If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Curse of Defective Concrete (Mica, Pyrrhotite, etc.) in Donegal homes - Read Mod warning Post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Wouldn't be surprised if the government give the contract to a variation of the culprits, they seem very beholden to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

don’t worry I still have 5.5k left to live every month.

Buyer beware in this case. If you buy new then you take the risks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

5.5k jesus its true.

It's not what you know it's who you know.

i wonder if he is still working as a builder. Did any of the mica blocks find their way into the builders' homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,852 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '26 - Stereolab, Big Thief, Stendhal Festival, Electric Picnic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,039 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If ever there was a post on the thread that you could class as trolling, this has to be it.

If you are being serious, then your utter contempt for your fellow citizens who are in dire straits is shocking. You epitomize the "I'm alright Jack, feck everyone else" that has sadly crept into Irish society over the last 20 years, right down to spouting about how much money you're earning.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Not having that. I’ve seen countless people in Dublin who are near 40 paying mad money in house shares. Your lot couldn’t give a **** about them and have no interest in supporting them financially.

Thats a completely separate issue, its Government policy that is causing the housing crisis in the country. If you are mad that people are spending so much in rent, or there is a lack of houses, then vote them out.

But whats happening in Donegal is a completely separate issue. People saved hard, worked hard and paid plenty to buy or build their own places. The fact that they are worthless is the fault of the authorities who did not regulate properly. They have admitted their liability and thats why they are committed to a redress scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭babybuilder

Agree 100% that there needs to be swift justice dealt out with a rigorous independent inquiry. Preferably someone like Nuala O Loan. Given full High Court Judge powers, adequate resources and 6 months to come up with a report. Then a new regulatory building authority with full independent laboratory testing. This disaster must not be ever allowed to happen again.

My other half and I shattered from the whole experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,169 ✭✭✭✭muffler

This thread isnt about you. Stick to the topic and we can leave it at that.

Post edited by muffler on

Unfortunately it appears there is not going to be any such inquiry. I wonder why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

If you buy new, you take the risks?! Are you kidding me?! If this was actually true, the new housing market would collapse overnight. Who in their right might would be buying if this kind of defect was prevalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Jaysus, I mean I'm not for 100% redress think there needs to be limits in terms of investment properties, size and more, but I at least have sympathy for those affected.

None of them brought this on themselves, they are the unfortunate victim of criminals. Their houses are ruined because of unscrupulous greedy business men, not through their own fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

How many of these houses are 2nd homes or investment properties? Should the tax payer be the insurer of last resort? I'm open to the idea that people who are potentially homeless because of this should have the cost of putting them in a modest home covered, not to the extent of having their 'dream home' restored/provided at the state's expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,896 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

some countries that are often derided in the ‘west’ would have the quarry owners in jail long ago.

Sympathy ends when the begging bowl comes out.

I've got on board with the legal case. There's going to be lead cases going through the commercial division of the High Court in Dublin as a series of test cases in a multi-party action. It will seek damages from all parties involved - the quarry, the County Council and the State. It'll be very interesting to see what comes of that, if anything. It's not going to be a quick fix either. It could take a couple of years.

Should be an award for the stupidest, ignorantist post on boards.

You would definitely get my vote.

Why don't you go and educate yourself about the matter in hand before you try and join a discussion.

And there endeth the trolling.

DO NOT POST IN THIS THREAD AGAIN.

You were asked not to post here again so now you are getting a ban from the forum.

Ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

But, isn't this basically how the housing market works?

[quote]The vendor of real property is under no duty to the purchaser to see that the premises are free from defects of quality. This is one area where the full chill of Caveat Emptor still prevails. Apart from express contractual terms to the contrary the purchaser must look out for himself. [/quote]https://www.lawreform.ie/_fileupload/consultation%20papers/FitnessofPremises.htm

How do you look out for something that you know nothing about? Everyone buying a house in North Donegal now knows the 'crack' but no one knew back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭VillageIdiot71

As that paper goes on to say "The purchaser can always challenge the contract on the grounds of fraud, of course, and may also claim that he was injured by a negligent misrepresentation. Short of these, however, not always easily proved, the purchaser is without remedy."

But, look, who's to say the Courts won't find the sellers/builders of these properties to be liable?

Nothing in the budget. Clearly nothing coming down the line from the government in the next few weeks. No urgency to engage before the budget was decided. Projections on national debt don't look to factor in borrowings for this.

There are thousands of people sitting back and waiting for some people who have somehow found themselves at the front of this campaign to negotiate on their behalf without any input given or asked for throughout the negotiations and it looks like this hasn't worked out.

Individual households need to start considering what is the outcome that is best for them that they can actually get and not to lump their family home in with someone else's investment property when negotiating a redress scheme and possibly consider who, if not yourselves, will negotiate on your behalf. It seems that 0.05% of those affected are talking for the other 99.5%.

It really rags me when there is people posting who haven't a clue or couldn't even be bothered to read back the thread a wee bit to know what has been tried and why the protest went ahead.

Post edited by muffler on