Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

SeaDaily wrote: »
    It's a feature of most of your posts. That car would be a "grand" buy at 1650 no need to get it down to 1500 to qualify as a good buy. Same being the case for pretty much every car you post.

Nonsense. That car has been for sale for a good while, the last ad had it listed at 1850. The seller himself has already dropped the price to get it noticed, so it's not unreasonable to suggest there is more room. Clean, well priced cars tend to get snapped up quickly: the fact that this has hung around suggests that there are other factors which might make it less desirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-406-2-0-diesel-est-2001/24016772

NGY0YTQwMDUxZGE2M2QxYTc4ZjY0MDlmODc0ODcwYzDCNq4arxcfHM-UN4xhqFOXaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzNzYwMDV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NDQ2NWJjMzQ5OTNiYjM1NGFiZDE3NTJkMDJlY2ZhZjT_qUNRTE-Wtjdt3bCa_nEeaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzNzYwMDd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

How nice is this? 6 months test, €750

Needs to be 500, but still!

Interestingly tax exempt previously

I had an automatic one of these years ago and (sadly :pac:) it's the car I miss the most of all the cars I've owned. Wonder is there any way to insure it on a classic policy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Nonsense. That car has been for sale for a good while, the last ad had it listed at 1850. The seller himself has already dropped the price to get it noticed, so it's not unreasonable to suggest there is more room. Clean, well priced cars tend to get snapped up quickly: the fact that this has hung around suggests that there are other factors which might make it less desirable.

I think it’s the seller himself behind the reason it’s not selling. Nice lad called John Paul who seems to think that he works for me and I’m his boss.

Bawnmore wrote: »
    I had an automatic one of these years ago and (sadly :pac:) it's the car I miss the most of all the cars I've owned. Wonder is there any way to insure it on a classic policy....

First Ireland and I think Axa will insure it in a year when it turns 20. Could be worth a phone call to them now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Bawnmore wrote: »

Try Autoline (+44 345 230 3030) they're based in the North but are get for classic car insurance well worth a call. Insured my MR2 before it was 20 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

ZjhmYzJkZjQ5YTFiNmI5NGE5NDQ0OTU2NmIzMTA4MTOOBUf9EnUU0dLxBJ8AqqKHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzk2ODk3MzV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-sport/23930075

This is my old car, I sold it in 2018. if you're looking for one of the best GS300's out there I recommend this. It's been very well taken care of its whole life, has all modern creature comforts and is overall an excellent package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Stick that in the Luxobarge thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭jmreire

I have never owned a Peugeot, and never felt a particular inclination to own one, but two family members drive Peugeot 508's, and I have to say, the cockpit is a very comfortable place to be, lots of "Gadget's", and very nice to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-1-9-tdi/23915220

9 months test
    5 months tax

€1500

Banger all day long.

That's a lot of car for good money. Very low mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

commited wrote: »
    ZjhmYzJkZjQ5YTFiNmI5NGE5NDQ0OTU2NmIzMTA4MTOOBUf9EnUU0dLxBJ8AqqKHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzk2ODk3MzV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-sport/23930075

This is my old car, I sold it in 2018. if you're looking for one of the best GS300's out there I recommend this. It's been very well taken care of its whole life, has all modern creature comforts and is overall an excellent package.

I have seen that a few times on the road, I had one for 4 year's they are a beautiful cruiser!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,755 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I hear it has a Mark Levinson audio system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I hear it has a Mark Levinson audio system.

Comes with a free Ford Focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Only in the rear view mirror.....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ignis Sport is a great anti-hot hatch.

I never understood Suzuki tbh, but they have a MASSIVE market share in India. Around 50%
    Their European stuff never quite hit the mark. Closest I’d say was that generation Swift.

I had the four wheel drive Ignis for a couple of years, my wife drove it.
    It was as grippy as hell but not a nice place to sit if you're over 6ft2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Can someone please put up a link to this thread? I remember at the time it was one of the most hilarious things ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Rackstar wrote: »
    Can someone please put up a link to this thread? I remember at the time it was one of the most hilarious things ever.

I don't know I think the joke has long gone. It's getting stupid at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-1-9-tdi/23915220

9 months test
    5 months tax

€1500

Banger all day long.

That's wat she said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I don't know I think the joke has long gone. It's getting stupid at this stage.

Nah :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Bangernomics update. Sold my bangernomics 2000 1.6 vvti luna avensis. It was posted by mad mike here back in late april. I paid 600 for it down from 650. It came with tax and nct until 02-20. Cheap motoring out of the bag.

Sold it for 250 with no nct done. Needs at least 2 tires for that. Insurance also came down from my old diesel. It was actually a great car. Only had one owner before myself. I tipped around in it for 7 months and it didnt miss a beat until it needed a new altenator over christmas. A 50 quid driveway job. I decided as i wasnt using it, maybe once a month, and knew it would be worth feck all regardless to give it a good send off and sell it on. I used it to compete in my first autotest event which was fierce craic but she was vastly outclasesed by the starlets and a couple of mx5s. Thought the clutch was a gonner as it was slipping on the way home. But, as they do the toyota fixed itself and carried on.

The new owner said hes going to tidy it up and drive it himself, which i was happy with as i had driven my last few cars over their final legs into the ground, in kilcock . Never met an avensis enthuasiast before but he said he was more into the 2002 2003 mk1, over the mk2, as is his son, a toyota mechanic whos also mad for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

2006 Primera with 120 k Kms. NCT to June. 1 previous owner.

450 quid

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-nissan-primera-1-6-nct-06-20-tax-05-20-clean/24034321

Reversing camera and all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Kilboor wrote: »
    2006 Primera with 120 k Kms. NCT to June. 1 previous owner.

450 quid

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-nissan-primera-1-6-nct-06-20-tax-05-20-clean/24034321

Reversing camera and all!

Back bumper and towbar would make that a no for me. I dont think they were a great car off the forecourt.

You did, and selectamatic did a few weeks previous

I think it needs to be 395 or thereabouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Nm-U5-MWQ5-ODIw-Mj-U0-ODM2-OTI0-OTE3-OTlj-Zj-Q4-OTYy-Mm-W6c-YKSv-LZ9-Ej5e-OVET-58-G.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-octavia-1-9-tdi-nct-021-20-tax-06-20-2002/23915253

Rough and ready 02 TDi octavia wagon
    Test till January 21
    Tax till June
    Low owner car
    Asking €450
    For sale by a trader/dealer

€450 when I posted it. Near certain this had dropped to sub €400 when you posted it Colm.

I'm amazed it hasn't sold it was basically free when sub €400.

Yer man must be awkward deal with or there's something else up.

Lovely American car

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/chevrolet-lacetti/23761143

Tax is a bit sour, but think of the pedigree, and all that power.

I have an 05 Prius, 05 Yaris and a sportage...need to get my finger out and sell them first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Lovely American car

I dived in there all excited...

:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭jmreire

Lovely American car

€1'200 tax for a 1.8 ltr petrol engine??? Is that a mistake/ Or is it emission based, and it came down on the wrong calendar date in 2008?

Having said that, there has been an increase in the Nr of "Exotic" vehicles appearing here on the forum lately. This is the 3rd "Chevvy" I think in the last week or two. Makes a change.

Lovely American car

Who exactly was buying these new?