Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climate Action Plan

191011121315»

• Registered Users Posts: 13,895 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Socialists and national socialists were both obsessed with eugenics and creating a culture of blind obedience too, their dogmas were unquestionable. Nothing has changed, the watermelons are exactly the same.

So the consensus on climate change is akin to Nazi eugenics? Who plays the part of Dr Joseph Mengler in this play? David Attenborough?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

So the consensus on climate change is akin to Nazi eugenics? Who plays the part of Dr Joseph Mengler in this play? David Attenborough?

The patron saint of climate change and pseudo aristocrat who thinks it's "balmy" to send food to countries where there are famines? He would prefer if they starved to death.He most definitely loves the idea of using eugenics but not on him and his class of course, just the little people. The sycophantic fawning you lot do over that stuffy old guy is pure cringe.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,895 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

mad muffin wrote: »
    Yeah? I remember a shop I used to work in had no aircon and it would get to over 40 in there and all the chocolate would be melting on the shelves.

That doesn't mean the weather was hitting 40c

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

lola85 wrote: »
    https://www.thejournal.ie/green-party-government-4738634-Jul2019/

“GREEN Party leader Eamon Ryan has promised to “eat his hat” if the issuing of licenses for oil and gas exploration offshore around the island isn’t stopped within a year.

I am sick of the greens and Bríd Smith trying to lecture us about this issue”

They should be careful what they wish for without natural gas the electrical grid falls over.

ngfuelmix.png

The Real Energy Revolution: Natural Gas
    The central energy story today is the growing electrification of the world’s
    economies, in no small part because of the digitalization of everything.
    With abundant low-cost natural gas becoming the single largest source of new fuel to power grids, the U.S. has the opportunity to once again become a dominant supplier of fuel for global growth. But can the American gas bounty continue?

source

Electricity Security of Supply Report 2018
    The generation portfolio in Ireland is still heavily reliant on fossil fuels. In 2017, 64.8% of electricity generation came from fossil fuels, of which 52.2% was natural gas, 12.1% was coal and 0.5% was oil.However,renewable sources of energy are playing an increasingly important part in the generation portfolio with a particular emphasis on wind generation. In 2015 renewables contributed 27.3% of electricity needs with 22.8% coming from wind powered generation. In 2017 renewable generation rose to 29.6% with 24.8% of this figure arising from wind, 2.3% from hydro and 2.45% from other renewables.

source

Viridian blocked from closing its Huntstown power plants
    Feb 27, 2018
    However, the Commission for the Regulation of Utilities (CRU) has refused to relax a requirement that Viridian give three years’ notice of plans to close power plants.

The rule applies to all electricity generators. Viridian asked the commission for a derogation from this, as it maintained that its power stations could not recover their costs from next May as a result of the Eirgrid decision.

A Viridian spokesman said that an Eirgrid assessment given to the CRU did not support its derogation request for the Huntstown power plants, because their closure would “almost immediately” make electricity supplies less secure and reliable.

source

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

In other news:
    I'll finally be able to buy that seaside property ................. in Greenland.

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/environment/2019/07/greenland-melting-second-time-this-summer-bad/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,147 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Whatever about Greenland. With the current rhetoric I wouldn't be surprised if there's a pan European military force going to seize control of the Amazon rainforest from Brazil and make it the world's largest natural park.

I saw some graphics this morning on the amount of fires currently burning in the Amazon and fires from 7 days ago. It is truly appalling.
    Irrespective of one's views on climate change, we all know that the burning of these trees will release CO2 into the atmosphere in a rapid manner. And the fact that the Amazon produces 20% of the planet's oxygen would even lead the naySayers to admit that this is a resource that should be protected at all costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,379 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The EU Commission greenlighted this, why in the name of God do you think they'd try seize control.

If this was done in a less visible manner they'd prefer it.

They told Brazil to drive on with beef.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,147 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Danzy wrote: »
    The EU Commission greenlighted this, why in the name of God do you think they'd try seize control.

If this was done in a less visible manner they'd prefer it.

They told Brazil to drive on with beef.
    Maybe that was creating the noose for Bolsonaro to hang himself with?

I don't know. Just spitballing. Public opinion would be behind such an idea.
    Maybe all those Brazilians online getting their knickers in a twist and telling the world and Europe to back off, it's ours to do as we please. Has me looking that way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Kivaro wrote: »
    I saw some graphics this morning on the amount of fires currently burning in the Amazon and fires from 7 days ago. It is truly appalling.
    Irrespective of one's views on climate change, we all know that the burning of these trees will release CO2 into the atmosphere in a rapid manner. And the fact that the Amazon produces 20% of the planet's oxygen would even lead the naySayers to admit that this is a resource that should be protected at all costs.

Surely not at ALL costs?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Surely not at ALL costs?
    Funny that you said that because I actually paused and thought about it before adding that last bit, and decided yes, "at all costs". Something similar to a sizeable meteor heading for earth ........ it has drastic consequences.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Kivaro wrote: »
    SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Surely not at ALL costs?
    Funny that you said that because I actually paused and thought about it before adding that last bit, and decided yes, "at all costs". Something similar to a sizeable meteor heading for earth ........ it has drastic consequences.

Ok, so if the cost involved removing all humans from the Amazon basin, including indigenous tribes and local subsistence farmers and relocating them elsewhere and a special 50% Amazon tax on the income of all the citizens of the earth regardless of income this would be acceptable?

By the way fires in the Amazon, despite scaremongering from those pushing project fear on climate does not spell imminent doom for the earth.

Quotes such as the Amazon produces 20% of the earths oxygen as if, without the Amazon we would have 20% less available oxygen are simply ridiculous.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 10 youzack

Go to thetruesize.com, compare the size of Vietnam to Brazil. the USA could not control South Vietnam, and as you can see Brazil must be at least 15 times the size.
    A invasion of Brazil would be a disaster

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭notobtuse

Paris Agreement… the US don’t need no stinkin’ agreement. I see Trump is being blamed by some because the G-7 confab ended without a concrete agreement to take action, because he was a no-show at a crucial session. Trump withdrew from the Paris Agreement. So what… the US has slashed its coal use and cut its total greenhouse emissions more than any country in the G-7. It has also become a major supplier of liquefied natural gas, which emits about half as much carbon dioxide as coal during combustion, to other members of the G-7.

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Dhenalau

Just seen the best summary of the Irish Climate Action Plan...

Most of the massive €125 billion cost of the new Climate Action Plan will be borne by private individuals, households and the private sector and not by the State.

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭Skyfloater

If you prefer, the government can tax you €1000, p1ss away €100 in admin and give you back a €900 grant.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Dhenalau

What I would prefer is all those huge Consumer Goods conglomerates to help 😀

It has always been the easy way to put the blame and burden on the average Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

World class lickarses. Look at us aren’t we great at doing what we’ve been told to do by our betters. We were best in the EU for it and now we’re the bestest in the whole wide world.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Still waiting on cancelling the usc on me wages. Oh what's that. That promise gone out the window too.

Some load of shite the lot of it.

Its jobs in the old eu parliament there after. It's like blatant bribery at this stage. Change the policies in your country and well give ya a big fat paycheck there. Shure look at convey/zappone shendig that occured recently. Same shite.

What's all the other countries doing.

Are the yankee doodles increasing taxes on energy. Are China cutting coal production? They are in there fook.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Its €4bn worth of promises and a pretty perfect tax. Even SF have rolled back from it. Tweaks to limits at best is what we'll get.

It won't be necessary as Brazil has committed to end deforestation and they will dump Bolsonaro next year anyway.

I don't care it's the amount of overall tax being lumped on ordinary people in last 15 years that the problem.

Every budget what is it, an increase in taxes on something that people cannot do without. Vat went up, usc was brought in. Pso levy went up.

Property tax was brought in.

They tried on water charges but failed but that ain't over yet.

This policy is going to try to justify a whole range of taxes down along the line lads. Im all up for environmental protection but this ain't doing nothing.

I see ads on the tv heavily advertising for christmas products. The next ad asks ya to cut back on your consumption and think of the environment. Which is it.

Call me a cynical cnut but don't feed me shite and call it caviar at the same time.

Post edited by Mr. teddywinkles on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

I heard an ad on the radio asking people to try not to light the fire, for cleaner air. It said to use alternative heating - which they are taxing with the carbon tax to discourage. Seems like being cold is the future.

The problem of all this is that we are only at the tax the carbon stage and is probably what it will look like for the next 2-3 years. There's just not enough information on what we've started or achieved or what will happen in say 2022.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,502 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Whatever about the release of all that carbon and the loss of a huge sink, the point about oxygen production is false.

https://www.nationalgeographic.com/environment/article/why-amazon-doesnt-produce-20-percent-worlds-oxygen