Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Icelandic man

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

Something that’s puzzling me, in the last bit of cctv footage that shows the wooden fence where exactly is that? I thought it from was the entrance to Highfield hospital looking out onto swords road however looking at google maps it’s not. https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/cctv-footage-shows-last-movements-15886350.amp

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

Not to keep on going back to the €4,000 but the only way this could have been lost is in a cash game. The festival schedule can be found here:

https://dublinpokerfestival.com/?page_id=39

You can see from the guide that the most in tournament losses he could have had would €230 maybe + the €80 if timing allowed him to enter the turbo too. So the losses would have to have come in the side cash games. Now the cash games are untracked so the only way they could have got to the €4,000 is either from dealer/fellow player testimony or only by an admission by himself to his Girlfriend the next morning which the Gardai then took as fact.

One key question I would be asking in this would be how was the €4,000 made up. Was it all cash he carried through with him or was it from bank cards. I have to assume it was all cash. Bank cards are very hard to withdraw from abroad with low maximum daily withdrawals and you never really want your financial institutions finding out about €4,000 weekend poker splurges. Let's say it was all cash. The most you can carry into the country without declaring it is €10,000 I think. Assuming he carried in the max before declaration so says €9,999 to last him for the 10 days. I am going to assume the guy didn't make a customs declaration on entry and wasn't carrying more than the €10,000 max. So In anyone's life blowing 40% of your stash 10% into your holiday before the girlfriend arrives is not within the parameters of normal losses.

Going back to the cash games the highest blinds they would typically play in the Bonnington from my mild observations would be max €1/€2. Someone feel free to correct me on this because I don't play the cash games myself. The average amount you would buy into a cash game is around 100 x the big blind. Or in this instance is €200. In some case, you might go as high as 200 x the Big blind so let's say €400. Say Jon started off with around €4,000 to play in cash games. He would then have to completely lose the typical max buy-in of €400 nearly 10 times over in one night. I don't care who you are or how rich you are. To have a deck of cards run that bad against for a long while and to keep on buying in can only mean one thing. He crossed the threshold of misery. This is a concept in poker talked about by Mike Cairo where you've lost so much and you feel like luck is against to such a degree where you get to a point in time where any additional euro lost does not matter because you feel the maximum amount of pain you can feel while sitting at the table. Usually, the worst effects of this can come the morning after when it kind of dawns on you what happened the night before.

I'd like even simply know did he go up and down from his room a few times to reload or did he bring the entire €4,000 down with him from the start. He must have been in and out of the room a few times reloading. No one anticipates losing that much before sitting down.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Calltocall wrote: »
    Something that’s puzzling me, in the last bit of cctv footage that shows the wooden fence where exactly is that? I thought it from was the entrance to Highfield hospital looking out onto swords road however looking at google maps it’s not. https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/cctv-footage-shows-last-movements-15886350.amp
    Think it's the wooden fence just outside the Regency itself beside the centra, if it's the same bit of CCTV I'm thinking of.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭nc6000

Calltocall wrote:
    Something that’s puzzling me, in the last bit of cctv footage that shows the wooden fence where exactly is that? I thought it from was the entrance to Highfield hospital looking out onto swords road however looking at google maps it’s not.

I think it's a camera at the side of the hotel pointing towards Seven Oaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,689 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Well I think it’s important because it’s either A. He walked out without saying a word which suggests he intended to go somewhere he didn’t want anyone else to know or B. He was in great form and just said I’m going for a ramble/shops I’ll be back in a few minutes which suggests a different state of mind and points to an accident or something more sinister. The tiniest details can be very important, the fact that the guards haven’t said where he said he was supposedly going suggests he didn’t say anything to his partner and just left.

I agree all tiny details would be important to solve this case but that is not what they are asking from the public and amateur detectives. What they are asking is have you seen this person

nc6000 wrote: »
    I think it's a camera at the side of the hotel pointing towards Seven Oaks.

Thanks I see it now, so purely looking at the footage it doesn’t actually show the man turning right or left onto swords road, the reports suggest he turned northbound on swords road past Highfield Hospital which suggests there would be further footage not released or a possible sighting. In terms of not being picked up on cctv at The Viscount Pub that’s not necessarily unusual as it’s the opposite side of road to Highfield so it may not pick up across the street, but the junction of collins ave is full of cameras, however I am unsure as to how long traffic cam footage is kept so possibly wiped. From looking at the area again and with the cigarette box found on grace park rd (if indeed it is his) it looks like he was walking the block which would seem like a normal thing to do if you just wanted to stretch the legs. Looking at it objectively he had to of A. taken transport out of the area very soon after this either in taxi or bus or B He was picked up in a private vehicle. If he kept on walking the chance of no other cameras or dashcams picking him up is highly unlikely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

From everything I’ve read here, some absolute scutter but also some helpful output,
    He must have jumped a taxi and jumped out in possibly howth or somewhere.
    It’s hard to imagine a happy ending now. Feel so sorry for the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Anything more on this?

There's a few questions I have that I have not seen answered:

How was his mood after the tournament? Did he have a falling out with the girlfriend? Did he know anyone else at the tournament and/or owe anyone there money? Have they searched the girlfriend's communications etc?

I have seen it written that his phone was acting up. I wonder if they have confirmed that or not.

It's a strange situation with very little info available. Suicide most likely in my view.

In your opinion you don’t even know the timeline, so fu k your opinion

Civil Defense searched a 1k radius of area the man went missing today, nothing found so the family are now shifting their focus to leads the guards are following up from the crimecall appeal and hopeful they will get a break from them, fingers crossed

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

In your opinion you don’t even know the timeline, so fu k your opinion

MOD

Don't post in this thread again.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,202 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The independent link on the previous page has the CCTV footage that shows him leaving the Hotel, but nothing from Highfield Hospital. Any one know why? Is it possible they're not 100% it's actually him in the footage from the Hospital?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

GLaDOS wrote: »
    The independent link on the previous page has the CCTV footage that shows him leaving the Hotel, but nothing from Highfield Hospital. Any one know why? Is it possible they're not 100% it's actually him in the footage from the Hospital?

From my understanding there is no actual cctv footage of him outside the entrance of the hospital that has been released, it’s just been reported in the media so I can only assume it either means they have footage from hospital which they haven’t released to public or they have a verified sighting of him there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

There are no cameras outside Highfield Hospital

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,202 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

The Independent states
    It is believed he made it to the gates of the nearby Highfield Healthcare facility, but after that there is no sign of him.

I'm sure they have a decent reason to believe he went that way, but hypothetically if he went left towards Griffith Ave, then left again, it'd be a while before he'd hit anywhere with CCTV (Possibly the Pathologist's office on the corner of Swords Road/Griffith Avenue, but it may not pick him up on the opposite side of the road).

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    There are no cameras outside Highfield Hospital

There is a cctv camera just inside the gate of Highfield Hospital which points out onto Swords Road

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

He was picked on CCTV at the entrance to Highfield Nursing home, which is immediately adjacent to the Bonnington Hotel. However, having been recorded by those cameras about 200m from his hotel, there are no further confirmed recordings or sightings of him. And while a number of people have called the Garda and reported that they have seen people matching the missing man’s description, none of these possible sightings has been confirmed.

It looks like from the article that the cameras from the hotel have the range to the gates of the hospital.
    There may actually be a camera inside the gates on the security hut ( I think it's a security hut) but there are no cameras that I can see facing onto the road.

After that point, the next thing you come to is bus stops, the Viscount opposite and then Collins Ave.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    It looks like from the article that the cameras from the hotel have the range to the gates of the hospital.
    There may actually be a camera inside the gates on the security hut ( I think it's a security hut) but there are no cameras that I can see facing onto the road.

After that point, the next thing you come to is bus stops, the Viscount opposite and then Collins Ave.

You’ll see in the attached photo there is cctv pointing to entrance of hospital on swords rd he Probably was picked up passing that

• Registered Users Posts: 33,728 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Continuing nightmare for his family and friends, we all hope for a positive outcome, the longer it goes on, the dimmer the hope gets.
    Hope they get closure soon, and its good news.

You’ll see in the attached photo there is cctv pointing to entrance of hospital on swords rd he Probably was picked up passing that

Never seen that before! Cheers for that

• Registered Users Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Let’s hope if there is footage out there showing anyone suspicious following or interacting with the man they don’t wait ten years to release it.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 16 anon41

I reckon he walked around the block and back to the hotel or else got a taxi to a casino to win back some of the cash he lost the night before for the tournament.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Well God help his poor family and girlfriend - the posters are still up all over the city & seafront & fairview. I wonder why they removed so many of the ones with the private gmail address & replaced them with Garda Confidential contact detail nummber only instead. Lets hope hedoes turn up safe & well in due course -with all the press & news if he is gone to ground and watching at least he will see how much they all care for him & would do anything to have him back. If not,God forbid, those 50 friends and family of his who flew over to search for him have really moved heaven and earth to try and help their friend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭bluetractor

I wonder why they removed so many of the ones with the private gmail address & replaced them with Garda Confidential contact detail nummber only instead. .

read this thread. You have an awful lot of nutters who come up with the strangest comments. A garda can cut out that rubbish very quickly

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

suicide?

maybe he lost all his money in the poker tournament and chucked himself in the river or sea ??

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭vapor trails

https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/major-taxi-scam-uncovered-as-180-noneu-nationals-obtain-licences-despite-having-no-legal-status-in-ireland-37882999.html

A lot of people saying he could have got a taxi but the taxi driver might not come forward due to their legal status. I imagine taxi drivers coming from the Clongriffin/Belmayne/Balbriggan area might make a fair portion of those illegals. The Bonnington obviously on that route. One of these guys could well have picked him up.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,870 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I really hope this is not the case...

But does anyone remember the girl who took a taxi from Sir John Rogerson's Quay to Howth a few years ago and was never seen again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

I really hope this is not the case...

But does anyone remember the girl who took a taxi from Sir John Rogerson's Quay to Howth a few years ago and was never seen again.
    Yes, Blaithnaid Timothy. She was never found but was pronounced dead by the coroner a few years later, as there was ‘sufficient evidence’ that she had drowned. She had been researching suicide on her laptop. Poor girl.

Hoping for a better outcome for this chap.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,870 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Yes, Blaithnaid Timothy. She was never found but was pronounced dead by the coroner a few years later, as there was ‘sufficient evidence’ that she had drowned. She had been researching suicide on her laptop. Poor girl.

Hoping for a better outcome for this chap.

Yes, let's hope so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

A lot of people saying he could have got a taxi but the taxi driver might not come forward due to their legal status. I imagine taxi drivers coming from the Clongriffin/Belmayne/Balbriggan area might make a fair portion of those illegals. The Bonnington obviously on that route. One of these guys could well have picked him up.

I would also imagine that a lot of foreign taxi drivers simply don't watch or read any local news, so may not be aware of this case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

agsdi wrote: »
    A mate told me that he saw a man that he thought was identical to Jon on the seafront at Clontarf a few days after he went missing. Him and some people he was with walked past him and when they saw his picture later they went and reported it to Clontarf station. They haven't got back to him. Does that mean he was mistaken or what?
    Anyone with information is asked to contact Ballymun Garda Station on 01 6664400, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, or any garda station.

I'd give either of those numbers a shout, it could be crucial information