Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US congresswomen refuse to condemn brutal attack on ICE facility.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Why would he? He is a US citizen, trying to make US better. Your analogy would only work if was whinging and moaning that Scots and Germans should get a free pass into the states because their countries were a mess. :rolleyes:

What are you on about. He attacked them for criticizing America (and him and Pelosi) not for wanting immigrants to get in. How much more of the metal arithmetic do you need do to excuse his nonsense. I'm no fan of the Squad but it's pretty clear who is behaving like complete bigot in this spat to win the votes of uneducated and poor white voters. And they will lap it up because opinionated young liberal women scare them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

The world is full of concentration camps full of innocent people who have done nothing wrong.

Its still not right.

What is your point?

Oh that is correct you have no legitimate point. You want to play the whataboutery game.

Well let me tell you about that game. It comes from soviet and russian propaganda.

So lets get back to the point. Is there any reason not to call American concentration camps concentration camps?

You realize they are not letting children go now. Even if their parents leave. Their excuse is they cannot FIND them in the system.

Its really a message. We will TAKE your children. And we will keep them.

Or maybe the message is If you enter our country illegally will will detain you..same as pretty much every other country with a defined border.

Why do you people always get so outraged about the US? It's actually the most liberal country on earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Except he never said that did he.

He said that if they were so worried about the state of the countries their families came from, then they should go there and help make them better. They are American citizens, elected by the American people, to work for them in the interests of America. He is 100% right that if they want to improve another country, they should go there, get elected there, and help improve them.

But its a lot easier to compact it down to "go home" isn't it.

Did you even read his tweets? This has to be the most incoherent take on this I've seen which is saying something. Trump's angle was that their criticism of the government of the US was hypocritical given the apparent chaos in "their own" countries, and you're coming on here apparently agreeing with him but saying the opposite of what he said, i.e. they're elected US representatives and should focus on the US.

Do people just have an opinion, notice Trump has tweeted and assume he's agreeing with them? Are tweets now too complex a form of public discourse? Do ye just say whatever ye feel like, make up easily google-able facts because at this point fcuk it? Or is your post just confusingly worded?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

meeeeh wrote: »
    W And they will lap it up because opinionated young liberal women scare them.

Opinionated young liberal women don't scare anybody...the majority of them don't even have jobs and even fewer have any intelligence.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,237 ✭✭✭✭Penn

splashuum wrote: »
    Who told her to go back to her own country? Can you provide evidence of this?

From Trump's twitter:
    So interesting to see “Progressive” Democrat Congresswomen, who originally came from countries whose governments are a complete and total catastrophe, the worst, most corrupt and inept anywhere in the world (if they even have a functioning government at all), now loudly and viciously telling the people of the United States, the greatest and most powerful Nation on earth, how our government is to be run. Why don’t they go back and help fix the totally broken and crime infested places from which they came. Then come back and show us how it is done. These places need your help badly, you can’t leave fast enough. I’m sure that Nancy Pelosi would be very happy to quickly work out free travel arrangements!

Trump very clearly and explicitly said they came from other countries and should go back to those countries. He drew a very clear distinction between the countries they came from, and the United States.

Any other interpretation of what he said is bullsh*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

alastair wrote: »
    And where did she say that then? I look forward to the link.

She's said that she wants to disband ICE and "create a pathway to citizenship for more immigrants through decriminalization".

She also got absolutely schooled by the former head of ICE, https://youtu.be/ZEFoi_leYDw

• Registered Users Posts: 19,307 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Or maybe the message is If you enter our country illegally will will detain you..same as pretty much every other country with a defined border.

Why do you people always get so outraged about the US? It's actually the most liberal country on earth.

It's far from it. And the Trump administration isn't just detaining those who enter illegally - it's got (an illegal) policy of keeping all asylum seekers in indefinite detention. Direct Provision here may be an absolute abomination, but at least we're not locking people up for exercising their right to seek asylum.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,307 ✭✭✭✭alastair

She's said that she wants to disband ICE and "create a pathway to citizenship for more immigrants through decriminalization".

Which is not what you claimed, is it? She's talking about changing the criminal statutes on illegal entry to civil ones, and there are multiple bipartisan bills that seek to create pathways to citizenship for the illegals in the US - Peter King being one of the better known sponsors. Border security existed long before ICE - it's not required for a workable immigration system.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Opinionated young liberal women don't scare anybody...the majority of them don't even have jobs and even fewer have any intelligence.

If you say so:
    In the 2016 election, 48 percent of college-educated white voters voted for Trump, compared with 66 percent of non-college-educated white voters. A Marist poll in October of this year found that 55 percent of non-college-educated white voters approved of the job Trump was doing, compared with just 39 percent of college-educated white voters. When Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh squeaked through a Senate confirmation hearing with a sexual assault allegation in tow, 54 percent of non-college-educated white voters supported him, compared with 38 percent who had gone to college. And the partisan diploma divide held steady last night, reflecting a divide in values between those with degrees and those without.
    The growing diploma divide is less a result of non-college-educated white voters becoming Republicans, and more of college-educated white voters finding that they can’t fully support the party anymore. “What's happened since 2016 is that the low-educated whites have kind of plateaued in their support for the Republicans,” Tesler says. “But you've seen this trend increase [of] high-educated whites [moving] towards the Democrats.”
    https://www.theatlantic.com/education/archive/2018/11/education-gap-explains-american-politics/575113/

There is clear divide showing and getting stronger under Trump. You can claim they are stupid and unemployed but the likelihood is that they are neither and probably in better position than those sneering at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Great then they can stop focusing on them and actually do some work. By September the 30th the budget deficit will top will top $1 trillion, up from a deficit of $779 billion last year. We need someone who understands this in power. I work in America some of the time so yes I do mean "we".

• Registered Users Posts: 28,986 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

there is a massive difference between simply detaining people until their application is heard and a decision made, with families kept together (women and children at least) as is practiced by most western countries, and detaining people for an unknown duration in concentration camp like conditions, separating the children from their parents, and even with-holding them upon the parents release.
    that isn't about sending a message that you will be detained if you enter the country illegally.

you obviously have followed all of these women around to be able to make that conclusion. very interesting, could you tell us more based on the large amount of information you have gathered?
    oh wait, you are just making up nonsense. grand so.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Please defend that in any manor, this actually seems like the most outrageousstatement of this thread

I'm amused.
    She's well spoken and isn't afraid to go against the Democratic old guard which is what America badly needs. She's called out Ivanka for being a nepotistic waste yet sitting at the power table, she calls out Pelosi, she's outspoken on the children in cages and over crowding, she called out pharma on drug pricing. In short she's the spark the U.S. public needs.

What exactly is a ‘person of color’?

Any non-white person, (yeah whites a colour). It's in the name. Are we attempting to defend Trump's blatant racism with pedantry?

These women seem to be stirring up a race war. They are polarising opinion much more than Trump could ever do.

You are pulling a Kelly Conway or very confused.
    Trump is using hate and racism for stirring up his gombeen red neck acolytes and khaki pants privileged racist fanboys.

Pelosi should move to impeach Trump or retire, waiting until it's politically expedient, in her mind, is not ethical. Impeach the racist hate monger or step aside.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭notobtuse

I keep hearing this all over certain parts of reddit. Can you point me to something where she's been stupid and ignorant?
    I’ve heard of reddit but don’t really know what it is. So Google ‘stupid stuff AOC says’ and you’ll be rewarded with several days worth of reading. But here’s just one for your reading pleasure…

In an interview she said Democrats are looking "to take back all three chambers of Congress." Then she did stupid a one-up and made it much worse... "Rather, all three chambers of government — the presidency, the Senate and the House."

This is a member of the US Congress! There are two parts to Congress… The House of Representatives and the Senate. Also, the three branches of our government are the executive, legislative and judicial. That’s something most eighth-graders in the US know.

AOC is without question the most idiotic person ever to (dis)grace the halls of Congress.

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

Billy Mays wrote: »
    When Donald Trump fans come out with sentences like this

UnlawfulNaturalFox-max-1mb.gif

It's okay... I know the truth hurts!

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

notobtuse wrote: »
    I’ve heard of reddit but don’t really know what it is. So Google ‘stupid stuff AOC says’ and you’ll be rewarded with several days worth of reading. But here’s just one for your reading pleasure…

In an interview she said Democrats are looking "to take back all three chambers of Congress." Then she did stupid a one-up and made it much worse... "Rather, all three chambers of government — the presidency, the Senate and the House."

This is a member of the US Congress! There are two parts to Congress… The House of Representatives and the Senate. Also, the three branches of our government are the executive, legislative and judicial. That’s something most eighth-graders in the US know.

AOC is without question the most idiotic person ever to (dis)grace the halls of Congress.

Cheers I'll have a look. The only thing I've heard her say far is that she won't accept any money lobbying. I can get behind that. It's crazy that bribing is essentially legal in US politics.

From the first googled article, she clearly fumbles her words but its obvious what she's trying to say. Tax the rich. Considering Ireland already has free(ish) healthcare, that article comes from a different lense. US companies in Ireland are currently making a killing in tax savings. I heard Amazon are paying zero tax which I find hard to believe. Taxing the rich so the poor don't die seems like a complete no-brainer. I genuinely believe people who can't get behind that are scum.

The end part is mind boggling
    Socialism or capitalism? Doesn’t seem like a tough decision to me. I’ll stick with the system that recognizes the dignity and value of being human. If you haven’t been paying attention, or you just skipped to the last paragraph, that’s the capitalist system.

Lack of healthcare is profit first, value of being human second.

Did she say she likes to grab men by the cock? Does she think the U.S. liberated an airport in 1775? Does she separate children from their parents and leave them in cages? Is she racist? Does she support someone who did all of those things to hold on to power?
    I think you need look up the word 'disgrace'.

Cheers I'll have a look. The only thing I've heard her say far is that she won't accept any money lobbying. I can get behind that. It's crazy that bribing is essentially legal in US politics.

She’s also under investigation for campaign fraud. The US Congress has seen its lowest approval ratings in history. Almost nobody feels Congress deserves a raise. But AOC said members of Congress need a pay raise in order to prevent members from being tempted by 'dark money loopholes.' As a freshman Congresswoman she makes $174,000 a year. So I guess unless she and Congress gets more pocket money they’ll have no alternative but to succumb to the lobbyists? I guess she never learned in all that schooling that the job she has is called ‘public service.’

Did she say she likes to grab men by the cock? Does she think the U.S. liberated an airport in 1775? Does she separate children from their parents and leave them in cages? Is she racist? Does she support someone who did all of those things to hold on to power?
    I think you need look up the word 'disgrace'.
    I don't know, but I do know she cries looking at an empty parking lot for the cameras at a holding center.

Trump has improved the economy, greatly reduced unemployment, accomplished better trade deals, and gotten many horrid regulations stopped. I would much rather hitch my ride to someone who has proven to do great things than some woman who is hell bent on destroying the US.

She’s also under investigation for campaign fraud. The US Congress has seen its lowest approval ratings in history. Almost nobody feels Congress deserves a raise. But AOC said members of Congress need a pay raise in order to prevent members from being tempted by 'dark money loopholes.' As a freshman Congresswoman she makes $174,000 a year. So I guess unless she and Congress gets more pocket money they’ll have no alternative but to succumb to the lobbyists? I guess she never learned in all that schooling that the job she has is called ‘public service.’

I'm missing your point here. Paying politicians enough to not be tempted by bribery is a valid argument.

I'm amused.
    She's well spoken and isn't afraid to go against the Democratic old guard which is what America badly needs. She's called out Ivanka for being a nepotistic waste yet sitting at the power table, she calls out Pelosi, she's outspoken on the children in cages and over crowding, she called out pharma on drug pricing. In short she's the spark the U.S. public needs.

She's a rent-a-gob. She didn't even understand that entering America illegally was illegally. It literally had to be spelled out to her like a child.

I'm missing your point here. Paying politicians enough to not be tempted by bribery is a valid argument.
    It sounds extortion coming out of her mouth. How much is enough money for doing public service in order not to sell your soul? Give me a figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

I don't know, but I do know she cries looking at an empty parking lot for the cameras at a holding center.

Trump has improved the economy, greatly reduced unemployment, accomplished better trade deals, and gotten many horrid regulations stopped. I would much rather hitch my ride to someone who has proven to do great things than some woman who is hell bent on destroying the US.

This September Trump's government will see the deficit rise to 1 trillion. Up 200 million. Do you know what that means?

The economy keep rolling on regardless of who is president. It's crazy to think a single person is responsible. Which trade deals has Trump accomplished better? The tariffs with China?

I don't believe you. If you're hanging on to the parking lot thing and trying to put it on par with the 'disgrace' that is Trump and his racist apologist Republican party you have nothing really do you, to be calling her the most idiotic person ever to (dis)grace the halls of Congress?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

steddyeddy wrote: »
    This September Trump's government will see the deficit rise to 1 trillion. Up 200 million. Do you know what that means?

That government quangos have been spending money at a rate of knots for fear that trump will defund them when he cops on to their ineffectiveness.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

That's a well debunked myth.

That government quangos have been spending money at a rate of knots for fear that trump will defund them when he cops on to their ineffectiveness.

Brilliant. Or maybe they are funding ISIS before Trump punches ISIS in the face :rolleyes:

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The economy keep rolling on regardless of who is president. It's crazy to think a single person is responsible. Which trade deals has Trump accomplished better? The tariffs with China?

You lads wanna get together and let us know which one it is??:rolleyes::rolleyes: