Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If found in bar, please return to race!

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭mister paul

Post DCM
    Recovery week 1

2 easy runs, Thursday and Sunday.

Running: 11 miles
    Cycling: 11.5 miles

Recovery week 2

3 easy runs, Tuesday, Thursday, Sunday.

Running: 19.9 miles
    Cycling: 18 miles

Recovery week 3

3 easy runs and the ****show that is run in the dark progressing from easy to MP.

Running: 25.5 miles
    Cycling: 13.1 miles

Recovery week 4

3 easy runs (was meant to be 4) and a tempo session (3 x 1M @ 7:09-7:20) on the Tuesday. Saturday run didn't happen as we were at a wedding on Friday and I didn't much feel like running the day after it.

Running: 31.4 miles
    Cycling: 24.9 miles

Week: 2019-11-25 - 2019-12-01

Monday: Rest
    Tuesday: Club session
    Wednesday: 4 miles recovery
    Thursday: 6.2 miles easy
    Friday: Rest
    Saturday: 8 miles lsr
    Sunday: 6.2 miles easy

Actual:

Monday: Relatively long cycle commute home after work in the lashings of rain, about 9.5 miles.

Tuesday: Red-eye runmute session. 2 x [5 & 10 mins @ 7:09-7:20 w/ 2 min jog recovery]. Once again in the lashings of rain and wind. Second half of third interval and all of fourth were definitely nicer on the flat and with the wind mostly at my back.

Laps|Step Type|Time|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    1|Warm Up|09:15.2|1|09:15|128|49|7|177
    2|Warm Up|09:00.8|1|09:01|134|7|36|183
    3|Warm Up|05:08.9|0.55|09:18|134|46|7|180
    4|Run|05:00|0.7|07:09|154|7|13|187
    5|Recover|02:00|0.21|09:25|150|0|7|172
    6|Run|07:09.5|1|07:10|160|26|33|186
    7|Run|02:50.5|0.4|07:05|165|0|7|188
    8|Recover|02:00|0.2|10:03|152|0|3|162
    9|Run|05:00|0.7|07:12|157|7|43|187
    10|Recover|02:00|0.22|09:05|154|10|0|183
    11|Run|07:08.4|1|07:08|158|13|16|187
    12|Run|02:51.6|0.42|06:51|162|0|0|186
    13|Recover|02:00|0.22|08:58|153|3|0|174
    14|Cool Down|08:42.0|1|08:42|147|16|3|183
    15|Cool Down|08:50.1|1|08:50|145|23|16|180
    16|Cool Down|03:30.7|0.39|09:07|145|3|16|182

Distance: 10 miles in total

Wednesday: Local loop, nothing much to report on this one.

Distance: 4.35 miles @ 8:57, avg. hr: 131

Thursday: Long cycle home from work. Cycling mileage suffered in the final month or two or marathon training, so I'm trying to get that back on track to hit my target for the year.

Distance: 15.82 miles @ 13.4 mph avg.

Friday: With the cycle on Thursday evening, I didn't get the scheduled run in, so made up for it with a morning runmute.

Distance: 5.02 miles @ 8:53, avg. hr: 131

Saturday: No time for a run.

Sunday: Easy paced lap of McCarron Airport in Vegas. Life is tough sometimes. Nothing much to report, plenty of stops at pedestrian crossings.

Distance: 11.01 @ 8:43, avg. hr: 136

Weekly totals
    Running: 30.5 miles
    Cycling: 40.8 miles

Week: 2019-12-02 - 2019-12-08

Plan

Tuesday: 10k easy
    Wednesday: 10m mlr
    Thursday: 10k easy
    Saturday: 8m mlr
    Sunday: Rest

Actual:

I was over in Las Vegas for the AWS re:Invent conference all week, so although I'd a "plan" for the week, it was really a case of playing things by ear and getting out when I could.

Monday: Easy morning (6:45am) 5k run with a group to the Welcome to Las Vegas sign and back.

Distance: 3.69 miles @ 8:44, avg. hr: 128

Tuesday: After watching the keynote, I headed back to the hotel and then out for an easy run. Ran to the university, one of the greener areas of Vegas. Added in a few strides on the Myron Partridge Track on the campus for good measure.

On the average pace below, I'd take it with more than a grain of salt, as first mile was logged as 2:58 on Garmin, and Strava has a "corrected" time of 4:48. Most miles after that were 8:45 - 9:00.

Distance: 6.76 miles @ 8:08, avg. hr: 128

Wednesday: There was an 8k and 4k race as part of the conference, but I'd been too late registering to get an entry. It turned out that there were sign-ups available on the morning. Jogged over the the Mirage (1.2k) for 5am to join the queue to register. That went mostly well, until I was told that I now needed to head around the corner and show my confirmation email that they'd just sent me, to get my bib...hmm. Borrowed a phone from a randomer, but couldn't get onto the work email. Ran back to the hotel, grabbed my own phone and headed back (2.5k). Only problem now was that I'd be running with phone in my hand.

Quick chat with W from work, Singer and his colleague C before the start and we were off. W and myself were running the 4k, the other two the 8k. The early going was tough, with lots of traffic to contend with, although it was better than last year, as both 4 and 8k started together. Last year I ploughed into the 8k walkers after 500 metres, as the 8k had started before the 4k. After a few hundred metres C flew past me on my right, as I made my way past slower runners, taking my time and not weaving too much. Tucked in behind him and overtook him again soon after.

Effort levels seemed high from the start, not surprising considering the long flight on Saturday night and an average of ~30k steps the previous 3 days. Not sure what was up with the HR readings for the first mile, which probably averaged 130. I'm presuming it was a mis-read.

Anyhoo, I never really got into it. For the first 2k it was difficult to tell how I was doing, as we were running alongside the 8k runners. As I got closer to the turn, I got a much better idea, just outside the top 10. Spent the 3rd k chasing down the runner in front, eventually running alongside him for a bit. This seemed to spur him on a bit so I tucked in behind him again. Into the final k and I could see that another runner in front of us was slowly coming back to us. Decided to reel him in so pushed on and caught up fairly quickly, noting that the other runner had come with me. There was less than 150 metres left so with a quick look over my shoulder and a deep breath, I pushed for home and easily held on for 10th out of 314 runners/walkers.

Laps|Time|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    1|04:06.3|0.62|06:36|123|132|7|0|185
    2|04:06.1|0.62|06:36|139|169|10|3|192
    3|04:06.8|0.62|06:37|167|171|3|13|190
    4|04:03.6|0.62|06:32|171|176|3|3|189
    5|00:04.4|0.01|05:04|176|176|0|0|194
    Summary|16:27|2.5|06:35|150|176|23|23|189

Before the race, I'd been targeting about 15:30, but taking jetlag and overall schedule of the week into account I'm definitely happy enough with the outcome. Hopefully after a few weeks with some speedwork I'll be a bit sharper.

Finished the morning with a jog back to the hotel with B, C and W.

Distance: 5.5 miles in total

Thursday: Back to UNLV for a recovery run after the mornings keynote. Gave the track a miss this time around, but hit a target milestone for the year of 1,500 miles. Pulled the pace back a bit to keep the HR down.

Distance: 6.23 miles @ 9:23, avg. hr: 125

Friday: Early morning run with Singer to downtown Vegas. A few stops for photos along the way and many more stops to cross at pretty much every junction. Last bit was stop-start as B tried to manage a niggle.

Distance: 8.30 miles @ 9:08, avg. hr: 127

Saturday: Another early morning run. Headed south to the airport again and turned after 5k. Return was nicer, with the breeze behind me and plenty of stops for photos.

Distance: 6.22 miles @ 8:55, avg. hr: 127

Sunday: Flying followed up with relaxing on the sofa.

Weekly totals
    Running: 36.7 miles
    Cycling: 0 miles

YTD totals
    Running: 1,515 miles
    Cycling: 1,349 miles

• Registered Users Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Well done on all the Vegas runs :)

That's what happens when jetlag has you up at 6am every morning. I don't think I'd ever run 7 days in a row before.

Plan:

I've two targets at the moment, one is sharpening up for 5k racing, the second is hitting my cycling target for the year, which I'm behind on.

Wednesday: 5m rec
    Thursday: 8m mlr
    Friday: 5k easy
    Saturday: 5m tempo
    Sunday: 10m mlr

Actual:

Monday: 15 mile cycle home from work. Windy, but thankfully not wet.

Distance: 15.00 miles @ 14.9mi/h avg

Tuesday: Not the club session. I was working from home for the day and really didn't fancy cycling across town to the club for a session, particularly with the wind and rain, so used an old session from when L coached me, with paces adjusted for current fitness. The session was 5 x 2 minutes @ Threshold (6:54 - 7:04) off 75 seconds recovery + 5 x 90 seconds @ CV (6:36 - 6:44) off 90 seconds recovery.

Never mind not wanting to cross town for the club session, once I eventually got out the door, I tried to convince myself that 4 miles @ easy pace would suffice and I could run the session on Wednesday instead. Managed to push those thoughts aside thankfully. Both calves were tight from the start and I stopped a couple of times to ease them out. For once though, it was the right calf that was tighter. They'd eased by time I started my cooldown.

Anyway on to the session itself, other than the calves, there were no issues hitting the paces. A couple of reps were a bit quick and at least one was slow, but that was due to road crossing issues. Thankfully for the most part I hit junctions during recoveries so wasn't impacted that much. I noticed on Garmin that my cadence was higher than I'd normally expect based on the paces, but this may be a marathon hangover and change as my sharpness returns.

Laps|Step Type|Time|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    1|Warm Up|09:23.9|1|09:24|132|143|125|3|176
    2|Warm Up|09:07.1|1|09:07|130|137|7|16|170
    3|Warm Up|00:04.2|0.01|09:56|135|136|0|0|180
    4|Run|02:00|0.29|06:55|139|148|0|13|185
    5|Recovery|01:15|0.1|12:02|135|145|3|3|115
    6|Run|02:00|0.29|07:00|144|153|16|20|185
    7|Recovery|01:15|0.11|11:01|144|155|7|3|156
    8|Run|02:00|0.29|07:00|151|159|7|10|185
    9|Recovery|01:15|0.09|13:25|142|158|3|0|130
    10|Run|02:00|0.29|06:51|150|159|3|3|189
    11|Recovery|01:15|0.11|11:10|144|157|0|7|156
    12|Run|02:00|0.29|06:58|149|156|0|16|188
    13|Recovery|01:15|0.12|10:35|143|157|0|7|135
    14|Run|01:30|0.23|06:29|144|160|0|3|190
    15|Recovery|01:30|0.15|09:52|152|161|0|13|173
    16|Run|01:30|0.22|06:48|150|158|0|20|191
    17|Recovery|01:30|0.15|10:20|155|164|3|3|157
    18|Run|01:30|0.23|06:38|151|158|0|16|193
    19|Recovery|01:30|0.15|10:17|149|160|0|30|161
    20|Run|01:30|0.23|06:39|151|160|0|3|179
    21|Recovery|01:30|0.14|10:26|152|162|7|7|160
    22|Run|01:30|0.24|06:19|156|161|7|0|186
    23|Recovery|01:30|0.14|11:01|151|156|16|0|167
    24|Cool Down|09:06.4|1|09:06|144|152|16|3|177
    25|Cool Down|08:31.9|1|08:32|139|149|20|52|181
    26|Cool Down|03:11.6|0.38|08:25|139|144|0|36|173
    Summary|Workout|01:10:40|8.23|08:35|141|164|240|295|174

Distance: 8.23 miles @ 8:35 avg.

Wednesday:

AM: Cycle commute - 2 miles

Lunch: Easy lunchtime recovery run out for a loop of Ringsend park and back via the market in the IFSC.

Distance: 4.84 miles @ 9:04, avg. hr: 134

PM: Roundabout cycle commute home, adding 15.8 miles to the morning commute.

Thursday:

AM: Roundabout cycle in to work - 6.3 miles

Lunch: Run out to Poolbeg and back, picking up lunch in CHQ on the return leg.

Distance: 8.01 miles @ 8:58, avg. hr: 133

PM: Roundabout cycle home from work - 12.3 miles

Friday:

AM: 4m slightly circuituous cycle commute

PM: 10.1m roundabout cycle home from work

I decided against running as the week had been taxing with the extra cycling.

Saturday: I'd a couple of drinks on Friday so decided to keep the effort levels easy at Parkrun. We cycled across to St Anne's park. Ran Parkrun as an unintentional progression run, starting the first mile at about 9:35 pace and when space opened up on the avenue after the first mile, pace increased. When that mile beeped at 8:35, I realised that it was a progression run, so mile 3 came in at 7:35 with the last bit faster again (a kid overtook me, so I needed to take the place back).

After getting my barcode scanned I jogged back around the route to A, who'd been volunteering and was suitably cold from standing still for 40 minutes. We cycled back home to bring the cycling distance for the morning to about 9.5 miles.

Distance: 4.69 miles in total

Sunday: I was out with friends after the Leinster match on Saturday evening, so was a bit tired on Sunday. Nice lie-in followed by brunch and a walk helped matters. Went Christmas tree shopping after that and eventually took the plunge and headed out in the dark of the early evening.

Nothing much to report about the run itself, just kept the effort levels easy and got through it. Headed out to Clontarf and back via Raheny.

Distance: 12.01 miles @ 9:24, avg. hr: 129

Weekly totals
    Running: 37.8 miles
    Cycling: 76.8 miles

YTD totals
    Running: 1,553 miles
    Cycling: 1,426 miles

Week starting 2019-12-16

Plan:

Tuesday: Club session (or hill sprints)
    Saturday: 5m tempo
    Sunday: 14m mlr

Actual:

Monday: Cycling commutes - 12 miles in total

Tuesday: The club were having their annual 3k blind time trial, but I decided to give it a miss. I've done little or no speed work since June, so it seemed like a pointless exercise. Decided to keep it local with some hill sprints instead. After much deliberation, decided on a hill but changed my mind last minute and went with the one near Glasnevin Cemetery on Finglas Road. No real issues with the hills, which ended up being around 10 x 40 seconds, determined by the length of the hill. Went from and to the same street lights on each rep, so any differences in distance or elevation gain in the table below are GPS related. Recoveries back down the hill were generally around 2:10.

Laps|Time|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Elev Gain|Avg Run Cadence
    4|00:43.5|0.13|05:40|136|23|188
    6|00:41.9|0.12|05:40|133|20|192
    8|00:42.3|0.12|05:49|139|26|194
    10|00:41.6|0.12|05:50|144|20|194
    12|00:41.4|0.11|06:17|147|26|196
    14|00:42.2|0.12|06:02|143|16|198
    16|00:40.8|0.12|05:38|150|20|179
    18|00:41.4|0.11|06:13|154|23|200
    20|00:41.3|0.11|06:21|151|20|201
    22|00:39.7|0.11|05:53|151|20|207

Distance: 7.23 miles in total

Wednesday: Easy recovery run

Distance: 5.22 miles @ 9:15, avg. hr: 126

Thursday: Looks like I worked from home, went for a 10 miles cycle in the afternoon, no run though.

Friday: As I hadn't run on Thursday, I ran into work on Friday instead. This had the added bonus of not having the bike in with me, so I could have a few beers and enjoy the Leinster match later that evening.

Boredom possibly at play here, as ran miles 6 and 7 @ MP (minus a bit).

Distance: 8.01 miles @ 8:46, avg. hr: 136

Saturday: For once, I didn't go overboard with the drink on the last Friday before Christmas in work, so managed to make it out to support the Sanctuary Runners at Poppintree Parkrun and added an extra mile with A after.

Distance: 4.12 miles @ 10:06, avg. hr: 124

Sunday: There must have been more drinks on the Saturday (possibly Bru in Fairview), so was a bit tired. Went for a 12.7 mile cycle, but gave the long run a miss.

Weekly totals
    Running: 24.6 miles
    Cycling: 38.5 miles

Week starting 2019-12-23

Plan:

Tuesday: Some sort of session
    Wednesday: Waterstown Parkrun
    Thursday: Some easy miles
    Saturday: Parkrun
    Sunday: 12m LSR or Christmas Cracker 5k

Actual:

Monday: Mission accomplished

Tuesday: I looked at the graduates plans and took a random enough session from that to do - 5 x 5 @ CV off 4 min rec. Not sure if I mis-read it or mis-programmed it in the watch, but only gave myself 3 minutes recovery. I also decided to cut it down to 4 reps, in case I wanted to race on the Sunday.

Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    0.76|06:35|140|59|3|188
    0.76|06:36|142|43|0|192
    0.76|06:35|161|16|13|188
    0.76|06:32|164|13|26|188

Distance: 7.78 miles in total

Wednesday: Waterstown Parkrun with lots of folks. This was also the first outing for my new Garmin HRM-Run chest strap.

Distance: 3.28 miles (in total) @ 10:22, avg. hr: 114

Thursday: A nice easy run along the canal around Ardclough. Some of the surface was grass/mud, so when I got back onto solid ground I added in a 7 minute mile, just because...

New HRM decided that fast mile was enough to determine that my LTHR was 153...

Distance: 7.58 miles @ 8:39, avg. hr: 136

Friday: A cycle from our house to my mothers, a distance of about 8 miles (with detour via Woodies).

Saturday: Some more Parkrun tourism, this time Porterstown. A cycled with me as a ran there and then we both ran the parkrun. I'd decided to run a session, again from the boards graduate plan; 3 x 8 min @ Threshold w/ 3 min rec. Started into the session just after the start of PR and was just starting the third rep as I went through the finish, so collected my token and continued for another lap of the park before getting scanned.

A headed off on the bike and I chatted with J briefly before heading off to cooldown.

On saving the run, the watch announced that I'd a new LTHR of 154...

Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    07:01|147|162|39|36|183
    06:33|161|163|0|13|188
    06:54|160|165|46|39|185
    07:06|161|162|7|0|185
    06:54|163|170|46|52|187
    06:57|166|167|0|3|186
    08:05|144|170|233|249|180

Distance: 8.00 miles in total

Cycled back home from the mothership (7.13 miles) later in the afternoon.

Sunday: I'd decided early enough in the week that I wasn't going to race so headed out for and easy 12 miles instead.

Distance: 12.00 miles @ 8:58, arg. hr: 133

Weekly totals
    Running: 38.6 miles
    Cycling: 15.3 miles

2019 in numbers

|2018|2019|Race|Date|Note
    1m|--:--:--|00:05:58|Raheny Winter League|24 April|
    3k|00:12:07|--:--:--|||Distance not raced
    4k|00:16:27|00:16:24|||AWS Re:Invent
    5k|00:20:35|00:19:44|Bob Heffernan|21 May|Second sub-20 that month after BHAA BMS race
    4m|00:32:41|--:--:--|||Distance not raced
    5m|--:--:--|00:36:51|Simon Home Run|09 March|Just back from honeymoon and working way back to fitness
    10k|00:46:55|00:42:38|South Dublin 10k|21 July|Interim PB from Great Ireland Run - Apr 14 - 43:19
    10m|01:16:10|01:14:41|Frank Duffy 10m|24 August|Very hot and humid day.
    Half marathon|01:39:33|01:36:38|Dublin Half Marathon|21 September|
    Marathon|--:--:--|03:31:53|KBC Dublin marathon|27 October|First marathon. Faded a bit in the final few miles, but delighted all the same.

Mileage
    Running: 1,622 miles
    cycling: 1,500 miles

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Brilliant running in 2019 P! You had a great year.

And because everyone loves a good graph

Year on year running trend

498905.png

Year on year cycling trend

498906.png

Brilliant running in 2019 P! You had a great year.

Thanks. If I can manage half as many PBs this year as last, I'll be a happy man.

Week starting 2019-12-30

Plan:

I got a Christmas present of an entry for the Bohermeen half in early March from A, so with that as an early year target, I'm switching onto the Boards Graduate 10k-HM plan...not really fully switching on to it, as I'll look to reconnect with the club for their Tuesday session as an alternative to the Wednesday session on the plan.

Tuesday: 6.2 miles easy
    Wednesday: NYDD @ Parkrun - possibly with one at tempo pace
    Thursday: 5 miles easy
    Friday: 5 miles easy
    Saturday: WU, 15 min @ Tempo, 4 min jog rec, 10 min @ Threshold, CD
    Sunday: 12m LSR

Actual:

Monday: Was working from home, so went for a cycle in the late afternoon, 12.9 miles.

Tuesday: Needed about 10 miles to reach my cycling target of 1,500 miles for the year, so after 2 mile commute in the morning, I tagged on another 8 in the evening to hit it right on time.

Added in a lunch run for good measure. Had forgotten to charge the watch, so the final 2 miles were recorded using the Strava app on the phone.

Distance: 6.43 miles in total. On watch: 4.83 miles @ 8:27, avg. hr: 134

Wednesday: New years parkrun double day. Father Collin's first in 26:08, then a chatty easy run with Singer to St. Anne's and a faster run there, finishing in 20:36. It was meant to be tempo pace, but average pace went from 7:22 to 6:47 when I exited trees after 6-700 metres and I just stuck with that. My fastest time @ St. Anne's parkrun, although my parkrun PB is still 20:29 from Tramore earlier in the year.

The three runs combined resulted in the watch deciding that my LTHR is now 156, up from 153 a week earlier.

Distance: 9.8 miles in total

Thursday: Recovery miles. Half-heartedly tried to keep HR in zone 1, so 127 or below. Averaged exactly that, but there were stops for traffic crossings, calf stretching and chatting with Skyblue. Realistically, HR was above that for large parts of the run.

Distance: 5.010 miles @ 9:39, avg. hr: 127

Friday: Took a circuituous route home from work on the bike (8.7 miles) and was ready to can the run, but eventually convinced myself to head out for 5k instead of the planned 5 miles. Calves were a little bit tight again, but much better than the previous night. Self-harming with a sliotar while watching telly might actually work. Thanks M.

Distance: 3.25 miles @ 8:54, avg. hr: 134

Saturday: Ran the session during St. Anne's Parkrun. Warmed up with a mile beforehand and the first mile of PR, then into the session. I'd programmed the watch, but decided to hit lap at the start of PR so that I'd have an idea of my time...so was into the tempo pace immediately. D'oh. Went with it for 30 seconds and decided to just pace/time the session manually. Once I got onto the avenue I hit lap a few times to get through the remaining steps in the workout and upped the pace to 7:15 for 15 minutes.

Anyway, the tempo pace was grand, just finishing the 15 minutes 100m short of the finish line. The 4 minutes recovery (actually ~3:25) was spent queueing to get my finish token and getting the barcode scanned. Headed on then for another lap of the PR route, this time at threshold pace, saying hi again to A along the way. Again, finished the threshold block along the avenue and added in another lap to really cool down this time. Met A on her way back to the finish on the avenue, so called the session complete and walked with her.

Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR
    1|07:24|146|154
    1|07:08|153|158
    0.07|07:06|151|152
    1|06:52|154|161
    0.45|06:55|154|158

Distance: 7.00 miles in total

Sunday: Nothing.

Weekly totals
    Running: 31.5 miles
    Cycling: 38.7 miles

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭py

Where'd ye get the cool graphs? :D

py wrote: »
    Where'd ye get the cool graphs? :D

A chrome extension - Elevate for Strava

Week starting 2020-01-06

Plan:

Wednesday: 10k recovery
    Saturday: WU, 3 x 8 min @ Threshold / 3 min rec, CD

Actual:

Tuesday: Not the club session, again.

Went with the session on the graduates plan instead, 5 x 5 min @ CV / 4 min rec. I managed to hit the paces on 4 of the 5 reps, but was nowhere near on the second at the Castleknock end of the North Road in the PP and directly into the gales.

Target paces for CV are 6:36 - 6:44

Laps|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    4|0.76|06:36|157|165|7|10|186
    6|0.72|06:55|163|169|43|23|190
    8|0.76|06:36|163|168|23|10|189
    10|0.76|06:35|159|165|10|43|189
    12|0.77|06:28|162|167|23|20|190

Distance: 10.01 miles in total

Wednesday: Recovery miles out to Irishtown and back

Distance: 4.21 miles @ 9:05, avg. hr: 131

Thursday: 8 miles easy, as prescribed. Calves were a still a bit tight, but eased out after the early uphill.

Distance: 8.01m @ 8:47, avg. hr: 132

Friday: Easy early-afternoon miles on a day off.

Distance: 5.01 miles @ 8:52, avg. hr: 131

Saturday: Tackled the session during and after Waterford Nature Parkrun, with the first two reps during PR and the final one on the track afterwards. Both warmup and cooldown were shorter than is ideal (1m WU and 0.5m CD). The wind made this tougher than it should have been, although the wine the night before may not have helped either.

Target pace for the threshold intervals was 6:54 - 7:04.

Laps|Step Type|Time|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Avg Run Cadence
    3|Run|06:54.3|1|06:54|155|161|186
    4|Run|01:05.7|0.16|06:58|159|160|186
    6|Run|06:50.4|1|06:50|163|169|189
    7|Run|01:09.6|0.17|06:49|167|169|187
    9|Run|06:53.0|1|06:53|166|172|190
    10|Run|01:07.0|0.16|06:50|170|173|193

Distance: 5.58 miles in total

Sunday: A drove me to the start of the Waterford Greenway and I ran as far as Kilmacthomas, about 13.5 miles away. Overall it was a nice and peaceful run with lots of friendly folk along the way. A met me at the other end and I added another mile or so running with her. Always good to get out running the OH, even if it's only for the final 1.5 miles.

Distance: 15.01 miles @ 8:53, avg. hr: 132

Weekly totals
    Running: 47.8 miles
    Cycling: 22.4 miles

Week starting 2020-01-13

Plan:

Wednesday: 10k recovery
    Saturday: WU, 4 x 8 min @ HMP / 90 sec rec, CD

Actual:

Tuesday: Not the club session, again. This is becoming a bit of a habit. I'm using working from home on Tuesdays as an excuse not to head over to Irishtown.

Anyway, went with the boards graduate session this week again of 10 x 300 @ 1m pace / 1 min rec. Kept it all around the Drumcondra / Glasnevin with the reps on Glasnevin Avenue extension. It was definitely cold and a bit on the windy side. Thought a few times that there was a bit of sleet coming down, but that may have been the new headlamp that I wore for the first time.

Overall the reps went well enough, the effort definitely felt higher into the wind, which also happened to be slightly uphill.

Loving the headlamp, great for making phone zombies jump as you run past them.

My brain was clearly not working when I set up the session, as I set a 1m target pace of 5:35 - 5:45 and didn't cop that it was well within my current mile PB. Only realised on my warmup that it seemed a bit on the quick side, but went with it, as "it was what the tinman calculator suggested"...um...so I mistakenly used the 0.75m pace instead of 1m pace. Target should have been 5:49 - 5:59.

Anyway, despite the brain fart, I mostly hit the paces. Recoveries were all walked and I only really missed the "target" pace on the 5th rep because I mistook a random watch beep for the end of the rep and started walking and only realised after a few seconds. Definitely a slow brain day.

3|01:03.9|0.19|05:43|146|160|0|7|198
    5|01:02.5|0.19|05:35|153|164|0|0|194
    7|01:01.1|0.19|05:28|154|162|0|3|190
    9|01:05.1|0.19|05:49|156|162|0|3|191
    11|01:10.4|0.19|06:18|155|161|0|0|182
    13|01:01.8|0.19|05:32|155|164|0|3|193
    15|01:03.3|0.19|05:39|155|163|0|7|183
    17|01:01.2|0.19|05:28|159|166|7|10|195
    19|01:03.3|0.19|05:40|156|164|0|3|186
    21|01:01.9|0.19|05:32|159|167|7|7|196

Distance: 6.48 miles in total

Wednesday: Slightly longer than usual cycle home along the seafront at clontarf; about 7.5 miles.

Straight back out in the running gear and around Clontarf again for some easy/recovery miles. Legs definitely tired for the first few miles but slowly started to improve. That said, second half of run was mostly uphill and into the wind, so it wasn't a stroll in the park either.

Distance: 6.23 miles @ 9:08, avg. hr: 128

Thursday: Easy miles through Phibsboro, Stoneybatter and Cabra. Or they should have been easy miles, but felt tough enough, with very little zip in the legs. They started to ease out after 5 miles, as I turned back downhill with the wind at my back.

Distance: 8.19 miles @ 8:46, avg. hr: 134

Friday: Easy lunchtime miles. What a difference a day makes. The most difficult thing about this run was keeping a lid on my pace, which was still faster than is ideal for "easy". HR data shows that effort levels were in the right area though.

Distance: 5.50 miles @ 8:29, avg. hr: 130

Saturday: Decided to incorporate the session into St Anne's Parkrun, with 2 or 3 of the reps running there from Glasnevin beforehand and the rest during the parkrun, finishing up with the cooldown. Left a few minutes late to get the third rep finished beforehand due to warm bed syndrome. It was definitely cold out. 2+ mile warmup and into the first rep just after I crossed the Malahide Road, perfectly timed for the uphill. Struggled to get the legs moving initially, but settled into it after a couple of minutes. Nothing much to report after that.

I'd 5 minutes to spare before PR so started the third rep. As it turns out, they were running a few minutes late, so I could have completed it, but stopped with about 1:30 remaining. Had to stand around for a few minutes so when I got going again and finished the third rep, I skipped the final recovery and went straight into the final one.

4|06:49.0|1|06:49|150|161|49|20|189
    5|01:11.0|0.16|07:23|156|158|3|0|185
    7|06:55.0|1|06:55|152|158|0|26|190
    8|01:05.0|0.15|07:01|153|155|0|13|189
    10|06:56.1|1|06:56|152|158|23|23|190
    11|01:03.9|0.16|06:52|145|150|10|0|191
    13|06:51.7|1|06:52|154|160|16|23|188
    14|01:08.3|0.17|06:50|155|156|0|10|183

All of the reps were too quick, averaging 6:54 overall when the target pace is 7:03. To be honest, I'm really doubting that 7:03 is a realistic HM pace, but it's what the tinman calculator gives me for a 20:00 5k. Coming in quicker than that on the reps is either a good sign or foolhardy.

Distance: 9.00 miles in total

Sunday: Allowed myself wake naturally (I'm very good at sleeping, so A eventually woke me) and then headed out along the seafront and back via Raheny. Bumped into crocmac on the seafront and ran with him all the way back to Glasnevin, before heading back down the hill home. I've mostly run my long runs solo in recent months, so it was good to have company and catch up.

Distance: 12.16 miles @ 8:50, avg. hr: 130

Weekly totals
    Running: 47.6 miles
    Cycling: 30.0 miles

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Best of luck tomorrow P, run well!!

Week starting 2020-01-20

Plan:

Tuesday: 10m mlr
    Wednesday: 6 x 1 min @ Vo2 / 2 min rec
    Thursday: 5m easy
    Saturday: 3.1m v. easy
    Sunday: Raheny 5 mile

Actual:

Monday: Circuitous route home on the bike; 11.3 miles.

Tuesday: Lovely evening for a run, if I hadn't tweaked my right calf in the final half mile. It seemed a bit better after stretching and could up the pace for 10-20 metres without and issues, but will be taking care of it over the next couple of days. Lots of ice, deep heat and easy stretching. Fingers crossed it's nothing more than tightness.

Distance: 10.00 miles @ 8:43, avg. hr: 126

Wednesday: Physio appointment...nothing more than tightness in the calf, but knocked the session on the head and put the feet up instead.

Thursday: Back on the horse. Wore compression socks to provide extra calf support. Right calf was tight enough starting off but eased at the run progressed. Eventually had to roll the socks down as lower calves were starting to complain. All good after that. Pace a bit a the quick side (a recurring theme recently) but there were lots of stops for traffic and just to give the calves short breaks.

Distance: 5.01 miles @ 8:34, avg. hr: 127

Saturday: Tymon Parkrun easy in good company followed by breakfast in Terenure.

Distance: 4.56 miles @ 9:23, avg. hr: 127

Sunday: Raheny 5 Mile - PB: 32:31

Previous PB: 36:51 (Simon Home Run March 09, 2018)

Distance: 8.15 miles in total

Weekly totals
    Running: 27.7 miles
    Cycling: 32.1 miles

Raheny 5 mile 2020

Mile 1: Traffic, traffic and more traffic.

I'd been keeping half an eye on the start but still managed to arrive when it was already packed. Tried to work my way up through the throng of runners behind M and B and eventually settled in where I thought would be good, co-incidentally right beside WW. After what seemed like an age waiting, we were eventually off. So, it turns out that I started too far back, as usual.

The first mile was thus spent trying to find gaps so that I could at least get somewhere near target pace. Alas, 6:51. I did definitely make up time in the second half of the mile as at one stage avg. pace was coming in at 7:20.

Still, and I pretty much always say this, I need to get into position earlier and make sure that I'm further forward starting off.

Mile 2: Easing into it.

Things were slowly starting to open up and there was definitely more space to run in. Turned onto All Saints road and got my first shout out from A and Skyblue on the corner. A hundred or so metres after that got a shout out from L, who was stewarding on one of the roundabouts. Left turn into the bus lane on the Howth Road. A bit tighter along here, but I'm still making progress through the field. Left again onto Sybil Hill Road and down to the two mile marker at the entrance to St Anne's. Got a shout out from the club coach around here.

Mile 3: Pushing on.

I'm still generally working my way up through the field and start to push the pace a bit more on the downhill. Effort levels are definitley starting to creep up, but I'm feeling good and making good progress. Mile 3 comes in at 6:21.

Mile 4: Focus.

As we enter St. Anne's I move from one group and latch onto another, realising that I'm now on WW's shoulder. Stick with him onto the Avenue and then try to find cover as I start to feel the wind. I'm still working through the field though, so I'm only getting a couple of seconds respite before moving on to the next windblock :P. See a few other boardsies heading back along the avenue on their final miles. Hopefully I'll be closer to some of them next year. Slow down to take the u-turn and take a second to motivate myself to up the pace again after. Mile 4 beeps at 6:24.

Mile 5: Survive.

I'm definitely starting to feel it now. On the 4 mile beep, watch also showed a total time of 26:06, so a final mile of 6:23 should see me under 32:30, assuming that Garmin distance matches up with reality (It never does). The crowd is getting louder now and there are lots of encouragement about there being "only a mile to go". I passed the 4 mile mark a minute ago, how can there still be a mile to go? Why won't this end? Out of the park and onto the "home straight". I'm trying to push the pace under 6:20, but the legs are having none of it. Get another shout out from A and get a good boost. Turn right onto the slight uphill around All Saints Park and try to keep the effort up. Want to slow down, sure I have sub-33 in the bag, but manage to keep those voices at bay.

Get near the right turn at the top of the park and start winding up for the finish. Around the final right and the finish line looks like it's still about half a mile away! Too late to back out now. Just keep going. Keep the legs turning over and overtake a few more runners in the dash for the line over the final 10 metres. Stop the watch at 32:26. Delighted and exhausted.

A is waiting for me just after the finish line with P and G. Chat for a minute and head off to get my goody bag before heading off. Catch up with WW again after, he PB'd for the second time in 8 days, so was delighted. Walked back to St Anne's with A and bumped into D, who'd been stewarding on Sybil Hill Road. He congratulated me on my time, which he'd checked on the official results. Not sub-32:30 as I'd thought :( . Two bloody seconds! Still, delighted with 32:31. I'll be back next year, I've unfinished business!

Cumulative Time|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    06:51|1|06:52|147|161|20|23|188
    13:25|1|06:33|161|164|23|13|189
    19:45|1|06:21|162|165|13|43|189
    26:09|1|06:24|167|170|20|10|189
    32:21|1|06:12|171|175|30|16|192
    32:26|0.02|04:20|175|175|0|0|207
    32:26|5.02|06:28|161|175|108|102|189

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Well done P, great racing & some PB improvement!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great running. You were one of the strongest looking going by that roundabout with 600m to go. Very impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,500 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Well done P, super race & report:)

Week starting 2020-01-27

Plan:

Tuesday: 8m mlr
    Wednesday: 12x75 sec @ CV w/ 1 min rec
    Thursday: 6.2m rec
    Friday: 5m easy
    Saturday: 4x10 min HM w/2 min rec
    Sunday: 12m mlr

Actual:

Tuesday: Easy evening miles. Still struggling to keep to easy paces. HR was probably a bit higher than ideal, so will definitely need to keep and eye on this and try to slow down a bit.

Distance: 8.27 miles @ 8:29, avg. hr: 135

Wednesday: Midweek session, 12 x 75s @ CV / 1 min rec. Headed up to a block that skyblue uses for sessions regularly enough, pretty much a mile around and each side long enough to get a rep in, with the recoveries jogging on a bit and back to the corner. Paces all over the place. Ran three laps in total with four reps on each lap, first uphill into the wind, second uphill very little wind, third downhill with the wind, fourth downhill into the wind...however that works.

Session went well overall and could have kept going if needed.

Target pace for CV is based on the Raheny 5 miler, so is a bit faster than previously at 6:29 - 6:38.

Laps|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    4|06:22|140|153|3|0|190
    6|06:07|145|152|3|0|185
    8|06:27|148|156|0|3|187
    10|06:28|150|158|0|3|187
    12|06:22|155|163|3|0|191
    14|06:14|151|159|7|0|186
    16|06:33|151|157|3|7|187
    18|06:24|147|157|0|7|186
    20|06:33|151|159|7|3|189
    22|06:24|154|160|7|0|186
    24|06:22|151|158|0|3|182
    26|06:25|152|159|3|10|184

Distance: 7.50 miles in total

Thursday: Lunchtime run. Legs a bit achy and tired after Wednesday nights session, but other than that, nothing to report.

Distance: 6.23 miles @ 8:41, avg. hr: 128

Friday: Evening run on tired legs and tight calves. There were a few stops to stretch them out and I actually got out the foam roller afterwards.

Distance: 5.25 miles @ 8:39, avg. hr: 130

Saturday: Tolka Valley Parkrun session (4 x 10 min @ HMP / 2 min rec) in the wind. Anyone who knows Tolka Valley will know that it's fairly exposed, particularly the first 0.75 mile...straight into the wind. Got through that first time and although effort levels were high throughout, felt okay as I completed PR at the end of the second rep. Third and fourth reps were meant to be a second circuit of the PR course. Started off again and the wind seemed a lot worse, legs were tired and I really started to struggle. Had to take a short break after 0.5 mile to catch my breath and convince myself to continue. Got to the turn at an average pace of about 7:20 and suddenly running was a lot easier. Made up the time to finish the rep exactly on target, but energy levels were really low. Started on the shorter loop for the final rep and after one lap I stopped to collect my top from the finish area. Was going to call it but got going again into the wind and managed to finish it out.

Laps|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR
    4|1|06:55|160|165
    5|0.46|06:44|160|162
    7|1|06:57|163|168
    8|0.44|06:52|167|169
    10|1|07:11|162|169
    11|0.44|06:23|165|168
    13|1|06:56|159|168
    14|0.45|06:54|156|158

Probably the biggest slog of a session that I've ever run and the plan has 4 x 12 min @ HMP in two weeks. I know that during training for DCM I run harder HMP sessions (4 x 2m for example), albeit a bit slower, so I'm not overly worried at this point. I'll chalk it down to a combination of wind and fatigue and move on for the moment.

Distance: 10.00 miles in total

Sunday: We were out celebrating a friends birthday on Saturday evening and into the wee small hours of Sunday morning and we'd a busy Sunday, so wasn't looking forward to this at all. Eventually got out after 7PM after convincing myself and 6/7 miles instead of the planned 12 would be better than no miles at all. Happy that I did, felt a hundred times better after the run than before it.

Distance: 7.17 miles @ 8:50, avg. hr: 130

Weekly totals
    Running: 42.4 miles
    Cycling: 33.1 miles

Week starting 2020-02-03

Plan:

Tuesday: Club Session
    Thursday: 6.2m easy
    Saturday: 30 min @ Tempo

Actual:

Monday: Rest. Well, when I say "rest", I did a roundabout 7+ mile cycle commute home to add to the standard 2 miles in the morning.

Tuesday: 10 min, 7 min, 3 min @ Threshold -> CV paces w/ 2 min jog rec

A lovely winter/spring (tick as appropriate) morning, shorts, buff and gloves weather. Down to the PP for this one, up the North Road and back down Chesterfield. Effort levels are initially good on first rep, but once past the back of the Visitor Centre the wind finds me. I maintain the prescribed pace, but it's a chore. Start second rep on end of North Road and turn into the sun back towards the city. Effort levels transfer from running to squinting to see clearly. Feel the heat of the sun for possibly the first time this year. Summer is coming! Running downhill with the wind at my back makes the second half of the session much easier. Finish tired but happy with a good session, particularly after the struggles on Saturday.

4|06:51.0|1|06:51|149|159|16|3|188
    5|03:09.0|0.46|06:51|160|163|20|0|189
    |
    7|06:40.8|1|06:41|157|161|3|30|187
    8|00:19.2|0.05|06:15|157|158|0|0|187
    |
    10|03:00|0.46|06:34|153|156|0|23|187

Distance: 9.00 miles in total

Wednesday: Nice crisp evening run. Calves a bit tight but stretched and foam rolled beforehand, which seemed to help. Need to keep this up.

Distance: 5.11 miles @ 8:45, avg. hr: 128

Thursday: Don't remember much about this one. Legs were heavy early on but improved and felt great by the time I tagged on 6 strides.

Distance: 6.23 miles @ 8:28, avg. hr: 132

Friday: Early morning runmute. Legs back to being tired after the strides breathed life into them on Thursday.

Distance: 5.01 miles @ 8:54, avg. hr: 131

Saturday: Was out for a few beers on Friday after work, nothing major though. Saturday was going to be busy though. Drove out to River Valley Parkrun with A and we were a bit late, so only managed a very short warmup before Parkrun. Didn't start into session until nearly the end of the first lap as a result. Then again, I strongly considerd just running this easy and tagging a fast finish onto my long run on Sunday. I'm not gonna lie, the session was a bit of a drag, but managed to hit the prescribed pace with only a 30 second stop to get scanned at the end of Parkrun. Cooldown after with A before driving back home to get ready to head to Lansdowne for the rugby.

Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss
    1|07:03|150|158|13|85
    1|07:08|157|164|89|7
    1|07:22|155|166|72|89
    1|06:56|161|165|20|23
    0.21|07:04|161|164|16|13

Distance: 7.50 miles in total

Sunday: Sunday was a busy day, so didn't get out until 5PM. Thankfully all went well and the wind didn't make this one too tough. Decided that 14 miles would be too much so depending on how I was feeling, I'd knock it at either 10 or 12. Made the 12 in the end and felt good.

Distance: 12.01 miles @ 8:40, avg. hr: 128

Weekly totals
    Running: 44.9 miles
    Cycling: 27.7 miles

Week starting 2020-02-10

Plan:

Thursday: 8m easy
    Saturday: 4 x 12 min @ HMP / 2.5 min rec
    Sunday: 12m mlr

Actual:

Tuesday: An actual club session. First time since before I started marathon training at the end of June last year, and what a lovely evening I picked.

Was running a bit late getting there, so instead of leaving the bike in the IFSC and running across, I cycled all the way. Not much time for a warmup, as everyone was already on the dynamic warmup before strides. I guess the cycle there will have to do. Feel good on the strides.

Into the huddle to get the club update and find out what tonights session is. 12 x 400 off 30 seconds static recovery. These used to have 45 seconds recovery, so I know it'll be tough tonight.

Make my way to lane 4 and for once I seem to be keeping up with those around me, even passing a few on the home straight on the first few reps. Thankfully the group leader is generous with the recoveries, which average just a touch under 35 seconds. After 7 or 8 reps we let the group leader head off and give ourselves an extra 5 seconds rest. Reps are consistent overall, min 1:23.2, max 1:278 and averaging 1:25.8. I'm fairly puffing by the end, but delighted that I got through it and was consistent.

Cooldown is a cycle home.

Time|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    01:27.8|117|132|3|3|187
    01:26.6|135|141|7|7|187
    01:25.2|137|143|3|7|192
    01:23.7|147|153|13|10|192
    01:26.0|157|162|7|13|192
    01:26.8|157|163|10|13|191
    01:27.8|158|164|10|10|193
    01:25.3|161|167|3|10|194
    01:25.8|161|166|0|3|194
    01:26.4|160|167|0|7|190
    01:24.8|162|169|0|3|190
    01:23.2|162|169|3|3|194

The calves start to tighten up after I get home, so I treat them to some foam rolling in front of the telly.

Distance: 4.57 miles in total

Wednesday: Recovery run in to work. Paths are icy, which helps me to slow down. Not that I need much help. Legs are tired and calves a bit tight, but I suspect not as bad a they'd have been without the foam rolling. HR wasn't accurate for most of first of mile, so probably skews the overall average a bit.

Distance: 5.00 miles @ 9:13, avg. hr: 132

Thursday: Nada. I was going to a gig after work so options were either a double runmute or a shorter run at lunch. In the end I was late getting up in the morning so the commute was on the bike instead and I was lazy at lunchtime.

Friday: To make up for Thursday, I went for an extended runch on Friday, but didn't force the 8 that I'd planned for Thursday. Still, 7.7 miles at lunch is a decent return.

Distance: 7.72 miles @ 8:38, avg. hr: 132

Saturday: Parkrun #100 Day for A at St Anne's. The question is, how can I fit my session into Parkrun to make sure I'm there for her celebration? Only realistic way was to complete the session beforehand and use Parkrun as a cooldown. Means leaving home between 8:10 and 8:15. I somehow manage that after Steak and Wine day and listening to the Storm outside overnight. Two miles warmup and into the session. First and second reps are along the seafront at Clontarf, arriving into St Anne's to complete the second. The wind is swirling but based on effort levels it's mostly either a crosswind or at my back thankfully. The third rep begins into the wind and I can feel the effort levels increase. I'm onto the parkrun route now and can't wait for the respite of the avenue. I'm struggling to hit paces but once there I'm flying again. The fourth rep is similar, start out on the coast, so uphill alongside Watermill Road into the wind initially. Back onto the parkrun route and I'm still well off the pace until I turn back onto the avenue. The lap times show the effect of the wind, with the first mile of the fourth rep coming in at 7:08 and the 0.74 mile after coming in at 6:36.

Overall averages for each rep: 6:51, 6:59, 6:59, 6:54.

Step Type|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    Warm Up|1|08:53|124|135|33|26|180
    Warm Up|1|08:45|126|137|33|23|180
    Warm Up|0|12:09|114|114|0|0|178
    Run|1|06:54|146|157|10|20|188
    Run|0.75|06:51|156|160|7|7|190
    Recovery|0.25|09:59|140|159|10|0|164
    Run|1|06:52|152|156|3|10|187
    Run|0.72|07:07|158|163|43|0|188
    Recovery|0.24|10:26|146|163|23|3|166
    Run|1|06:51|158|164|33|16|188
    Run|0.72|07:11|156|163|3|49|188
    Recovery|0.23|10:44|148|165|23|0|160
    Run|1|07:06|157|164|30|13|189
    Run|0.74|06:37|162|165|16|23|190
    Recovery|0.24|10:16|147|163|0|13|167
    Cool Down|1|08:53|145|153|46|16|182
    Cool Down|1|09:18|136|139|46|52|179
    Cool Down|1|09:12|134|137|36|33|179
    Cool Down|0.11|07:38|132|146|0|26|167
    Workout|13.01|07:59|144|165|400|331|182

Distance: 13.00 miles in total

Sunday: Used a route from a few weeks ago, but in reverse this time. Started as far as the park with A, who's slowly building back up. Then she headed along the North Road, while I tackled the other side of the park. Plenty of wind around but not as bad as I'd expected, even if I was nearly stopped in my tracks a couple of times. Out of the park at Knockmaroon and get hit with driving rain/sleet for a while.

It's amazing how much friendlier my fellow runners are when the weather turns. Once the rain clears though, most retreat back into their own bubbles.

Through Castleknock towards the train station where I turn onto the canal and head downhill towards home with the wind at my back. First 6 miles averaged 9:40 and the second 6 miles averages 8:18.

Distance: 12.01 miles @ 8:59, avg. hr: 130

Weekly totals
    Running: 41.5 miles
    Cycling: 28.4 miles

Congrats on getting #100 done P, another running shirt for the collection :D

py wrote: »
    Congrats on getting #100 done P, another running shirt for the collection :D

Not me. I'm only on 80. My wife was running her 100th.

Ah I get you now :) Maybe she'll share :D

Week starting 2020-02-17

Plan:

Thursday: 8m easy
    Saturday: 35 min @ Tempo

Actual:

Tuesday: Left glute and hip were a bit niggly so no club for me, quelle surprise. Went out for an easy run instead. No issues really, other than fatigue in the general glute/hip area. Booked in to see the physio in Wednesday afternoon.

Distance: 5.00 miles @ 8:42, avg. hr: 126

Wednesday: With the club session skipped, I went back to the session on the boards plan for this one; 6 x 4 mins @ CV w/ 2 min jogging recovery. Perfect for a windy lunchtime out along the seafront at Clontarf. Actually, things went better than I'd expected and 5 of the 6 reps were within the prescribed CV range of 6:29 - 6:38. The fifth rep, which was the final rep with the wind was a touch fast, averaging 6:26 pace. Reps 3, 4 and 6 were into the wind, with the first half of the 3rd running sideways to counter the crosswind that I then had to turn into. Felt like I was hardly moving for the second half of that rep, but still managed to hit the paces.

Laps|Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Avg Run Cadence
    4|0.61|06:33|148|154|188
    6|0.61|06:34|149|158|189
    8|0.6|06:37|156|167|192
    10|0.61|06:35|158|164|193
    12|0.62|06:26|154|162|190
    14|0.61|06:31|158|167|196

Physio after the session, nothing much to report thankfully. Hip just a bit tight so he eased that out and sent me on my merry way.

Distance: 8.62 miles in total

Thursday: Rest / flights

Friday: Easy holiday miles along the seafront with A. Great to be able to run together in the sun.

Distance: 5.01 miles @ 9:51, avg. hr: 117

Saturday: 35 minutes @ Tempo. Ran this along the seafront between Marbella and Puerto Banús. Turned back towards Marbella with 4 minutes left on the tempo. Effort levels immediately went up as I battled the wind that I hadn't noticed at my back. Got through it though. Cooled down back to the hotel.

Distance|Avg Pace|Avg HR|Max HR|Elev Gain|Elev Loss|Avg Run Cadence
    1|07:12|142|150|13|13|185
    1|07:04|151|155|3|10|187
    1|07:04|154|157|3|7|186
    1|07:10|156|159|3|3|186
    0.91|07:10|160|165|7|13|188

Distance: 9.10 miles in total

Sunday: I was a bit pushed for time after a lazy start to the morning, so cut this down to 2 hours instead of the 14 miles that I'd planned. Had to get back to the hotel before 11 for breakfast :). Ran the first 70 minutes with A, who was out for 90 and turned for home at that point. Again, great to be able to run together. The final 30 minutes or so were into the same wind as the final part of the Tempo although it had less of an impact at an easy pace.

Distance: 12.31 miles @ 9:44, avg. hr: 118

Weekly totals
    Running: 40.1 miles
    Cycling: 20.5 miles