Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abortion Discussion, Part the Fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,910 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I remember during the debate here on repealing the 8th that attempts were made to estimate how many irish women were actually having abortions despite the ban. I seem to remember a figure of 10,000 a year was the generally agreed on number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,166 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I do find the whingeing about numbers more than a bit hypocritical given the Venn diagram of the people doing the whingeing, and those who oppose proper sex education, wider contraceptive availability and the morning after pill, is a circle.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,628 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I remember the nuclear-class pearl clutching when the first year's stats were '6666.' Sign of the Devil and all that twaddle. Hilarious.

Scotland enacts safe access zones.

Buffer zones around clinics offering abortion services in Scotland will come into force on 24 September.

The new law will prevent any protests or vigils from taking place within 200m (656ft) of 30 clinics around the country.

Our legislation only says 100m and, afaik, still hasn't been commenced yet by the minister…

Finally.

https://www.irishtimes.com/health/2024/09/13/safe-zones-surrounding-centres-providing-abortion-services-to-come-into-operation-next-month/

New “safe access zones” surrounding facilities providing abortion services, within which protests will be prohibited, are to come into operation next month.

Legislation passed earlier this year allowed for the establishment of “safe access zones” of 100m from an entrance or exit to a premises where obstetricians/gynaecologists and general practitioners provide services. These include consulting rooms, family planning clinics and women’s health clinics.

The new Health (Termination of Pregnancy Services) (Safe Access Zones) Act commencement order says that Thursday, October 17th, will be the day that the new arrangements will come into operation. The statutory instrument was laid before the Oireachtas in recent days.

Should be 200m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,819 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Fulton County Superior Court Judge Robert McBurney in Georgia ruled that the state cannot enforce its ban on abortion at six [6] weeks, ordering that abortion access must be regulated as it was before Georgia lawmakers passed the state’s anti-abortion law in 2019. The ban was blocked by the Roe V Wade SCOTUS ruling until SCOTUS overturned Roe V Wade in 2022. He mentioned Margaret Atwood’s best-selling novel, The Handmaid’s Tale in his opinion piece covering his ruling. “Women are not some piece of collectively owned community property the disposition of which is decided by majority vote,” he wrote. “Forcing a woman to carry an unwanted, not-yet-viable fetus to term violates her constitutional rights to liberty and privacy, even taking into consideration whatever bundle of rights the not-yet-viable fetus may have.”

Useless Georgia SCOTUS likely to overturn the ruling, they've overruled that Judge in the past.

Ghod hates Georgia, look what Hurricane Helene did.

Umm, yes, even letting the scourge of the US loose down there after Helene left.

It seems, according to an interview Melania Trump did with Hannity and Fox News on her new book, that she is Pro-choice. Script from interview: In the book, Melania passionately voices her support for abortion rights in a marked departure from her husband and the Republican party’s backpedalling of rights, according to an excerpt of the book obtained by The Guardian.

“Why should anyone other than the woman herself have the power to determine what she does with her own body?” she writes.

“A woman’s fundamental right of individual liberty, to her own life, grants her the authority to terminate her pregnancy if she wishes.”

“Restricting a woman’s right to choose whether to terminate an unwanted pregnancy is the same as denying her control over her own body. I have carried this belief with me throughout my entire adult life,” she reportedly writes elsewhere.

It marks one of the “political disagreements” Melania says she has with her husband, who has boasted about his pivotal role in the Supreme Court’s overturning of Roe v Wade.

"what first attracted you to multi-millionaire Donald Trump?"

Melania's support for women to have the right and ability to choose what they do with their bodies and not leave it to politicians or judges at state or federal level to interfere with and block the rights is great. I wont presume to have the right to comment further on her support for the same rights as she is a woman. Doubtless there are others who will do so.

The best thing Melania could do to support human rights and womens' rights is to shoot straight and not miss like those other eejits

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,787 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Another UCC report into abortion services, all seems to be going swimmingly

I'm assuming there's no prospect of legal change before the election, haven't seen any mention of the subject in months

100 metre protest safe access zone around medical establishments law kicks in today to stop anti-abortion protestors harassing public and staff entering and leaving the establishments.

I wonder will there be any Enoch Burke-type would-be martyrs trying to get themselves arrested? hopefully not. The Gardai have better things to be doing than dealing with people who can't accept democratic decisions

Wondered that myself. We'll just have to wait and see and then figure out where their they are getting their "guidance" from.

Sadly no surprise, but absolutely disgusting and directly caused by fascist anti-abortion laws that disallow abortion in the presence of fatal fetal abnormality, resulting in infant mortality going up.

Cruelty to the mother is the point, how evil of them for getting pregnant in the first place. Reinforces the absolute fact that religion is poison.

I expect the GQP states to find some way to miscount the numbers due to this, give them time. Just wholly evil.

https://www.salon.com/2024/10/21/infant-rose-nationwide-following-overturn-of-roe-v-wade-study-finds/?in_brief=true

“Whether the pregnancy was wanted or unwanted, we know that many of these are pregnancies that would have ended in abortion had people had access to those services,”

But but sanctity of life and all that… same people want you hanging on in pain / torment until the bitter end too.

While waiting for the opportunity to prosecute you on a charge of murder if you act in the best interests of no one except those suffering under the indignity of state law. it wouldn't do to show the lawmakers up for the political chancers and hypocrites they are.

Peadar Toibin wants more disabled babies to be born, regardless of the views of the women involved 🙄

It's amazing the amount of media coverage such a tiny organisation gets.

I've heard several people say that their candidates are saying on the doors that abortion is not an issue, they accept it etc. well I guess that's not strictly true now is it?

Aontu heading for electoral disaster despite the massive publicity 😂

And unfortunately, Independent Ireland who also advocate against abortion, seem to be doing quite well. We're lucky enough that the conservative far-right remain relatively small in this country so far. Guessing the larger part of religious conservatism is sucked up by the larger traditional parties who remain more centrist.

True. The rule I recommended to my friends here is if it has "Ireland" in its name, it's a party to avoid. Good to know "Independent Ireland" is anti-abortion too.

And, hey, no more Moscow Mick or Kremlin Clare. That's an electoral decision I can wildly applaud.

No Mick or Clare, but a strong likelihood of Hutch getting elected. Not sure we can be patting ourselves on the back quite yet ;)

Nope, Hutch is out thankfully.

Fantastic to see Daly and Wallace humiliated. Pair of absolute chancers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Idaho returns to days before the X Case:

https://www.courthousenews.com/ninth-circuit-rejects-challenge-to-idahos-abortion-trafficking-ban-with-some-caveats/

A Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals panel on Monday mostly rejected a challenge to an Idaho law that makes it a crime for an adult to assist a minor in obtaining an abortion or abortion medication in another state without their parent’s consent. […] “This is a tremendous victory for Idaho and defending the rule of law as written by the people’s representatives,” Idaho Attorney General Raúl Labrador said in a statement.  “Idaho’s laws were passed specifically to protect the life of the unborn and the life of the mother.  Trafficking a minor child for an abortion without parental consent puts both in grave danger, and we will not stop protecting life in Idaho.”

Just occurred to me that the X Case took place more than 30 years ago and not all posters may be familiar with it:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X_Case