Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster Team Talk Thread - Snymans are(n't) Forever

• Registered Users Posts: 9,632 ✭✭✭nerd69

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Yeah, most of the players in France said the same....

The simple fact is they are paid more not to travel

Not remotely the same thing if oz wanted to select him he would have gone

• Registered Users Posts: 10,019 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

https://twitter.com/SportingLK/status/1191838390565494784?s=09

Alby talking about the reality of his situation. Looks quite emotional about it all. They said at the mrsc AGM that he's more than a player, he gives hours on end as a mentor to the younger players, not just the 9s. Would be sad to see him go but it's looking likely.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Caranica wrote: »

Alby talking about the reality of his situation. Looks quite emotional about it all. They said at the mrsc AGM that he's more than a player, he gives hours on end as a mentor to the younger players, not just the 9s. Would be sad to see him go but it's looking likely.

Best 9 in Ireland. Hard to believe that he's not been snapped up yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭PMC83

Caranica wrote: »

Ah man that's actually a little heart breaking, you see the human side of sport there in a big way. Hopefully things work out for the man

• Registered Users Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

bollix.....

from the indo

Munster are hopeful Joey Carbery will return to action before Christmas, but head coach Johann van Graan admitted medical staff are reluctant to put an exact date on his comeback due to the complex nature of his injury.

Carbery damaged his ankle during Ireland's warm-up win over Italy back in August and struggled to shake it off during the World Cup.

Despite insisting during the tournament that he had recovered fully, the Munster player never looked 100 per cent fit and now faces another extended period on the sidelines.

The out-half's first season with the province was hampered by a hamstring problem and this recurring ankle complaint leaves him facing another lay-off from the game.

"He is going to be out for some time," Van Graan said.

"We got to make sure he gets his strength back and we get that ankle fully functional.

"From Joey's point of view, obviously, he wants to play but his body is not right.

"Because of the type of injury he is definitely not going to be back in the next few weeks, I can tell you that."

Van Graan revealed that Carbery will not undergo surgery, and when asked if the 23-year-old Carbery would feature this side of Christmas, the head coach responded: "I hope so. At this stage it is very difficult for the medical team to determine that.

"Because he has had it for quite a while the most important thing now is Joey's health.

"He is a Munster player. He is under my watch now so we have got to look after him. He is very important for the national team, I believe, for the future of Irish rugby."

With regard to signing South African World Cup winners Damian de Allende and RG Snyman, Van Graan reiterated the need for Munster to add depth to their squad.

"Obviously we have spoken to both players and we have big dreams for this squad," he added.

"If you want to win Europe and win the PRO14 you need literally 30 to 40 guys who can perform at any stage."

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Unless Carbery extends his contract, this looks like a big waste of time unfortunately.
    Obviously want to be proved wrong, he he agrees to stay with the team, then just give him all the time off he needs and not rush him back like last season against Edinburgh.

Having surgery in November and hoping he can play in December seems a bit fool hardy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Unless Carbery extends his contract, this looks like a big waste of time unfortunately.
    Obviously want to be proved wrong, he he agrees to stay with the team, then just give him all the time off he needs and not rush him back like last season against Edinburgh.

Having surgery in November and hoping he can play in December seems a bit fool hardy.

he already extended by 2 years

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Sir Guy who smiles

"Because he has had it for quite a while the most important thing now is Joey's health.

"He is a Munster player. He is under my watch now so we have got to look after him...."QUOTE]

Is he suggesting that the national set up didn't look after him?

A lot of players come back from Ireland camps crocked.

They took an injured Joey, played him and he came back even more injured?

Injuries happen but Joey didn't go down broken in the RWC which suggests he wasn't fully fit and is in worse nick now as a result of playing in Japan.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

He had surgery in August and probably shouldn't have traveled to Japan. He's now rehabbing the injury. Ha hasn't had another surgery.

And he already extended his contract.

• Registered Users Posts: 49 mark_way

Any chance of a medical joker to cover for Carbery? What's Pollard up to after the world cup?

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

mark_way wrote: »
    Any chance of a medical joker to cover for Carbery? What's Pollard up to after the world cup?

We don't need 1, we have Jj and Tyler

• Registered Users Posts: 5,511 ✭✭✭bennyl10

"He is a Munster player. He is under my watch now so we have got to look after him...."QUOTE]

a lot of players dont go into Ireland camp crocked and come back worse.

They rushed him into surgery, he wasnt fit and played him, and then sent him back to Munster.

I image JVG isnt best pleased with irfu rn

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

bennyl10 wrote: »
    he already extended by 2 years
    Sorry, must have been in a cave for that :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Pepp1989

All abit hypocritical from the outside looking in. Irfu dictating to clubs that the internationals can only play x games over the year for player welfare but then selecting and playing Joey when he clearly now was never fit for the World Cup.

Can understand why JVG would be pissed off.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Hey folks, has there been any idications on the date/time for the return game in Racing Metro, trying to make travel arrangements and very difficult when all you have is the weekend of 11&12 or when will these be known? Thanks.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Pogue eile wrote: »
    Hey folks, has there been any idications on the date/time for the return game in Racing Metro, trying to make travel arrangements and very difficult when all you have is the weekend of 11&12 or when will these be known? Thanks.

It's all down to French TV and we're unlike to know until after round 4. (They dropped the metro a few years back BTW. Just Racing 92 now.)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

So you rate SA players now? Only took 3 and a bit months...
    mark_way wrote:
    South Africa lost 57-0 to the All Bllacks less than two years ago, so they can be completely written off.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Anybody know in general what type of surgical procedure is carried out for ankle ligament injuries to aid rapid recovery?
    Just curious, I had assumed it involves some temporary insertion of a screw to artificially tighten the ligament while it heals, but perhaps they make an incision or stimulate the ligament to tighten somehow?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Dog Botherer

aloooof wrote: »
    So you rate SA players now? Only took 3 and a bit months...

some amount of pettiness there, fair play

absolutely not opposed to foreign signings, but a back five of Snyman, Kleyn, Botha, Cloete, and Stander would make me pause alright. i don’t think it’ll happen personally. Snyman seems a long shot, i really can’t see the point of bringing in a monster tight head saffer lock when Munster already have an Irish qualified model on the books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

I'd stake my life on a Sunday afternoon kickoff.

In 2018 it was 4.30pm local time on the Sunday. Fixture was only confirmed December 22nd!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

jm08 wrote: »
    Highly unlikely they would mess Munster around bearing in mind the SA connections between Rassie, Jacques and Johann VanG.

Eh Rassie "I'm going nowhere" Erasmus who then left mid contract.

Broken cheekbone. Missed the celebrations as getting surgery.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 10,885 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I'd stake my life on a Sunday afternoon kickoff.

that's the preference in France alright

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Liam Coombes; JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Tyler Bleyendaal, Arno Botha.

Would have liked to see more of a mix of those who have been there plus the Irish contingent. Keep the existing game plan going, and some of the younger or less-picked lads have been going really well.

🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭Whitters22

Going full South Africa with the 6/2 split 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

Think its the 3rd or 4th time this season we've gone for a 6-2 split on the bench.

nice impact off the bench with Wycherley, O’Donoghue and Botha.

No Earls, Beirne or Killer in the 23

First start of the season for Liam Coombes

• Registered Users Posts: 23,738 ✭✭✭✭phog

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    Munster: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Liam Coombes; JJ Hanrahan, Alby Mathewson; James Cronin, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Chris Cloete, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Tyler Bleyendaal, Arno Botha.

Would have liked to see more of a mix of those who have been there plus the Irish contingent. Keep the existing game plan going, and some of the younger or less-picked lads have been going really well.

When Rory attended the launch during the week I thought he might not feature this week but he's starting.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,738 ✭✭✭✭phog

Officials for tomorrow's game
    Munster vs Ulster at Thomond Park
    Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
    Assistant referees: Robert O'Sullivan (Ireland), Paul Haycock (Ireland)
    Television match official: Olly Hodges (Ireland)