Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, what time will you be back at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

skyblue46 wrote: »
    All the best for Sunday. Keep it between the ditches!

Thanks S- looking forward to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

Good luck tomorrow. You’ve a nicely consistent block of training behind you and every reason to be confident. Looking forward to hearing all about it!

Huzzah! wrote: »
    Good luck tomorrow. You’ve a nicely consistent block of training behind you and every reason to be confident. Looking forward to hearing all about it!

Thanks very much E!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Best of luck tomorrow F, though as I said earlier I don't think you will need it. Your training was spot on. I remember you saying something to me before Manchester and now I can say it to you , "go get that medal!"

You got this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭tbukela

Best of luck tomorrow, you've all the hard work put in and tomorrow you'll reap the benefits and have a great race.

Best of luck tomorrow F, though as I said earlier I don't think you will need it. Your training was spot on. I remember you saying something to me before Manchester and now I can say it to you , "go get that medal!"

You got this.

Ah thanks L, very kind.

The nerves have been building since yesterday afternoon, starting to relax now, I really don’t like the waiting game!!

tbukela wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow, you've all the hard work put in and tomorrow you'll reap the benefits and have a great race.

Thanks tbukela, very kind

Unofficial 4:16. It was hellish. My hips and top of legs got really sore and painful from mile 14. I’ll write more later. A 7 min pb on dcm.

Everyone ran around 26.8miles.....not cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Dealerz2.0 wrote: »
    Unofficial 4:16. It was hellish. My hips and top of legs got really sore and painful from mile 14. I’ll write more later. A 7 min pb on dcm.

Well done, sounds like it was tough going so to run a PB is a great result. 26.8 miles, jeez that’s WAY long!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Dealerz2.0 wrote: »

Delighted it's the over for you. Those final miles take you to hell and back. To run in pain from mile 14 shows how tough you are. You'd need to be incredibly focused to not bail in those conditions. Nothing in there whatsoever to be disappointed with.
    A 7 minute PB!! That's freaking awesome. Hope you have your feet up now and are enjoying the celebrations and lovely post marathon high.

You just ran a god damn marathon. It's an unforgiving distance and she takes no prisoners.
    You rock buddy!

Can't wait to read your report.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Firstly - well done on the pb. That is great. Secondly, it’s a marathon and a bloody long distance to run and so much room for things to go wrong so a huge achievement to have run another one, never mind in a whole load of pain. Very well done for that.

I see on Facebook the organizers are apologizing for the course being 600+ meters too long. Not cool!

Recover well and looking forward to reading your report. Try not to be too disappointed. You achieved something huge today just finishing and I bet your friends and family are so proud of that.

Official time is now 4:21- I too made a mess of timings- but still a pb on DCM.

The highlights: official time is 4:21, slightly faster than DCM last year. A pb, a disappointing pb but a pb none the less. Yesterday will make me learn some hard lessons/truths.

Backstory: the training block couldn't have gone any better but on the day the body failed.

My second marathon yesterday in Belfast. In the cold light of day this morning having breakfast yes I probably, actually definitely, made some of the same race days errors as DCM last year.

The previous day was our eldest 9th birthday in TGI's with her friends, a great party, my wife described it as "sex in the city cocktail party but without the cocktails". Home to relax by 6pm, perfect.

Bed at 10, but woke at 3:30, and then tossed and turned till the alarm went off at 5:15. Dressed, breakfast and on road with the 3 other suckas at 6:00. Not too many issues getting parking and getting to start area. Not sure why but the adrenaline wasn't there, strange.

The lads I was with, one was going for 3:30, and the rest of us were 4hrs.

And we are off, great crowd and atmosphere in the grounds of stormont.....never ever thought I'd find myself here on a May bank holiday Sunday.

Miles1-3
    Found myself about 60 yards behind 4hr Pacers, wasn't too bothered. Decided to get a bit closer to them, pace was faster here but thought once I'm around the pacers they will keep me honest....don't over think as the pacers are managing it.
    Avg pace around 8:50

Miles 4-6
    The pacers started to split up here as did me and lads, I tried to hold back as lads caught up with the "fast" pacer. This really started to play on my mind. There was a good 200 yards or more difference between the two 4hr pacers.....why!!! I decided to split them up and just keep in the middle. The body was ok, although still didn't feel in my groove yet...felt I was over cooking it but I was still between pacers. Was the fast one trying to bank time? ****e.
    Avg pace was moving back towards 9min miles. Why is my watch not synced with the road mile markings...ignore it, it's grand.

Miles 7-9
    Moved out of the city now, the number of murals on the walls was increasing. Everything going grand the SPLAT!!!, a runner hit the curb with an awful noise, I looked back and she was with friends so I kept going and so did she fair play to her. My first encounter with the relay happened as we turned into ormeau park. Marshalls shouting instructions and runners zig zagging to get to next relay section was messy but that was probably the cleanest one of the relay change overs. Then as the new relay runners rejoined as we left the park and headed up ormeau road the new relay runners were flying by.....which is really tough to get your head around!!! Why is my watch so far off the mile markings, it's buzzing but I'm running a fair bit before I see the markings....what is going on?

Miles 10-12
    The fast pacer was definitely bloody fast, I was running 8:50 min miles here and not staying up with that pacer. SPLAT!!!!another runner fell behind me, she was in the middle of the road, she's ok, see some blood but she says she's ok to keep going. It was really frustrating, should I have just ran my own race, I thought I was doing the right thing going with the pacers but the impending crash and burn was now inevitable. Damn it!!!! I feel like the distance between my watch and the road markings is getting bigger....something ain't right.

Miles 13-15
    Was now starting to feel it, slowed the pace down, pain in right hip and top of right leg had started...I'm so far from the finish line....god this will be torture...just keep going!!!! Pace was 9:20 min mile. The god dam fcuking relay change overs again, people roaring names to find their next runner, other runners closed all the way trying to see approaching relay runners then more runners sprinting by me....fcuking hate relays so bad now! Have to try and ignore my watch and just look for mile markings on road.

Mile 16-19
    Was really suffering now, right leg tightening up....the first walk....another fail...another marathon i didn't run the whole lot....marathons are a lonely place when your legs are gone. Can't remember much of this section bar the big climb and the lovely lake with guys fishing....I needed to get to the finish....I needed to get to the finish....c'mon. The "slow" 4 hr pacer passed me around here....gone!!

Miles 20-26
    God my legs are so sore and tight, I'd switched to a half mile of walk and run now to get home. Another bloody relay changeover!!!! The 4:15 pacers passed me at mile 25.....****e!!! One of the lads passed me here he was struggling too...his Achilles! Need to get moving, get yourself to the finish, just get moving. Feels like every mile here is more than a mile, it’s soul destroying when you feel your watch buzz but you know it's not the right mileage....just get home. Watch read 26.2 and I was still short of finish line. Although it was the slowest paced mile, I felt it was mentally my strongest, I was still running when I could, the mind was winning again!!!

I got home, I did the best I could with what cards I dealt myself, held back a few tears that were coming and shuffled to the medal counter....I bloody deserved it....marathons are tough.

The toughest of torture.

Post race....the mate was just ahead of me, I asked what did you run, he says 4:15, I say 4:16 it says on the clock but something ain't right, he says the bloody mileage is wrong, I check my watch, forgot to stop it, check it.....it says 26.78...with a time of 4:22....Garmin says I've earned a new distance badge....fcuk off Garmin, just fcuk off......Christ what's going on....head is spinning....I've no idea of my time because of the extra bit of mileage.....this all happens in 5 seconds and then we gave each other man hugs....we were in the trenches and survived to run again....beaten....but not out.....I'll have my revenge!!!

Post-post race:
    It was carnage, no fruit or food in the finish area...a relay runner tried to skip...A Marshall told him where to fcuk off to with his relay bib!!! Baggage claim took 40 mins, wrecked, saw two guys puking and fainting while waiting. The organisers had 4 lines into 1 to collect bags...a disaster. The shuttle bus brought you to city and then another shuttle bus back to stormont.....such a long day....everyone talking about the distance and then Bbc sport and organisers issued a statement stating it was too long cause the race car diverted from the route....thanks for that.

Summary:
    I officially ran an ultra marathon yesterday.It was such a tough day, I got a pb, I don't know what pb as official timings still seem "off". Went too fast (again!), thought I was doing the right thing by sticking with pacers but the pace was well above 4hr for too long.

Was talking to fellow DCM novices from last year, I need to try and have a "good" marathon or I'll get scar tissue. I need to scrap the 4hr plans and go with 4:10 or 4:20 pace for DCM in October....I need a positive marathon, a good base or platform marathon race to build from.

The body is sore but the mind is making plans again.....ill have my revenge yet!!!!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Well done, sounds like it was tough going so to run a PB is a great result. 26.8 miles, jeez that’s WAY long!!!

It was definitely way long....thanks again

Delighted it's the over for you. Those final miles take you to hell and back. To run in pain from mile 14 shows how tough you are. You'd need to be incredibly focused to not bail in those conditions. Nothing in there whatsoever to be disappointed with.
    A 7 minute PB!! That's freaking awesome. Hope you have your feet up now and are enjoying the celebrations and lovely post marathon high.

You just ran a god damn marathon. It's an unforgiving distance and she takes no prisoners.
    You rock buddy!

Can't wait to read your report.....

Thank you L- I don’t know why we do it to ourselves!!! Looks like it’s only a one min pb....but I’ll take that small victory!

Kellygirl wrote: »
    Firstly - well done on the pb. That is great. Secondly, it’s a marathon and a bloody long distance to run and so much room for things to go wrong so a huge achievement to have run another one, never mind in a whole load of pain. Very well done for that.

I see on Facebook the organizers are apologizing for the course being 600+ meters too long. Not cool!

Recover well and looking forward to reading your report. Try not to be too disappointed. You achieved something huge today just finishing and I bet your friends and family are so proud of that.

Thanks very much for the kind words...a communion next week is a welcome distraction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Well done again F. You'd said it was tough but the report really gives more depth into how much you suffered but still battled on. And got a PB! they all count :)
    Dealerz2.0 wrote:
    Was talking to fellow DCM novices from last year, I need to try and have a "good" marathon or I'll get scar tissue. I need to scrap the 4hr plans and go with 4:10 or 4:20 pace for DCM in October....I need a positive marathon, a good base or platform marathon race to build from.

I wouldn't make any decision now on a target time for a race that's 6 months away. You're in the post marathon shatteredness and no sensible decisions are made then :)
    You've more training to get done by then, more races to help you figure out where you're at by then and those races will also help you practice all the race morning routines (or day before resting :p)

And maybe at DCM you will decide you just want to run it all, target a time that doesn't push you etc, or you might feel stronger and go for a time that training / races suggest. But don't make that decision now. Lots of time to think about it all.

But enjoy the PB feeling this week and the rest! You deserve the lie-ins for sure

Newly released results are now having me finish at 4:19!

ReeReeG wrote: »
    Well done again F. You'd said it was tough but the report really gives more depth into how much you suffered but still battled on. And got a PB! they all count :)

I wouldn't make any decision now on a target time for a race that's 6 months away. You're in the post marathon shatteredness and no sensible decisions are made then :)
    You've more training to get done by then, more races to help you figure out where you're at by then and those races will also help you practice all the race morning routines (or day before resting :p)

And maybe at DCM you will decide you just want to run it all, target a time that doesn't push you etc, or you might feel stronger and go for a time that training / races suggest. But don't make that decision now. Lots of time to think about it all.

But enjoy the PB feeling this week and the rest! You deserve the lie-ins for sure

Thanks V, you are absolutely right, I’m going to enjoy a nice break from running and recover physically and mentally....and then get ready to go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

To get a PB on such a day is no mean feat, I certainly wouldn't diminish it. Especially as the whole thing seems to have been a disaster on so many levels. Recover well, and have a look at some plans when you're fit and healthy again.

Thanks very much- really appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

I blame Brexit.:D

Well done Fran, get some rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

That's a great report but it sounds *terrible*. ... Well done for battling through.

Take a few weeks off to eat and drink too much, watch TV . You can do the planning later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Ouch. Sounds incredibly painful. Like the others have said, forget about planning for now. Take a few weeks to rest and recover and just get back into running and enjoy it before you start thinking about what you want to do next.

After my first DCM I went from Cork City marathon to DCM again and struggled in both. With 20:20 hind sight and all that, there’s a lot to be said for giving the body a break and working on shorter stuff for a while and building a good base before attacking the marathon again. Wait and see how you feel and enjoy the fact that you have run 2 marathons!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Huzzah!

First off, and most importantly, congrats on the PB. You'd a tough day out and your PB was hard earned.

Secondly, I agree with the others: take at least two weeks off. It's something we all should do more of! Don't be worrying about plans or strategy for Dublin.

Thirdly, I've never had a good experience with pacers and how to manage a race is something we all have to learn. It's very hard to back yourself and let the pacers go if they seem too fast.

Enjoy the break!

That's a great report but it sounds *terrible*. ... Well done for battling through.

Take a few weeks off to eat and drink too much, watch TV . You can do the planning later.

Oh I’m definitely heading down the eating and drinking too much path for a week or two- thanks

A nice little break is definitely on the cards- thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭yido1882

Well done Fran, it's a savage achievement to even be completing another marathon so soon after your first. Well done for pushing on when your legs weren't playing ball and everything else going on around you. Think that relay lark would p!ss me off too!

Enjoy the well earned rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

Oh God! Reading your account really makes you appreciate the good organisation of DCM. So many things throwing you off from the relay teams to fast pacers to the mileage being fecked up and then your body complaining. It was a really tough one but you got through it and on top of that got yourself a pb. It sucks not getting the time you want but it really is the effort you put in that counts. Well deserved medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,947 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Congrats on the PB. That's a great report, very honest and I'm really impressed with how you dug in to get to the finish line. It takes a lot of guts to dig in and see it through when the target is out the window and everything seems to be against you.

There's not a whole pile I can add to the great advice you've already received here - relax and recover, mentally as much as physically as you say.