Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strong winds / Heavy Rain Tues 27 and Storm Diana Weds 28 Nov. 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭RoisinD

Wind moving round to south west now and getting stronger. Much more used to SW winds. NWClare

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,430 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Sat in the car and it's bouncing around the place from the wind and gusts. Sits higher than Cara so getting an extra wallop. I can currently see a trampoline in the wild!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Not to bad in my area of meath, its windy and mild, not much rain, just a typical windy winters day

• Registered Users Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭pauldry

Curveball!

Highest gust of the day could be about to go to.....Casement??!! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭jirafa

Storm Diana kicking up a fuss at Lynch's Quay,slipway in Cobh.

https://www.facebook.com/liamos1/videos/10216976596542131/

Scotts Quay,Cobh,still standing despite Diana's stormy gusts.

https://www.facebook.com/liamos1/videos/10216976552701035/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Starting to clam down in cork city :)

Yep same here. Also electricity in my area has been restored. Kudos to the ESB.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

pauldry wrote: »
    Curveball!

Highest gust of the day could be about to go to.....Casement??!! :confused:

I'm nearby to there and sweet baby Jee... with the tiny hands its insanely windy here.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

yep peak gust so far 62kt at Casement (115kph) Must be some funnelling effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Yep same here. Also electricity in my area has been restored. Kudos to the ESB.

My heroes, ESB engineers... Our supply now comes under the ocean and almost no cuts. The locals say that before that there were frequent cuts.. Only one in my time here... that last bad storm? Name eludes me. YOU know,,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,119 ✭✭✭pad199207

Very strong gusts in kildare. Fence is down

• Registered Users Posts: 6,235 ✭✭✭Oneiric 3

Belmullet's pressure reading of 969 hPa at 12pm is very probably the lowest land based reading on the entire planet currently. There are deeper depressions occurring at the moment, but they are concentrated over the oceans of the southern hemisphere.

New Moon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Graces7 wrote: »
    My heroes, ESB engineers... Our supply now comes under the ocean and almost no cuts. The locals say that before that there were frequent cuts.. Only one in my time here... that last bad storm? Name eludes me. YOU know,,

Storm Ali last September??

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Very wild in Galway City now some serious gusts of wind.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,729 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

For my weather station....
    Darwin still holds the record for highest wind gust.
    Diana now has taken Darwin's record for sustained winds.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Storm Ali last September??

callum! How could I ever forget Callum!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Local business here talking out of their hat earlier about 120km gusts, it doesn't help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

It's still pretty gusty here but the sun is out too - very brisk - Cork City.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

As wind swings SW appears the strongest gradient coming into the SW

39 gusts 66 knots @ Sherkin = 122kph

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭pnpweirdo

High winds and driving rain in limerick

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭The_Outsider

Wasn't too much in that first wave here just west of Ennis, but once that gap in the rain bands past and the 2nd wave arrived, different animal altogether!
    A recent gust of 50mph here now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Latest report from Waterford Airport 101.86 kmh
    SAIE99 EIWF 281330
    METAR EIWF 281330Z 24037G55KT 210V270 4000 BR BKN010 12/11 Q0985 R21/2/////=

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

ASCAT A winds at 09:44 this morning. Mean winds offshore up around 45 knots.

467070.png

• Registered Users Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭morgana

Winds have died down pretty much in North Cork. Light rain.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭secondrowgal

Lads/lassies

I am in Dublin today and heading to Tipperary at approx. 1630 (driving) - should I just stay put? It's fairly hairy out there at the mo...

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Eejits down my way in Wexford asking this morning if schools were open. I was tempted to reply with "No,sure it's only 8am,they don't open until 9".

Not too bad in my location as there's a hill which is blocking the worst of the winds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

After a lull, the winds are blasting again, Beara peninsula, near Adrigole. Planned walk down to the pier has been put on hold.

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭sunnyday1234

This lady isn’t a patch on Ophelia in north cork

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

All grand in Dublin city.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

This lady isn’t a patch on Ophelia in north cork

Was never meant to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

UKmo forecasting more heavy rain for the SE and East coast of the country from about 5am.