Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread XI (The Finals Countdown)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,901 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Thoughts on the upcoming Munster game? I feel like we'll have the edge up front, both with the starting pack and the subs. Munsters injuries have really weakened them. Leinster have stronger carriers across the pack. But on the other hand Munster have a huge threat at the breakdown with POM, Stander and Beirne. The new interpretations at that side if the game gives them an advantage over just about any side. Leinster will have to be on their toes when carrying into contact. Any three of those could force a turnover.

Leinster are probably favourites, but if Munster can dominate at the breakdown we'll be in a bit if bother. Even more so if they had a full feck of players to choose from.

Beyond that I feel we have a better coached backline. We're starting to see Munster's backs get more involved in the game, but it's still a work in progress. They still struggle to create opportunities against a set defence and against sides who match their physicality. The 15 minutes prior to half time in their game against Connacht shows that I think. Playing against 13 men but weren't using their two man advantage properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

Buer wrote: »
    VDF fails to influence the game with textbook defending....except when he has done it in the past including against NZ where his linespeed was a significant factor in beating them.

Hopefully he can step up to a Pro14 game.

"Consistently"

We all know VDF is a very good player, he doesn't influence games enough for me.

When you have to refer to a game two years ago as an argument for consistency, you're debunking your own point.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Paying the ref to send off two players worked well. We should do the same Friday.

(Have I said too much?)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Clegg wrote: »
    Thoughts on the upcoming Munster game? I feel like we'll have the edge up front, both with the starting pack and the subs. Munsters injuries have really weakened them. Leinster have stronger carriers across the pack. But on the other hand Munster have a huge threat at the breakdown with POM, Stander and Beirne. The new interpretations at that side if the game gives them an advantage over just about any side. Leinster will have to be on their toes when carrying into contact. Any three of those could force a turnover.

Leinster are probably favourites, but if Munster can dominate at the breakdown we'll be in a bit if bother. Even more so if they had a full feck of players to choose from.

Beyond that I feel we have a better coached backline. We're starting to see Munster's backs get more involved in the game, but it's still a work in progress. They still struggle to create opportunities against a set defence and against sides who match their physicality. The 15 minutes prior to half time in their game against Connacht shows that I think. Playing against 13 men but weren't using their two man advantage properly.

I don't think it'll as close of a game. Leinster will be better at the breakdown, and less profligate with lineout possession. Their attacking play was streets ahead of Munster, both in variation and accuracy.

I've put money on leinster to beat -8. Quick turnaround for munster and they haven't rested any players.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,254 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Along with Furlong, perhaps the biggest news for Leinster is that James Ryan and Dan Leavy could play a part in the weekend’s action as Cullen confirmed that they have both turned the corner as far as their injuries are concerned.

https://www.ultimaterugby.com/news/cullen-issues-exciting-news-in-leinster-injury-update/629534

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

sydthebeat wrote: »

Bit more optimistic from UR there than me.

From Leinster themselves
    Cullen confirmed that both have recovered from shoulder and knee injuries respectively but that they will both be assessed further this week in training before a final decision is made.

That's pretty standard Leinster speak for "week too soon"

I'd love for one or both of them mind you. And it is knock out rugby now so perhaps I'm being too pessimistic.

I just can't recall a time that a player has made an injury comeback without Leo absolutely confirming it

A lot of what ifs and unknowns. Just what I like about the Leinster Munster games.

To be honest I thought Connacht were exceptionally naive at the breakdown and consistently under resourced their rucks.

Leinster need to be a bit more careful about their latches. A theme of Leinster is the pick and drive with 2 latches. The latches would then just seal off the ruck and prevent a contest for the ball. It's a big part of our ability to retain possession for so long. But what we have seen now in the last 2 games is the latcher being pinged for going off their feet which we had not seen this entire season prior. So hopefully Leinster can successfully amend their technique.

Munster have been extremely wily with their rolling away. They've consistently had the tackler rolling away just inconveniently enough that the poacher gets a really good sniff at it while the opposition can't resource the ruck properly. Hopefully whoever whistles this Friday will be watching for the rolling as much as the poaching.

I wouldn't be surprised to see Leinster go for another 6-2 split again. I still don't think the lads are fully match fit and this will be an absolute slog.

Deegan hasn't done enough for me to be involved but I think Ruddock and Connors could both feature on the bench with Doris, VDF and Conan starting.

Cronin was excellent against Ulster and really showed brilliant line speed to shut down attacks. I'd have him starting

Also.

I hope whoever is reffing calls jumping across the lineout for both sides.

The fact that Leinster got 3 penalties against us to Munster none for the same infringement is a bit irritating.

Pete against Connacht yesterday launched himself up and over the Connacht pod to try and steal the ball. Extremely dangerous for himself and others - he landed extremely heavily and nearly came down on the head of a Connacht lifter.

I don't need to mention what happened to Snyman as a result

Munster wreaked havoc on our set piece. Part of that was us misfiring. But part of it was just jumping across. Ping teams early for it if needs be and let it be a fair contest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

I don't think he deserves even a squad spot at Leinster. He should go to some average team like Munster.

Good call. Even better, his surname probably sounds sufficiently South African to appeal to the Munster Brains Trust.

Do we know who will be reffing yet? If not, when is this likely to be announced?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,315 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

It will be Clancy Murphy or Brace.

I'm kind of hoping they are looking at getting a neutral ref in tho

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    It will be Clancy Murphy or Brace.

I'm kind of hoping they are looking at getting a neutral ref in tho

Would be better for the optics but we'd have a better feel of what the Irish refs are looking for.

I wonder who will be doing the other semi

Would be better for the optics but we'd have a better feel of what the Irish refs are looking for.

I wonder who will be doing the other semi

God forbid it will be the joker who ruined Friday night's Glasgow - Edinboro game.

Presumably Nigel can travel freely within the UK so he might do it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Thoughts on the upcoming Munster game?

Just hope we don't get any new injuries. If we win, great.

It's all about the Saracens game for me tbh.

Given how physical the semi final is likely to be, that they are even remotely considering Leavy after the length of layoff and severity of injury is a very positive indicator for him.

I don't expect him to feature - but it's a positive sign that he is in the running. Sounds like Furlong is almost back and Ryan should be available for Saracens.

Agree with Former Former, it's all about Sarrie's - I hope we win at the weekend, but not at the cost of future performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

Some analys of Will Connors's game at the weekend: https://www.the42.ie/will-connors-leinster-chop-tackles-5190834-Aug2020/

I'd say his momentum stopping tackles could be especially useful against Munster since Murray is inclined to slow things down when Munster lose momentum.

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

Some analys of Will Connors's game at the weekend: https://www.the42.ie/will-connors-leinster-chop-tackles-5190834-Aug2020/

I'd say his momentum stopping tackles could be especially useful against Munster since Murray is inclined to slow things down when Munster lose momentum.

https://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2020/08/click-here-if-you-cannot-view-the-clip-above-921.mp4

This tackle on Murphy is seriously impressive - to force a turnover when Ulster have such quick ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Just ****ing loves a good tackle does Connors. He actually missed one at the weekend which was a bit of a shock :eek:

https://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2020/08/click-here-if-you-cannot-view-the-clip-above-921.mp4

This tackle on Murphy is seriously impressive - to force a turnover when Ulster have such quick ball.

That tackle says a bit about both players. Jordi looks slightly under powered since lockdown. None of the former Leinster forwards in Ulster look the part at the moment and need to very quickly get form and conditioning where it needs to be because they will be key to Ulster progressing in the competitions.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

That tackle says a bit about both players. Jordi looks slightly under powered since lockdown. None of the former Leinster forwards in Ulster look the part at the moment and need to very quickly get form and conditioning where it needs to be because they will be key to Ulster progressing in the competitions.

He's never been a particularly strong carrier.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

It confirms what I have always thought. Connors is a one-trick pony but it is a very good trick. His tackling is outstanding. Once he adds a bit more to his game like carrying, passing, off-loading and poaching, he will be a very good player.

Sounds like an Irish Dan Lydiate. If Connors went on to be half as good as Lydiate in his prime then we'd have a hell of a player there.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Just in case there was any doubt about how widely respected Isa was.
    https://youtu.be/wV342T1TS1g
    Joe is a big fan of course & even Eddie Jones agrees!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,197 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Connors is a very good player but being excellent at a very specific area of the game leaves you limited. He needs to develop other aspects. At his height and relatively light weight, he should be working hard on his lineout skills or his link play in the back line. He's not a bruiser of a carrier but he could do well to develop the skill that someone like Furlong has who can tip the ball on or redirect play unexpectedly to give his game another dimension.

As it stands, he'll be a tactical player used for specific jobs but will struggle to be involved at the highest level due to those limitations. Even VDF (who is another defensive specialist) worked hard on his timing for carries and his breakdown work to round out his game.

Dan Lydiate was a great player but the game moved on, focus on tackling style was implemented by officials and he was left behind. He hasn't been a regular for Wales since he was 28 (the age VDF turns this coming season).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Sounds like an Irish Dan Lydiate. If Connors went on to be half as good as Lydiate in his prime then we'd have a hell of a player there.

Connors is no Kiearan Reed but he has more football in him than Dan Lydiate!
    Lydiate made his tackles, allot of which were knee high torpedo tackles (always illegal) and got back in the defensive line again. And again.
    He offered zero with the ball in hand.

Connors has a good rugby brain, tall, athletic and will grow into himself with age. Clearly he is the designated tackle machine in a BR but he can also play ball.

Shane Horgan is on today's Second Captains podcast. He liked what he saw of Leinster's dual playmaking 10/12 combination and believes that's what's required for Leinster to move to a higher level of performance. What's interesting though is that he doesn't think Henshaw is the ball playing 12 we need to bring us to that level.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Guinness RFC

Just ****ing loves a good tackle does Connors. He actually missed one at the weekend which was a bit of a shock :eek:

He missed 2 one on the try line for Herrings try and one when stockdale ghosted through a gap on a kick return. ESPN stats are iffy if you’re relying on them

Shane Horgan is on today's Second Captains podcast. He liked what he saw of Leinster's dual playmaking 10/12 combination and believes that's what's required for Leinster to move to a higher level of performance. What's interesting though is that he doesn't think Henshaw is the ball playing 12 we need to bring us to that level.

Not an outrageous opinion at all. All the best teams in the world have a second play maker at 12 or 15. Henshaw doesn't have that vision. Joey Carbery did brilliantly for us at 15.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

Henshaw can distribute a bit but he’s very much a De Allende style bruiser at 12.

i think some of the excitement around Frawley is that Ireland very rarely produces that kind of international quality second five-eighth. i think Scannell has a cap but doesn’t look like picking up many more. Reid also picked up a cap but was never really an option at the highest level. we probably have to go back to, what, Paddy Wallace maybe? can’t think of anyone else. i know Luke Marshall played a bit of 10 early in his career but i wouldn’t call him a playmaker. Madigan might have been that player but he focused on 10.