Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

ITS THE EGOS JOE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

naughto wrote: »
    He’s no where fit depending who you talk to it’s not his knee but his hamstring.

Another thing why wasn’t O’Shea moved in on Cox he did a job on the Kerry super star surly he could have job on cox

No offense but his is like something you'd hear in the pub. The type of ball going into Donaghy was completely different than the type of ball fed to Cox. O'Shea would have got destroyed by a more mobile Cox.
    Horan got a lot of things wrong, not moving AOS back defending was not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

naughto wrote: »
    He’s no where fit depending who you talk to it’s not his knee but his hamstring.

Another thing why wasn’t O’Shea moved in on Cox he did a job on the Kerry super star surly he could have job on cox

NO
    JUST NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

naughto wrote:

You on the wacky backy again? Heard it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

This grief Hennelly is getting is unreal. I read earlier someone say Hennelly had one good game in the league and is now first choice. Regardless of what you think about him that Is inaccurate. He was MOTM v Dublin & excellent v Kerry.

He cost us a goal through a big mistake on a short kick out. Fair enough. I thought he was much better second half. Horan gave game time to both keepers in the league & Rob was notably better. Clarke was shocking in some of the games he played. Kick-outs abysmal. Hennelly is the scapegoat for Saturdays game but I’d be more concerned about Higgins lack of effort in chasing down Cregg for the first goal. Or what about Mayo having a free out, Higgins getting involved in afters & picks up a yellow card. Hop ball, should be a goal but Hennelly saves it & the Rossies nail the resulting ‘45. We lose the game by a point. Nobody talking about this though.

There is a serious lack of discipline in the team. Higgins should have been hooked after the above incident in my opinion. Leeroy needs to cop himself on as well. Start focusing on the football and the last minute shot might actually go over the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

naughto wrote:

You on the wacky backy again? Heard it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

km79 wrote: »
    Neither did Horan

To be fair, I don't know what he could have done as Roscommon flooded their defence with all their players. They were holding out for a break and hit us on the break. We were pushing hard for the scores.

It all comes down to easy goals which gave Roscommon a buffer. It gave them great confidence to run at us as well. If we didn't let those goals in, we would have won easily as they would never believe they could have beaten us and we would always have kept them at arms length even considering how bad our shooting was.

Six handy points makes it so easy for them. We will get better and we are good enough to get through the qualifiers.

This grief Hennelly is getting is unreal. I read earlier someone say Hennelly had one good game in the league and is now first choice. Regardless of what you think about him that Is inaccurate. He was MOTM v Dublin & excellent v Kerry.

He cost us a goal through a big mistake on a short kick out. Fair enough. I thought he was much better second half. Horan gave game time to both keepers in the league & Rob was notably better. Clarke was shocking in some of the games he played. Kick-outs abysmal. Hennelly is the scapegoat for Saturdays game but I’d be more concerned about Higgins lack of effort in chasing down Cregg for the first goal. Or what about Mayo having a free out, Higgins getting involved in afters & picks up a yellow card. Hop ball, should be a goal but Hennelly saves it & the Rossies nail the resulting ‘45. We lose the game by a point. Nobody talking about this though.

There is a serious lack of discipline in the team. Higgins should have been hooked after the above incident in my opinion. Leeroy needs to cop himself on as well. Start focusing on the football and the last minute shot might actually go over the bar.

100% higgins should have been hauled off.
    The problem with RH is he is just too risky and inconsistent. He is better than clarke on the kick outs as he can ping a ball better but everything else he is second best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Barlett

I was told he absolutely could have played a part Saturday. What's done is done now though.

One thing is for sure though, we badly need him back. Hands up who was confident that we were going to put that last free over? Andy also kicked away a free near the end as well when it should have been placed on the ground. We've got bigger problems but it was a glaring deficiency on Saturday.

People keep asking this question alright but in the post match interview Horan said he’ll be back next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Why wasn't he is the question!

With all due respect its a stupid ****ing question. Im going to go out on a limb here and say because he wasnt fit and ready bit no doubt you've heard different from some impeccable source. I mean seriously come on :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

To be fair, I don't know what he could have done as Roscommon flooded their defence with all their players. They were holding out for a break and hit us on the break. We were pushing hard for the scores.

It all comes down to easy goals which gave Roscommon a buffer. It gave them great confidence to run at us as well. If we didn't let those goals in, we would have won easily as they would never believe they could have beaten us and we would always have kept them at arms length even considering how bad our shooting was.

Six handy points makes it so easy for them. We will get better and we are good enough to get through the qualifiers.

The issue for Mayo isn’t if they can make it through the Qualifiers but the toll it will take on the bodies with the new Super 8s format to come immediately afterwards, something Mayo haven’t even experienced yet. I think the Super 8s make the pathway to seriously challenging for the AISFs almost impossible for teams who are dumped out early in their provinces. Monaghan got a dream draw last year but it’s unlikely anyone will get that lucky this year. And indeed the reward for getting to the AISFs is a match the very next week.

Apart from Dublin no county panel is set up to cope with the attrition a run of at least six games in seven weeks will cause. It’s the league on steroids with pretty much no margin for error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭eastmayo

Anyone no if we can meet Ross again if they lose the connacht final provided we win our next few games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

With all due respect its a stupid ****ing question. Im going to go out on a limb here and say because he wasnt fit and ready bit no doubt you've heard different from some impeccable source. I mean seriously come on :rolleyes:

Ah look, I'm not a journalist with "sources". I just got talking to a person who knows the fitness status of a GAA player, not a CIA member who told me 9/11 was a false flag operation. Believe it or don't believe it, there's no need to get up on your high horse about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

eastmayo wrote: »
    Anyone no if we can meet Ross again if they lose the connacht final provided we win our next few games?

Not, a rematch will be avoided if possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

eastmayo wrote: »

Will be avoided if possible

That said Round 3 - if we get there - is looking tricky already this year

Monaghan, Donegal/Tyrone, our good friends Kildare, Cavan/Armagh all potential opposition if I have it right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

jr86 wrote: »
    Will be avoided if possible

That said Round 3 - if we get there - is looking tricky already this year

Monaghan, Donegal/Tyrone, our good friends Kildare, Cavan/Armagh all potential opposition if I have it right

Galway could also be waiting in the wings as the Rossies will probably win Connacht!

Ah look, I'm not a journalist with "sources". I just got talking to a person who knows the fitness status of a GAA player, not a CIA member who told me 9/11 was a false flag operation. Believe it or don't believe it, there's no need to get up on your high horse about it.

Sound, im down off my high horse now, suitably chastened and embarrassed :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭jj72

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Galway could also be waiting in the wings as the Rossies will probably win Connacht!

That'd be round 4!... Seems a long ways away at the minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

BENDYBINN wrote: »

That's the round after that..

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Is the situation that if we get a lower division team that we are away?

Its behind a paywall, this is it
    It was a good weekend for the teams at the level just below the top of the football championship.

I’d say it’s fairly clear at this stage that Dublin are out on their own, with Tyrone, Kerry and Mayo (yes, still!) next in line. After that, you’re looking at the teams who’ll make it to the Super 8s but probably not a lot further – Donegal and Roscommon are in this group and they both had really impressive wins away from home.

There was a moment in Donegal’s win over Fermanagh in Enniskillen that I found interesting. It was shortly after half-time and the game was still tight – I think there was only a point in it. Michael Murphy took a shot at goal for Donegal but he skied it under pressure and as the ball was in the air, you’d imagine Rory Gallagher was happy enough with life.

This is what you want from your team when you set up a blanket defence. You want to make life as uncomfortable as possible for the other team’s best player so he has to resort to taking on a bad shot out of desperation. Fermanagh had everybody back and had forced this mistake.

The problem for them came as the ball fell to earth. For all the bodies Fermanagh had in the area, nobody made it their business to get under the dropping ball. There were three defenders and the goalkeeper all in the vicinity and they stood looking at it like ducks in thunder. When the ball landed, all four of them were inside the big square, with no Donegal player in alongside them and still they stood and stared.

No Fermanagh player was taking it upon himself to go and deal with it, none of them looked like they had a sense of what to do. It was as if they were stuck to the ground, as if all notions of defending had left them.

Defenders are supposed to sniff danger, to anticipate, to expect the worst and react accordingly. None of the Fermanagh players did this and they allowed Patrick McBrearty – who wasn’t even in the square when the ball bounced – to nip in and punch a point.

To me, it showed the difference between a team that has got so regimented in its system and one that has moved on to the next level for a good few years at this stage.

The blanket defence will always be associated with Donegal but they don’t stick to it rigidly the way Fermanagh do because they have bigger ambitions than just keeping things tight. Plus, they have players like McBrearty who can sense an opportunity.

Slick outfit
    It showed too there’s still a place in the game for the high ball into the square. Now obviously, this wasn’t a planned move but the principle still stands.

When you launch one in there, the defence has to deal with it. You’re asking them the question and if you can get fellas in there competing for it with honesty and ferocity, the answer isn’t straightforward. Fermanagh had all the sweepers and all the bodies in the world back there but once they had to actually do more than just cover off space and watch for runners, they were in trouble.

Donegal are a slick outfit and they’ll give Tyrone plenty of it on Saturday week. I’d still like to see Michael Murphy spend less of his time so far out the field but Declan Bonner obviously likes having him there just for his sheer presence. I can see where he’s coming from – that’s where the majority of the game is fought out so having your main man out where he can influence the game is understandable. But he’s so good in front of goal too.

The Rossies have good players, fit and strong and hardy and they’re in their fourth Connacht final in a row
    The thing that struck me about Donegal and Roscommon – and about Mayo too, for all the giving out about them since Saturday – was that the basic skills of catching and kicking and punch passing were mostly on the money. That’s what puts them a cut above the likes of Fermanagh, just those nitty-gritty things that keep the ball alive and on the move. Very few passes behind a fella’s back, very few overhit balls dribbling out over the endline. What they make look simple is not so simple for the teams below them.

Donegal are a slick outfit and they’ll give Tyrone plenty of it in the Ulster semi-final on Saturday week.

Roscommon put themselves in the right position to take advantage of Mayo’s shooting troubles on Saturday night. It was no massive shock they were able to do so – you can tell watching them this is a team who had been in and out of Division One football for a number of years.

I don’t care if you’re constantly being relegated and yo-yoing between Division One and Two, the fact they’ve spent plenty of time playing against the top teams and players means they know what it takes to live with them.

Cavan didn’t beat Monaghan by accident either – those players have experience of looking the big teams between the eyes. Fair enough, they’ve taken a few beatings and got relegated again. But that’s all experience. No point going through it if you don’t use it down the line.

The Rossies have good players, fit and strong and hardy and they’re in their fourth Connacht final in a row. They have that bit of craft and they have that bit of resilience. They always seem to take to a wet day as well, which isn’t something you can say about all teams. I would fully expect to see them in the Super 8s, along with Donegal.

And despite all the doom and gloom, I would have no real doubt Mayo will be there as well. As ever, people tend to get carried away when Mayo are concerned. To me, the reaction to them getting beaten on Saturday night has been way over the top.

Silly goal
    They lost by a point to a top-eight team in a game where they kicked 17 wides and gave away a silly goal from a kick-out. It’s a bad result but it’s no disaster either. Look at who they’ll have back by the time they get to the qualifiers – Donie Vaughan, Cillian O’Connor, Seamie O’Shea and Fionn McDonagh. Does anyone really think they can’t fix their shooting and start building momentum through the qualifiers? Of course they can.

That wasn’t a difficult free but the Mayo players made it harder than it seemed because there was no obvious leadership around the ball
    The couple of things that would worry me from a Mayo point of view are (a) the fact Andy Moran is starting to look his age, and (b) the dithering over the free at the end. Moran still has that knack of being able to get possession in tight spots and to make a good ball out of a bad one.

But unless Mayo are able to get runners around him straight away now, he looks like getting bottled up. Defenders know his game a long time at this stage and they can tell where he wants to go. So if he doesn’t have a quick option, the Mayo attack slows down. That’s no use to them and they need to decide what his role is going to be.

You can tell it’s frustrating for him. His black card was his own fault, caught in possession just that little bit slower than he’d like to be and grabbing out to trip the Roscommon player. I always think it’s a tell-tale sign when a player who has never been known for indiscipline throughout his career starts getting on the wrong side of the referee. He knows the story.

That black card had consequences, as it meant he wasn’t on the field to take control of the situation at the end. That wasn’t a difficult free but the Mayo players made it harder than it seemed because there was no obvious leadership around the ball. Diarmuid O’Connor would have thought he was doing the right thing by telling Kevin McLoughlin it was his free but he misjudged the situation. He thought he needed a left-footed kicker when really what he needed was a leader.

Put it this way. I was watching Kieran Donaghy doing the TV broadcast of the game. Now, nobody – Donaghy included – would be making big claims about his kicking abilities and in his whole Kerry career I’d be surprised if he ever kicked a single free. But I’d have had no hesitation handing him that free on Saturday night. And he’d have been over in a flash looking for it.

Just at that moment on Saturday night, Mayo froze on the pitch when they couldn’t afford to. But that’s out of character for them so you can be fairly sure it won’t happen again. And any team can have a bad day shooting so you’d imagine they’ll patch that up as well.

All in all, it was a good weekend of Donegal and Roscommon but I’d be surprised if Mayo weren’t still standing after those two have fallen away.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

100% - We are still in the championship after a mistaken laden game and anyone who thought it was a big shock haven't been watching Rossies. They are getting little credit for their win and again I do think they could take Galway and will be bouncing into that final with a big boost.

We have to sort out the keeper, RH confidence is shot now, he is a confidence player, Clarke is a man on his last years, his kickouts aren't great but he does the things are keeper should do well. But then we do have other keepers who should have got a run out in the league. Slingerman has the soccer background, but I've no idea what he is like under a high ball.

I think Cox would and will continue to give the defender a nightmare so while Higgins looked poor and leggy Id cut him some slack.

The free was a bit of a balls, the wind was tricky but the lads at this stage should be able to pop it over, the discussions and flipping of who to take it was weird, should be known well in advance.
    Ruane in his first championship game will learn and get stronger.

Remember in the 1st 15 mins or so we could have been up by 6 points but for poor shooting. We need to address this, never seem to be able to keep calm and pop it over.

At the end of the day we are in for the AI final position as anyone else. Use the games to learn and fix what the issues are, we had last year off so they should be fresh.

Panic is been dished out by the idiots like Brolly and Breheny, and the trolls who appear on social media and forums like this when ever we lose and they just don't like us. If that bothers anyone then just ignore it.

yop wrote: »
    100% - We are still in the championship after a mistaken laden game and anyone who thought it was a big shock haven't been watching Rossies. They are getting little credit for their win and again I do think they could take Galway and will be bouncing into that final with a big boost.

We have to sort out the keeper, RH confidence is shot now, he is a confidence player, Clarke is a man on his last years, his kickouts aren't great but he does the things are keeper should do well. But then we do have other keepers who should have got a run out in the league. Slingerman has the soccer background, but I've no idea what he is like under a high ball.

I think Cox would and will continue to give the defender a nightmare so while Higgins looked poor and leggy Id cut him some slack.

The free was a bit of a balls, the wind was tricky but the lads at this stage should be able to pop it over, the discussions and flipping of who to take it was weird, should be known well in advance.

Remember in the 1st 15 mins or so we could have been up by 6 points but for poor shooting. We need to address this, never seem to be able to keep calm and pop it over.

At the end of the day we are in for the AI final position as anyone else. Use the games to learn and fix what the issues are, we had last year off so they should be fresh.

Panic is been dished out by the idiots like Brolly and Breheny, and the trolls who appear on social media and forums like this when ever we lose and they just don't like us. If that bothers anyone then just ignore it.

I really dont get why some people get so het about journalists/pundits etc they are only offering their opinion as they see it and tbh its hard to argue with what the two mentioned have written. Most journos would love to see us win the AI, they would have great copy to keep them going through the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭spakman

I really dont get why some people get so het about journalists/pundits etc they are only offering their opinion as they see it and tbh its hard to argue with what the two mentioned have written. Most journos would love to see us win the AI, they would have great copy to keep them going through the winter.

Except Breheny. He is making his livelyhood by rehashing the same articles about Mayo's failure to land the AI. He could just phone it in at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

yop wrote: »

There is a good bit of panic, you're right, and it is probably over the top. I was nervous about this match beforehand as I just had an inkling about it and felt we had shown weaknesses in the league that were papered over by winning the trophy in the end. I wasnt overly surprised by Roscommon winning, but was still somewhat shocked by some of the events that unfolded on the day. Some of it indicated to me a lack of preparation which would surprise me from James Horan and shouldn't really be acceptable going into a championship game.

That all said, its interesting to hear outside perspectives and read opinions that aren't as doom and gloom as what's being said within the county. Interesting that Hennelly doesn't seem to be shouldering as much blame from outside critics as he is from those within the county, though I agree he is a confidence player and will be rattled by that game on Saturday. Clarke needed to steady the ship there.
    I'm still not very optimistic about our problems being solved on the road, but I guess we'll see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Its behind a paywall, this is it

That article is all over the place, did he write it in a hurry or something?

dog_pig wrote: »
    That article is all over the place, did he write it in a hurry or something?

Hey, i only posted it, there was a paywall blocked link by another poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Hey, i only posted it, there was a paywall blocked link by another poster.

Haha I know, wasn't going after you. Thanks for posting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭BandMember

spakman wrote: »
    Except Breheny. He is making his livelyhood by rehashing the same articles about Mayo's failure to land the AI. He could just phone it in at this stage.

I think everyone here needs to calm down and remember Breheny's background and agenda when they sees articles like that. He is to journalism what Brolly is to punditry: a bitter fool who nobody takes seriously.