Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Used Model S vs new Model 3

I just saw on What car that the m3 SR has no live traffic or apple car play ? seems a bit odd ?

I suppose you can log directly into Spotify and tunein via the infotainment system ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I just saw on What car that the m3 SR has no live traffic or apple car play ? seems a bit odd ?

I suppose you can log directly into Spotify and tunein via the infotainment system ?

Just pay the small monthly fee for the premium connectivity (unlike the scabby bastards on this forum) and you get all that functionality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,945 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

But that's 40k for a new Kia Vs 44k for a second hand Model 3. Wouldn't mid 30s for a secondhand Kia be a fairer comparison?

But like you said there are no second hand Kias. And the Model 3 you could get at €44k imported would be only 6 months old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

It was true last year , but it's available for a monthly fee now.

jhegarty wrote: »
    It was true last year , but it's available for a monthly fee now.

Know how much?

Google maps has live traffic and the m3 has google maps so shouldn’t it automatically have lice traffic ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,719 ✭✭✭✭unkel

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Know how much?

Tenner a month. Even this scabby cheapskate bastard would (grudgingly) pay for that subscription. Would do it for the Google satellite maps with live traffic built into the nav alone. Never mind Spotify, which the kids really like and I have to admit I find it handy to. Finds and plays pretty much any song based on voice commands. It is hard to believe that my car will be 6 years old next month

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

unkel wrote: »
    Tenner a month. Even this scabby cheapskate bastard would (grudgingly) pay for that subscription. Would do it for the Google satellite maps with live traffic built into the nav alone. Never mind Spotify, which the kids really like and I have to admit I find it handy to. Finds and plays pretty much any song based on voice commands. It is hard to believe that my car will be 6 years old next month

Probably feels like you only stole it 3 months ago!

Today, I drove it like I just stole it, I can tell you that much :pac:

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭BobbyBingo

Teslafan wrote: »
    60K ish, not decided, EAP, security package, half leather, high fidelity audio, premium package. Blue, Dark Ash, Air Suspension, Great car in as new condition @ good price...

Jaysus, that's some value.. I'm now depressed as mine is a 181 with three times your mileage - assuming your price is what you get, then, when the time comes, I'll be paying someone to take mine away! If I got 50 that'd be 60k of depreciation. Ah jaysus..

B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

most people probably know, but i bought a used model s, 2015 90d from the UK, it got stolen and now i have a deposit on a new Model 3 SR+.

still tempted to go for another model S from the uk and losing my 100 euro...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭Nedved85

If you are going to cancel your SR+ order and go the CPO route from Tesla - They will return the €100 after you pick up the CPO s if you ask nicely :)

copeyhagen wrote: »
    most people probably know, but i bought a used model s, 2015 90d from the UK, it got stolen and now i have a deposit on a new Model 3 SR+.

still tempted to go for another model S from the uk and losing my 100 euro...

Seeing as this is your thread from last year and you are in the same situation again, would you share your thoughts process with us?

What are your reasons for going either way?

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

Google maps has live traffic and the m3 has google maps so shouldn’t it automatically have lice traffic ?

No, it's a separate feature.

Sabre Man wrote: »
    No, it's a separate feature.

Bad b1stards.

shouldn’t it automatically have lice traffic ?

You'd be itching for those updates...

Seeing as this is your thread from last year and you are in the same situation again, would you share your thoughts process with us?

What are your reasons for going either way?

sure, reasons for going for the S first time:
    looks a lot better imo, especially on the 21" wheels
    way bigger hatchback boot, have 2 kids and it was ideal
    bhp/torque of the 90d
    loads of room inside
    prefer having a instrument cluster in front of the driver
    price, of used in the UK was very good.
    hadnt started delivering model 3s yet

reasons for going for the 3 this time:
    range pretty much the same
    newer tech, option of fsd if i ever wanted to unlock that down the line
    similar interior space, but car is a good bit skinnier, the S was a hoor in some car parks
    less chance to be stolen :mad:
    interior i ended up liking after looking at it a few times in showroom
    buying on finance this time, so leaves a few grand in my current account.. for her to waste.

i think with a nice set of rims the Model 3 will look v nice.

But from your last post I got the impression you were getting doubts about your choice of the new Model 3 and that you were considering used Model S again?

My ads on adverts.ie:

But from your last post I got the impression you were getting doubts about your choice of the new Model 3 and that you were considering used Model S again?

yeah, ive been keeping an eye on the CPOs but the prices of similar ones to my own have deffo gone up for whatever reason.

a used S or a new 3, i think it would be a win either way!!

Haha, yeah, getting neither car is much of a punishment :D

I'm unsure myself really if I didn't need the space, what I would get. A lot to say for a brand new long warranty car with the latest tech and an improving AP system (that might even self drive in our lifetime). It's just a boot is very unpractical even if you don't have kids and rarely need to carry much stuff. Even my Porsche 928 was more practical that way than my BMW 7-series! Had a massive washing machine in it once, no way that would fit any saloon car.

My ads on adverts.ie:

copeyhagen wrote: »
    yeah, ive been keeping an eye on the CPOs but the prices of similar ones to my own have deffo gone up for whatever reason.

a used S or a new 3, i think it would be a win either way!!

If I had the choice now after seeing the video of the AP in the m3 going through a roundabout and merging on a motor I'm convinced AP is a must have and it's much more advanced in the new m3.

No way a 40K Niro/e-soul can compete with 170 Kw, even if it only charges at that rate for a short time at a compatible charger. + 5.5 ish seconds 0-100, RWD.

The E-Niro may have more range than the SR+ but the AP would be much more valuable to me driving so many endless Motorway Kms. The Kia version would drive me nuts whinging at me to put my hand on the wheel.

+ the M3 will get OTA updates, the niro won't.

Depreciation on the Niro/e-soul might be high enough to mean the kia cars cost more or the same or the gap might be very narrow.

The only thing is whether or not I can live with the m3 boot.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

.. It's just a boot is very unpractical even if you don't have kids and rarely need to carry much stuff..
    The only thing is whether or not I can live with the m3 boot.

Totally agree with both of you, one look at the boot (and its opening size) and it was a straight no with me, Y will sort that out

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

slave1 wrote: »
    Y will sort that out

Two years from now. That's a long time!

My ads on adverts.ie:

Two years from now. That's a long time!

Might be good timing for me, lots of Ys hit the new market, lots of 3s hit the second hand one.

The rush of blood has passed. There is just no sense in me changing the car now. I'd love to, but a €40k car (either used 3 or new e-Niro) would be a luxury.

I had the Leaf for 3.5 years. Cost me the equivalent of about €16k and I sold for just under €10k so a cost of less than €2k a year.

The i3 cost me about €26k and if I sold now I might get €20k which would be a drop of €3.6k a year. I've only had it since October 2018.

So I'm going to remain sensible for now. Give it a year to 18 months and see what the second hand Model 3 market is like and how the i3 holds its value going forward. Still only 45k km on it at nearly 4 years old so it's still fresh.

I might go and splash out on the leather interior I've been chasing for a while instead and pretend it's a new car.

Might be good timing for me, lots of Ys hit the new market, lots of 3s hit the second hand one.

The rush of blood has passed. There is just no sense in me changing the car now. I'd love to, but a €40k car (either used 3 or new e-Niro) would be a luxury.

I had the Leaf for 3.5 years. Cost me the equivalent of about €16k and I sold for just under €10k so a cost of less than €2k a year.

The i3 cost me about €26k and if I sold now I might get €20k which would be a drop of €3.6k a year. I've only had it since October 2018.

So I'm going to remain sensible for now. Give it a year to 18 months and see what the second hand Model 3 market is like and how the i3 holds its value going forward. Still only 45k km on it at nearly 4 years old so it's still fresh.

I might go and splash out on the leather interior I've been chasing for a while instead and pretend it's a new car.

I think it's a wise decision not to spend 40K on a E-niro, even on PCP it's a lot of money with a GFMV of only 14,900 that's a lot of money to put in on PCP, it means Kia are afraid of depreciation and so they should be and so should we, especially if Kia are lol, 40K for a Kia is a lot of money no matter how good it is.

I think it will definitely be a Ms or M3 for me, the disadvantage about the MS is with my mileage a high mileage ms might not be wise, 160 K Kms warranty on a m3 would see me around 4.5 years driving. But only 80,000 Kms I think 2 years on the rest of the car.

The much more advanced AP alone in the m3 means this makes it far more attractive than the 2015/16 Model S not to mention the Kia E-Niro which whinges at you to put your hand on the wheel and the M3 AP will get much better with software updates.

The M3 boot is a pain but if I can fit suitcases in there it's fine, it's way larger than the boot in the i3 + if I go to Ikea I'll be taking the Outlander.

So yes, a lot to think about between now and November.

Around the time I'll get a settlement figure off the finance company and see what Tesla offer me for the i3 but chances are it will be just handed back like the leaf.

• Moderators Posts: 12,425 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Can't imagine the boot in the 3 being that bad. Looks good and big, and the opening doesn't look that much different to any saloon I've had. My requirements to transport washing machines are pretty rare.

I admire your optimism, but that's what you said two years ago too about second hand Konas and eNiros hitting the market soon at hugely depreciated prices. It didn't happen. And far less chance of cheap second hand Model 3 Teslas.

My ads on adverts.ie:

with a GFMV of only 14,900 that's a lot of money to put in on PCP, it means Kia are afraid of depreciation

No they are not :p

You seem to be completely blind to rational thoughts about PCP and you don't seem to listen to any arguments put to you time and time again. A low GFMV resulting in high but just about palatable monthly payments is the ideal position a dealer wants to be in to have the highest chance to suck you into buying another of their brand new cars on PCP at the end of this one.

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I think the ilk of folks owning current Tesla's will hold on to them relative to other car ownership cycles, time will tell, just a feeling

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1