Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What steps should be taken to make Ireland great again?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    1 - An end to free movement and only allow those who we require and those without criminal convictions.

2 - Slash SW budget

3 - No "free houses" for life.

4 - Travelers ethnic statues removed.

5 - Have an actual legal system and remove all our weak judges.

^^ This.

Separate church and state FULLY!
    Don't let a new religion boss it's way into power (Islam)

Tough on immigration - take an example from Australia.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

1) bring back the death penalty
    2) only 2 kids per family unless can financially prove you can afford them
    3) unemployed over 6 months, food stamps, community service work
    4) “forever homes “ reviewed every 3 years to tenants. Any anti social behavior, convictions- live in hostels
    House does NOT get handed down to the off spring
    5) travelers recognized and treated as everyone else
    6) more police
    7) harsher sentences for insurance and compensation fraud, in fact complete overhaul of the compensation laws here

• Registered Users Posts: 28,810 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Ireland is great

this is unacceptable, we must make it great, 'again'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

1: No more migrants!
    2: Limited time on Social Welfare.
    3: Reduction in elected representatives!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,480 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ireland has been good, grand and just fine to live in.

I don’t think of a time when Ireland was “great”

It’s a bit telling that the first thing on OPs list was a TV station, implying that op is bored with screen programming rather than hard issues, so it’s probably good enough that their first world problems are just left as is.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,780 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Death penalty is great until there's a mistake.

What do you do then? Send a card apologising for the **** up and a hamper to the family?

Death penalty is great until there's a mistake.

What do you do then? Send a card apologising for the **** up and a hamper to the family?

There are some cases that are 100% open and closed. When there is no doubt whatsoever then yes , death please

Or how about

3 convictions and that’s you locked up for a long long time

Life means life

And none of this 150 convictions by the age of 26

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Cina

Ireland is great.

Go live in a developing country and try tell me it isn't.

We have the same problems as most first world countries (and fewer than many of them), big deal.

Enjoy living in one of the world's best countries to live in and stop being moany, self-entitled feckers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

1) bring back the death penalty
    2) only 2 kids per family unless can financially prove you can afford them
    3) unemployed over 6 months, food stamps, community service work
    4) “forever homes “ reviewed every 3 years to tenants. Any anti social behavior, convictions- live in hostels
    House does NOT get handed down to the off spring
    5) travelers recognized and treated as everyone else
    6) more police
    7) harsher sentences for insurance and compensation fraud, in fact complete overhaul of the compensation laws here

Houses don't get handed down to off spring ???
    Would ya GERRUPP OURRRA DA!!

So after my parents spend years paying a mortgage the govt gets the house back ?

So , everyone just rents then ?

This was all in relation to point 4 which was referring to social housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

circadian wrote: »
    I'm seeing loads of far right style posts on AH recently. Where are these people in real life? How come I never come across them? Are you just a bunch of edgelords living in the box room in yer mas gaff?
    The good thing is, take a look at Identity Ireland or The National Party and their meetings. 5 people would be a good turnout. Their events are attended by very few, they're all pretty much doom and gloom about everything. Ireland and society in Ireland is about to collapse. Apparently if a mosque is built in Kilkenny they city is lost. They've been saying the same thing since they started, Ireland is on the brink of collapse. Irexit too which is hilarious, thought they would be avoiding that word considering the shítshow across the water. Society changes all the time, they can either move with it pretend we can go back to some golden age which never exist. Ironicaly, it's usually the 50's, the perfect decade for the far right. They pretend the far right party in Germany the decade before was actually far left.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,822 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm lucky enough to have seen a decent bit of the World in both my work and for pleasure. Ireland isn't perfect, but I'll take it any day it over 90% of other Countries.

In much of Asia, your internet service wouldn't be able to access a site like Boards in the first place. If you did manage it, expressing opinions like the ones even in this thread would have folks in dark saloon cars arriving at your door.

Its notions like some of the ones on this thread that got them to that point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Seanachai

1) Make some sort of an effort to reduce the cost of living, instead of chasing the universal wage project.

2) Less tolerance for anti-social behaviour as a deterrent, scumbags often feel a sense of entitlement in how lightly they get off. Also enforce anti-litter laws, the footpaths in Dublin are covered in dog s**t and rural Ireland is being destroyed with fly-tipping.

3) Stop allowing ugly Mcmansions and haciendas to be built in idyllic rural areas. You don't see it in other European countries.

4) Set up an expert group to look at legalising cannabis and if we could become a world leader in growing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Houses don't get handed down to off spring ???
    Would ya GERRUPP OURRRA DA!!

So after my parents spend years paying a mortgage the govt gets the house back ?

So , everyone just rents then ?

I think the poster meant that, if it's a social welfare house.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 33,972 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Reduction in elected representatives!

The "talent" pool in the Dail is shallow enough as it is. You'd end up with Minister Healy-Rae if you did that.

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭overkill602

Sterilize all knackers end this disgusting excuse of a culture

• Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Massive crackdown on crime with very harsh sentencing.
    Petty crime needs to have serious repercussions. Shoplifters as kids leads to burglars in adult life.

We need to end the system were someone with 100 convictions gets a slap on the wrist for conviction 101.

Crackdown on visible loitering by addicts.
    Anyone who is an addict found zombies out on the street on a serious drug. ie heroin.
    They need to be forced into detox clinics.

The "talent" pool in the Dail is shallow enough as it is. You'd end up with Minister Healy-Rae if you did that.

My theory is to rid the Dail of the latter & more of the former!

There's too much tolerance for lackadaisical, indifferent behaviour there, maybe in the country in general. That's the thing that friends and family that have lived abroad always bring up, there's very little consequences for TD's who don't perform or actually screw up massively.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

build max security jails prob couple in each county - best to outsource to US they know how its done properly make inmates work, once built sent all current judges to one of those who give slap on a wrist for 50time convicted offenders.

jsa jsb only for those that have been in workforce for at least 10 years otherwise no support, for those of 18yrs old bumming on it for life.

would be a good start.

Seanachai wrote: »
    There's too much tolerance for lackadaisical, indifferent behaviour there, maybe in the country in general. That's the thing that friends and family that have lived abroad always bring up, there's very little consequences for TD's who don't perform or actually screw up massively.

Isn't it amazing that in most circumstances you need a degree or third level qualification for jobs within the civil service but yet as a public rep' you don't!

I don't have any either before someone asks!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Cina

Massive crackdown on crime with very harsh sentencing.
    Petty crime needs to have serious repercussions. Shoplifters as kids leads to burglars in adult life.

We need to end the system were someone with 100 convictions gets a slap on the wrist for conviction 101.

Crackdown on visible loitering by addicts.
    Anyone who is an addict found zombies out on the street on a serious drug. ie heroin.
    They need to be forced into detox clinics.

So basically, the US?

That's worked out great for them, hasn't it. 3% of the world's population and 25% of the world's prison population. Costing them an absolute fortune in the meantime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Brits out of 6.

An end to the 26 county state.

Establish a 32 county Irish Republic as the patriots of 1916 wanted.

An end to imported foreign west brit sports. So smash the west brit rugby golden circle.

Isn't it amazing that in most circumstances you need a degree or third level qualification for jobs within the civil service but yet as a public rep' you don't!

I don't have any either before someone asks!

You need a decent mac, a good memory for names and to practice an outraged facial expression at home in front of the mirror.

Brits out of 6.

An end to the 26 county state.

Establish a 32 county Irish Republic as the patriots of 1916 wanted.

An end to imported foreign west brit sports. So smash the west brit rugby golden circle.

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Scumbag kids know they'll get away with crimes. You see videos of little skangers causing trouble and they'll tell the gardai their age because they know they can't be touched. This needs to change, and if you're under age and commit a crime, parents should share the punishment too. Whether it's a fine or time spend in jail or some sort of institution, child and parent should do it. If you're not an adult, the parents are responsible for you, they're also responsible for your crimes. Money deducted from social welfare or child benefit if you don't pay the fine in a reasonable time. Drugs are not an excuse for crime either.

White collar crime needs to be taken more serious too. Jail should have some activity to help people change. If it's meeting with families that are victims of crime, or classes or fúcking something. Too many criminals couldn't give a shít about going to jail.

Seanachai wrote: »
    You need a decent mac, a good memory for names and to practice an outraged facial expression at home in front of the mirror.

Well Adolf had at least two of those! I'm sure he would have a Mac if he was here today God bless him! Are you suggesting then that we have a Dail full of aspiring Adolf's? Herr Varadker & Herr Harris! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭abcabc123123

circadian wrote: »
    I'm seeing loads of far right style posts on AH recently. Where are these people in real life? How come I never come across them? Are you just a bunch of edgelords living in the box room in yer mas gaff?
    Mmm, sometimes I wonder what DeV and Cloud make of what this place has become. After Hours being under 'Social & Fun' is a total misnomer. Back in the day, sure, it was a place where beers were organised, people knew each other and threads were mostly whimsical nonsense. Something approximating the category it is in now. These days it's probably closer to Stormfront.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    1 - An end to free movement and only allow those who we require and those without criminal convictions.

2 - Slash SW budget

3 - No "free houses" for life.

4 - Travelers ethnic statues removed.

5 - Have an actual legal system and remove all our weak judges.

Top 5 hard right fantasies in one post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

magma69 wrote: »

Ignore the suicide problem.

Ignore the alcoholism problem.

We're already doing this. And actually alcoholism in ireland isn't any worse and probably better than in other European countries despite the nonsense the media keeps telling us. I know europeans who drink ALL DAY LONG at work. Not many Irish doing that.