Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who be this lot???

• 12-07-2018 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭

Irish deer comission. Never heard of them.Anyone?

http://irishdeercommission.ie/

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

Nothing about them on Solocheck.ie yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

My guess more chancers:(, in their about us section
    -"Provide access to high quality education and training to ensure that deer can be effectively managed"
    Who needs antis when you've friends like we do in the shooting community:p
    Ya my guess another group lobbying for themselves and not the rest of us:rolleyes: something tells me theyll be providing something course wise......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭solarwinds

Linked in will shed further light on this as will twitter.

I for one will not be having anything to do with this lot. Mandatory courses, yet another entity now saying it should be a requirement for all. FFS will it ever end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

2016 being their last bit of news...Missed all the fun last year then?..Not a very with it group to repersent us then.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭ayagerard

My guess more chancers:(, in their about us section
    -"Provide access to high quality education and training to ensure that deer can be effectively managed"
    Who needs antis when you've friends like we do in the shooting community:p
    Ya my guess another group lobbying for themselves and not the rest of us:rolleyes: something tells me theyll be providing something course wise......

another leading authority on deer in ireland these guys are even experts on the giant irish deer must be around with a while to have studied them i'm still waiting for some one of these experts to suggest rechristening the muntjac leprejac ,at that point i will pee in my pants i think is the prase , i heard of the land commision that was a state agency ,but not heard of a deer commision ,

name over the door and a phone no what more do you need who is going to question your qualifications ,this is ireland you know , the more of these that show their intent,???? the better 2 or 3 more of these self confessed experts now is what we need and let them fight away over the crumbs that will sort them out once and for all when the money will get small all of these experts will crawl back under what ever rock they came out from under but just maybe the rock might not cover them then ,

According to an article he was interviewed for in the Times re. compulsary certification his outfit at the time and the other organisations were very dissapointed (annoyed she did not do what she was told) the minister decided not to implement their suggestions.
    But if that wasnt annoying enough what really bothered me was that each of these outfits all claimed that ALL of their hunter members were in favour of mandatory certification jesus wept are these cults or something with all their members brainwashed or what.
    Who volunteers to have their wallets drained.
    If hunters are that unsure of their abilities that they feel the need to run out and do every course going at what will only be ever increasing costs then they need to hang up their guns. If i was unsure of any aspect my sport i would ask someone with years of experience be it stalking or rough shooting there is no substitute for experience. Sure as hell my first thought would not be where can i go and sit down for 2 days learning theory and get a fancy bit of paper worth nothing giving me a false sense of my own ability.
    Yes at some point some kind of course will happen. But its structure, content, implementation and certification will have to be laid down by the powers that be. And until that happens nothing else is worth a damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

Website gone already? What did it say anyway?

It seems to have been a person or persons unknown involved with WADI who took the website without executive permission and renamed it Wild deer Ireland,and now this Wild deer commission yoke. Which has now disappeared within 16 hours off the net after it was spotted on FB. Amazed that their bank details weren't in Lagos, Nigeria as well for good measure.

An individuals linkedin page associated with the deer commission is still up though, wonder why the website has gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Hunter456

More professional deer stalkers that know every thing about deer aren't they a great bunch of lads.

Irish deer commission launching Aug 8th.Anyone know anything about this?Some pieces of mind should be expressed at this meet perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭gunny123

They seen a band wagon passing and decided to hop aboard. No way i could make that meeting. Somehow i feel the hand of voldemort about this though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

Am I missing something here, but a PRIVATE invitation to a PRIVATE event is been shared here, why? :rolleyes: Is it anyone's business or should it be posted?

A search of the name and based on the invitation wording, this organisation has not been launched nor made any public statements for us to judge them on....yet

Looking at some of the names listed as speakers/advisors and their approach, would tell me they are not the Wild Poachers Assoc but well respected individuals within their own field

Surely we should welcome what appears to be a voluntary group giving up their time for what they care about (and many here)

Just my 2 c worth on this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Regulatory Capture is why we care. If this group begin lobbying for their own benefit and to the detriment of the average hunter, then we should be very vigilant. From that letter it looks like the group is already making relationships with the Gardai. Just look to the SC for a live example of how small groups can damage the sport for the majority.

[
    QUOTE=Fallow01;107672908]Am I missing something here, but a PRIVATE invitation to a PRIVATE event is been shared here, why? :rolleyes: Is it anyone's business or should it be posted?

Seeing that it was on a FB open page for anyone to view, and also, that this invitation was sent from a list apparently of people who had not consented to their name being used...
    A search of the name and based on the invitation wording, this organisation has not been launched nor made any public statements for us to judge them on....yet

Google their website, they have apparently been in existence since 2017,and are very shy about who they are in their "about us" and "contact us" section. http://irishdeercommission.ie/about/ Where are these prospectus they claim on www.idmf.ie IE the Irish deer management forum!
    You know the crowd who want us doing compulsory courses and want us to pay for ridiculous projects like tagging and app developments to geo-locate where we shot deer,as well as their salaries and expenses? You know the crowd who were asking a bunch of questions off Irish deer hunters last year supported by the NPWS license??Which 75% of us were dumb enough to go and fill out and make a noose for our own necks by doing so?

From the IDMF website

IDMF Recommendation 2
    Mandatory Certification of Hunters

1. “That the IDMF recommend to the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and the Minister for Agriculture, Food & the Marine that Certification of Competency from an accredited source in knowledge of wild deer species, disease recognition, management, culling and safe methods of control, together with marksmanship and safe usage and storage of firearms, be a mandatory requirement before the grant of a licence to hunt wild deer; and that mandatory certification be introduced on a phased basis over a five year period commencing on the 1st day of January 2018 for existing holders of deer hunting licences, and with immediate effect from the same date for all new applicants for deer hunting licences”.

IDMF Recommendation 3
    National Database of Deer Hunting Returns

A new database, which is in the current NPWS charter, is required. This would comply with current EU legislation and be more effective and efficient for license holders in addition to assisting the administration of the system by NPWS staff.
    The greatest obstacles to upgrading are:

• Resources — a budget is required to develop and implement the new system
    • Staff shortages — the Wildlife Licensing Unit have lost a number of staff in recent years who have not been replaced
    An efficient online system would significantly reduce time and costs spent on paperwork and internal communications with regard to individual licences and returns. It would also lead to a more reliable dataset with respect to numbers of deer shot, which is critical data in relation to the management of the national herd.

The following recommendations with regard to a modern, online system would be:

• A unique ID number for all license holders on a swipe card with photo ID which can be used to renew the license online.
    • A tagging system similar to that used for livestock – Tags can be issued with the ID and carcass numbers
    • The onus would be on the license holder to submit accurate returns as failure to do so
    • should result in fines and/or the license being revoked.
    • Legislation, i.e. the Wildlife Acts and Data Protection requirements need to be addressed
    • before an online system is developed and implemented.
    • Environmental data such as the location where the deer was shot, species and sex, will give
    • considerable added value to the information supplied.
    • A license fee should be considered to defray costs associated with the administration of
    • licenses

Looking at some of the names listed as speakers/advisors and their approach would tell me they are not the Wild Poachers Assoc but well-respected individuals within their own field

Well, if you want to listen to a lecture by Dr Carden who accused hunters of introducing Muntjac deer into Ireland to have something to shoot out of season, back in 2009 or thereabouts. She has never been properly challenged on this or asked to provide proof of this assertation.Wonder will she be challenged here?:rolleyes:

Surely we should welcome what appears to be a voluntary group giving up their time for what they care about (and many here)

All stakeholders?Why a private invitation then?Why not advertise it here on boards,or even on their FB page? I'd gladly attend as an individual representing the NON conscripted HCAP shooters out there. Yeah I think anyone can see wHY this is a private function.:rolleyes:

An invite only launch to a select few who claim to represent hunters and want to better the sport, behind closed doors and you think this is ok.
    I have land, i shoot am i not a stakeholder. Who is representing me there.
    This volountary organisation are only doing this for the good of their own pockets and definately not for you, me or the deer.
    An invite by their National Executive, who are they, how were they elected was there any consultation with me as a land owner / hunter no there was not.
    So no they do not represent me or what i do.
    Any organisation who sets up in secret, behind closed doors and only invite the chosen few to their official launch yet claim to represent a sport who know nothing about them, then yes they do have questions to answer and to us the people they claim to speak for.
    Now if you are happy for a body to set up in this manner and represent you then crack on, but i would first like to know what their policies are, what they want to do to improve hunting in ireland and seen as they will have the ear of the AGS in a private room what that discussion will involve.
    Now seen as this is Ireland I will not be expecting any answers not logical ones anyway.

I think my point is being missed....this document is a private document not a published document....the event is a private event....it was suggested here people should turn up uninvited, as a private event at best they would be asked to leave or trespassing, making them liable to arrest...I don't believe this is responsible or legal advice from this group...will we be sharing peoples credit card bills next :)

On making inquiries, I understand this private document was photographed last night without the knowledge or permission of the owner to share or publish their personal business.....and they are said to be livid

Because it was posted on a private page (without the owners permission) doesn't make it right to post here.

Lobbying Act 2015 etc is only relevant to an organisation that is in existence and considering they are having a forthcoming launch event, not registered on the CRO or anywhere else or published or lobbied...I would safely say they do not exist yet :) The 2017 reference I would say is a website set up output/ default considering the above.

How did Muntjac end up in Ireland!? Nobody knows but they didn't swim or get a Ryanair flight :)

Dr Carden, in my book (and many others) is the most respected deer academic in Ireland....and no you don't have to agree with every paper she issued or what she says.

There is a lot of negative assumptions and talk been made here...regarding lobbying and how they will be run....and their not even in existence yet :)

<MOD SNIP>

Rather than knocking something that is potentially good, we should be talking about the foxes minding the chickens :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 314 ✭✭Walter Mittys Brother

So this is a splinter group from an existing organisation where they were removed from their positions of "power" at an AGM & they refuse accept it?

Don't know but looking at the names in the Irish Deer Commission line up, I would say they are on a different level (potentially), but the more organisations the better in my book.....

From being at previous AGM people put their name forward or not for voting for voluntary roles, rather than have something withdrawn

Fallow01 wrote: »
    I think my point is being missed....this document is a private document not a published document....the event is a private event....it was suggested here people should turn up uninvited, as a private event at best they would be asked to leave or trespassing, making them liable to arrest...I don't believe this is responsible or legal advice from this group...will we be sharing peoples credit card bills next :)

So thats already saying a LOT."Ve will not tolerate dissent or questions being asked?"Hmm odd for a new organisation that would want to attract membership.Hold a private function and threaten people who it directly concerns with arrest if they try to enter?
    Also,go and read [1] my disclaimer on every post of mine and [2] no one said anything about being violent or disruptive.
    On making inquiries, I understand this private document was photographed last night without the knowledge or permission of the owner to share or publish their personal business.....and they are said to be livid

Would they care to comment on the fact that apparently, this list of invitees was a non-consensual list taken from an organisation without the invitees or organisations permission to use it?
    Because it was posted on a private page (without the owners' permission) doesn't make it right to post here.

Whats the big secret? This is going to be a presumably public and "democratic" operation??Did they think this invitation was not going to eventually show up on social media by concerned parties outside this golden circle??
    You put out a document inviting a select few that concerns a majority of people involved in deer stalking future in Ireland and then act like its all hush hush and are then livid about it being found out??Sounds like there is something to hide already.

This is the kind of attitude that would make anyone sane wary of an organisation like this!Private meetings,and functions and sleeping with the enemy so to speak in the form of a body who wants money out of us for their projects and what these organisations take from this? They sure arent setting up as a charitable function either to no doubt run courses when it becomes compulsory? This was the way things were run in shooting organisations.No one wants anymore behind closed door meetings discussing our collective futures,by an unelected select few with the enemy.
    Sorry, that kwould put me right off straight away.

How did Muntjac end up in Ireland!? Nobody knows but they didn't swim or get a Ryanair flight :)

Dr Carden, in my book (and many others) is the most respected deer academic in Ireland....and no you don't have to agree with every paper she issued or what she says.

Introducing a non-native species is a criminal act under the invasive species act.So Dr Carden made a public statement of mass brushing a group of people with being complicit in a crime! A pretty serious allegation of which she has never
    [1] provided any tangible evidence or proof thereof that has been made public or in a court of law
    [2] Has there ever been an investigation by AGS into these allegations?If so why not,or what was the outcome? For someone to make those kinds of allegations without a shred of provable evidence makes them a less than a credible,despite their academic qualifications and other papers they might have written. Cardinal rule of research.You have to back up your assertations with proof,not hide behind your qualifications. If you want to listen to some academic berating you as complicit in a criminal act....Go right ahead.

3] At the time of this allegation, Donedeal.ie and buy&sell had advertised muntjac deer for sale as exotic pets too...Did the good doctor consider that possibly these might have been exotic escaped pets?
    4] Muntjac are prolific breeders,since then the whole 32 counties should be showing a dramatic increase in their cull returns?

There is a lot of negative assumptions and talk been made here...regarding lobbying and how they will be run....and their not even in existence yet :)

Let's just say we are bitten a few times and very shy,and from Missouri into the bargain.

Rather than knocking something that is potentially good, we should be talking about the foxes minding the chickens :)[

Indeed,and lets say from previous experiences, things that potentially should be good are usually rotten and costly for us all in the long run around here.

Again i ask how can you think a group setting up behind closed doors, without any public notice especially to the people they hope to be screwing money from is a good thing.
    "They were livid" that says it all really, as you seem to be in the know about these peoples reactions to the ordinary man finding out maybe you could find out a bit more about their intentions.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Fallow01 wrote: »
    ...I don't believe this is responsible or legal advice from this group..
    There is no legal advise given on this or any other forum. It's prohibited.

Any and all posts are the opinions of the posters, nothing more.
    There are protocols in place if they want to make a complaint.
    Because it was posted on a private page (without the owners permission) doesn't make it right to post here.
    If it was posted in the public domain, at all, then it's fair game. You cannot post, whether in private or not, on a public forum (here, Facebook, Twitter) and then claim "private" when its posted elsewhere.
    Lobbying Act 2015 etc is only relevant to an organisation that is in existence and considering they are having a forthcoming launch event, not registered on the CRO or anywhere else or published or lobbied...I would safely say they do not exist yet :) The 2017 reference I would say is a website set up output/ default considering the above.
    And the Date Protection Act may be in play because if this organisation got the addresses of those it posted to from any other source bar the actual person it was addressed to then there is a breach of the data protection act on both the part of the new organisation and organisation that furnished the new one with the information.
    When the so called coalition started up the same "it'll be great" lines were trotted out, so too when the deer alliance tried to privatize deer stalking.
    <MOD SNIP>
    And thats possible defamation right there.
    Rather than knocking something that is potentially good, we should be talking about the foxes minding the chickens :)
    This is the line i've hard umpteen times from those involved in either setting up or running a new group.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

You have made serious accusations, possibly slanderous statements, and ignored actual data protection issues.

As such i'm shutting this thread pending mod review. It WILL be re-opened once the offending comments have been examined and dealt with as this is too important a topic to simply be closed for debate.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

The review is still under way, but i'm opening this thread for the moment as its of concern to the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

Irish Deer Commission are now open for membership applications, the first 50 applications accepted are entered into a draw for a guided Sika stalk in Co Kerry

https://www.facebook.com/125121684177148/photos/a.611442008878444.1073741829.125121684177148/1918816678140964/?type=3&theater

?type=3&theater

Tbh lads threads like these and the firearms community's infighting in general is quite off putting for young shooters like myself ive had a few young lads in and around my age that know i shoot asking me about these mandatory courses lamping bans etc...... thinking their gospel. A house divided against itself, cannot stand and parts of firearm community here seems hell bent on burning the f****ng house to the ground we're our own worst enemy
    My point about young shooters is the average firearms owner was what in their 50s? the last time gardai gave info. For my age group to me it seems very few have an actual interest in shooting even those who may have a father,uncle etc who does shoot and things like these mandatory courses .Groups attempting to bring in more restrictive often self serving legislation just makes it more and more difficult to introduce new shooters.
    -Ill never licence a CF pistol im too young to have gotten one pre 08
    -Ill never shoot a practical or "dynamic" or whatever they called it competition here too young to have been around when it was.
    But that makes me not want to have to make some lad in future have to face more restrictions than i do already today and if groups are continually allowed to make this sport more restrictive or "selective" it will die out.
    Just my 2 cents:pac:

Tbh lads threads like these and the firearms community's infighting in general is quite off putting for young shooters like myself
    I understand where you're coming from and agree with you, to a point.

Without saying "its their fault, not us" i have to point out that the thread is not the issue. Its the topic of it. The thread and the forum provide a place for people to learn about what is going on in THEIR sport and at times this forum has been the sole place to find out about secret proposals, agenda and actions of some groups that were NOT public knowledge and through our combined efforts we managed to stop some of these proposed actions. The mandatory deer training course being one of them.

So, for me, i'd like to know what is happening rather than wake up some morning to find my sport is now fee based and controlled by one vested interest group whose sole function is profit over the continuity and development of the sport.
    ive had a few young lads in and around my age that know i shoot asking me about these mandatory courses lamping bans etc...... thinking their gospel.
    Continuing on form my point above, this thread was started when the proposed privatisation of deer hunting was proposed and almost a done deal. Through letter writing and informing people on the forum we managed to get the Minister to stop it.
    A house divided against itself, cannot stand and parts of firearm community here seems hell bent on burning the f****ng house to the ground we're our own worst enemy
    Absolutely.

Its sad, sickening and beyond understanding why they do it, but it has been going on for decades and more so in the last ten years. We have had at least 6 attempts to privatise and control sections of the sport over the last 9 to 10 years and that does not count the attempts by the same groups to actually destroy certain parts of the sport by "offering" to have them banned in order to save an aspect of shooting THEY partake in.

IOW throwing one sport under the bus for the sake of their own.
    -Ill never licence a CF pistol im too young to have gotten one pre 08
    It's all about how its done too. The groups we talk about above are the same ones that decided to take a sledgehammer to a nut.

Take the pistols for example. Court case after court case taken, and in some cases they were warranted, but the groups involved took the wrong approach and combined with ignorance on the, then, Minister's behalf we ended up with a ban.

Thing is its not legislative, as such. Its done under an SI and the Minister, current, can remove aspects of that SI or in whole and C/F pistols can be available in the morning. All we need is the right people arguing our case and not pissing off the DoJ/AGS that control it.
    -Ill never shoot a practical or "dynamic" or whatever they called it competition here too young to have been around when it was.
    Nor will anyone else, myself included, because those involved refused to listen to advice and thought they knew better.
    But that makes me not want to have to make some lad in future have to face more restrictions than i do already today and if groups are continually allowed to make this sport more restrictive or "selective" it will die out.
    Just my 2 cents:pac:
    Exactly.

Everything i've said above shows what has happened in the past 10 years because of the actions of self serving PRIVATE groups.

Now i don't know much about this new Irish Deer Commission, and i'll reserve judgement on them and their actions until i know more. As they, according to the posts above, have been secretive and selective in their information and their invitations my only other source of info is here.

If they improve shooting, it's public image and don't try to privatize or commercialize shooting then my opinion is have at it. However if they try anything else i will, based on their actions, oppose them. Unfortunately for them they have decided to create this new group in a time when new groups are popping up every week and trying to corner some aspect of shooting so naturally there is suspicions about their motives.

It's a cynical attitude, but one developed from years of abuse by others.

Cass wrote: »

had to read that twice i did ,nice to see this crowd the irish deer commision has such a strong will to be able to get the super to get preparing a new training course and how handy to be able to announce at the launch of the irish deer commission , with a guarda inspector twinning with with an ranger from the npws in each garda division
    now if a voluntary group can achieve so much within a week of being launched we certainly will have to keep a very close eye on them especially when we discussed poaching last year and highlighted most off the above it as if we were doing some on else's homework dont you think

Who is going to train the AGS i wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

At least its good to see Wildlife crime starting to be taken seriously by the AGS

Im still surprised revenue isn't on this like a fly on S**t, Theres serious money going through poaching deer and im sure there has to be tax irregularities i doubt a lad poaching deer illegally is going to be doing his taxes right on it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I think much like the 'estimated street value' of drugs touted by the news agencies the estimated value of venison carcass are being over exaggerated. Larger animals will obviously return a higher cash value with some dealers paying different price per kilo for Red Deer.
    The poachers are taking excessive numbers of deer and there will always be back door trade where unscruplous characters will do buisness, but be under no illusions most of the poaching carried out is done by licenced firearms holders with deer hunting licences and most likely are qualified as a 'Trained Hunter' or have access to someone who is qualified.

There is not point calling for the end of selling wild game meat, as there will always be an outlet for illegaly sourced meat. This would be akin to baning firearms because criminal elements use them for legal activities.
    The only way around this is the policing and hard prosecution of those involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Birdnuts wrote: »
    At least its good to see Wildlife crime starting to be taken seriously by the AGS

This is exactly the way to tackle poaching. Use the existing legislation, we've all been saying this for ages.

So I like this approach for a number of reasons:
    No proposed restrictions on existing law abiding shooters/hunters
    Doesn't crap all over other peoples sport such as fox hunting at night
    No barriers for new people looking to take up any sport
    Building working relationships with the people who enforce legislation

I think if any group can keep the 4 points above in mind with any proposals or goals then they will do well.

Interesting that Supt Walker ,jusssstttt so happens to be a deerstalker himself I believe if my info is correct??:rolleyes:
    A case of maybe the Vulpes vulpes being asked to keep watch over the abode of the domestic fowl.

Odd too that if there are people with " infrared telescope sights" out and about,as it is a piece of equipment,as we all know that needs to be liscensed,surely AGS would be possibly aware who their suspects might be and drop over for a chat??

Grizz, keeping in mind Vegetas comments, I don't want to be a suspect just because I've got night sights (which I don't, can't afford) and am authorised to do so.
    Some of my shooting would put me right in the same circumstances as poachers the difference being is I'm legally covered to do so. If I'm stopped and approached at the time , fair enough I can show I'm bona fide, but don't come knocking at my door after the fact just because I operate in the same environment as the bad guys.

Unfortunately, that's a thing with criminal investigations Cookie. Everyone IS a suspect until proven otherwise.:) It's just part and parcel of police work.

To use the very trite saying, which I personally hate..."If you have done nothing wrong,what have you got to fear?"

]
    Larger animals will obviously return a higher cash value with some dealers paying a different price per kilo for Red Deer.

Seems to be within ballpark figures nationwide of 80 euros per kg. In fact, they make the money on the filet, oyster and backstraps, all the rest is just extra sugar.

The poachers are taking excessive numbers of deer and there will always be backdoor trade where unscrupulous characters will do business, but be under no illusions most of the poaching carried out is done by licenced firearms holders with deer hunting licences and most likely are qualified as a 'Trained Hunter' or have access to someone who is qualified.

Which just proves how useless such courses would be in stopping poaching anyway
    here is not point calling for the end of selling wild game meat, as there will always be an outlet for illegaly sourced meat. This would be akin to banning firearms because criminal elements use them for legal activities.

Works very well in the US... There is an absolute prohibition on selling ANY native wild game meat in all 50 states. Any game you eat in the US is imported or farmed.You can hunt for your family, friends, relatives, church or welfare organisation and gift or donate your meat.But get one red cent for it,and F&G will come down on you like a ton of bricks.
    And again we run into this "there are too few deer, and too many about." situation here again. Until a survey is actually carried out and not relying on local level situations, we don't and won't know, what sort of a strategy should be in place.
    The only way around this is the policing and hard prosecution of those involved.
    Will certainly help,IF done right.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Seems to be within ballpark figures nationwide of 80 euros per kg.
    Perhaps the game dealer to the restaurant/supplier does, but not he shooter to the game dealer as i believe Cooki is referring to.

The prices i've heard, depending on species, range from €1 to €2.50 per kilo. So a big red in prime shape at €2.50 per kilo and weighing 150 kilo, dressed, would bring in a max of €375. Not the €550 quoted. Same with Sika. They quote a price of €100. That would mean the deer would have to be at least 50 kilo and getting €2 per kilo. I've not seen a lot of deer in the 50+ kilo mark and never heard of someone getting €2 per kilo. The average i've heard and seen is €0.75 to €1.45 per kilo. With an average/top weight of around 40 - 45 (male) it's roughly €33 to €65. This is not even dressed weight.

Cass figures are correct in and around €2.00 a kilo to the hunter, some thing a kin to live weight for domestic animals and by the time it gets to the retailer or restaurant customer the price is way way way up there.
    I knew lads working in the fish and meat trade who used to bust a gut at the prices of scallops and fillet on the menus of some of the non Michelin restaurants around Dublin.

Cass figures are correct in and around €2.00 a kilo to the hunter,
    The last i checked the prices i was given were:
    • Sika - €0.75 to €1.45 per kilo
    • Fallow - €1.20 to €2 per kilo
    • Red - €1.80 to €2.50 per kilo.
    As said there is the weight to be considered and that is dressed weight. The average Fallow i drop is around the 40 - 55kg, dressed. Sika are something i've never shot as they're simply not around me but i can't imagine them being as big/heavy as Fallow, on average.
    by the time it gets to the retailer or restaurant customer the price is way way way up there.
    I don't doubt it.
    I knew lads working in the fish and meat trade who used to bust a gut at the prices of scallops and fillet on the menus of some of the non Michelin restaurants around Dublin.
    Seen a pair of steaks, Venison, in the supermarket the other day. €29 for them. I had a good laugh to myself as i remembered how my local butcher does up an entire deer for me for €30. Which includes boxes of chips, steaks, fillets, shanks and burgers.

Pe.

The prices i've heard, depending on species, range from €1 to €2.50 per kilo. So a big red in prime shape at €2.50 per kilo and weighing 150 kilo, dressed, would bring in a max of €375. Not the €550 quoted. Same with Sika. They quote a price of €100. That would mean the deer would have to be at least 50 kilo and getting €2 per kilo. I've not seen a lot of deer in the 50+ kilo mark and never heard of someone getting €2 per kilo. The average i've heard and seen is €0.75 to €1.45 per kilo. With an average/top weight of around 40 - 45 (male) it's roughly €33 to €65. This is not even dressed weight.

With those kinds of prices, it's as bad, if not worse than what Blood diamond miners get paid in Africa.:mad:

had damien hannigan on kerry radio with gerry o sullivan this morning talking about how good it would be to have the irish deer commision put a plan in place for kerry headed by the npws ,even he was bewildered by the fact that the tenders were overseen by the department of agri rather than ahgt whom have complete and final say as to what can and cant as they are guardians under the wildlife act , sustainable numbers , management plans , were also chanted but no actual numbers as no survey has been carried out either locally or nationally, IS IT NOW GOING TO BE THE CASE THAT THE FOX IS GOING TO BE LEFT COUNT THE CHICKENS AT HOUSIN good god what next
    i am wondering what legal standing or wright will the irish deer commission have have on private land without the owners permission or authority with out getting to technal

ayagerard wrote: »
    had damien hannigan on kerry radio with gerry o sullivan this morning talking about how good it would be to have the irish deer commision put a plan in place for kerry headed by the npws ,even he was bewildered by the fact that the tenders were overseen by the department of agri rather than ahgt whom have complete and final say as to what can and cant as they are guardians under the wildlife act , sustainable numbers , management plans , were also chanted but no actual numbers as no survey has been carried out either locally or nationally, IS IT NOW GOING TO BE THE CASE THAT THE FOX IS GOING TO BE LEFT COUNT THE CHICKENS AT HOUSIN good god what next
    i am wondering what legal standing or wright will the irish deer commission have have on private land without the owners permission or authority with out getting to technal

Not a F***ing leg to stand on if you own land and the sporting rights you have sole control over who shoots on that land

I listened back to the interview and felt it was very balanced and positive - the comments afterwards were generally positive from farmers and hunters. There was no suggestion the Irish Deer Commission would be involved in culling or counting or putting a plan in place but that it should happen and be under the remit of NPWS - inclusive of all involved rather than dictated by one sector

It was said the commission was a member organisation, their website states they represent the views of their members

It was suggested farmers work with local deer hunters and ensure deer are culled legally and not as a result of unqualified pressure from any one group. The important job we do as hunters was highlighted.

Any link to this interview/podcast?

https://www.radiokerry.ie/call-deer-management-project-kerry/

this is the podcast the interview was about 8 minutes long and this (the pod )shows a a very different reflection to the interview i herd even tho i was driving at the time i would be delighted if someone could produce the entire interview

i must also state that the above statement was Damien response to a couple of direct questions from gerry o sullivane for which i would thank him

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Any link to this interview/podcast?

Recorded the full interview on my phone, will try upload later or PM