Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In my mid 40s... Mid life crisis time?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I'll be turning sixty next year and I've long reconciled myself with the fact that I have seen more sunrises than I am going to see. Sometimes I stop and laugh at the young men in their thirties who moan about "feeling old," until I realise that I used to be that young man and I that used to feel old. :)

I have few regrets. I've been happily married almost thirty years to a woman who looks as beautiful today as the day I married her. My wife and I raised our two children hoping that they be able to support themselves and live fulfilling independent lives when we're gone. And if I'm no longer with us tomorrow I'm sure they will except for my daughter.

I'm turning 30 this year and I tune out when friends and colleagues around the same age moan about being old. It's simply not true. Most people that age are just more aware of what makes them tick and are less compelled to say "yes" to everything or make wild, crazy decisions. That doesn't make you old - it simply means you've reached a certain level of maturity and live your life the way you want to, instead of trying to please others all the time. One of my best friends just turned 60 as well and told me a lot of her peer group have been moaning about being old for the last 20 years. I certainly don't intend to live my life lamenting that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I remember back in the 90s our 45 year old supervisor came into work with a "manchester" haircut and a pair of white converse..not only did it fail to make him look younger it succeeded in making him look like a prize tit.

I used to see another bloke of a similar age sporting cowboy boots and driving some sort of 70s convertible like a wanker .

Get a lot of the first sort of dudes at League of Ireland matches. Fat old shîtes approaching 50 still wearing Adidas Original runners, a cagoule, and putting gel in their short spikey grey hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

No one gets old anymore...or grows up more to the point.

In the past you pretty much stuck to the well worn path....school, job, marry, retire....and had to give up pastimes on the way until there was pretty much nothing left of your younger self.

Now you can continue with your hobbies...guys in their 70s running marathons, retrain multiple times, marry or not or marry again and again.

I think it's great for everyone. Be what you want, do what you want once you don't hurt anyone.

You don't stop doing things because you get old .....you get old because you stop doing things.

I'm having a werther's original while I type this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I remember back in the 90s our 45 year old supervisor came into work with a "manchester" haircut and a pair of white converse..not only did it fail to make him look younger it succeeded in making him look like a prize tit.

I used to see another bloke of a similar age sporting cowboy boots and driving some sort of 70s convertible like a wanker .

You remember who was at your 7th birthday party & a particular day over 20 years ago when your manager got a haircut and what runners he had on??

You got all this on betamax?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

begbysback wrote:
    You got all this on betamax?

begbysback wrote:
    You remember who was at your 7th birthday party & a particular day over 20 years ago when your manager got a haircut and what runners he had on??

A sharp memory,lad..and an eye for detail.

Traits that have availed me well over the years..especially when it comes to "de-bagging" members of the fairer sex.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭The Enbalmer

Get a lot of the first sort of dudes at League of Ireland matches. Fat old shîtes approaching 50 still wearing Adidas Original runners, a cagoule, and putting gel in their short spikey grey hair.

Know them well Johannes.
    Pubs around Drumcondra do be full of them of a Sunday.
    Great heaps of lard talking about football with beer-soaked authority whilst reliving the day they scored a hat trick against Scoil Neassain in the 1980s.

They usually have a fish tank too that they built shelving around and a 72" telly to watch Netflix on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

?? :confused:
    Unfortunately my daughter is still stuck at home, unlike my son who's flying it in college.

For some reason she has it in her head that she's going to become one of those "body positive influencers" on the internet, so she's taken to laying around eating chocolates and ordering those ****ing disgusting takeaways in the evenings. Posting about "beauty at any size" and "eff[ing] beauty standards."

Obviously I'm concerned about her health but I'm also aghast at this shallow and malevolent side she hasn't ever shown before. This body positive stuff is just exploiting fat people's low self esteem and their inability to control their bad habits. You wouldn't see anyone telling alcoholics to "drink up lads" or promote them showing off their disgusting beer bellies or even lamenting that red noses and bloated hands aren't considered "beautiful."

I'm hoping it's just a phase. I might even get her a pair of runners when I go to town tomorrow, it might give her the kick up the fat arse she needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

.even ugly ladies need loving and after a few cans of special brew I'm only to happy to give it to them.
    Break hearts and empty knickers..if you get my drift.

Living the dream, buddy. Living the dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Sit down for this - but there’s a third position. Complex, and requires years of practice.
    Is this the famous "sit down" position?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'm 49, I had mine at 42 when I bought a bike. That has spiralled out of control slightly. I now have 3 bikes, had 4 but sold one of them a few months back. I have spent a small fortune on them along with all the clothing, accessories, tools etc etc that go along with the sport however I am fitter now than I was in my 20's and 30's and hopefully it'll give me the opportunity for a longer lifespan.

Kivaro wrote: »
    Is this the famous "sit down" position?

A blumpkin? Definitely wouldn’t be in to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,938 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

mariaalice wrote: »
    They are not subtle enough it needs to be done with a light hand.

That's what I'm always telling the mrs ;)

Life ain't always empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

I'm 22 and going through mine right now, better late than never I suppose. Finishing off law in college and all that...that's about it. I gave up the sports and didn't practice my music. I look around me and realise already how I've wasted so many opportunities to do things or whatever, all over my own laziness and wanting to sleep. Trying to fix that now.

Hair loss coming at 20 didn't help either.

Elemonator wrote: »
    I'm 22 and going through mine right now, better late than never I suppose. Finishing off law in college and all that...that's about it. I gave up the sports and didn't practice my music. I look around me and realise already how I've wasted so many opportunities to do things or whatever, all over my own laziness and wanting to sleep. Trying to fix that now.

Hair loss coming at 20 didn't help either.

Just tell the women your bald head is a solar panel for a sex machine.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Just tell the women your bald head is a solar panel for a sex machine.

These bald jokes are wearing a bit thin..

• Registered Users Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

A blumpkin? Definitely wouldn’t be in to that.

What is a blufkin?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Just live each day as it comes. You could die at any age, no point dwelling on these matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

What is a blufkin?

A blumpkin is apparently getting a blowjob as you have a ****e, apparently having an orgasm while the shyte is being pushed out intensifies it - I don't think it's even possible

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/blumpkin

These bald jokes are wearing a bit thin..

Oh build a bridge and comb over it.

We're like two bald men fighting over a comb :D

A blumpkin is apparently getting a blowjob as you have a ****e, apparently having an orgasm while the shyte is being pushed out intensifies it - I don't think it's even possible

Gross.

I can’t imagine that would go on over here, maybe in certain parts of Carlow but certainly not widespread. Sounds like a German fetish.

You don’t think it’s possible to intensify the orgasm or that it’s not possible to have a bowel movement while receiving oral sex?

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

It's possible my friend. There is a Nigerian lady who operates out of an apartment in Temple Bar that specialises in it.

Best not tried when a man has had 12 pints of porter. The stench and cleanup operation are a disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Gross.

I can’t imagine that would go on over here, maybe in certain parts of Carlow but certainly not widespread. Sounds like a German fetish.

You don’t think it’s possible to intensify the orgasm or that it’s not possible to have a bowel movement while receiving oral sex?

I don't think it would be possible to have a physical orgasm as the bowel is pushing out shyte.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭NSAman

Oh for the love of Jaysus, Blow Jobs while having a ****e... old people complaining of life ebbing away.

I am in my 50's am enjoying every single day. Love where I live currently, Love my job, love the people around me and have more fun now that I have ever had in my life.

I hated my teens (full of self doubt and shy), hated my twenties (apart from a long stint abroad, getting life and business experience), hated the start of my thirties until I hit 35. Then I figured out that sitting in a job you hate, wasting yourself away and taking no chances is not worth it. I left Ireland and went away to different countries, tried new things, worked with interesting people and decided to ONLY do what I enjoyed doing.

So far I have been to over 80 countries, lived in 7 of them and decided to finally take the plunge and set up home abroad for the foreseeable future.

If I dont want to do something then I wont. If I want to do something I do it, no matter if it fails. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

Currently, in my fifties I am more healthy, having more fun and meeting the most wonderful and interesting people I have ever met. I have made new friends (while maintaining my old friends) and there are few countries that I can visit now that I do not know someone.

Life is for living, whats all this I'm getting old, I'm getting bald, I haven't had a blowjob while having a sh1t about??? Just get on with it all, love and live life to the fullest....

NSAman wrote: »
    Oh for the love of Jaysus, Blow Jobs while having a ****e... old people complaining of life ebbing away.

I am in my 50's am enjoying every single day. Love where I live currently, Love my job, love the people around me and have more fun now that I have ever had in my life.

I hated my teens (full of self doubt and shy), hated my twenties (apart from a long stint abroad, getting life and business experience), hated the start of my thirties until I hit 35. Then I figured out that sitting in a job you hate, wasting yourself away and taking no chances is not worth it. I left Ireland and went away to different countries, tried new things, worked with interesting people and decided to ONLY do what I enjoyed doing.

So far I have been to over 80 countries, lived in 7 of them and decided to finally take the plunge and set up home abroad for the foreseeable future.

If I dont want to do something then I wont. If I want to do something I do it, no matter if it fails. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

Currently, in my fifties I am more healthy, having more fun and meeting the most wonderful and interesting people I have ever met. I have made new friends (while maintaining my old friends) and there are few countries that I can visit now that I do not know someone.

Life is for living, whats all this I'm getting old, I'm getting bald, I haven't had a blowjob while having a sh1t about??? Just get on with it all, love and live life to the fullest....

Sounds like you're trying to hard to prove how great your life is my friend. Most people get out of the bumming around grimey hostels in sh*thole countries in their 20s.

Can't say that flitting around the world with no base would appeal to me. Much happier with the wife, kids, 181 Audi Q7, a job that pays shed loads of cash and a few holidays to nice places every year.

Sounds like you're trying to hard to prove how great your life is my friend. Most people get out of the bumming around grimey hostels in sh*thole countries in their 20s.

Can't say that flitting around the world with no base would appeal to me. Much happier with the wife, kids, 181 Audi Q7, a job that pays shed loads of cash and a few holidays to nice places every year.

Sounds like you're trying *too hard to prove how great your life is.

For someone who loves the adventures and freedom of travelling, they wouldn't see the appeal in your mapped out life.

But, hey, each to their own.

Sounds like you're trying *too hard to prove how great your life is.

For someone who loves the adventures and freedom of travelling, they wouldn't see the appeal in your mapped out life.

But, hey, each to their own.

Not in my experience lad.

Men have been forming family units and settling down after a period of travel and adventure since time immemorial. Reproduction is what life is about. In my experience people who can't settle and travel are generally running away from themselves. But no matter where they go, they're always with themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I'm not quite sure - I'm 47, but I think my whole life has been a mid-life crisis of sorts. I will say that now, on "lap 2" relationship-wise, I'm having more and better sex than I ever did, not to mention more travelling, shows, restaurants and fun generally.
    ...In my experience people who can't settle and travel are generally running away from themselves. But no matter where they go, they're always with themselves.

What are you running away from to a dingy flat in the city centre half-cut to have yourself interfered with by a lady of questionable standard while defecating? That is surely the act of a devout lunatic! :pac::pac::pac:

Not in my experience lad.

Men have been forming family units and settling down after a period of travel and adventure since time immemorial. Reproduction is what life is about. In my experience people who can't settle and travel are generally running away from themselves. But no matter where they go, they're always with themselves.

Times are changing, Pad.

We have to realise that "settling down" isn't for everyone. Think of all the people who are trapped in unhappy marriages, tied down to mortgages just because they think it's the done thing.

I don't think it would be possible to have a physical orgasm as the bowel is pushing out shyte.

I mean, I don’t mean to be crude, but would there not be lots of men orgasming from being penetrated, possibly while getting “a reacharound”?

That could be through homosexual coitus or when a man likes having a woman pretend to be a man by using a dildo on him.

The tide is turning…