Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you give money to charity?

• 20-12-2018 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭

Well, do you ?
    This came up at the watering hole yesterday, so I might as well ask what Boards does.

I don't donate to the charities you see on TV but I would find myself in the local SVP or Charity Shop more often then not and buying books, CD's etc from them :pac:

Shoot Lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

I don't give them money. They guilt it out of me with their sick children and famines and endangered species and incurable diseases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Dublin Simon community...i wish i could give more

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Small local charities, sometimes. The larger ones I don't trust to be honest with the various scandals and overpaid management leaving me wondering how much they actually do.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

No, I'm poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

No, don't give to any charities and don't understand the mindset of "if i won the lotto i'd give a lot to charity".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I give through work. It comes off my wages. It means I give to the charities I want to give to and I just tell the chuggers that I'm happy with the donations I already make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

Yes via the company I work for who hold fundraising for different charities each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I recently seen Colaiste Mhuire Co Ed collecting money in Dunnes Stores Thurles. This is a VEC state funded/owned school compared to the likes of CBS Thurles, Ursuline, Presentation etc.

Children’s hospital charities too I never give to. I believe without them the government/HSE would be compelled to allocate more funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

I've as little trust in a small charity with weak/no oversight as I do a large one tbh and many just duplicate existing services of other charities meaning less money actually ends up going to the cause. I do however donate to some i am familiar with and help out when/where I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Local charities, Irish Cancer Society And SVdP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

I recently seen Colaiste Mhuire Co Ed collecting money in Dunnes Stores Thurles. This is a VEC state funded/owned school compared to the likes of CBS Thurles, Ursuline, Presentation etc.

Childrens hospital charities too I never give to. I believe without them the government/HSE would be compelled to allocate more funding.

All schools are state funded. Your logic baffles me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I usually do some sort of event to raise some money which costs me time and money.

I also volunteer with a rough sleeper service and have done for some time, this is far more valuable than giving money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Not really. Certainly not with money. Confidence never really recovered after the various finances scandals a few years back.

I do give to charity shops though to get rid of my tat if that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭JustMe,K

I give regular donations to a couple of charities. I would be broke if I gave even €1 to every chugger/bucket/tin/collection/homeless person I come across on a daily basis. Working in the city centre so I am surrounded by them every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Kevin Bell and oxfam..

Think I'll switch out Oxfam for SVP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭D3V!L

Most charities are run like large multi-nationals. They have over paid CEO's and the charity collectors are on commission.

If I'm giving money I would donate it directly to a cause. I'm seriously thinking of just donating the money my budget for Christmas presents next year to Crumlin Childrens Hospital instead of buying presents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭morebarn2

Only to very local organizations , where I know the people involved and the work they do.

The RNLI are the only national or large charity I donate to yearly. I have huge admiration for their volunteers who put their own lives on the line in order to save others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,559 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Nope. I pay tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

D3V!L wrote: »
    Most charities are run like large multi-nationals. They have over paid CEO's and the charity collectors are on commission.

If I'm giving money I would donate it directly to a cause. I'm seriously thinking of just donating the money my budget for Christmas presents next year to Crumlin Childrens Hospital instead of buying presents.

If you sign up with a charity collector at one of the various stands or at your door they likely don't work for the charity but a field marketing company. It is usually 2 years of direct debits before the cost of the 'sale' is returned to the charity. It's madness like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Try_harder wrote: »
    All schools are state funded. Your logic baffles me

Not to the extent that the VEC/State owned schools are. The above schools had to constantly beg the late Tony Ryan etc to fund new computers, sports equipment etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I give to Cancer Research through my wages every week. I don't give to any of the others and wont do until they stop paying their CEO's ridiculous salaries. If they can afford to pay CEO's in excess of €150k a year then they have no need for my paltry few euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I tend to avoid making monetary donations and might be more readily inclined to donate clothes, books etc. or maybe I'd be more inclined to donate pet food or my time to an animal shelter for example.

Too many dubious "causes", scandals and misappropriation of funds for my liking. I appreciate that like the rest of us people running charities need to earn a living and there is an opportunity cost in devoting their time and skills to a charity but when CEO's and people running these charities are drawing a salary in excess of €100k p.a. (sometimes well in excess of €100k p.a.) that doesn't sit right with me.

I remember reading a few years back that the percentage of monetary relief that reaches its intended (or at least the donators intended) recipient in poverty stricken slums in third world countries was very small - well under 10% in fact. Appreciate that in these situations it a sizeable percentage of the aid is siphoned off by the powerful, militants, pirates, even oppressive Governments but before it even gets that far the fat cats in the charities get their sizeable cut also. Would be curious to know the percentage of relief that reaches the donators intended recipients for charities that operate fully within Irish waters - I'm sure there is a statistic out there somewhere.

The SVP that is mentioned by OP donate a considerable amount to a certain sector of our society - many of whom I see are driving very new high end motor vehicles indeed and do not seem badly off to me.

Having said that I totally acknowledge that there are absolutely genuine people that do fantastic charity work and their intentions are nothing less than absolutely honourable. However, I cant help but feel that these are moreso the people "on the ground" so as to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I had always thought that the money I had given to charity was for the people that needed it.
    But when I heard and read of the big salaries paid out of my hard earned money, I don't donate as much any more,
    SVP not today have people with buckets to collect money in the shops, usually we were asked to buy items in the shop and leave in a box at the door,
    I am not in favour of the cash, but in favour of purchasing something and leaving it in the collection box

I give to Cancer Research through my wages every week. I don't give to any of the others and wont do until they stop paying their CEO's ridiculous salaries. If they can afford to pay CEO's in excess of €150k a year then they have no need for my paltry few euro.

For the past 10 yrs my partner gives to sightsavers from his wages automatically taken,
    Hoping people have their sight restored or saved through it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Yes, mostly targeted at alleviating poverty in developing nations.

Ireland is a comparatively rich country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I give to CMRF each month. I think what they're doing in taking cancer research for adults and seeing how it can be adapted for children (who do respond differently) is important.

I also give to Irish Hospice Foundation, St. Francis Hospice and the Irish Cancer Society for personal reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,239 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Do I give money to charities whose CEO's get 6 figure salaries?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,724 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

lawred2 wrote: »
    Nope. I pay tax.

That's the line Ebenezer Scrooge takes. 'Are there no prisons... And are the workhouses still on operation?... The threadmill and Poor Law are in full vigour?

It's actually a fair point. The government should provide for the needs of all people. I often wonder how people who take this line would feel if the government raised taxes to meet all the needs of all the people. Probably not well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

cnocbui wrote: »

No.

What do you think a CEO of an organisation such as Concern Wordwide with over 3000 employees should be paid?

Have you thought about what would happen to the people who need their help if the staff were paid less or not paid at all as many think should happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭facehugger99

cnocbui wrote: »

No.

Own your meanness.

Don't be looking for excuses.

murpho999 wrote: »
    What do you think a CEO of an organisation such as Concern Wordwide with over 3000 employees should be paid?

Have you thought about what would happen to the people who need their help if the staff were paid less or not paid at all as many think should happen?

Most families rely on 35 to 40 thousand to live, some live on less than 20, what is wrong with a normal wage, especially since it is coming from the good will of the hardworking tax payer in the first place to help the needy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

I never carry change/cash, used to work for a company on payday everyone gave a pound to that months charity, I would bring in change on that day for this. One day, I didnt and a manager hounded me for two weeks solid to bring in money. I havent gave a penny to charity since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No , I work for a charity , they get it out of me in sweat and tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Two charities directly out of my wages (one Irish, one for foreign aid). Only about a fiver a week, but over time this adds up and I don't miss such a small amount.

I also regularly give books, clothes etc to local community centre and SVP or to the official plastic collection bags that come through the letterbox.

Raffle tickets for various organisations and charities throughout the year cost me a small fortune, but I do occasionally win a prize :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

My extended family, friends, colleagues, work with many very needy folk. eg homeless, abandoned babies overseas. They live in extreme simplicity and work for their keep only and I trust them fully. So they get every cent I can spare. Other charities help me do that by running charity shops where I buy what I need ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Foreign mainly.
    A school build in Kenya, bicycles for World Bicycle Relief (Africa), orphanage in Argentina, St Vincent de Paul in Ireland.
    I'm not paying the six figure salaries of the charities in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Nope. Don't give to any charity as I don't trust any of them. Especially the bigger ones with people earning over 100k a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I give regularly to one of our local Mountain Rescue teams, I never know when I might need them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

The Irish Cancer Society.

I donate 15 euro a month.
    One of my family had cancer and although luckily they're better now you feel so helpless that the only thing I felt I could do was donate a regular amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

Gave to concern for years. One day I met a Concern chugger and gladly acknowledged them and told them I'm all signed up thank you very much. Well they had me talking for 5 mins and managed to have me double the amount I was giving them.

I can't even look at a chugger now for fear of doing that again :D

Had to quit the direct debit after about 2 years of paying that, and forgot about it. Then someone from the Irish Hospice Foundation knocks on the front door and I'm signed up to them now :pac:

But hey, at least they have a competition for a Fiesta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Foreign mainly.
    A school build in Kenya, bicycles for World Bicycle Relief (Africa), orphanage in Argentina, St Vincent de Paul in Ireland.
    I'm not paying the six figure salaries of the charities in Ireland.

Aw c'mon , I need to get the Porsche serviced before Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Capuchin Centre, Simon Community too riddled with left wing politics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

I spend money in charity shops and give occasional donations to passive collectors.

I refuse to donate to charities that employ chuggers - like most people, I am not a fan of harassment, bullying or intimidation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I never put money in an open bucket regardless of the cause or who is holding the bucket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Own your meanness.

Don't be looking for excuses.

The guy is perfectly entitled to not allowing himself/herself to feel pressurised into donating to a charity if the head honchos are on mega bucks and expenses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

Gave to concern for years. One day I met a Concern chugger and gladly acknowledged them and told them I'm all signed up thank you very much. Well they had me talking for 5 mins and managed to have me double the amount I was giving them.

I can't even look at a chugger now for fear of doing that again :D

Had to quit the direct debit after about 2 years of paying that, and forgot about it. Then someone from the Irish Hospice Foundation knocks on the front door and I'm signed up to them now :pac:

But hey, at least they have a competition for a Fiesta.

They saw you coming :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

I'm not mad about charities who lecture on policy issues and on how the more fortunate should be almost guilted into feeling bad for having a home (provided for by working a long hard week not other tax payers) so I give to my local hospice sporadically and two local animal charities who do amazing work on a regular basis.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Guide dogs and ispca. That's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I donate to Teach Tom (Suicide And Counselling) and with the week that was, definitely needed and of course Puppy Recuse :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

goat2 wrote: »
    Most families rely on 35 to 40 thousand to live, some live on less than 20, what is wrong with a normal wage, especially since it is coming from the good will of the hardworking tax payer in the first place to help the needy

Because good and genuine CEOs are very capable people and lead organisations.

Their skills are very marketable and their services would be in demand and they could command high salaries in a commercial organisation.

Charities have to compete with that.

The people you are talking about being on 35k to 40k are not capable of working at the level of a CEO.

If charities did not pay the money they would not get quality people and their programs, projects etc would not happen and people would not get the help they need.