BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

almostover wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v70-t2-0-2002-ocean-race/23713469

In need of a good valet and the photos are chronic but a lovely car if genuine.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/kia-carens-ex-diesel-nct-and-tax-valid-/24012938

Cheap, low mileage 7 seater. Hate when people block off the reg number though.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-clk-200-auto/23677992

€600 worth of tax on this car and 4 new tyres, that's €1000 worth! Love the colour but the BBS alloys are gammy!

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-crv-2-0-4-wd-2002/24008940

Cheap reliable 4wd. Maybe a little old for insurance...

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2007-saab-9-5-tax-01-20-new-nct-10-20/24000938

Tidy Saab.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-v70-2006/23953684

Gorgeous car but short NCT. Bit overpriced. Could get money off for sold as seen. 1 months warranty is sh*g all good.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-volvo-s80-2-5-turbo-top-spec-new-nct/23907762

€1300 per year in tax but serious bhp for the money!

Ye might want to get a new calender. There's 8 days of tax left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,978 ✭✭✭almostover

Ye might want to get a new calender. There's 8 days of tax left.

Still haven't adjusted to this decade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,103 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-renault-megane-estate1-5-dci/24018928

NTMwOTY2ODViMzUwYzgxNGI3ZWY2ZTc4ZjM2YzBhMWLIiREAwOREGjnlbcGslH06aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzOTY0MzR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking 2010 Megan estate, 11 months test, 8 months tax, 2 owners and reasonable miles, €1650

This would be a grand buy at 1500 if it checked out okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Austerity scrappage spec, respectable car for the money though.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/peugeot-406-2-0-diesel-est-2001/24016772

NGY0YTQwMDUxZGE2M2QxYTc4ZjY0MDlmODc0ODcwYzDCNq4arxcfHM-UN4xhqFOXaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzNzYwMDV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NDQ2NWJjMzQ5OTNiYjM1NGFiZDE3NTJkMDJlY2ZhZjT_qUNRTE-Wtjdt3bCa_nEeaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzNzYwMDd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

How nice is this? 6 months test, €750

Needs to be 500, but still!

Interestingly tax exempt previously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

Island job? Lifeboat sticker on the back. The pidgeon lad might be interested in that.

Island tax is €102 AFAIK

Haven’t seen that fella around these parts in a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Island tax is €102 AFAIK

Haven’t seen that fella around these parts in a while!

Ah thought they were exempt but they just dont pay it. How would a car be tax exempt :confused:

Sent him your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-renault-megane-estate1-5-dci/24018928

NTMwOTY2ODViMzUwYzgxNGI3ZWY2ZTc4ZjM2YzBhMWLIiREAwOREGjnlbcGslH06aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzOTY0MzR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Tidy looking 2010 Megan estate, 11 months test, 8 months tax, 2 owners and reasonable miles, €1650

This would be a grand buy at 1500 if it checked out okay

Big fan of your posts, you've the best bangernomics spots of any user on this thread. But just a quick observation.

You've a tendency to post a car which is obviously bangernomics material and then seemingly arbitrarily say "would be good for x amount less than asking". This tends to be when the asking price is itself already very reasonable and there seems to be no specific reason why there would need to be any discount off the asking price to make it worth buying.

It's a feature of most of your posts. That car would be a "grand" buy at 1650 no need to get it down to 1500 to qualify as a good buy. Same being the case for pretty much every car you post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Is it not safe to say that there's always haggle room though. If I'm selling a car, which I actually am at the moment, and advertise it for €1500 I don't ever expect to get 1500 for it. Can only speak for myself but I'd never advertise a car or any item for the rock bottom or final price I'm willing to take on it.

Same when buying. Unless it's something exceptionally clean or special that I'm looking to buy I'll pay the asking but other wise I'll haggle. Last month I managed to get 500 off my new car.

In the case of that megane though I'd probably see if I could get a few quid off (but not insult the seller, maybe 150 or 100) but at the same time would still pay the asking if the seller wasn't budging.

SeaDaily wrote: »
    Big fan of your posts, you've the best bangernomics spots of any user on this thread. But just a quick observation.

You've a tendency to post a car which is obviously bangernomics material and then seemingly arbitrarily say "would be good for x amount less than asking". This tends to be when the asking price is itself already very reasonable and there seems to be no specific reason why there would need to be any discount off the asking price to make it worth buying.

It's a feature of most of your posts. That car would be a "grand" buy at 1650 no need to get it down to 1500 to qualify as a good buy. Same being the case for pretty much every car you post.

What is bangernomics without a little haggle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

What is bangernomics without a little haggle?

Sure I once went to buy car and your man ending up paying me to take it away. :p:D :eek: :cool:

Ignore: Just a bad joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-1-9-tdi/23915220

9 months test
    5 months tax

€1500

Banger all day long.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

Interslice wrote: »
    Ah thought they were exempt but they just dont pay it. How would a car be tax exempt :confused:

Sent him your post

Exempt could be either disabled drives (unlikely on a car like that IMO) or diplomatic (again unlikely)

Not sure what else it might be though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

Interslice wrote: »
    How would a car be tax exempt :confused:

State Vehicle. Garda / Customs fleet car.

NGY0YTQwMDUxZGE2M2QxYTc4ZjY0MDlmODc0ODcwYzDCNq4arxcfHM-UN4xhqFOXaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzNzYwMDV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NDQ2NWJjMzQ5OTNiYjM1NGFiZDE3NTJkMDJlY2ZhZjT_qUNRTE-Wtjdt3bCa_nEeaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNDAzNzYwMDd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Comes up as €710 tax on motortax? Wonder what rate the current disc is at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

SeaDaily wrote: »

Nonsense. That car has been for sale for a good while, the last ad had it listed at 1850. The seller himself has already dropped the price to get it noticed, so it's not unreasonable to suggest there is more room. Clean, well priced cars tend to get snapped up quickly: the fact that this has hung around suggests that there are other factors which might make it less desirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

I had an automatic one of these years ago and (sadly :pac:) it's the car I miss the most of all the cars I've owned. Wonder is there any way to insure it on a classic policy....

Nonsense. That car has been for sale for a good while, the last ad had it listed at 1850. The seller himself has already dropped the price to get it noticed, so it's not unreasonable to suggest there is more room. Clean, well priced cars tend to get snapped up quickly: the fact that this has hung around suggests that there are other factors which might make it less desirable.

I think it’s the seller himself behind the reason it’s not selling. Nice lad called John Paul who seems to think that he works for me and I’m his boss.

Bawnmore wrote: »
    I had an automatic one of these years ago and (sadly :pac:) it's the car I miss the most of all the cars I've owned. Wonder is there any way to insure it on a classic policy....

First Ireland and I think Axa will insure it in a year when it turns 20. Could be worth a phone call to them now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Bawnmore wrote: »

Try Autoline (+44 345 230 3030) they're based in the North but are get for classic car insurance well worth a call. Insured my MR2 before it was 20 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭commited

ZjhmYzJkZjQ5YTFiNmI5NGE5NDQ0OTU2NmIzMTA4MTOOBUf9EnUU0dLxBJ8AqqKHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzk2ODk3MzV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-sport/23930075

This is my old car, I sold it in 2018. if you're looking for one of the best GS300's out there I recommend this. It's been very well taken care of its whole life, has all modern creature comforts and is overall an excellent package.

Stick that in the Luxobarge thread too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭jmreire

I have never owned a Peugeot, and never felt a particular inclination to own one, but two family members drive Peugeot 508's, and I have to say, the cockpit is a very comfortable place to be, lots of "Gadget's", and very nice to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/saab-93-1-9-tdi/23915220

9 months test
    5 months tax

€1500

Banger all day long.

That's a lot of car for good money. Very low mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

commited wrote: »
    ZjhmYzJkZjQ5YTFiNmI5NGE5NDQ0OTU2NmIzMTA4MTOOBUf9EnUU0dLxBJ8AqqKHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzk2ODk3MzV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-300-sport/23930075

This is my old car, I sold it in 2018. if you're looking for one of the best GS300's out there I recommend this. It's been very well taken care of its whole life, has all modern creature comforts and is overall an excellent package.

I have seen that a few times on the road, I had one for 4 year's they are a beautiful cruiser!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I hear it has a Mark Levinson audio system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I hear it has a Mark Levinson audio system.

Comes with a free Ford Focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Comes with a free Ford Focus

Only in the rear view mirror.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Ignis Sport is a great anti-hot hatch.

I never understood Suzuki tbh, but they have a MASSIVE market share in India. Around 50%
    Their European stuff never quite hit the mark. Closest I’d say was that generation Swift.

I had the four wheel drive Ignis for a couple of years, my wife drove it.
    It was as grippy as hell but not a nice place to sit if you're over 6ft2.