Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are foreign women more approachable than Irish girls?

Irish men are more popular with foreigners than Irish women. I don't think that can be disputed....

I won't make any negative comments on Irish women

hehe.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

I'm sorry but that's a load of nonsense.

Most Irish men don't give a toss about any of that, most are not that shallow.

You're always going to get pigs, who haven't a word in their head unless they have gallons of porter in them on a night out, but that comes with the territory, plenty foreign lads can be piggish too, believe me I've seen it.

I don't want to go over more tedious gender war nonsense but the OP's original question was are foreign woman more approachable than Irish girls and they patently are.

Most Irish women are pretty conservative, even in 2018. I've always found foreign woman a lot more easy to talk to in general day to day life and especially in night life. I would guess that's most Irish men's opinion too.

It's not nonsense it's based on my lived experience, just as your experience has coloured your opinion on the issue. I've been an Irish woman for 30 odd ears now and I dare say I've more first hand experience of being approached by Irish men than you do and they are not the cassanovas they like to think of themselves as. If they find it easier to approach foreign women it's for a couple of reasons as have been mentioned in the thread:
    • What's new or exotic is more interesting, weirdly enough if you spend your life surrounded by hot Latin lovers, self depricating affable Irish men will seem exotic
    • Foreign men and women socialise more together and have a more natural way of being together so when foreign women are approached by Irish men they assume it's in the same context as their local men and are not as guarded

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Shenshen wrote: »
    Ok, I think I'm struggling to express myself a little. Apologies, it's not my first language.

You have excellent written English. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well given I'm a hairy arsed and faced bloke, I wouldn't be the target for Spanish men. :D In my experience Spanish lads certainly wouldn't be as "bad" as some Italian men, who can be extremely forward, but they'd be more forward than Irish men.

Ooops hahaha sorry but you know, there are also men who like men so don't consider yourself safe. :D

And yeah I agree that we have some of those "vultures" alright, and that they latch more onto foreign girls (locals are more used to swat them away), but the interactions tend to be limited to when being out (at least with locals).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Irish women are less approachable on nights out because they are more tanked up and would cut the head of you if looked at them the wrong way. When they are sober it's different but nobody approachs women during the day here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

It's not nonsense it's based on my lived experience, just as your experience has coloured your opinion on the issue. I've been an Irish woman for 30 odd ears now and I dare say I've more first hand experience of being approached by Irish men than you do and they are not the cassanovas they like to think of themselves as. If they find it easier to approach foreign women it's for a couple of reasons as have been mentioned in the thread:
    • What's new or exotic is more interesting, weirdly enough if you spend your life surrounded by hot Latin lovers, self depricating affable Irish men will seem exotic
    • Foreign men and women socialise more together and have a more natural way of being together so when foreign women are approached by Irish men they assume it's in the same context as their local men and are not as guarded

Not being stuck up would be one of them I reckon.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Just to clarify, are you saying every single Irish woman on earth is stuck up? Or can we assume you're just making another generalisation?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shenshen

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Just to clarify, are you saying every single Irish woman on earth is stuck up? Or can we assume you're just making another generalisation?

I'm actually finding it funnier that he/she implies that all non-Irish women are not stuck up. Quite a statement to make about just under 3 billion people!

what's your demonstrable evidence for this outlandish assertion?
    Are all Irish women stuck up?
    What makes them stuck up?
    or is it only Irish women who talk to you who are stuck up?

maybe you need to look at the common denominator

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

My thoughts on this have changed somewhat over time. Approaching someone who's first language isn't English probably requires a higher degree of competence. So in that respect it's not necessarily easier. In fact it can potentially amplify any imperfections. Now Americans, Canadians, Aussies etc - that's a different story. You're getting the best of both worlds there.

Lots of men in different countries seem to complain about the native women. There are some unique differences here but it's difficult to nail down exactly what they are and what is causing it. Far too much emphasis is placed on alcohol and If there are a greater number of people here who are shy socially it's hard to imagine that the reason is genetic, that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

From my 44 years as an Irish male and working abroad I can say you have no idea what Irish women are like towards men.
    Exotic works a bit but on first approaches that isn't even a consideration in many cases.
    I have never been asked out by an Irish women or even just offered a drink. I have had Irish woman say they will talk to me if I'll buy them one which I have never experienced in another country.
    I was visiting Philadelphia in my 30s and went from the airport to the hotel. In that time I was given 2 phone numbers and asked out. I hadn't even made it to the check-in. I had long hair and a bit of a hippy and looked like a lot of the locals. They approached me before knowing anything about me.
    In Ireland you can get a he'll of a lot of abuse just approaching women. Normally because they are in a group and there is always one who is annoyed they weren't approached. Doesn't happen in other countries but you might see it in the UK too.
    I worked in nightclubs in Dublin and I can say I have watched all things happen while sober that the customers don't see. A simple not interested response rarely get any response other than a sorry to bother you. The things is many women in a group will be insulting instead which is completely uncalled for. In the US I saw bouncer kicking women out of a bar for being abusive for offers of drinks or chats.

The best women are Eastern Europeans that is fairly widely accepted among most men of different nationalities . We're running out of them now but I think Serbia, Macedonia, Montenegro are joining the EU soon so more coming. We need Ukraine and Belarus in the EU immediately to address declining birth rates. Only for Putin this would have already occurred I think.

Irish women are less approachable on nights out because they are more tanked up and would cut the head of you if looked at them the wrong way.

Ara sure looking at the ugly hammerheads and flat feet that pass for the average male troglodyte in Ireland, I'd overlook it. Indeed, mná na hÉireann are very good to stay in Ireland given such a stunning paucity of aesthetic qualities among fir na hÉireann. They must count their blessings that some foreign girls have arrived so that the Irish girls can now avoid feeling guilty for not finding stinky underarms and lanky pasty-coloured bandy auld legs attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

The best women are Eastern Europeans that is fairly widely accepted among most men of different nationalities . We're running out of them now but I think Serbia, Macedonia, Montenegro are joining the EU soon so more coming. We need Ukraine and Belarus in the EU immediately to address declining birth rates. Only for Putin this would have already occurred I think.

The wistful longing in this post is quite poignant.
    Ryanair do quite cheap flights I've heard. Why are you waiting?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Used to find that the opposite male female chat up routine happened in England.

If a girl was into you, she'd come up to you.

Less bullsh1ting involved also. Very direct and to the point.

Seemed to be more sexually liberated if that's the correct term.

what's your demonstrable evidence for this outlandish assertion?
    Are all Irish women stuck up?
    What makes them stuck up?
    or is it only Irish women who talk to you who are stuck up?

maybe you need to look at the common denominator

My evidence is life.

Nope, not all Irish women are stuck up.

I've no idea what makes someone stuck up to be honest.

Some have been in the past but I quickly root out folk like that male and female.

I will not get into an argument with you, it's a Friday night. I'm merely giving my opinion based on my life experiences

Yup, found that to be the case myself too.

Zorya wrote: »
    The wistful longing in this post is quite poignant.
    Ryanair do quite cheap flights I've heard. Why are you waiting?
    Doubt theres many job out there and I only speak English . But yeah Kiev and Warsaw would be good for a trip soon. Budapest also highly rated.

Ara sure looking at the ugly hammerheads and flat feet that pass for the average male troglodyte in Ireland, I'd overlook it. Indeed, mná na hÉireann are very good to stay in Ireland given such a stunning paucity of aesthetic qualities among fir na hÉireann. They must count their blessings that some foreign girls have arrived so that the Irish girls can now avoid feeling guilty for not finding stinky underarms and lanky pasty-coloured bandy auld legs attractive.
    Love you too xx ;)

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    From my 44 years as an Irish male and working abroad I can say you have no idea what Irish women are like towards men.
    Exotic works a bit but on first approaches that isn't even a consideration in many cases.
    I have never been asked out by an Irish women or even just offered a drink. I have had Irish woman say they will talk to me if I'll buy them one which I have never experienced in another country.
    I was visiting Philadelphia in my 30s and went from the airport to the hotel. In that time I was given 2 phone numbers and asked out. I hadn't even made it to the check-in. I had long hair and a bit of a hippy and looked like a lot of the locals. They approached me before knowing anything about me.
    In Ireland you can get a he'll of a lot of abuse just approaching women. Normally because they are in a group and there is always one who is annoyed they weren't approached. Doesn't happen in other countries but you might see it in the UK too.
    I worked in nightclubs in Dublin and I can say I have watched all things happen while sober that the customers don't see. A simple not interested response rarely get any response other than a sorry to bother you. The things is many women in a group will be insulting instead which is completely uncalled for. In the US I saw bouncer kicking women out of a bar for being abusive for offers of drinks or chats.

As I said earlier in the thread the problem lies equally with Irish men and Irish women. It's our culture that is the problem we don't know how to approach each other at all everyone is defensive so when you meet men and women from other countries and they're not defensive of course they seem more approachable.

I have the opposite stories to you, foreign blokes abroad who ask for my number apropos of nothing in the daytime without a hint of alcohol. Foreign men who chat to me here like a normal person not like I'm the gatekeeper to some magical sex treasure trove.
    Irish blokes who insist on buying me a drink and when I decline get frustrated and lash out " 'cos they're only trying to talk to me" like if I wanted to talk to them I would be, drink or no drink (incidently I don't actually drink a whole lot so like you most of my observations of this nature are from the perspective of a totally sober person)
    It's not right to be rude to someone and insult them regardless of your gender but you also aren't entitled to have someone want to talk to you or ask for your number and that works both ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

This is a bizarre conversation as always with this topic, which must be the most done to death of all on this site. What is the point of it and for those on each side, what do you want to see happen when you post so often in these threads? Every such thread is kept going by people who are willing to spend months replying to argue the case that either Irish women are bad or that Irish men are bad,. But all insist they're happy and doing well for themselves, either delighted in their single status or shagging all round them with foreigners or blissfully married to a wonderful foreign spouse. So it seems everyone's happy out with their own situation and doing great for themselves. Everything has worked out perfectly for all these posters who without fail keep these threads going. So what are you lookin for out of these repeated lengthy threads? If you're happy then it's very difficult to understand.

The best women are Eastern Europeans that is fairly widely accepted among most men of different nationalities

Suffering Jesus. You couldn't make up some of the utter horse manure in this thread! You'll last just as long with a grumpy Eastern European woman as you would with a grumpy Irishwoman. But no, they're all amazing far away over there in that field.

For the same reliable factual record, it's widely accepted that Eastern European women are all devoutly Catholic communists who love their secret police and crypto-fascist authoritarian rulers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

The key word there is ''seemed''. I can't argue with your own personal experiences of course, but it's hard to justifty any major differences between two island nations that are similar socially. We are all viewing life from our own, subjective experiences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

There must be some munters on this thread, I get flirtatious approaches from Irish women all the time...... if you ain't then the problem may be yourself, just saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭seenitall

For the same reliable factual record, it's widely accepted that Eastern European women are all devoutly Catholic communists who love their secret police and crypto-fascist authoritarian rulers.

Oi you! Slow down there...

(Well ok, I do like a firm hand in government, and the Catholic communist bit is about right too... fine, carry on :/ )

• Registered Users Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

As I said earlier in the thread the problem lies equally with Irish men and Irish women. It's our culture that is the problem we don't know how to approach each other at all everyone is defensive so when you meet men and women from other countries and they're not defensive of course they seem more approachable.

I have the opposite stories to you, foreign blokes abroad who ask for my number apropos of nothing in the daytime without a hint of alcohol. Foreign men who chat to me here like a normal person not like I'm the gatekeeper to some magical sex treasure trove.
    Irish blokes who insist on buying me a drink and when I decline get frustrated and lash out " 'cos they're only trying to talk to me" like if I wanted to talk to them I would be, drink or no drink (incidently I don't actually drink a whole lot so like you most of my observations of this nature are from the perspective of a totally sober person)
    It's not right to be rude to someone and insult them regardless of your gender but you also aren't entitled to have someone want to talk to you or ask for your number and that works both ways.
    I don't think you are even aware of what you are saying and what it says about you. Yes I have met women who think that the only reason I am talking to them for sex and they would be wrong just like you. If you think for one moment that it doesn't come across and noted as hostility you are seriously mistaken. The fact you think the foreign guys approaching you on the street are just trying to get to know you are equally mistaken. You just fall for a different technique and are also more open to these foreign ways. French women wouldn't engage with them as they know what is what and that the guys who approach women like that are the type of guys here you would avoid.

I worked here in Ireland so every week I would see days and days or mean and women interacting in a social setting. It meant I had a lot of exposure to peoples' behaviour. Women rarely approach men directly here and play lots of games. The bunch of loud lads are not a measure of Irish guys and neither is a group of girls. I have never liked being with big groups as it seems o be a licence for idiots in a group.

Irish women are extremely unlikely to ask a guy out even after getting to know them. In other western countries this is not the case. You cannot in anyway blame Irish men for that. From what you have said it doesn't look like you would even entertain the approach from a Irish man like you would the foreign guy becasue you already have a view what Irish guys are thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Especially if you've found some impoverished non-EU citizen who barely understands your language and attached socio-economic-cultural nuances as well as the women from your own country and culture do. For the first time in your life you find somebody who views you as some sort of exotic God.

Yes, one could see how that might be attractive to the losers who feel the need to look down on Irish women.

It's exactly this bitchy attitude that put me off a lot of Irish women. And any women that were after me were all EU nationals and from richer countries than Ireland was at the time. I think it's to do with the exotic thing. I had one friend who did well with Irish women, but he doesn't look Irish.

There are some lovely Irish women... But for some reason the ones I liked didn't like me and vice versa. Spanish, French, German etc all love me for some reason. Probably because I look like a cross between Hector and Wayne Rooney.

In my experience Irish men are highly sought after abroad.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I don't think you are even aware of what you are saying and what it says about you.

That sex treasure trove comment in particular. That was utterly bizarre. Most of the Irish guys I know like talking to women (or men) as an enjoyment in itself - I know I do. There is no sex treasure trove. Sounds like she is attracting the wrong sort of men, or subconsciously giving off the wrong signals.

I will say if I see a girl dressed in very revealing clothes I stay well clear as in my experience she will be utterly boring and bitchy to talk to.

For me, being around foreign women (coming to think of it, pretty much ANY nationality I've encountered) is like playing a video game with cheat codes. Suddenly you can say or do nothing wrong. It's almost like the lynx ad. Never understood it myself.

People always said that women like confident men. It's easy to have confidence when women are hanging on your every word, laughing at your most lame jokes and constantly touching and flirting with you. Not so easy when they look at you like something they scraped off their shoe.

Even saw it recently when out with a few work colleagues. An Irish girl brought her French 20 something friend along and she climbed over two other people on the bench we were sitting on so she could talk to me and hung on my every word. Flirting, touching me, laughing at my jokes, the whole 9 yards. I did nothing to encourage it. My colleague couldn't hide the shock on her face. It was embarrassing even for me. And I'm 47, long married and bald now. Good for the ego though I suppose.

Double post