Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor thread (MMA Talk Only - Read 1st Post Before Posting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

"pro boxing " "pro MMA " is very unlike PRO's in any other sports ,

I know a lads who's a "Pro" mma fighter & he hasn't won a fight since 2016 , Any two ejits can get paid to fight & be "Pro's"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The lads lads at the bottom of regional ranking will have a straight losses. At the extreme end there are guys who make a living being 0-20 professional punchbags, and granted that says nothing about their ability. It's true that technically anyone can jump into pro rules and be a "pro". But I don't see how that's relevant here. We're not talking about punchbags.

The records above equate to a 35-3 combined. Considering the median fights should be equal wins/losses, that should related to fighters in the upper quartile or so. Whatever above the bottom of the barrel punchbags, are we really trying to say that a guy with a ~10 pro wins is not at least  low level pro standard.

I'm saying 10 pro wins doesn't mean much in today's world because there is so much dross & so many people willing to take fights just to say there "pro's" I blame social media for that "look i'm a pro"

Obviously not everyone who has 10 pro wins has just fought dross but i bet you Jake PAuls team looked long and hard to find the worst fighters with the best records on paper,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Irish fast food brand in talks to introduce a McGregor endorsed range.

If some nobody can rake up 10 professional wins by fighting shįtcans, that’s fairly strong evidence that pro-divisions are full of terrible fighters. That is a fairly solid evidence that the standard for "pro level" is lower than people might think.

I'm not saying the worst fighter in the world is the standard for pro level, that would be silly. But the the precise median, most average fighter in and division has to be considered pro level.

Look at Paul's last opponent , he was 19-3 , he must be decent right ........wrong

He has fought once since 2018 against a 38 year old who had lost 4 in a row ,

That fight in 2018 was against a lad who was 38 & it was his first ever boxing match , He was 13-12 in MMA, & it went to a decision ,

And prior to that he fought 10-1 Andre Augest. Who had just fought a 7-0 pro. He’s ranked 35th “active” US boxers.

I’m not saying these are future champions, but that are absolutely representative of the standard in regional boxing right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭xtal191

Must've had a rough one the night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭clsmooth

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

He's off his nut. He doesn't even seem able to sit up in the chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭Patsy167

Has anyone else found Mcgregor's recent interviews very odd? He didn't seem himself at all on the MMA hour with Ariel. He was rambling, unsure of himself, and generally sounded a bit exhausted. Almost unrecognizable to how he was in his earlier interviews with Ariel.

I know people change and an interview is a moment in time but I wouldn't be at all confident seeing him in a cage with anyone at this stage. He would be better served retiring altogether or going down the celebrity fight sports route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Just watched a bit of it there. Bizarre energy. What the fúck has he done to his eyebrows?? Permanently raised, presume from botox. There’s a big crash coming ahead.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

To be so normal and than so erratic is usually down to substance use. I mean in that clip above it doesn't look like the morning after but still the night of the party.

He is finished as a fighter, his head is scrambled, The lad can barley get a coherent sentence out,

Chandler by KO simply by the self inflected damage to his brain ,

its very very sad how life has gone for Conor, & yes i know he is rich beyond anyone dreams but he doesn't come across as a happy man ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,942 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Tried to watch some of the MMA hour but it was not at all comfortable.

No clue what is going on, he has so much money now, why bother going back to fight now? He will be murdered, and for what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Yeah the only reason to comeback would be to headline a card on Dublin or try and win the belt.

Unfortunately none of them is likely so no point coming back.

He could take advantage of the YouTube boxing if he wants a return. Although I wouldn't bother if I was him as he could lose to Jake Paul/KSI and he already has enough money than he'll ever need anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,141 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

Look he looked a bit out of it in the one interviews but was grand in some of the other ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,942 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I could never see him fighting in Dublin again at this stage, it just wouldn't be a big enough event for the UFC to hold in Dublin. The real money makers are in Las Vegas of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I wonder when he pulls out, there's no chance it goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

He shows up. he has two fights left on his contract. He will be fighting one of the Pauls for 100mil by this time next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

I genuinely will fear for his life if he gets in the octagon that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,769 ✭✭✭Homelander

I wouldn't fear for his life. Conor at his worst is still somewhat a decent fighter and Chandler is not known for fight IQ or playing to his strengths at the best of times. It's a decent fight for McGregor and probably the best one he can take.

I wouldn't bet on him though. Chandler is an absolute dog. And he might just actually play to his strengths given the gravity of what a win over McGregor would do for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

It's fine , hes at plenty worse for his health outside of the ring.

I fear more the incoming hyperbole. eek here we go…

Pretty much how I feel right now. Chandler is a powerful fighter with bad IQ. Very beatable. He was precisely the type of fighter that played into Conor's game from his debut up to becoming double champ. Obvious that version of Conor cease to exist after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭fitzparker

Ah stop with the hyperbole. nobody has ever died in the UFC, and it defo isn't going to for this fight, he isn't going up against a super heavyweight

Some lads are acting like Conor is a novice or something

Chandler last fight will be 19 months ago because he is waiting on the gravy train, he is 1-3 his last 4 in a 3 year span

I think it goes either way… but stop with the above shite talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭GHendrix

Hard to believe how his MMA career would turn out after that great performance against Alvarez.

The guy was just way too inactive for way too long and somehow thought he could just step back in whenever he wanted against the likes of Khabib and Porier.

I really don’t see anything other than another loss here and retirement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,672 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Sticking with my usual prediction, if Conor can't finish him in the first round he has no hope. Chandler is an absolute dog with a solid chin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Think Conor would love to finish his 2 fight UFC contract and then be free to go after a silly money fight against a you tuber/retired boxer type

Time is contagious, everybody is getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭XsApollo

yup, expect the second fight to come pretty quick after this one while he is in fight mode.