Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rachel Allen’s son arrested for €30,000 drugs seizure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

haven't gone near anything from them since darinas sons episode,
    im far from a militant but that left a sour taste in my mouth
    not darinas fault but im not funding his allowance either!

at least it wasnt her food

• Registered Users Posts: 30,335 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

How does your average 18 year old get their hand on 30k worth of dope.

Well I know people who bought I think E tablets.
    They purchached of the net someway for about €1000 or so but the street value when the Gardai reported was much higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

prinzeugen wrote: »
    From what I understand, there was more than one package detected in Portlaoise. The Garda did a controlled delivery on only one.

So the €30,000 comes from what they got in Cork after it was delivered + the other packages held in Portlaoise mail centre addressed to him.
    Total was 1.5kg
    Garda value for a kg is 20k

Street price is €10 per gram - or so I'm told :),

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Is this young man into racing.

Did the Indo do a big spread on him going into modelling so he could fund his car racing.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

tretorn wrote: »
    Is this young man into racing.

Did the Indo do a big spread on him going into modelling so he could fund his car racing.

I think that was another son. Luke I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

squawker wrote: »
    "it seems" being the word right there

please provide some proof of their alleged criminal dealings

this is no reason to tarnish the whole family for one members sordid proclivities

Any concern for the numerous families his drug dealing business would destroy.??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

There are a lot of morally superior finger pointers on here. Honestly makes me feel sick.
    I hope this poor woman and her family cope with this awful situation. My heart goes out to her.
    She seems like a lovely person on the tv.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Hoboo

washman3 wrote: »
    Any concern for the numerous families his drug dealing business would destroy.??

I don't know one family that has been destroyed by cannabis use. And I know a lot.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,457 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

bilbot79 wrote: »
    That's a 10 year mandatory sentence. Boy's up **** Creek.
    Feel sorry for him as the street value is probably 2k

Except in "exceptional" circumstances, which includes a voluntary guilty plea and cooperation etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

From what I remember the same lad took transition year out of school and she was unsure If he was going back or not.
    She said he did a tractor courses/etc and once he was working at something she was happy. He also said he had some learning disability.(It was years ago and can't fully remember)

The same lad wanted to be a formula 1 driver. You wouldn't be thinking of achieving that if you have a learning disability.

There are a lot of morally superior finger pointers on here. Honestly makes me feel sick.
    I hope this poor woman and her family cope with this awful situation. My heart goes out to her.
    She seems like a lovely person on the tv.

They dealt ok with the last 'awful situation' so they should be able to take this one in their stride.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I actually like Rachel Allen, she seems really gentle and kind hearted on tv, may be its for the cameras i don't know but she comes across well anyway..feel so bad for her, must make you worried sick as a parent seeing your child doing something so reckless and dangerous and then feeling like a failure after trying to bring them up well

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Irish Kings

The same lad wanted to be a formula 1 driver. You wouldn't be thinking of achieving that if you have a learning disability.

how about leaving the kid alone to serve whatever the court decides ?

Hoboo wrote: »
    I don't know one family that has been destroyed by cannabis use. And I know a lot.

And I know loads that have been destroyed by drugs, and guess what, it all started off with 'a little bit of harmless cannabis' taking.
    Surprise, surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,335 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think that's the younger fella.
    I think the lad in question just had difficulty with read and writing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Just a young idiot.
    Where did he get the money for 30k worth though (presume that 30k is gardaí estimate for gross profit)?

He wouldn't have needed anywhere near 30k.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Hoboo

And I know loads that have been destroyed by drugs, and guess what, it all started off with 'a little bit of harmless cannabis' taking.
    Surprise, surprise.

More likely started with harmless fags and alcohol. Gateway drug nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭questionmark?

PARlance wrote: »
    How exactly does ordering €10-30k of drugs online work?

Assuming you can't just stick it on the credit card.

Always read the tripadviser reviews first, take away the extremely good and extremely bad to rule out the idiots then pay via PayPal to avoid credit card fraud. Send to parcel motel. Collect, make a mega joint and use Ballymaloe house as a massive smoke box, order 1000 chicken nuggets. Simple really.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 iodd7

Her persona is fine and nice but she's either super naive or negligent (or something) to put up with the kid posting all the stuff on facebook he has - since 13 or 14 years of age he has posted pictures of himself drinking, smoking spliffs, porny shots of cannabis leaves etc. Maybe he thought he was above the law but it's just so dumb with his family in the public eye etc...he was clearly not a big time dealer but still.

They dealt ok with the last 'awful situation' so they should be able to take this one in their stride.

Good man. Are you proud of yourself? Rachel Allen married a man whose father was subsequently caught with child pornography. That must have been terrible (and scary) for her.
    And you feel all morally superior to her.
    You are obviously a nasty piece of work.

Good man. Are you proud of yourself? Rachel Allen married a man whose father was subsequently caught with child pornography. That must have been terrible (and scary) for her.
    And you feel all morally superior to her.
    You are obviously a nasty piece of work.

Has she ever come out publicly and condemned what Tim Allen did.?
    Have any of the family done so? They are more than happy to court the media when it suits them,ie to make money, but when the ****e hits the fan are very quick to circle the wagons with the help of their buddies in the Golden Circle.
    Yet you refer to me as 'a nasty piece of work' for telling the truth.:mad:
    The material that Tim Allen (and his buddy the judge from Tralee) were caught with, was stomach churning in the extreme, and many many little innocent kids had their lives destroyed by it, yet either one of them didn't spend a minute in prison.
    Would you consider the two of them 'nasty pieces of work'...??

Has she ever come out publicly and condemned what Tim Allen did.?
    Have any of the family done so? They are more than happy to court the media when it suits them,ie to make money, but when the ****e hits the fan are very quick to circle the wagons with the help of their buddies in the Golden Circle.
    Yet you refer to me as 'a nasty piece of work' for telling the truth.:mad:
    The material that Tim Allen (and his buddy the judge from Tralee) were caught with, was stomach churning in the extreme, and many many little innocent kids had their lives destroyed by it, yet either one of them didn't spend a minute in prison.
    Would you consider the two of them 'nasty pieces of work'...??

Kicking someone who is completely innocent when she is down and vulnerable. I have your character sussed alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Good to see Boards being a big bunch of judgemental bastards again.

Gloating over it, about a family of complete strangers. A lot of you people need to get a life.

Different guy altogether.
    https://luccaallen.com/

He lives on the second floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Vologda69

And Rachel had just got over the shock that he had made the family nanny pregnant...kid apparently has ADHD too. So a lot on their plate to deal with at the minute

I take it hash browns are off the menu for the time being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Hiutch's or Kinahan's?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Its weed, how serious could it really be?
    John Gilligan did 20 years for weed.

It is serious. Being involved at that level is not a joke. Kid has been caught with 30 grand worth on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

I say he was grassed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Strazdas wrote: »
    From what I recall, Tim Allen's offences (while very unpleasant) were considered at the low end of the scale. The trial judge was extremely angry with reporting of the case and accused the media of sensationally reporting it, lying to their readers and creating the narrative that Allen had gotten off scott free.

He insisted Allen got the exact same sentence any ordinary Joe Bloggs would have gotten for the same offence but said media hysteria in Ireland created the idea that he had bought his way out of a tougher sentence.

No, the opposite, there were images at the more extreme end of the scale. Anyone who accesses this material contributes towards the abuse of children. Even the “milder” images. For his family to close ranks and publicly brush it off like it was nothing is despicable. If the trial judge was “angry”, he can feck off. Tim Allen got off easy.