Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭JCJCJC

Middle thirties is middle aged? Oh do **** off.

It isn't the year...it's the mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,963 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

fryup wrote: »
    ex IRA thugs ?

they may be thugs but they are OUR thugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,927 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Andycap8 wrote:
    But that's how the countryside operates. Low levels of education. Basically they're just farmers or little retailers eking out an existence. Gullible/highly suggestible. Sure, Sean Quinn is a hero in Cavan These are the folks the bots target in the US. But instead of bots you've got the egomaniacs in the Land League, GO'D, SF/IRA splinters, Anti-Vaxers etc

Do you realise you are a racist?

• Site Banned Posts: 160 ✭✭dermo888

Denis O`Brien doesn't even live in Ireland you donut

Yes, but he benefits HEAVILY from various dodgy contracts with the Irish state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

fryup wrote: »
    ex IRA thugs ?

they may be thugs but they are OUR thugs.

Hey! That's the RUO to you!

eagle eye wrote: »

do you realise you are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

klaaaz wrote: »
    You'd want to retract that and see the attachment, just one of a number of horrific injuries inflicted by the violent firm on an elderly man. Hope you wish him a speedy recovery?

:pac: lol

are you takin the urine??? i've seen worse injuries on a school playground:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,978 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Most people die between the ages of 70 and 90. Half that is 35-45

I'm guessing you're early twenties at most eagle-eye? Probably at that age you consider anyone over 40 is old and over fifty will soon need zimmer frames.
    Describing someone in their fifties as elderly is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

It really irks me that there is so much support for this man, who willingly neglected his debts.

This is not a family struggling to keep a house over their head, with no other alternative to pay for debt accrued.

Its bizzare.
    It's because of a contingent who think availing of a service but not paying for it is great because it's sticking it to the man.

I also hate loyalists - and self entitled irresponsible thieves.

And thugs who shoot dogs.

I'm guessing you're early twenties at most eagle-eye? Probably at that age you consider anyone over 40 is old and over fifty will soon need zimmer frames. Describing someone in their fifties as elderly is ridiculous.
    I'm past middle aged actually.

It's because of a contingent who think availing of a service but not paying for it is great because it's sticking it to the man.
    How many are supporting the man in this thread. The majority are from this saying they can't believe that people are backing and defending him.
    The fact that northern thugs where brought down to remove them is my gripe. The fact that a retired Garda was assaulted by them is another reason why I'm not happy about this.
    I think most people talking about this in here are very annoyed that these thugs were brought down from the north.
    Please don't mistake that as defending a man not paying him debts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,978 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I'm past middle aged actually.

So you'd describe yourself as elderly then?.

If 35-45 is middle-aged then presumably 45-90 is elderly?, half a persons life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Mrsmum wrote: »
    He might when his back is to the wall. Some people are like that. But say you're right. Better to put them out in July.

Can you imagine the hysteria if a bunch of burly northern folk who identify as British arrived down any time around the 12th of July? Not to mention all the cries to let the poor farmer finish his harvest so he'll have a few euro to pay back to the bank and sure then everything will be grand again, rinse and repeat for another year.

No matter what time of year, there'll be an excuse. This is the culmination of a long process, they've already had several Christmases in the property since the whole thing went sour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Andycap8

Huh, so country folk are now a different race to city folk?

I can't keep up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

You'd want to retract that and see the attachment, just one of a number of horrific injuries inflicted by the violent firm on an elderly man. Hope you wish him a speedy recovery?

First off. That's not a horrific injury.

Secondly. Did he get that as he walked off the property peacefully as he was required to do by court order?

If 35-45 is middle-aged then presumably 45-90 is elderly?, half a persons life

No I haven't reached the 50 mark yet. I'd call myself part of the evening age group, not quite dusk but it's closing on fast.

Andycap8 wrote:
    Huh, so country folk are now a different race to city folk?
    You just differentiated between yourself and country folk and generalised.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Can I meet you and I'll do whatever damage it takes to put that mark on your knee and see how you like it?

MOD eagle eye, dont post in this thread again!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

I have no sympathy for the "victims". If you run up huge debts over the years, then you are liable to risk losing your property or whatever else. This is not a new concept.

The reason the security firms from the North often do this as no other free state security firm will take this on due to the anticipated trouble.

I think the nonsense about loyalists coming down and evicting is ridiculous. KBC have a large debt to retrieve and with nobody wanting to take the job, this firm will.

Perhaps if people took more ownership in their spending and finances, this would not have happened.

I Feel very very upset about the dog, the rest I do not care about

BattleCorp wrote: »
    First off. That's not a horrific injury.

Secondly. Did he get that as he walked off the property peacefully as he was required to do by court order?

Most likely got it when he threw himself on the ground outside the gate after talking to a Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I have no sympathy for the "victims". If you run up huge debts over the years, then you are liable to risk losing your property or whatever else. This is not a new concept.

The reason the security firms from the North often do this as no other free state security firm will take this on due to the anticipated trouble.

I think the nonsense about loyalists coming down and evicting is ridiculous. KBC have a large debt to retrieve and with nobody wanting to take the job, this firm will.

Perhaps if people took more ownership in their spending and finances, this would not have happened.

I Feel very very upset about the dog, the rest I do not care about

Free State? Are you posting from the 1930s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Andycap8

You just differentiated between yourself and country folk and generalised.

I don't think you know how racism works.

But to clarify, these guys & their supporters, are gullible morons. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Free State? Are you posting from the 1930s?

just soaking in the vibes from other posters posting in here and on social media about the black and tans and go home brits etc etc:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

washman3 wrote: »
    Had you any problem with Seanie Fitzpatrick walking away laughing along with his buddies like Fingleton etc after destroying this country with the help of the likes of Bertie and Liam Lawlor. Rody Molloy formally of FAS cheated taxpayers of more than 1 million.

These guys weren't from 'rural Ireland' as you like to call it. All from Dublin or the greater area and dozens more with them.

Fitzpatrick is from a farming background in Wicklow (which certainly wasn't greater Dublin 60 years ago). Fingleton is from Sligo. Molloy is from Birr.

Lawlor and Ahern are/were Dubliners although not from the stereotypical backgrounds some associate with high end finance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Horrific injury on an elderly man...

Do you honestly think a scrape on the shin is a horrific injury? It's one thing stating he received horrific injuries when there is no proof, but putting up that picture? It refutes your entire argument.

Also, everyone has a smart phone these days. Where's the photographs of the missing teeth we keep hearing about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭JCJCJC

Naos wrote: »
    ... Where's the photographs of the missing teeth we keep hearing about?

Maybe they were his false teeth and the dentist repossessed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Is that all you have, one banker doing a tiny bit of jail time and still wealthy after it. The rest of the wealthy elite put huge debts of billions onto the taxpayer and never served a day in jail. No protest here certainly in this thread about it from the bank supporters, but they rather pick on a vulnerable farmer instead.

Jaysus you have the neck of a jockeys boll*** to come out and claim that this guy is some vulnerable farmer.

Most vulnerable farmers I know don't run up 15/18k bills with quarries, have multiple banks chasing them for unpaid loans now it turns out over 2 decades, don't have car leasing companies after them and certainly don't have under declarations of VAT of 170k.

Can anyone else of a farming background please tell us if the below trail fits the vulnerable farmer definition?

And people in their 50s and 60 are not really termed elderly either.

But maybe things are different in the village you normally provide your service to.

BTW they would like you back on duty.

Also I am not a bank supporter, I am a supporter of people paying their way.
    And unlike you I am not a supporter of thieving tax cheating bast*rds.

I really wish those that support such behaviour were actually exposed to the ramifications.
    Then again looking at the shyte you come out with maybe you were. :rolleyes:
    There has to be some logical explanation for your display of idiocy.
    gctest50 wrote: »
    Anthony McGann is the sole owner of five portfolios of land in Co Roscommon against which judgment orders have been registered.

In 1997, a Circuit Court judgement for £6,994 (€8,853) was obtained against him following a dispute with ACC Bank.It appears the debt was cleared five years later.

A further debt of €37,960 with ACC Asset Finance became the subject of a High Court order in 2009, and still stands against Mr McGann.

Co Roscommon business Hanly Brothers Ltd registered a debt of €18,236 against McGann after securing an order the same year. It also remains outstanding, according to Land Registry records.

There were further High Court orders for undisclosed amounts made against him in favour of ACC Asset Finance in 2010,

and Bank of Ireland Leasing Ltd, trading as Land Rover Financial Services, in 2011.

A mortgage debt was also registered against McGann by ICS Building Society in 2012, and has yet to be repaid.

Then three years ago, the taxman made a settlement over a debt of €429,501 for under-declared VAT, of which more than half was interest and penalties.

It is not clear what business activity McGann was involved in.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

There's Mr Taylor. You would think if his teeth were smashed out, he would show the world, no?