Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Robert Hennelly

Lee Keegan

Padraig O Hora

Michael Plunkett

Paddy Durcan

Oisin Mullin

Stephen Coen

Matthew Ruane

Conor Loftus

Bryan Walsh

Aidan O Shea ( C )

Diarmuid O Connor

Tommy Conroy

Darren McHale

Ryan O Donoghue

Minors go down 4-13 to 2-12

Shane Walsh starts for Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

As a Galway man I'm delighted but have serious doubts about his fitness. He's not a lad that can mind his hamstrings.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Didn't see it but it's a lot of goals to ship. Goals win games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Looks like Galway playing a sweeper on Sunday, Cathal Sweeney in at 12 and not a forward by any account. Probally looking to create space for finnerty and Walsh in the full forward line to create goal chances and shore up the middle at the back at the same time for the Mayo runners. Might work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I didn't say that the future is bolloxed, I said that I didn't think too many of these lads would be part of the future.

For what it is worth, I don't think we will be winning Sam anytime soon anyway (pretty sure I stated that a few months back).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

It’s just so impossible to navigate and so unstable. It’s woeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Avon8

Yeah but Heaney is used to playing as a forward and 19 year old Sweeney knows nothing but playing half back. Provided that's the team that's plays you'd have to think they'll switch positions. While Mayo's great half back line needs tracking, I'd say the idealist PJ would rather burn in a pot of oil than set up defensively in Croke Park. It could be to his demise, but we'll see. Molloy and the kids Kelly and Sweeney should be able to track runners at the very least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Anyone got any ideas as to how the Mayo team will line out tomorrow?. Will o’hora start as named, or will someone else start in his place?. He’s due a shot and he has a lot of the attributes we would need for this game IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I mean in general the team does not line out as named on the Thursday before the game which is understandable if there are injuries or in these times other issues such as close contacts or Covid itself.

Wouldn't it be great if managers had the balls to name a team and play it as named. I think it shows a lack of confidence in a team that you have to play mind games. They know who they have available no excuses. Give a guy his jersey and let him get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Poor performance from the ladies again yesterday. I fear the end of the Championship road will be next weekend against Galway.

Wouldn't surprise me to see Eoghan McLaughlin come into the half back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

Think I've got this anecdote right, but someone asked Ger Loughnane why he always waited til the last minute to name his team, saying it was unfair on the opposition who named their team first (something along those lines anyway). He said, "if it were up to me I wouldn't even tell the opposition where the game was on"

It's pure mind games. I'm numb to it at this stage but it is a bit of a drag having to wait til half an hour before throw in to find out the starting 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I see there is tickets for sale on-line now which suggest it was a bad idea. I was not in favor of the move of venue but thought if full-house the decision be justified....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭blowitupref

29,449 attended the last Mayo v Galway Connacht championship match that had supporters. Now a little over 1 hour before this encounter tickets are still on sale for a 18,000 capped capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

I actually thought the capacity was 30,000 which if full justify decision, will the admin eejits ever learn. They have absolutely no regard for supporters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

There will still be multiples of what MacHale park could hold, so probably justified in that sense.

Who's taking the frees for Mayo today? It could have a huge bearing on the game as most of Mayos scores in big games came from Cillians frees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭blowitupref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Hennelly should have been out for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Durcan asleep for that goal. Should never let Walsh get the jump on him there.

Need McLoughlin and Coen on at HT, probably for Walsh & Conroy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Conor Loftus FTW!😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Wow Galway had the game in the palm of their hands....

Make no mistake this result is because Galway stopped playing in the second half not due to the talent of Mayo. Is bottling things the defining trait of Connacht teams?

Dublin to beat Mayo by 5/6 points

As good a second half as you’ll see

delighted to beat Galway, Comer in particular is very easy to dislike

some second half from ROD, Ruane, Loftus and Mullen but Kevin Mc coming on turned the game, seemed to be on everything around the middle in the third quarter

disgraceful decision for RODs goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

Great second half performances. Hard to know what to make of it. Hope O'Hora is OK, was doing save work before the injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Delighted with that win.

A decisive scoreline in the end so there can't be any whinging.

And all without COC.. imagine what the score could've been if he'd been playing..