Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changes in the GAA - super thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

blinding wrote: »
    Why do other Teams agree to play Dublin with all the advantages that Dublin have .

Nothing will change until the other teams refuse to play Dublin .

It would be a very good , competitive All Ireland series if all the other Teams refused to play Dublin .

It would be full of low quality matches like the Mayo/Meath game.

What the Donegal/Kerry game showed is that if you get your act together, you can play a brand of football like Dublin's.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

blanch152 wrote: »
    It would be full of low quality matches like the Mayo/Meath game.

What the Donegal/Kerry game showed is that if you get your act together, you can play a brand of football like Dublin's.
    But its the only way the other Counties are going to get a fair playing field .

They should refuse to play Dublin until this farce is sorted out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It’ll happen at some stage unless the crazy inequalities are addressed.
    kilns wrote: »
    The only reason you would split Dublin is due to population and so therefore these inequalities have existed in the GAA for the last 125 years but Dublin currently have a team which is winning so lets split them up now........

Splitting Dublin sets a precedent for boundary changes.

It will only happen when amalgamations are also on the table to create a more even Championship.

Fans should definitely not turn up to matches where Dublin are playing .

This farce needs to end now .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Its hard to figure out if this is a sarcastic post or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,045 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I'll expect to see you in Omagh in two weeks time so with your banners.

Boycotting Dublin matches is the only way to get the GAA to end the Farce .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,805 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Returning to the original topic of this thread, ie, Changes in the GAA, I think once the four semi finalists are taken from the Super 8s, a further open draw should take place.

This would stop the situation we had last year where Galway 'pulled' up in their game against Monaghan.

That doesn't really work.
    Presumably you wouldn't want repeat pairings from the groups into the semi-finals. i.e., winner of Group A players Runner Up of Group A. So that's out.
    And do you really want Winner of Group A v Winner of Group B? Possibly two unbeaten teams who've carried all before them, the dream final but instead they meet in the semi-final?

I have always though a NFL style system would work with the 4 conferences but no provincial system, you dont necessarily play the team in your conference but your record stacks up against the others in the conference and then after say 12 games the play offs are decided and it is a straight knock out after that.

So for example you take Leitrim and they could be in a conference with

Dublin
    Monaghan
    Louth
    Waterford
    Cork
    Tipp
    Offaly
    Sligo

However, they could play anyone in the country and at the end of 12 games there record will determine if they make the play offs or not.

This would involve scrapping the league also and give a gaurantee of 12 games in a fixed schedule season

Top 2 from each group go automatically through to the round of last 16, then numbers 3 and 4 from each group go into a knock out round against the other 3 and 4th place teams to join them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,577 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

if in 2/3 years time Dublin have the same level of domination then there can be some merits in the arguments of those who are adamant that only funding is the issue for Dublins success and is causing the gap to widen.

However, I would argue that Dublin has had a core group of fantastic players since Jim Gavin took over (17 players who played in the 2013 all ireland final are still in the current squad)

Below you will see a break down of the average age of the team profile

2013 AI Starting 15 average age 24.66, total players used average 25.2

2018 AI Starting 15 average age 26.2, total players used average 26.9

2019 Leinster Final starting 15 average 27.2, total players used average 27.7

According to Gaelic stats the peak years of a Gaelic Footballer is between 23 and 27 which would explain the current dominance, there then is a dramatic drop off from 28 onwards.

So only going by statistics, the football team should be due to decline from their sky high standards from next year onwards, it will be interesting to see and we should see teams come closer to Dublin for example Kerry who as a group will be moving into their prime years as a team

Excellent post. A remarkable group of players led by the goat coaching staff have maximised their competitive window, that’s all this is. It’s a beautiful thing, and an achievement that will stand the rest of time, but there is no structural problem - just like there wasn’t in 1982.

HBC08 wrote: »
    The way things are stacked now it would be a total embarrassment if dublin dont win the All Ireland every year.

When kilkenny and before that Kerry were dominating their sports there was bitterness towards them because they were the best and thats what happens in sport.
    There is bitterness towards dublin because their success has been completely manufactured and is a farce.
    There will be an asterisk beside their name after they get the 5 in a row.

There will be no asterisk and you know it. I understand why you might cling to such an idea though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

The only reason you would split Dublin is due to population and so therefore these inequalities have existed in the GAA for the last 125 years but Dublin currently have a team which is winning so lets split them up now........

They weren't getting €2 million a year from all the other counties though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

It would be a very good , competitive All Ireland series if all the other Teams refused to play Dublin .

It just gets madder here....

They weren't getting €2 million a year from all the other counties though

EUR2m a year from other counties??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭threeball

That depends. If, like in Kerry, that resource is directed into centres of excellence, then you will see a dividend at inter-county level - the unprecedented run of minor wins being the evidence.

However, if the resource is directed at mass juvenile participation, and every kid of varying ability and skill is getting that resource, then you won't see a direct dividend at inter-county level.

So you've basically admitted in that post where Dublins money went.... development squads. Fair play, at least thats a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Bonniedog wrote: »

It just gets madder here....

I proposed few weeks ago there will need to be an all out strike until the dublin issue is fully dealt with.

I proposed few weeks ago there will need to be an all out stike until the dublin issue is fully dealt with.
    Its the only way to get the message to the bosses .

I proposed few weeks ago there will need to be an all out strike until the dublin issue is fully dealt with.

I think the point made in the post you quoted is only enhanced by that!

Do you think the ICTU will go for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,784 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

That depends. If, like in Kerry, that resource is directed into centres of excellence, then you will see a dividend at inter-county level - the unprecedented run of minor wins being the evidence.

However, if the resource is directed at mass juvenile participation, and every kid of varying ability and skill is getting that resource, then you won't see a direct dividend at inter-county level.

Why do you keep saying the GDO structure that Dublin have is aimed at juveniles only? Games development funding is provided to enhance all levels including nursery, juvenile and adult teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

I'm sure Bryan Cullen gets well paid for his full time role considering he left Leinster rugby to join Dublin GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I'm sure Bryan Cullen gets well paid for his full time role considering he left Leinster rugby to join Dublin GAA

Man gets job shocker.

Why do you keep saying the GDO structure that Dublin have is aimed at juveniles only? Games development funding is provided to enhance all levels including nursery, juvenile and adult teams

He hasn't, read it again. He has said that if money is invested in development squads then you see the dividend at inter County, which is exactly what you see with Dublin.

He said you won't see a dividend if invested in juvenile, which is exactly the opposite of what we've seen with Dublin but every dub peddles the lie that that's where the money goes.

They know exactly where it's spent and the post above let the mask slip.

......what do we want?
    .......Dublin out,
    ........when do we want it?
    NOOOOW.

The Yellow Jackets in France have just included booting Dublin out of the championship as one of their demands.

Move on also to have Biden and Sanders include it as a plank for the Democratic Convention.

Putin has made it condition of Russia rejoining theG8.

(He was in Beechy's gaff having a few cans on Saturday and was ripping over the Dubs hammering Rossies, who he thought were Russies after a few scoops.)

All happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Bonniedog wrote: »
    The Yellow Jackets in France have just included booting Dublin out of the championship as one of their demands.

Move on also to have Biden and Sanders include it as a plank for the Democratic Convention.

Putin has made it condition of Russia rejoining theG8.

(He was in Beechy's gaff having a few cans on Saturday and was ripping over the Dubs hammering Rossies, who he thought were Russies after a few scoops.)

All happening.

David icke latest conspiracy is the dubs dominating the GAA for the next 20 years

threeball wrote: »
    He hasn't, read it again. He has said that if money is invested in development squads then you see the dividend at inter County, which is exactly what you see with Dublin.

He said you won't see a dividend if invested in juvenile, which is exactly the opposite of what we've seen with Dublin but every dub peddles the lie that that's where the money goes.

You'd be doing your own county a favour by asking 'where exactly is the money spent?'
    Any updates yet on the Garda inquiries into Galway finances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Why do other Teams agree to play Dublin with all the advantages that Dublin have .

Has to be contender for the most stupidest post of the year -:)

Fann Linn wrote: »

You'd be doing your own county a favour by asking 'where exactly is the money spent?'
    Any updates yet on the Garda inquiries into Galway finances.

There's lads higher up than me asking those questions already so no point in me asking but good to know I touched a nerve. Ye don't like being confronted with the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭dunnerc

There's lads higher up than me asking those questions already so no point in me asking but good to know I touched a nerve. Ye don't like being confronted with the truth.

Ditto:rolleyes: