Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The perks of being a rock star don't exist anymore

• 15-02-2019 4:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 83 ✭✭

Folk rocker Ryan Adams is the latest victim of the witch hunt. His ex wife is now giving out about how he seduced her. If you can't dangle the carrot out to get sex, then it makes it harder to get it.

His ex wife has now come out for the second time to complain about. Did she not get her fill from the first time? She's described him as "manic and destructive"! She then went on to say that he remarked she "wasn't a musician because she didn't play an instrument". Seems like everyday stuff to me!

https://jezebel.com/report-ryan-adams-allegedly-pursued-women-for-sex-whil-1832604895

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 408 ✭✭SoundsRight

It begs the question why women entered into relationships with him, if he was such a big meanie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Ryan Adams. Brian Adams’s pervy, more rapey brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It begs the question why women entered into relationships with him, if he was such a big meanie.

He was kind of cute when he was younger/thinner.

In a scruffy redneck sort of way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I always figured the entertainment industry, especially stateside, was one big cesspool. Everyone looking to use everyone else- emotionally, sexually, financially, career wise, image wise, whatever.....

Last few years haven’t really changed my opinion...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

One of the 'perks' was that no one cared if you slept with young girls. I think Gary Glitter molesting girls whose ages weren't even in double digits made people rethink their attitude to this and made them wonder where they should draw the line. Music books and magazines used to be full of stories about how great Led Zeppelin were for having sex with anything with a pulse and for shoving fish inside women but I think most people nowadays would think this looks creepy.

03%2Blori-maddox-jimmy-page.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Irish Guitarist is right.

**** loads of rockers slept with and dated scandalously young girls and somehow got away with it for decades. Bowie, Steven Tyler, Ted Nugent, Elvis Presley and more.

They're making a movie out of Motley Crues legendary memoir "The Dirt" next year. I'm very curious to see if any controversy comes out of it as there's a bit in the book where one of them openly admits to helping his band mate rape a girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I believe Motley Crue kept a fine selection of women in cages behind the stage should be fun on social media when that film is released

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

Mad isn’t it. In the 70s 80s 90s these girls went to these gigs with the dream of being with Bowie or jimmy Paige or whoever.
    A very small percentage got to make that happen.
    Nobody was bothered until this year.

I’m not condoning it or saying it’s terrible. Just mad.
    It’s like people were letting the musicians at it once they weren’t fiddling the boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

these bands didnt go out grooming random girls, these groupies threw themselves at them left right and centre. very few men would remain saintly under those conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I remember a music magazine wrote a review of a biography by John Kaye, lead singer with the band Steppenwolf. This biography was called Magic Carpet Ride, after the bands second biggest hit. Their biggest hit single was Born To Be Wild.

The review of this book pointed out the reason it wasn't named after their biggest hit was because he wasn't born to be wild at all and as an example of this they quoted a part of the book where he said he was shocked to see a girl at a concert dancing around half naked that was barely seventeen.

Apparently this was a really boring point of view. He would have gotten more respect from the writers of this magazine if he was going around having sex with every teenage girl he could find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

these bands didnt go out grooming random girls, these groupies threw themselves at them left right and centre. very few men would remain saintly under those conditions.

Dodgy footing you're on there if you can acknowledge some of those groupies were underage. Bare in mind Ryan Adams came to prominence in the early 2000s.

I think you're being unfair to most men here. I don't think I'm alone in not understanding the attraction towards teenagers - even those who are over 18. If you don't understand that, maybe you're the one with the problem, and not the rest of us.

I don't think that most men would exploit star struck teenagers given the opportunity. Most people recognise that teenagers don't always act in their own best interests and make responsible decisions with that in mind, as adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

When are they coming for Jimmy Page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I think you're being unfair to most men here. I don't think I'm alone in not understanding the attraction towards teenagers - even those who are over 18. If you don't understand that, maybe you're the one with the problem, and not the rest of us.

ok, most men, in the 70s and 80s, coked up, strung out, ****faced. im not condoning anything but it's not surprising they weren't checking IDs on the tour bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Candie wrote: »
    I don't think that most men would exploit star struck teenagers given the opportunity. Most people recognise that teenagers don't always act in their own best interests and make responsible decisions with that in mind, as adults.

A lot of these rock stars weren't much older than teenagers themselves - in a situation that is highly unusual for most young men, ie women tearing each others hair out to have sex with them. I think most normal young men in that situation would have lots of sex.

I'd go so far as to say there would be something wrong with them if they didn't. Having sex with underage girls is a whole other can of worms though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Sardonicat wrote: »

When he's dead.

Why so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

ok, most men, in the 70s and 80s, coked up, strung out, ****faced. im not condoning anything but it's not surprising they weren't checking IDs on the tour bus.

Same with Beatles in Hamburg. They were queuing up to join the boys, no questions asked. Wasn't there a story about Bill Wyman and Mandy Smith, that he hadn't waited until she was legal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

When the levee breaks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

Free love on the free love freeway
    The love is free and the freeway's long...
    I got some hot love on the hot-love highway
    I ain't going home cos' my baby's gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

They may not, Bowie seems to ge getting a pass.

is_that_so wrote: »

Same with Beatles in Hamburg. They were queuing up to join the boys, no questions asked. Wasn't there a story about Bill Wyman and Mandy Smith, that he hadn't waited until she was legal?
    The Beatles in Hamburg? Hardly the same thing. George Harrison got deported for being underage to work on a Visa! They were only kids themselves.

Big difference between a bunch of teenage boys and girls and a 40 something Bill Wyman and 13 yo Mandy Smith.

Bowie too? Did not know that.

After the seventies he calmed down and there's little said by anyone about that time. According to one biography, he was indiscriminate in his tastes but never really any suggestion that he was involved with those underage.

The Beatles in Hamburg? Hardly the same thing. George Harrison got deported for being underage to work on a Visa! They were only kids themselves.

Big difference between a bunch of teenage boys and girls and a 40 something Bill Wyman and 13 yo Mandy Smith.
    Sure, but different times and what was tolerated. Wyman was 52!

After the seventies he calmed down and there's little said by anyone about that time. According to one biography, he was indiscriminate in his tastes but never really any suggestion that he was involved with those underage.

The girl in the picture is Lori Maddox, 15 years old at the time of this picture i believe. She claims she lost her virginity to David Bowie.

There are questions over that, especially the timing and that there are no pictures but loads of her with Page. She may also have had a relationship with Jagger. As I said, very different view of certain activities back then, especially with rock musicians.

Sure, but different times and what was tolerated. Wyman was 52!
    There is absolutely nothing to compare between the two. And Wyman was considered shocking at the time . You're right he was in his 50s. He got away with by all concerned claicing nothing sexual was taking place and her mother was OK with the relationship. Ms.Smith later went on to say she was groomed.

Why are you comparing older teenagers having sex with each other to 52yo and a child?

No - please, not Bowie. I'll trade you Leonard Cohen, Freddie Maercury, Prince - whatever. Don't tell me this about Bowie.

There is absolutely nothing to compare between the two. And Wyman was considered shocking at the time . You're right he was in his 50s. He got away with by all concerned claicing nothing sexual was taking place and her mother was OK with the relationship. Ms.Smith later went on to say she was groomed.

Why are you comparing older teenagers having sex with each other to 52yo and a child?

I wasn't. I pointed it out as another example of a very young girl. We don't know the age profiles of those who may have become involved with other stars.

Really? I saw an interview with Ms Maddox in which she claimed she was a virgin til she met (was effectively kidnapped by) Page. And she was 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

There are questions over that, especially the timing and that there are no pictures but loads of her with Page. She may also have had a relationship with Jagger. As I said, very different view of certain activities back then, especially with rock musicians.

There are no pictures as her and her parents weren't invited on tour with Bowie like they were with Zeppelin.

i'd be inclined to believe her, what are the questions and what are the problems with the timing?

Really? I saw an interview with Ms Maddox in which she claimed she was a virgin til she met (was effectively kidnapped by) Page. And she was 13.

Yeah this is what I understood. She was actually involved with Page at the time she supposedly met Bowie.

There are no pictures as her and her parents weren't invited on tour with Bowie like they were with Zeppelin.

i'd be inclined to believe her, what are the questions and what are the problems with the timing?
    She was apparently involved with Page at that time and in all likelihood would have had relations with him first.

I wasn't. I pointed it out as another example of a very young girl.
    But what for? The thread is about rock stars abusing their position of influence to have sex with underage teens.

The Beatles in Hamburg weren't rock stars. On their first trip out they were all teenagers themselves, Harrison was barely 17. Most of the clientele in the clubs they played would have been a few years older (much older than the The Cavern , which didn't have a licence for alcohol ) so any conquest they made would have been with females their age and over. Nothing wrong with that.
    Wyman and Smith, Page and Maddo:very wrong indeed.

You think her parents took that photo of her and Page?

She was apparently involved with Page at that time and in all likelihood would have had relations with him first.

From what i have read independently from what she has said, which matches, she hooked up with Page in 1972 when she was 14. Having been with Bowie a few months earlier.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Mad isn’t it. In the 70s 80s 90s these girls went to these gigs with the dream of being with Bowie or jimmy Paige or whoever.
    A very small percentage got to make that happen.
    Nobody waits s bothered until this year.

I’m not condoning it or saying it’s terrible. Just mad.
    It’s like people were letting the musicians at it once they weren’t fiddling the boys.
    It's not that mad in a way, a lot of people turned a blind eye to pedos until recently

But what for? The thread is about rock stars abusing their position of influence to have sex with underage teens.

The Beatles in Hamburg weren't rock stars. On their first trip out they were all teenagers themselves, Harrison was barely 17. Most of the clientele in the clubs they played would have been a few years older (much older than the The Cavern , which didn't have a licence for alcohol ) so any conquest they made would have been with females their age and over. Nothing wrong with that.

I don't disagree on the older guys but even the young lads couldn't say for sure how old some of them were. My point is that there was a very different perception around pop stars and how they behaved, especially activities we now see as completely unacceptable.

You think her parents took that photo of her and Page?

No, i don't think that. Didn't say that either.

Maybe Bowie took it.

I don't disagree on the older guys but even the young lads couldn't say for sure how old some of them were. My point is that there was a very different perception around pop stars and how they behaved, especially activities we now see as completely unacceptable.
    Oh for sure. Taking into account that the Beatles were playing on the Reeperbahn when one of them was only 17 (and looked about 12!) is pretty shocking in itself. WTF were his parents thinking.?
    I think an attitude to 'groupies' developed in certain quarters similar to the attitude held by the UK grooming gangs to the girls they abused . They were somehow different to other girls and up for it and ok to use. Also, many of them got passed around too. In reality they were very vulnerable ( their parents, I mean come on Mrs Maddox and Mrs Smith!) But the fact that attitudes in those circles were different then doesn't mean it was ever ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

professore wrote: »
    A lot of these rock stars weren't much older than teenagers themselves - in a situation that is highly unusual for most young men, ie women tearing each others hair out to have sex with them. I think most normal young men in that situation would have lots of sex.

I'd go so far as to say there would be something wrong with them if they didn't. Having sex with underage girls is a whole other can of worms though.
    But isn't the point that they WERE having sex with under-age girls?

Good title anyway OP, "It's not acceptable for musicians to have sex with teens anymore, boo!"

Still though, while it may not be a palatable viewpoint, if those teenage girls were doing all they could to have sex with those musicians (because they were silly teens)... obviously the musicians should not have gone there, but in a booze and drugs fuelled surreal bubble of reckless abandon and ego and the whole free love counter culture, I can see why they did. I don't think it's the same as, say, the abuse by Jimmy Savile.

Ideally it shouldn't have happened of course, and those girls were legally too young to consent but they did. They did queue up for it. I read the biography of so called super groupie Pamela Des Barres and was absolutely shocked at the stuff she did so casually at 14. And no regrets either.

But of course it was disgustingly seedy, and the rose tinted specs are being removed in relation to the summer of love etc - an absolute predators paradise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

The rock music phenomenon was always about the teenage girls. It was never 'about the music' - most if not all of it was rubbish anyway. But was catnip to teenagers with simplistic musical tastes open to being manipulated by it, and to throw themselves at the predominantly 20 year old men churning it out.
    Some lapped it up, others justified it on the basis that it must be OK because were the ones throwing themselves at them, and society said something along the lines of - fair play to them, wish it were me. And still does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

The rock music phenomenon was always about the teenage girls. It was never 'about the music' - most if not all of it was rubbish anyway.
    You gotta be more subtle, TROL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

are soccer players not LOI obviously getting more of the action these days?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

A lot of rock stars became famous in their late teens or early 20's.

It seems common that many of them stopped maturing at around the time that fame hit. Almost as if they got locked in a state of permanent adolescence. Even their sexual preference was still for younger girls as they got older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭closifer

There are stories of bands staff going out and plucking pretty young girls from the crowd and bringing them backstage. Girls as young as 13. Do you believe they were throwing themselves at the rock stars? Do you believe a 13 year old girl can legitimately consent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

He's already been punished by having to live next door to Robbie Williams.