Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lahvlann: Up the reek without a coddle - 26/07 two 18 so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Sticking my head above the parapet.....I'm actually enjoying this 'Revue' I'm no snob.

Kudos to Brian Kennedy for the little dig at the host....and the quick retort of Jow 'Buy everyone a drink'

Yiz all should have a listen, yiz all might muster up an ol' giggle.....for Ireland like.
    The heat is getting to you. Go out for a walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Brian Scan wrote: »
    How much do these chancers get for this rubbish

Most of them appear to post for the "Thanks".
    It's not working for them. The most thanks on one post is 6. The rest have 2 or zero.

Sticking my head above the parapet.....I'm actually enjoying this 'Revue' I'm no snob.

Kudos to Brian Kennedy for the little dig at the host....and the quick retort of Jow 'Buy everyone a drink'

Yiz all should have a listen, yiz all might muster up an ol' giggle.....for Ireland like.

Der were sever-dal little digs at de host try de show, which made for a more amusing Froyday dan usual. It wasn’t all his usual crew. Will have to resurrect Syl Fox an Doc Savage. He used to hav Paddy Cullivan doing de satirical music, but den he turned renegade and had some harsh words on Lahvlahn when on Claire Byrne if I remember.

Wudnt it be great gas, all de same, if de Funny Froyday crew rather dan just de Lahvlahn production crew were in attendance at de Pope’s gig, wit Concepta saying some irreverent prayers an dat; de Pope’s translator wud be havin de sweats trying to produce an Italian/Spanish version of Shockin Holy Saint an de like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,249 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Damn.

Missed today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,848 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

What did Brian say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

26 posts today during the show, 1 more than the (suggested) current record low of 25 posts.

2 entirely predictable things happened during the show:
    1. It wasn’t funny
    2. Brian Scan posted a snide comment and was banned again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

26 posts today during the show, 1 more than the (suggested) current record low of 25 posts.

1. It wasn’t funny

2017-Math-Children-Baby-Kids-Learning-Developmental-Versatile-Flap-Abacus-Wooden-Toys-Levert-Dropship-Aug-25.jpg

What did Brian say?

Dat we are on dis site simply to get de praise (tanks) from one anudder.

Ooooops, dat was Mr/Ms Scan,; Missed de Brian Kennedy snipe, too occupied by his lovely singing, but he’s always on de ball wit his observations an dat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,249 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

1. It wasn’t funny

Needed my fix today so just having a quick listen to the oul Seamus Traynor and Nigerian Embassy masterpieces.

McDermotX wrote: »
    Needed my fix today so just having a quick listen to the oul Seamus Traynor and Nigerian Embassy masterpieces.

Don’t do de (Monaghan) accent (hi).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

What did Brian say?

He referred to sumting in the newspapers last week regarding Rte's high earners.....a mini silence and then Jow came back with the 'buy everyone a drink' or 'a drink for everyone in de audience' dat was the jist of it sotospeak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I was incautious enough to pass through the kitchen when RTE Radio One is re-broadcasting the so-called 'highlights' of the day, from 2am onwards. I was unfortunate enough to be subjected to the most talentless impression of DO'D I've ever heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Cá bhfuil Joseph?

DjdPxKdXoAAbTca.jpg

You'd wonder does Dee Forbes ever look at a picture like this, while the station she's meant to be running has an almost full compliment of stand ins for the week, and think "This sh1t is completely out of hand and has to stop".

Tubridy gets more holidays than a school teacher, and is about as entertaining as one. He needs to be shown the door, give somebody else a go at both the radio and TV shows. Tommy Tiernan was miles better without a day's experience in the job.

There’s some choice replies to that tweet, can’t link them now but worth a look. ;)

You'd wonder does Dee Forbes ever look at a picture like this, while the station she's meant to be running has an almost full compliment of stand ins for the week, and think "This sh1t is completely out of hand and has to stop".

I sincerely doubt it, she’s become as much a part of the problem as any of those pictured are. She’s in a cushy number and is very well paid for it; the easiest thing to do is to keep the head down and don’t p*ss anyone off that can cause trouble for you. She may have taken the role with ambition for change but as one becomes comfortable (in every sense of the word) that ambition changes to self preservation and a reluctance to tackle the status quo. It would take I suspect a much stronger person than anything I’ve seen thus far from D4bess to tackle the culture of cronyism and nepotism in RTÉ, the unions, the vested interests, the power brokers etc. etc. within RTÉ, let alone change them.

The reality is it appears many of these “stars” individually have more power over D4bes than she has over them. Collectively she’s definitely afraid to tackle them.

It really is a basket case of an organisation, and needs to be radically overhauled. On the evidence presented thus far, D4bes is not the person for such change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

choice quote from that twitter

"the water rat turbidy" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

will fateen jump on the hockey bandwagon yes he will
    shudders at thought of a row your boat song

I sincerely doubt it, she’s become as much a part of the problem as any of those pictured are. She’s in a cushy number and is very well paid for it; the easiest thing to do is to keep the head down and don’t p*ss anyone off that can cause trouble for you. She may have taken the role with ambition for change but as one becomes comfortable (in every sense of the word) that ambition changes to self preservation and a reluctance to tackle the status quo. It would take I suspect a much stronger person than anything I’ve seen thus far from D4bess to tackle the culture of cronyism and nepotism in RT the unions, the vested interests, the power brokers etc. etc. within RT let alone change them.

The reality is it appears many of these “stars” individually have more power over D4bes than she has over them. Collectively she’s definitely afraid to tackle them.

It really is a basket case of an organisation, and needs to be radically overhauled. On the evidence presented thus far, D4bes is not the person for such change.

Damn, you said it before I got back to the 'puter to say near enough the same thing. Going to take a real hard case to fire the 'talent' (laughable) and replace them with someone who'll be young, hungry and work for the money. If they're good at it, advertisers will come back and in that case, I don't mind them getting paid more.

There is a balance to be struck between being a public service and a commercial station - either extreme leads to complacency and shyte output.

will fateen jump on the hockey bandwagon yes he will
    shudders at thought of a row your boat song

You bet your ass he will. He'll be busy goo-gulling hockey puns on Monday morning on de EYEPad and have calls arranged to some players or the coaches or some fans no matter what the result tomorrow to patronise them with ill-informed condescending platitudes about how wunderful and fantastic they are and try to beat his own record for the amount of "Well done"s he can get into one show.

His biggest regret however is that the Final isn't on next week whereas then he could go and stay in London and dine in The Ivy for a few nights on the taxpayer's dime under the guise of covering the sport he knows nothing about - just like all other sports really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

You bet your ass he will. He'll be busy goo-gulling hockey puns on Monday morning on de EYEPad and have calls arranged to some players or the coaches or some fans no matter what the result tomorrow to patronise them with ill-informed condescending platitudes about how wunderful and fantastic they are and try to beat his own record for the amount of "Well done"s he can get into one show.

His biggest regret however is that the Final isn't on next week whereas then he could go and stay in London and dine in The Ivy for a few nights on the taxpayer's dime under the guise of covering the sport he knows nothing about - just like all other sports really.

Working on a bank holiday Monday. He will be doing no such thing.

The Popes visit does have competition now for his highlight of the year at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Looking at that tweet, the first thing that came to my mind was this

http://www.thejournal.ie/life-magazine-good-times-cover-1834824-Dec2014/

Looking at that tweet, the first thing that came to my mind was this

http://www.thejournal.ie/life-magazine-good-times-cover-1834824-Dec2014/
    I've seen less silicone and china in my local hardware store.

Working on a bank holiday Monday. He will be doing no such thing.

The Popes visit does have competition now for his highlight of the year at Christmas.

I’d say he would for de triple fees and a few nights in London Town and dat.

Btw, de final is on tomorrow so to speak.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I've seen less silicone and china in my local hardware store.

Fateen...and....Leo - THE FOCKING TAOISEACH FFS - went to last Christmas's (2-17) version so to speak! I posted on here abour it at de time and dat.

Talk about out of touch, esp. for one who's particularly conscious of his image (Leo, not Fateen...although......:rolleyes:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

There's only one response to that.....Well done!!!:D

A quote from Independent.ie :

“Walk to Joe

Joe Duffy scaling Croagh Patrick on his holidays. Also a new Tracks and Trails-style series for RTÉ (probably).”

Are we to get the idea dat Fateen does be doin a snippet for Tracks & Trails / copycat program / doing a whole tv series, perhaps visiting all de pilgrimage places, himself? Der will be Knock, Lough Derg, an udders. Maybe overseas to Lourd-ess, Fateenma, Mejoo-gorge-ay.