Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the every day items that you despise?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,870 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

kowloon wrote: »
    It'd be a bit of a trip just for for a doorknob.

For me it's my curtains: I get bad insomnia and end up trying to sleep during the day but they don't block the light when the wind is blowing them.

Get yourself a set of padded eyemasks. They are great for blocking out the light in daytime, or if you wake too early. I know this, because despite blackout blinds the light does seep in. You can thank me later ;)

What are the every day items that you despise?

Commercial radio and tv being imposed on us in businesses, public transport, waiting rooms, pubs and all the rest.

It's like all these people fear peace and quiet, or that we may have the quietness to think more about any prospective purchase.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Commercial radio and tv being imposed on us in businesses, public transport, waiting rooms, pubs and all the rest.

It's like all these people fear peace and quiet, or that we may have the quietness to think more about any prospective purchase.

God yes. Coffee shops/cafes with booming bass thumping through speakers in every corner to such an extent you can barely have a conversation with someone.

It's not a fúckin nightclub where noise=more drink sold. It's supposed to be about relaxing, reading or chatting.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,192 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Picked a fight with the principal over male hair styles, I've long hair, I won, and he looked pretty stupid after it. Authoritive figures should always be questioned and challenged, it makes for a better society

Thankfully he's retired now. The the new principal seems to be okay with various types of black footwear and she manages to have other activities in the school without stressing over a pair of shoes the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Yurt! wrote: »
    Edit: double post

I hate double posts! :mad:

Most of my everyday item hates revolve around packaging and unopened jar lids. I really wonder how the infirm and elderly cope with a world covered in tight sheets of seal plastic overlaid with wrap and bits of cardboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

skintight jeans on young lads with the bottom turned up and no socks, a fashion horror show

• Registered Users Posts: 15,754 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Sh1tty women's magazines in my doctors waiting room. If you're lucky there might be a Phoenix magazine maybe 4 or 5 years old.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,765 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Iced water being the default.
    If I wanted a glass of iced water, I'd have feckin asked for a glass of iced water.
    Often, even when you specify "no ice", they forget and still put ice in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Irrational hate for cheap crappy non-stick frying pans. And I'm too stingy to pay for a really nice one since I know my husband would probably ruin it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Junk mail

• Registered Users Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

The photocopier at work. I need to make a sacrifice to the gods to make it work right.

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Infernum

So this isn't an every day item for everyone, but it is for me so I hope it still counts:

Aloe vera rings that you use to attach an ileostomy bag around a stoma (it sits between the bag and your skin). They're a very fickle nuisance at the best of times and start to get very, very itchy when sweat gets under them. Also, when your bag gets pretty full of air or whatever, it stresses the ring and pulls it out of shape so you might need to change everything sooner than usual or else you risk a leakage.

Mind you, I've been grateful for what having a stoma has done for my life, but there are some trivial annoyances!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭waynescales1

House Alarms.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,437 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Sh1tty women's magazines in my doctors waiting room. If you're lucky there might be a Phoenix magazine maybe 4 or 5 years old.

****ing hate covers on The Phoenix with the crappy MSPaint speach bubbles.

Del2005 wrote: »
    Changing batteries doesn't fix broken buttons. Fix the buttons or changing the remote would resolve the problem.

Really? You don’t say! FFS.

Low batteries will cause a remote to act up. So, with new batteries fitted, one may be confident the buttons are at fault, not low batteries.

But I’ve spelled it out for you there seeing as you missed the clear inference first time around and thought you’d the chance to be a clever man. You’re not though.

Remote with dodgy buttons. With or without batteries fitted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Definitely. I spent a very stressful five hours in the breast clinic of a major Dublin hospital last week and was forced to sit through such delights as Judge Rinder, Elaine, and Judge Judy.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,409 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

JayZeus wrote: »
    Really? You don’t say! FFS.

Low batteries will cause a remote to act up. So, with new batteries fitted, one may be confident the buttons are at fault, not low batteries.

But I’ve spelled it out for you there seeing as you missed the clear inference first time around and thought you’d the chance to be a clever man. You’re not though.

Remote with dodgy buttons. With or without batteries fitted.

Take it apart and clean the contacts with spirits or something.
    They can get oily inside from being handled.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

****in' CARS.

Before I go on: I am grateful for what they provide, but I still HATE the actual vehicles.

First of all... The smell. That "new car" smell everyone talks about... I think it's absolutely disgusting. And unfortunately it's not just in new cars, but most vehicles have a whiff of it. Depending on how strong it is, or how long I have to spend in a vehicle, it can make me feel really, really sick. I would actually prefer to deal with BO smell on public transport than that... BO's not nice either, but it doesn't make me wretch the way the standard smell of car interiors does. I also have no idea why the car smell makes me want to puke, I'm well aware this isn't normal... But I can't stand it.

I also think they're one of the most uncomfortable forms of modern transport. They're always small and cramped (I'm over 6 ft so again this is more a personal problem). I don't mind short journeys (20 mins in a taxi, half an hour into town) but anything longer than an hour isn't just cramped, it's boring as f*ck. If I'm traveling for hours, I'd much rather a train. It's spacious, you can stand up and even go to the loo. You also actually see more of the countryside. The motorway generally just looks the same. 3 hours in a car is my ideal of hell (and again, not to mention the smell being ever-present making me want to gag).

Plus they're damn expensive - they just eat into your money (of course, if you live in a super rural area you've no real choice). Driving in big cities is also far more hassle than it's worth, especially if you're with someone takes an hour to find a parking space. F*ck that, I'd rather just walk.

Again, I understand the necessity for cars as a vehicle and all of these points could probably be improved upon. Maybe with self-driving vehicles we'll get a bit more space.

But for now I ****in' absolutely HATE these machines.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,287 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

No Woodies where I am, but I don't even need that. I just need to ask security downstairs and they'll get someone in to do it.

It's good to own land and slaves.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,287 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Or obnoxiously loud music. It's not really socialising if you can't hear anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Plastic bags, I have about 6 million of them and feel too guilty to throw them out because of the environment etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

I barely want to touch anything in a doctor's waiting room for fear of germs let alone leaf through a magazine. The horror

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭TeaPot918

Celery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Celery, my mattress, and those horrible cuffed ankle grey tracksuits.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Chirpy morning radio hosts with their stupid, boring, lame, idiotic, fickle bants and observations. Man oh man just fk OFF will ye? I turn the key in the ignition and breakfast republic comes on, I can't get the fkin thing off fast enough. I actually feel a surge of rage. How do people even tolerate this let alone listen to involuntarily? Are they madochists?

Then those stupid ads telling me about Ireland's most googled car or where they interview with the 'dog in the household'

When I am going into work I want Mourning Ireland. Sober. Staid. Serious. Factual. Formal.

Yes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Toilet rolls, getting stuck to be the one changing them when they run out

• Registered Users Posts: 16,073 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Clingfilm . Fecky stupid sticky rolls of mess

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Radio stations that keep telling you what station you're listening to.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,409 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Radio stations that keep telling you what station you're listening to.

Or it's really hot outside.

Or worse still, it's a bank holiday weekend and the weather is good.
    That sh1t will drive them insane.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Smoke alarm that went off when I burned the toast :mad:

I had to remove it. At least once a week the bloody thing would go off and I had to scramble for the first thing I could find to knock it off while still covering my ears. It's dead now. As i probably will be if a fire breaks out. :pac: