn't even legally allowed to possess a gun because of a previous conviction. Again, where were all these people? Nowhere. Why? Well, we all know why.

The outrage is political. The left never care unless the shooter is white. CNN were more concerned with Omar Mateen's sexuality after he murdered 49 people and wounded 53. When 8 police officers were shot dead because they had the audacity to be white Obama had the gall to preach about the KKK at their memorial, thereby absolving black people. And people suggest he didn't sow division? Kori Ali Muhammad shot and killed 4 white people just because they were white. Emanuel Kidega Samson went into a church to do similar, kill white people, but after shooting seven people (1 died) he accidently shot himself after an usher tackled him.

It's pretty clear that the mainstream media in the states have an objective and that's to amplify news that fits their nausting narrative and all but ignore news which doesn't. Or at the very least, report it in a way which is favourable to their agenda and if that means lying, well then so be it. There is very little consequences for them if they are exposed and lots to gain when they are not.

The following a brief selection of recent examples of their madness.

https://twitter.com/RealSaavedra/status/1159342750455590913

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

^LOL

Its the leftists fault. If liberalism didn’t exist my hero Anders Breivik wouldnt have shot all those kids. And as you can see CNN is radicalizing young men to shoot foreigners.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

In theory I think the US should be disarmed. In practice not so sure.

The application is way more difficult than the theory alright.

I was in Texas for work a few years ago. Local colleagues told me gun sales went through the roof whenever restrictions were talked about. The gun industry must love it.

It’ll never happen. I doubt it would make things better either.

What will never happen some reform of gun control will happen but not for at least an election or 2

The application is way more difficult than the theory alright.

I was in Texas for work a few years ago. Local colleagues told me gun sales went through the roof whenever restrictions were talked about. The gun industry must love it.

Yeah several of the gun companies regularly run quick get them before there banned ads and videos with associated dealers on social media and the buyers flock with cash in hand .