Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Missing Icelandic man

• Registered Users Posts: 18,011 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

sugarman wrote: »
    Sorry, but whats exactly odd about any of that:confused:

You have a heated argument with your partner, you go out to clear the head / get some space. Completely normal. More so if its in a shoe box hotel room and theres nowhere else to go.

I fail to see why being in the city for 24hs or not having a map/phone is of any significance. I take 3/4/5 breaks a year and I dont think ive ever required a map or had to rely on a taxi to get me to/from places. Id often pick a direction and just walk / explore. Anyone with a sense of direction will know what way they came and how to get back.

Also to add, hes a taxi driver himself so you'd imagine he'd have a decent sense of direction.

Have we heard from anyone he had a heated argument with his partner?? You're stating that as if it's a fact (if that was the case, it would be a very pertinent detail).

As for walking through the Dublin suburbs, I would hazard a guess I would be lost after 25-30 minutes of walking through a totally unfamiliar area, not unless I had taken care to memorise the route I took. A city centre would be easier to navigate than a suburb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Cartroubles

There was another thread on here about a high profile missing case that was deleted by request of the family due to pretty outrageous speculation that upset them. Something to bear in mind for the amateur detectives.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

Sorry, but whats exactly odd about any of that:confused:

You have a heated argument with your partner, you go out to clear the head / get some space. Completely normal. More so if its in a shoe box hotel room and theres nowhere else to go.

I fail to see why being in the city for 24hs or not having a map/phone is of any significance. I take 3/4/5 breaks a year and I dont think ive ever required a map or had to rely on a taxi to get me to/from places. Id often pick a direction and just walk / explore. Anyone with a sense of direction will know what way they came and how to get back.

Also to add, hes a taxi driver himself so you'd imagine he'd have a decent sense of direction.

Being a taxi man in Iceland wouldn’t help with his sense of direction on the streets of Dublin, my guess is he took transport out of the area quickly after he’s seen on cctv in the image released, the place is one of the busiest roads in the country and also it being broad daylight, I’d be talking to taxi driver federation if I was the family for them to issue an appeal to drivers, Bizarre case but I’m leaning towards him wanting to go off the radar, I’m sure the guards have asked but imperative to know what exactly what was the nature of his last conversation, strange to leave phone behind.

I didn't say he did, I was giving a scenario IF he did. The Independent article did somewhat imply it tho.

...and that's just you personally, you obviously don't have a great sense of direction. Some do, some don't. I do and I wouldn't need to "memorize" anything, I'd just know what way I came and follow back. That includes rural country sides here and abroad as well as urban sprawl. It's all the same ..and as I said, he's a taxi driver himself back home so that would indicate he has a good sense of direction.

A good sense of direction comes from being familiar with the terrain. Drop a Dublin taxi driver off on foot in suburban Reykjavik for the first time and he wouldn't have a clue what direction he was walking in.

It's still rather curious as to where he was going after he left the hotel. Swords must be a good nine or ten miles from the city centre and yet he was heading northwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,002 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Is there a 'casino' of some sort in the Omni Shopping Centre in Santry?

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭bluetractor

A lot of speculation here by people who know nothing about poker. The poker scene in Ireland is quite strong and it's got a core following and most people know each other to see. Probably more nefarious characters in my local golf club than in the poker scene here. There's also no "underground" clubs here as poker is not considered an illegal activity. Icelandic players would not be out of place as it cheap to fly here and many of them enter the regular international tournaments that take place in Ireland. Next month the Norwegian open is on in Citywest Hotel as it has been for many years and you'll have several hundred Scandinavian players here.

€4,000 is not a lot for a poker player, especially one that travels from abroad for a reasonably sized tournament. It may have been close to his limit for the week, but not life changing. In any case Gardai would have a lot more information than what is out in the media and the are treating this as a missing persons case. His family are also not suggesting anything untoward.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

^^^^^

I'd like to thank the above post twice please.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why do they host the Norwegian Open in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Artifacting

To be honest, all the speculation is a bit pointless. It could be anything.

That part of suburban Dublin is about as safe as you'll get anywhere in the world for going for a walk. It's an area I'm very familiar with and it's the last place you'd expect so some to just go missing. It's also pretty busy with traffic and pedestrians at pretty much any time of the day.

I think it's really going to come down to trawling CCTV and people phoning in any sightings of him.

Hopefully he turns up and it's all some kind of mix up.

I wish his family and friends all the very best. It's an incredibly stressful ordeal for them.

I've been in Iceland and it's very much like the West of Ireland with volcanoes: a friendly and very remote wild kind of place. It's way more laid back than other Nordic countries and actually has quite a few Irish links that we tend to be unaware of. Sometimes you'd nearly think you were in Donegal or Connemara.

The entire country has a population a significantly smaller than County Cork and Reykjavik is only about the size of Cork City and because it developed more recently, it feels more like a town than a city. Everyone seems to know everyone and it's basically just one main street.

In many respects Cork feels more big urban as it has a lot of the grand department stores and big public buildings and so on from the 18th and 18th centuries. Reykjavik grew very rapidly in the 20th century so it's really a small town turned into a small city. The main street feels more like Tralee or something.

So from an Icelandic perspective this is much like if a similar story were happening to some guy from West Cork, Kerry or Donegal.

Whatever happened, I think we need to bare in mind that whatever being speculated upon in this thread is very likely being read by family and friends. So maybe just be a little aware of that before theorising.

I wish them well and hope that they are getting plenty of support in Ireland as they try and find their family member.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 56 ✭✭bluetractor

Why do they host the Norwegian Open in Ireland?

Poker is illegal in Norway as all gambling there must be via government controlled operations. So they came upon the idea of having their tournaments here as despite our size, we have some very good and internationally renowned poker tournament managers.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,202 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Esel wrote: »
    Is there a 'casino' of some sort in the Omni Shopping Centre in Santry?

Yeah, used to be an arcade. Never been inside so can't comment on the place itself.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

That part of suburban Dublin is about as safe as you'll get anywhere in the world for going for a walk. It's an area I'm very familiar with and it's the last place you'd expect so some to just go missing. It's also pretty busy with traffic and pedestrians at pretty much any time of the day.

I think it's really going to come down to trawling CCTV and people phoning in any sightings of him.

I wish his family and friends all the very best. It's an incredibly stressful ordeal for them.

I've been in Iceland and it's very much like the West of Ireland with volcanoes: a friendly and very remote wild kind of place. It's way more laid back than other Nordic countries and actually has quite a few Irish links that we tend to be unaware of. Sometimes you'd nearly think you were in Donegal or Connemara.

The entire country has a population a significantly smaller than County Cork and Reykjavik is only about the size of Cork City and because it developed more recently, it feels more like a town than a city. Everyone seems to know everyone and it's basically just one main street.

In many respects Cork feels more big urban as it has a lot of the grand department stores and big public buildings and so on from the 18th and 18th centuries. Reykjavik grew very rapidly in the 20th century so it's really a small town turned into a small city. The main street feels more like Tralee or something.

So from an Icelandic perspective this is much like if a similar story were happening to some guy from West Cork, Kerry or Donegal.

Whatever happened, I think we need to bare in mind that whatever being speculated upon in this thread is very likely being read by family and friends. So maybe just be a little aware of that before theorising.

I wish them well and hope that they are getting plenty of support in Ireland as they try and find their family member.

The Gardai themselves have said they have no reason to believe anything sinister has happened to Jon and are working on the assumption there must be a more mundane reason for his disappearance and the fact he is not in contact.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Thinly veiled....... I've been to Cork, Cork City, West Cork, Kerry, Dublin, other Nordic Countries, Tralee, Reykjavic, Donegal, Connemara

Rackstar wrote: »
    Thinly veiled....... I've been to Cork, Cork City, West Cork, Kerry, Dublin, other Nordic Countries, Tralee, Reykjavic, Donegal, Connemara

To be honest, I don't think this is a thread to be making jokes on. It's about a missing person! Fairly tasteless post.

Of course I hope he turns up safe and sound.

I could make the same argument about your post, letting everyone know how well travelled and cultured you are. The thread is not about you.

Rackstar wrote: »
    Of course I hope he turns up safe and sound.

I could make the same argument about your post, letting everyone know how well travelled and cultured you are. The thread is not about you.

:confused::confused:

I posted about how the story would play out in Iceland and tried to give some sense of how small and similar to an Irish town Reykjavik is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Perifect

I posted about how the story would play out in Iceland and tried to give some sense of how small and similar to an Irish town Reykjavik is.

Rackstar is right, you're being insensitive.

And saying that would have sufficed. Fairly tasteless telling everyone how well travelled and cultured you are.

I give up. I'm not posting in this forum again.
    So much for the philosophy of 'attack the post, not the poster'. Seems I'm just here to be ridiculed.

I'm sorry I bothered posting now. I did not intend to have a thread this serious derailed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Steer55

I see nothing wrong with Artifacting's post. In fact I find it very informative as I haven't been to Iceland and he merely put it in context from an Icelandic view point.

I sincerely hope he will turn up safe and well as its every families absolute nightmare to have a family member go missing. Thoughts are with them at this difficult time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod- Rackstar do not post in this thread again.

Anything further on this case today? I read something online that his brother mentioned a cigarette box of the brand his brother smokes not sold in Ireland found on grace park road that he believed were his brothers, it was an article from three or four days ago, has that been discounted since? Does the cctv show him walking in the direction of grace park road, still can’t get my head around how he could vanish from that area in broad daylight, I think the key here is either buses or taxis, I hope they find him soon, Are there any further planned searches for the man like the one last weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There was a media embargo on any media organisation publishing the CCTV that Gardai released until it was first shown on Crimecall, absolutely shocking carry on, ratings at the expense of finding a missing man...
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ratings-for-crimecall-shouldnt-come-before-getting-missing-person-footage-out-to-public-37859517.html

There was a media embargo on any media organisation publishing the CCTV that Gardai released until it was first shown on Crimecall, absolutely shocking carry on, ratings at the expense of finding a missing man...
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ratings-for-crimecall-shouldnt-come-before-getting-missing-person-footage-out-to-public-37859517.html

That is awful, I wasn’t aware of that, so the ratings trump the actual point of the show! Ffs, The man has been missing weeks it’s far too long for them to wait to get the cctv footage out there

• Registered Users Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Wtf that is surely incorrect

• Registered Users Posts: 81,186 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Wtf that is surely incorrect

They covered it on The Last Word today also, I couldn't believe it.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Somthing just does not add up. I hope he is found, worst nightmare for family

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

What nobody has really said (& Im pretty surprised) is that well within walking distance of where he was last seen is deepest darkest Finglas, Ballymun , the new 'Santry" & Coltry comprising some appalling black holes of criminal activity & crime & drug ghettos. For a guy ambling about with lets face it chitchat of poker tournaments & large sums (4k IS large) to gamble away thus could make him a target for the crims & chancers of that world. Yes yes they dont all come from there I know but it is a surprise noone has bothered mentioning it.

Lets hope he turns up soon - his poor fiance & family/friends.

PS there certainly was no media embargo on this 'story'. Maybe the gaurds wanted yhe cctv given to their show as a priority but I watched it on cctv on social media at dawn this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭VG31

What nobody has really said (& Im pretty surprised) is that well within walking distance of where he was last seen is deepest darkest Finglas, Ballymun , the new 'Santry" & Coltry comprising some appalling black holes of criminal activity & crime & drug ghettos.

That's a ridiculous statement. I'm in those areas often enough and while I certainly wouldn't go near some parts at night or walk around by myself if I didn't have to, that's still a gross exaggeration.

Finglas and Ballymun are hardly on the same level of some Detroit ghetto. Parts of them might be much more unsafe than other areas of Dublin, but I still don't believe that someone could be mugged/abducted/killed in broad daylight without anyone noticing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

The family were in Finglas today sticking up posters and chatting to people.