Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2019 - Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭Doc76

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    8358 |passinginterest|03:59:30|
    |Naked Lepper|04:05:00|
    |Treviso|03:29:59|
    |Fraggle07|04:59:59|
    12222|DBB|04:59:59|
    |UNKNOWNABILITY|03:28:59|
    |kemcloughlin|05:59:59|
    11248|karlos80|04:10:00|
    |pd79|05:10:00|
    19938|doc76|04:59:59|
    |py|03:59:59|
    11277|Rega|04:15:00|
    |Sunday Runner|04:20:00|
    |Fowler87|04:22:00|
    |Wombled|05:09:00|
    |DeepBlue|03:49:59|
    |Lombardo123|03:59:59|
    18488 |rizzee|04:39:59|
    9705|Lambay Island|03:30:00|
    |akenno|03:59:59|
    |Frash|04:35:00|
    |3boyz|04:35:00|
    |saffron22|04:15:00|
    332|mister paul|03:27:59|
    |jackc101|04:15:00|
    |wpd|04:59:59|
    |Prospector1989|04:30:00|
    18223 |DolG|05:15:00|
    |goldsalmon33|03:55:00|
    |DaaaaaaaaaaN|03:55:00|
    20349 |Sorbet|04:40:00|
    |Marathon19|03:58:58|
    |Clareview|04:29:59|
    |greentea is just wrong|05:15:00|
    |Laineyfrecks|03:49:59|
    |Eabha19|04:30:00|
    |Ais_Byrne7|04:59:59|
    18428 |Soulsun|05:00:00|
    |TillyDCM|04:59:59|
    |Clickhere|04:10:00|
    |kyomi|03:59:59|
    |ByrneDCMbrian|03:59:59|
    |limerick91|04:09:00|
    19124 |Bananaleaf|04:50:00|
    |Rojo|04:20:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Tiptopdel wrote: »
    Hi all, question about getting into the waves.
    How much of a queue or time does it take to get into waves, like are they checking each individual number or how do they do it. Just want to know what time I should start heading to my wave at.

No delay at all. Show your number and once the wave colour on the number is ok you won't even have to stop walking.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Fraggle07

I can't believe it's Marathon eve!!
    Many thanks to all the coaches Mr. G, Huzzah and ReeReeG and all my fellow novices. Your advice, support and guidance has been invaluable. Don't think I'd have stuck with the plan otherwise. It's truly been an amazing journey.

Wishing everyone the very best for tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Fraggle07

2125|Treviso|03:29:59|
    11484|Fraggle07|04:59:59|
    |Wombled|05:09:00|
    18488|rizzee|04:39:59|
    5806|akenno|03:59:59|
    11990 |3boyz|04:35:00|
    11675|saffron22|04:15:00|
    7222|Marathon19|03:58:58|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

You guys! It's been an absolute privilege to follow along on your DCM journeys. I thought I'd be a nervous wreck for you all tonight but I'm not a bit nervous. I know how hard you've all worked towards your goals. You're going to be great. Well done, all. Now go out there and enjoy the victory lap.

Mr Guappa, take a bow. You've done a sterling job.

Hope to see some of you in McGrattan's tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Just popping in to wish all the DCM novices of 2019 the very best of luck tomorrow. I was part of the 2018 novices and I can remember vividly the excitement of the night before the big day.

Soak up the atmosphere. You will see the very best of humanity out there tomorrow. When it gets hard, don't see it as a step back. Embrace it. You didn't train so the marathon would not hurt. You trained so you could endure it.

Have your mantras ready... #go the distance, #this will not break me, #no pain.

Have a plan B and don't get disheartened if you feel you are struggling earlier than you thought. It's OK to slow down. The number one rule out there tomorrow is minding yourself and keeping yourself safe.

Once you hit the final 6 miles, let the crowd take you home. They will blow you away with their enthusiasm and you will blow them away with your grit and determination. If you've been using them during your training, I highly recommend taking on something salty and something with caffeine around mile 20. Enjoy this part of the race if you can. This is the part that makes marathons special. I believe only 1% of the world's population have run a marathon and tomorrow you will know why. Be very proud of what you are achieving. Think of the person you aspire to be and know that you will have become that person, as you cross the finish line tomorrow.

Goddammit I'm off to sign up for a marathon!

I'll be out there tomorrow cheering you all on. You got this.

I mean that. You got this! Now go out there and get that medal!

Xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Wombled

Fraggle07 wrote: »
    20290Wombled|05:09:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭Wombled

Apologies I knew I would mess up that table, . Best of luck to everyone tomorrow. Thank you so much to all of the mentors, you truly are all amazing, your dedication and time. I am so grateful. I hope to meet some of ye tomorrow. Please post as to where you are in McGattan and I will pop in and say hello. We are all so ready to run this town

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭mister paul

20290|Wombled|05:09:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭clickhere

[]Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    11033|Clickhere|04:10:00|
    |Rojo|04:20:00|[/quote]

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

All the very best for tomorrow guys. Ye will toe the line tomorrow as the best prepared marathon novices there.
    Make sure and soak it all in, like a lot of good things in life ya never forget your first time!

At some stage tomorrow you will start to hurt but you wouldn't be human if ya didn't. Just stay focused and take each mile as it comes. Look to your left and to your right, your fellow athletes will be feeling exactly the same. Use these people to pace yourselves home, someone else will be using you for the same purpose.

Finally go to bed tonight and have a quick think about how far you have come in your journey to reach this point. All those hard miles, easy miles, MP miles and recovery miles have made each and every one of ye stronger athletes than any of ye think.
    Reading this thread the last 5 months has been a real inspiration.
    Run well tomorrow and I can't wait to read your reports next week.

Oh one final thing, many kudos to my fellow 2018 Novices Mr Guappa Huzzah and ReeReeG. Ye have put in so much time and effort into your Mentor roles and I'm sure each and every Novice is going to make ye very proud tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,237 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Good luck to everybody tomorrow!

Thinking back to my first DCM in 2016, if I could go back and change any one thing it would probably be to worry a bit less about my finishing time. Not that it was a big issue, but in retrospect it wasn't really important and I should have focused more on relaxing and taking in the wonderful atmosphere. I'd happily add another 5 minutes onto my finishing time in exchange for 5 more minutes experiencing that crowd lining the finishing straight!

Easy to say though, and old me would probably ignore future me saying that! But still, I hope everybody enjoys their day tomorrow and goes away proud of everything they have already achieved.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

My first Marathon was DCM 2018, it was an amazing experience and I couldn’t believe the support from the public the entire way around. However the finish is something to behold, from the canal you will hear the roar of the crowd, it’s a pretty emotional experience, soak it up and enjoy.

It’s your first marathon, don’t put undue pressure on yourself, it’s ok to enjoy it. Best of luck to everyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,712 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Myself and a few of the 2018 novices will be meeting across the road from the Shelbourne at 8 in the morning if anyone is in the vicinity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Best of luck to all of you tomorrow. You only get to run your first marathon once, and it’s a hell of an experience! I hope you enjoy it every bit as much as I enjoyed mine last year, one of the best things I’ve ever experienced without a doubt.
    It will get hard at some point no matter what, but that’s exactly what you’ve trained for. Go put all that training to use. Sure it wouldn’t be satisfying if it was too easy... ;)
    This time tomorrow you’ll be marathoners!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

19432|kemcloughlin|05:59:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭py

Last minute issue, I've cut myself on the back of my heel getting out of the shower. I was planning on leaving it uncovered over night. How should I bandage it for the race? I'm leaning towards a plaster with anaesthetic cream and then covering that with gaffer tape.

py wrote: »
    Last minute issue, I've cut myself on my heel getting out of the shower. I was planning on leaving it uncovered over night. How should I bandage it for the race? I'm leaning towards a plaster with anaesthetic cream and then covering that with gaffer tape.

Feck... I wonder would you be able to track down a medic in the area before the start tomorrow? I'd imagine you'll need to really clamp any dressing down. What a pain. Hopefully it won't feel too bad in the morning.

Thinking about heading for the leaba now.
    Huuuge good luck to all of my fellow novices tomorrow! It's been a great journey and great to have company and laughs, and maybe a few tears along the way :) Looking forward to meeting more of you tomorrow either before or after the little matter of 26.2 miles:D
    Mr. Guappa, Huzzah! and ReeReeG, heartfelt thanks to the 3 of you for all the support, patience and help. Yiz are legends :)
    Mr G, I hope tomorrow goes brilliantly for you. Just remember, get to bed early and don't start out too fast... :D:D:D
    Thanks too to graduates from previous years. I've been reading the mentored novices threads for the past few years, getting increasingly envious, so ye all played quite a big part in inspiring me, and giving me the root up the butt I needed to finally sign up. Thank you :)

This time tomorrow.... I might have had a glass of prosecco or two.
    (I'll actually probably be in a coma :o)
    Night night all! Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

7506|DeepBlue|03:49:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

py wrote:
    Last minute issue, I've cut myself on the back of my heel getting out of the shower. I was planning on leaving it uncovered over night. How should I bandage it for the race? I'm leaning towards a plaster with anaesthetic cream and then covering that with gaffer tape.

How deep is it? You'd want to tape a plaster alright, or if you can get your hands on a waterproof bandage... though it's still likely to move after some sweating I reckon :-/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

DBB wrote: »
    Mr G, I hope tomorrow goes brilliantly for you. Just remember, get to bed early and don't start out too fast... :D:D:D

:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭py

ReeReeG wrote: »
    How deep is it? You'd want to tape a plaster alright, or if you can get your hands on a waterproof bandage... though it's still likely to move after some sweating I reckon :-/

Not deep but there's a layer of skin taken off about the size of a 1 cent coin.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭omeatheopian

Sorry last minute question, says all participants should arrive no later than 8am!
    Is this actually the case even if you're running in wave 2?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

When it gets hard, don't see it as a step back. Embrace it. You didn't train so the marathon would not hurt. You trained so you could endure it.

I've read some good stuff on here, but that is absolutely brilliant. Well said.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

Mine is 19839, can someone plz add it for me? Ta!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

Best of luck tomorrow folks, we are gonna smash it!!

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

From an, erm, 2009 novice... good luck everyone! Your first marathon is a fantastic experience and do try to take it all in. You're all well trained and have gotten the long runs in - trust the plan. Take it handy at the start and resist the temptation to adjust your goal last minute.

This time tomorrow you can call yourselves marathoners!

• Registered Users Posts: 39 DolG

py wrote: »
    Not deep but there's a layer of skin taken off about the size of a 1 cent coin.
    Compeed. I have some if you want to come to 38/39 Fitzwilliam Sq. Will be there from 8am.