Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Let's all talk about Lewis?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

"PC brigade messaging"

If you have any issue with anyone using a public platform to support the end of racism, and social injustice, then you're very likely just racist yourself.

We already have race as one etc.

We don’t need individual drivers saying whatever the hell they want on a T-shirt on the podium.

They have their social media rubbish for that.

The podium shouldn’t be dirtied in this manner imo.

I’m siting here watchin the NBA. They have generic slogans like “vote” And “freedom” on the back of their shirts. No specific message. That’s kept off the court on other platforms.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

This is it wrote: »
    Anyone have an image of the t-shirt?

Here is the twat tweeting about it. He also wore it on the podium during the national anthems.

https://twitter.com/LewisHamilton/status/1305185960024510464

We already have race as one etc.

We don’t need individual drivers saying whatever the hell they want on a T-shirt on the podium.

They have their social media rubbish for that.

The podium shouldn’t be dirtied in this manner imo.

I’m siting here watchin the NBA. They have generic slogans like “vote” And “freedom” on the back of their shirts. No specific message. That’s kept off the court on other platforms.

But you have Crofty and the others on Sky praising him for the teeshirt. Because it's Lewis they don't seem to stop and think about whether such a gesture is acceptable, yet they'll apologise if the odd swear word gets aired.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

"PC brigade messaging"

If you have any issue with anyone using a public platform to support the end of racism, and social injustice, then you're very likely just racist yourself.

Thats not what he is saying, he isnt saying end racism.

He is saying that law and order and the criminal justice system in america is not as knowledgeable as him. He has read a few snippets about a case the general public have very few facts about and he is calling for the arrest of police officers involved. Its a dangerous road to go down. If you dont support trial by LewisHamiltons t shirt you are racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭StevenToast

What an absolute arseh@le hamilton is....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

Thats not what he is saying, he isnt saying end racism.

He is saying that law and order and the criminal justice system in america is not as knowledgeable as him. He has read a few snippets about a case the general public have very few facts about and he is calling for the arrest of police officers involved. Its a dangerous road to go down. If you dont support trial by LewisHamiltons t shirt you are racist.

He’s an absolute and utter disgrace to the sport and the F1 are worse for allowing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The only person he cares about is himself...all this blm nonsense is trying to keep himself in the headlines....

Himself and tiger woods are whiter than me!

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 5,190 ✭✭✭This is it

Jaysus, I'm no fan of his but a few comments in here are way over the top.

I've no real issue with the BLM pre race ritual, including allowing those that don't want to kneel to not kneel but maybe there should be regulations on what can and can't be worn

This is it wrote: »
    Jaysus, I'm no fan of his but a few comments in here are way over the top.

I've no real issue with the BLM pre race ritual, including allowing those that don't want to kneel to not kneel but maybe there should be regulations on what can and can't be worn

The thing is there won’t be any regs put in because he’s Lewis Hamilton.

I 100% agree with no issue with the BLM stuff. It’s grand it’s generic and ignorable.

But I’m honestly raging that he was allowed to put such a specific message on his shirt.

Who ok’s the message?

What if it said something not politically correct or that the left didn’t like?

It’s why the NBA etc have only generic messaging. It says “vote” not vote Trump or vote Sanders.

I’m honestly livid over this.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,145 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

A ferrari team photo to celebrate 1000 races was posted on SM earlier. Hamilton stuck the boot in "still no diversity". He later deleted it. Really wish he would fcuk off.

The Social justice warrior has no problem promoting Petronas though

• Registered Users Posts: 13,798 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Burkie1203 wrote: »
    A ferrari team photo to celebrate 1000 races was posted on SM earlier. Hamilton stuck the boot in "still no diversity". He later deleted it. Really wish he would fcuk off.

The Social justice warrior has no problem promoting Petronas though

and yet the horse has always been black,

Except it is Lewis prancing about.

I wonder is he trying to line up a drive at Ferrari for 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

Breonna Taylor was an EMT. It doesnt seem to be established whether she was employed at the time or not but alot of sources call her a former EMT.

Her ex boyfriend was a known drug dealer who police intelligence had noted got packages delivered to her address. He was seen taking delivery of these packages and seen driving directly to houses that sold drugs.

After she split up with this guy he was still seen on occasion frequenting her property.

The police got a warrant to search his house, her house and a few other houses. They got a no knock warrant which means they can turn up and smash the door in with no warning. They did however shout and knock and give plenty of warning before they came in the door.

When they came in the door the boyfriend of the lady on Lewis Hamiltons shirt opened fire on the police and shot one officer in the leg. They lit up the room hitting Breyonna 8 times. Their training does not tell them to shoot the gun out of peoples hands or to use lassos to trick the shooter. They are told to make sure they get home safe. Aim at the centre of the body and empty their clip.

Judge Lewis Hamilton has decided that because his car is faster than everybody elses he should be able to decide who should go to jail based on what the dead persons skin colour is.

Breonna Taylor was an EMT. It doesnt seem to be established whether she was employed at the time or not but alot of sources call her a former EMT.

Her ex boyfriend was a known drug dealer who police intelligence had noted got packages delivered to her address. He was seen taking delivery of these packages and seen driving directly to houses that sold drugs.

After she split up with this guy he was still seen on occasion frequenting her property.

The police got a warrant to search his house, her house and a few other houses. They got a no knock warrant which means they can turn up and smash the door in with no warning. They did however shout and knock and give plenty of warning before they came in the door.

When they came in the door the boyfriend of the lady on Lewis Hamiltons shirt opened fire on the police and shot one officer in the leg. They lit up the room hitting Breyonna 8 times. Their training does not tell them to shoot the gun out of peoples hands or to use lassos to trick the shooter. They are told to make sure they get home safe. Aim at the centre of the body and empty their clip.

Judge Lewis Hamilton has decided that because his car is faster than everybody elses he should be able to decide who should go to jail based on what the dead persons skin colour is.

Someone replied to his tweet above with this one, asking him to comment.

https://twitter.com/King_Leo_27/status/1305192312969015296

• Registered Users Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭Anjobe

This is essentially the police version of the events. It is widely disbelieved, even by prosecutors who dismissed the charge of attempted murder against Kenneth Walker. The police report into the incident was full of errors and inconsistencies, it stated that they did not use force to enter the apartment and listed Breonna Taylor's injuries as "none". Also, police training does not tell them to spray a ridiculous number of rounds blindly into a dark room with complete disregard for the lives of anyone who might have been in there. No shot was "aimed at the centre of the body" here.

No knock warrants are controversial anyway, and have now been banned in Kentucky, but executing one in the middle of the night after having dismissed the ambulance that police policy requires to be in attendance is beyond controversial. There are good reasons for believing that the police did not behave entirely correctly that night, and that that led to the death of an innocent person, and that this would not have happened if the "suspects" had not been black.

I actually agree that the F1 grid is not the appropriate place to be making such an overtly political statement, but there is a point here that if the argument is made in a way that will not antagonize or offend anyone then no one will listen.

Anjobe wrote: »
    This is essentially the police version of the events. It is widely disbelieved, even by prosecutors who dismissed the charge of attempted murder against Kenneth Walker. The police report into the incident was full of errors and inconsistencies, it stated that they did not use force to enter the apartment and listed Breonna Taylor's injuries as "none". Also, police training does not tell them to spray a ridiculous number of rounds blindly into a dark room with complete disregard for the lives of anyone who might have been in there. No shot was "aimed at the centre of the body" here.

No knock warrants are controversial anyway, and have now been banned in Kentucky, but executing one in the middle of the night after having dismissed the ambulance that police policy requires to be in attendance is beyond controversial. There are good reasons for believing that the police did not behave entirely correctly that night, and that that led to the death of an innocent person, and that this would not have happened if the "suspects" had not been black.

I actually agree that the F1 grid is not the appropriate place to be making such an overtly political statement, but there is a point here that if the argument is made in a way that will not antagonize or offend anyone then no one will listen.

That bit. Where is your evidence for this statement? Are you saying they broke down the door and went in shooting because they knew there was a black woman in there? Ridiculous.

Someone replied to his tweet above with this one, asking him to comment.

https://twitter.com/King_Leo_27/status/1305192312969015296

Shooting the cops was a terrible crime and we can only hope that the perpetrator is caught quickly. If it was done as revenge for the black lives lost at the hands of law enforcement officers it was also completely stupid. Inflaming the current anti-racism protests into a black vs white thing will doom them to failure. The whole point of the taking a knee gesture before sporting events is that, if everyone does it, it sends a message of coming together to oppose racial injustice and inequality.

There is a thoughtful article here (https://the-race.com/formula-1/the-biggest-misconceptions-over-hamiltons-racism-stance/) about Hamilton's anti-racism stance.

Shooting the cops was a terrible crime and we can only hope that the perpetrator is caught quickly. If it was done as revenge for the black lives lost at the hands of law enforcement officers it was also completely stupid. Inflaming the current anti-racism protests into a black vs white thing will doom them to failure. The whole point of the taking a knee gesture before sporting events is that, if everyone does it, it sends a message of coming together to oppose racial injustice and inequality.

There is a thoughtful article here (https://the-race.com/formula-1/the-biggest-misconceptions-over-hamiltons-racism-stance/) about Hamilton's anti-racism stance.

That article was written well over two months ago. A lot has changed since then. He stooped to a new low yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭flazio

It's a new day and guess what? Nothing has changed, injustice still exists. Lewis only has as much power as we give him. The outcry AGAINST his actions is probably exactly what he wanted. Get people talking again. His actions will only ruin the sport if we let it. Just ignore him.

That bit. Where is your evidence for this statement? Are you saying they broke down the door and went in shooting because they knew there was a black woman in there? Ridiculous.

Your right, its just a belief, but one held by a very large number people. Do you believe that the police actually behaved appropriately there? This isn't really about single incident though is it, picking out individuals is a good way to highlight the issue that innocent people losing their lives at the hands of law enforcement are disproportionately BAME.

That article was written well over two months ago. A lot has changed since then. He stooped to a new low yesterday.

Several nonsense arguments still being used against Hamilton on this thread are neatly skewered in that article, it is still relevant. Sadly, as far as the issues highlighted by Lewis is concerned, nothing has changed in a very long time.

Your right, its just a belief, but one held by a very large number people. Do you believe that the police actually behaved appropriately there? This isn't really about single incident though is it, picking out individuals is a good way to highlight the issue that innocent people losing their lives at the hands of law enforcement are disproportionately BAME.

There are also beliefs held by a large number of people that you shouldn't wear masks or that governments are spraying us with chemtrails, it doesn't mean they're right. Lewis did make it about a single incident yesterday, using a platform from which he earns upwards of 100 million a year to act as judge and jury.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

https://www.bbc.com/sport/formula1/54152046
    Formula 1 bosses are looking into whether Lewis Hamilton broke rules at the Tuscan Grand Prix by wearing a T-shirt highlighting police brutality.

I think this was to be expected.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Gintonious wrote: »

70 point deduction fair?

Gintonious wrote: »

He will, of course, get away with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

He will, of course, get away with it.

Chances are, FIA will say "no more of this", he will not be happy and kick up a fuss maybe. Which he will enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭afatbollix

The rules say, No political messages on the car not what they wear.

A local car couldn't start Rally Ireland when it was here as they had 'Jesus saves us all' on the windscreen and choose to not start instead of taking it off saying they had ran with it for years in the local rallies.

Ken Block was also told to take off a 'OBAMA CAN'T GYMKHANA' sticker off his car.

And in F2 in 2016 some yank wanted to stick a Make America great again sticker on the car but was told not too.

At the end of the day we just want to see them go fast not what they think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

70 point deduction fair?

Disqualification from this year’s championship and all his previous results null and void going back to 2007.

Do a Lance Armstrong on him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Do a Lance Armstrong on him!

Erase him from history.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭selectamatic

afatbollix wrote: »
    The rules say, No political messages on the car not what they wear.

A local car couldn't start Rally Ireland when it was here as they had 'Jesus saves us all' on the windscreen and choose to not start instead of taking it off saying they had ran with it for years in the local rallies.

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/motor-sport/driver-forced-to-remove-jesus-slogan-from-car-before-circuit-of-ireland-race-30202949.html

He blocked it out to take part but the car suffered a failure and he had to retire. And the main problem was that the rally was a leg of the European championship also so the rules were stricter.

Well remembered though, I had forgotten completely about that incident always thought it was kind of a harsh decision because he wasn't trying to be deliberately inflamatory with it but rules are rules.

Would there be rules around bringing the sport into disrepute that'd be applicable to Lewis? Surely he can't use the f1 platform to declare absolutes about an ongoing case which is clearly much less clearcut than how he is portraying.