Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeffrey Epstein arrested on sex trafficking charges

Hardly creepy if taken in isolation. And if ye want to be Partisan, Trump was a Democrat at the time.

I'll await the release of the documents that were announced before his arrest. If they get blocked, and they probably will because there's an appeal window from people named, it will be annoying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭FartyBlartFast

notobtuse wrote: »
    One thing that will captivate the media will be the prominent names that come out from this (well… the prominent names with an ‘R’ behind them, anyway. 'D's' will probably get the kid glove treatment from the media). It doesn’t necessarily mean any of them participated in Epstein’s illegal acts. But they will need to explain what they knew about what was going on. My prediction is high-priced lawyers and reputation management specialists are going to be in high demand in the coming months.
    I'm not sure where you get this idea? When a high profile democrat politician called Anthony Weiner was found sending pictures of his dick to teenagers he got absolutely raked over the coals (rightfully), had his career utterly destroyed (rightfully) and was one of the biggest news stories of the year in American politics (rightfully).

When Roy Moore went harassing and molesting little girls it was also a major scandal, and one of the biggest media stories of the year. Except unlike Weiner he won the Republican primary and came within about 1% of being elected as a US senator. Next year, he is running again with a big chance of winning.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,051 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Have they blamed Obama yet?

No no, this one is gonna all get stuck on the Clintons. Nothing like a BUT HILLARY!! or assuming any kind of wild speculation about them is correct, while obviously the Donald with his record gets the never ending benefit of the doubt :rolleyes:

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Hardly creepy if taken in isolation. And if ye want to be Partisan, Trump was a Democrat at the time.
    Not sure how that changes his commenting on a well known serial pedophile who was known to use his (Trumps) clubs where plenty of underage girls worked as a hunting ground, as a "terrific guy" who "likes them young"?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,051 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

rossie1977 wrote: »
    The media went soft on Harvey Weinstein for sure...

And Weiner, Frankin, Wu, Conyers, Spacey etc

There is certainly a different set of standards between the two parties but it ain't the way the OP suggested.

Circle the wagons v circle firing squad

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

No she's a gouger, wants 100 million not justice. If she wanted justice she had plenty of opportunities. Unless she produces real evidence it's a fairytale. Did you believe Christine Ford? She should have been locked up. It's too easy make a false claim about anyone and there's little fear of reprecussion.

You want to lock up a person who had a pretty credible story and no proof of actually lying. You also think Hillary will get locked up even though she hasn't done anything worth jailing her over? Basically you want to lock people up that you don't like for political reasons.

Btw, if Bill is found guilty of crimes in relation to Epstein. I'll happily see him jailed but this nonsense about jailing Ford or Clinton is nonsense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

And Weiner, Frankin, Wu, Conyers, Spacey etc

There is certainly a different set of standards between the two parties but it ain't the way the OP suggested.

Circle the wagons v circle firing squad

The Weinstein and spacey stories were both everywhere and for a good long while.
    I wouldn’t call that an easy time

• Registered Users Posts: 28,119 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

No no, this one is gonna all get stuck on the Clintons. Nothing like a BUT HILLARY!! or assuming any kind of wild speculation about them is correct, while obviously the Donald with his record gets the never ending benefit of the doubt :rolleyes:

You can bet your bottom dollar it will. It was Hillary who was pulling Acosta's stings not Trump or Obama. I'd presume it's why he's not fired yet he'll help hang her high.
    https://www.foxnews.com/politics/bill-clinton-not-telling-truth-epstein-investigative-journalist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

Now in fairness Bill Clinton (with his record) gets the benefit of the doubt too no?

How many Women have accused him of rape? Quite a few as it happens.

He visited Epsteins Island multiple times yet theres very little questioning of this is there?
    He also flew on the 'Lolita Express' at least 26 times and yet he gets the benefit of the doubt 'with his record'

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭notobtuse

rossie1977 wrote: »
    The media went soft on Harvey Weinstein for sure...

In this current atmosphere #meetoo seems to be trumping political affiliation. This too shall pass.

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

Now in fairness Bill Clinton (with his record) gets the benefit of the doubt too no?

He visited Epsteins Island multiple times yet theres very little questioning of this is there?
    He also flew on the 'Lolita Express' at least 26 times and yet he gets the benefit of the doubt 'with his record'

Numerous people in this thread have stated that Bill is suspect and favour him facing a conviction if there's proof. Couldn't care less where on the spectrum a person sits.

batgoat wrote: »

Btw, if Bill is found guilty of crimes in relation to Epstein. I'll happily see him jailed but this nonsense about jailing Ford or Clinton is nonsense.

Nothing will happen ford that was my point, lie her head off without reprecussion for political reasons.
    Hillary Clinton is one crooked lady, I hope Trump takes her down.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭volchitsa

You can bet your bottom dollar it will. It was Hillary who was pulling Acosta's stings not Trump or Obama. I'd presume it's why he's not fired yet he'll help hang her high.
    https://www.foxnews.com/politics/bill-clinton-not-telling-truth-epstein-investigative-journalist

Hillary Clinton is why Acosta is a member of Trump's cabinet?
    Jeez I really have heard it all now.

volchitsa wrote: »
    Hillary Clinton is why Acosta is a member of Trump's cabinet?
    Jeez I really have heard it all now.

No no, she was shoe in to be president, listen to the reporter who's been on this case for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

Numerous people in this thread have stated that Bill is suspect and favour him facing a conviction if there's proof. Couldn't care less where on the spectrum a person sits.

Fair enough but much of the conversation here seems to focus on Trump whereas this case involves many many people including the leaders of other nations.

Clinton of course was always the one with the deepest ties to Epstein, with him being a large donator to multiple Clinton charities and concerns.

Fair enough but much of the conversation here seems to focus on Trump whereas this case involves many many people including the leaders of other nations.

Clinton of course was always the one with the deepest ties to Epstein, with him being a large donator to multiple Clinton charities and concerns.

Harvey, if you really didn’t touch them wimmins inappropriately I suggest you start wearing a bodycam 24/7

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

Would be fantastic! And then for the icing on the cake - take himself down. They are all truly awful folk.

Nothing will happen ford that was my point, lie her head off without reprecussion for political reasons.

You have absolutely no proof that she lied. Should all historical rape complainants go to jail? Cause it's not uncommon for that to occur as was the case with everyone to Saville to church abuse. You've concluded she's lying but you don't have proof. She had no reason to lie and it's effectively wrecked her life by coming out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Penn wrote: »
    Protest against what? He's been arrested and is facing charges pending further investigation. If he gets another sweetheart deal this time, given the publicity surrounding it now, there would be protests. But there's no reason to protest at this stage. Let the investigation take its course.

Do you think he was the only person involved?

I suggest it was a network of people with power and influence.

But if that doesn't justify any protest then I don't know what did.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,312 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Nobody connected to any of this should get the benefit of the doubt. Clinton, Trump, Prince Andrew... none of them. If there is any reasonable evidence of any of them being involved in any way they should face a thorough investigation and be charged with any crimes they have committed.

The reason this thread is turning out how it is is because some people, when any criticism is directed at Trump have to deflect, blame Hillary, and throw about conspiracy theories.

More attention is likely to be focused on Trump because he is the current sitting President of the USA. That does not mean either of the Clintons get a pass or the benefit of the doubt if they had any involvement or even knowledge of what was happening.

You've concluded she's lying but you don't have proof. She had no reason to lie and it's effectively wrecked her life by coming out.

Well it's about to get a little more wrecked in the next week or so. We can't believe things just because women say them. To assume all women tell the truth all the time just like Hillary & Christine makes for a very dangerous society, one we seem to relish at the moment.
    To quote her class mates "Female classmates and friends at area schools recalled a heavy drinker who was much more aggressive with boys than they were."
    You can believe her, I certainly won't be, why did she scrub her social media accounts before putting on the crocodile tears? She's a Trump hater, that's why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

notobtuse wrote: »
    In this current atmosphere #meetoo seems to be trumping political affiliation. This too shall pass.

#metoo is over

• Registered Users Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Call me Al

MadYaker wrote: »
    The plea deal that this Alex Acosta guy got for Epstein should have been a massive scandal! And now this guy is Trumps sec of Labor, while Trump and Epstein were and clearly friends at the time. The whole thing stinks https://www.miamiherald.com/news/local/article220097825.html

The journalist Julie Brown who has investigated this story has done a podcast with Alec Baldwin

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/how-julie-brown-broke-open-the-jeffrey-epstein-story/id472939437?i=1000441124569

She explains we how this whole story has evolved. How he found the girls (he was organising through a high school at one point) and how his trial evolved.

Its well worth a listen for decent details when you don't want to be sidetracked and sifting through nonsense stories like PizzaGate.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

You have absolutely no proof that she lied. Should all historical rape complainants go to jail? Cause it's not uncommon for that to occur as was the case with everyone to Saville to church abuse. You've concluded she's lying but you don't have proof. She had no reason to lie and it's effectively wrecked her life by coming out.

Luckily its innocent till proven guilty and in 73 years donald trump has never been accused of child sex abuse till he ran for election, now under his watch theyre trying to nail epstein again (a man donald banned from his resort for this behavior) and you still say ‘but youve no proof she lied’

You actually find it easier to believe that donald trump viciously raped a 13 year old girl and that nobody has gone after him since 1994 till the year he ran for election , than you do that a woman not of means may lie about the man ‘everyone hates’ under the offchance of getting 100 million dollars or the definite chance of getting money off whoever approached her and ‘encouraged’ her to make the allegation, in the one exact way you can make this kind of allegation without perjuring yourself and getting in trouble for it. Police report, nah, file it in the right court - nah, file it incorrectly ina district court so its published but not actioned - bingo.

It’s hysterically funny and pathetic at the same time that the trump defenders *still* bang on about Hillary. As if that’s going to shift focus away from Trumps behaviours and crimes and misdemeanours. Even if she’s guilty of all the imagined and uncorroborated crimes these lads accuse her of,
    She’s not the issue now. The man in the Oval Office is and he’s surrounded by rapists pedos and conmen. And he’s chief among them.

How desperate must it be if that’s the only argument they have

BUT HILARY!!!

Riddle me this, why did she allow Ghislaine Maxwell to her daughter's wedding. Which Clinton influenced Acosta.
    She's either a complete bimbo or a liar. I'll let you figure that one out.

It's all so irrelevant in this thread.. As is talk of Trump because of two lines he said in 2002.

I don't even believe there was a big network. To me, the indictment makes it sound like he manufactured his own through simple get more people and you get more money, along with some horrible employees.

The big question is who else got involved and who he provided girls to. The judge who ordered the release of documents, separate to his arrest, said there were big names and the media should be careful in their presentation of the facts. (Paraphrasing)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

A sitting US president is a big deal. A former president less so. When's the last time you asked yourself "I wonder what Jimmy Carter is up to?"?

It's just how it is. Whoever happens to be president of the US at any given time will always get a heap of attention.

Mcmoustache, for some weird reason board won't let me quote your post about Trump claiming to have banned Epstein in 2007, when numerous high profile people were likely ditching him following his arrest, not out of morals but out of their own interest.

Which makes me wonder why the poster Eric Cartman is claiming Trump banned Epstein in 2000? Perhaps Eric can answer his source for that?